• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Sylvia Day as Livia Dare – In The Flesh

In The Flesh

Thank you, Greta, for inviting me over today!

I’m excited to talk about my upcoming release IN THE FLESH. It’s a book that’s been a long time coming. I wrote ITF in 2004 as my second completed novel (ASK FOR IT was my first completed manuscript, which just goes to show that books don’t necessarily release in the order they were written). The story came to me as one scene–which was futuristic in tone–but when I sat down to write it, it became apparent that it was a sheik/desert hostage tale! I was so excited. *g*

The story unfolded in a way that surprised me at every turn. Sapphire turned out to be a kick-ass heroine who gives as good as she gets in the bedroom and on the battlefield. Watching a character like her navigate through an old school romance has been so much fun. The men around her don’t know what hit ‘em. (They just know they like it!)

Sapphire’s story sold to Kensington in July 2006. For the last few years it waited to be published, in part because it was an enigma. How do you package and market a book that’s both historical and futuristic, S/F and old school, with an independent kick-ass heroine paired with an ancient ultra-Alpha warrior? How do you spine it and cover it? I had my own ideas, but such things fall within the purview of the publishing house. J

But IN THE FLESH (originally titled “Sapphire’s Worth”) is finally here and I love what Kensington did with the cover art! Emails flew back and forth as the art department queried me on clothing, weapons, etc. to use in dressing the models for the cover shoot. Although only Wulf appears on the first cover, photos were taken of a female model, too, as well as couple shots. I haven’t seen the others, but I’ve been so blessed with covers in my career that I know I’ll be blown away by whatever the Kensington Art Department comes up with for the second and third books in the trilogy.

Also, IN THE FLESH is an erotic romance and as such I’m very happy that Kensington is releasing the trilogy as mass market paperbacks through their Zebra imprint. This makes it possible for the books to sell at a $6.99 price point (rather than the $14.00 price point for trade paperback) and it’s also an added opportunity for Kensington to gauge the performance of erotic romance in the MM format. I’m excited about that, too.

So there’s IN THE FLESH in a nutshell. If you have any questions, I’d love to answer them!

For more information on Livia Dare and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.sylviaday.com/livia-dare/

Sylvia Day and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.sylviaday.com/

S.J. Day and and her books you visit her website at: http://www.sjday.net/

***Leave a comment for a chance win a copy of Livia Dare’s In The Flesh. Good Luck***