• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Lauren Dane is making her own rules!

I’ve got two books out this month, first there’s WHAT HAPPENS IN VEGAS…AFTER DARK from Harlequin Spice and then RELENTLESS from Berkley Heat. As it happens, both of these are stories that required worldbuilding.whiv-after-dark-0503091

My first book was a paranormal set in New Orleans featuring a matrilineal line of witches. As I continued on through the last five years, I’ve kept to some of the themes I loved back in 2004 when I wrote Triad. 

Making up my own rules! I love paranormal or futuristic worlds where I can build my own universe and give it rules. Things run how I want them to. Of course, that means it has to make sense, even if it’s made up. Nothing is more annoying than a paranormal universe with all sorts of rules that contradict each other, or worse, leaves you totally confused.  Still, to me that’s the fun part. 

In RELENTLESS, I was able to expand the world I introduce in UNDERCOVER. I get to go into more depth about the system of rule, who is Ranked and why. I can dig into the meat of that because it’s very important to both my characters so it’s relevant to relate to the reader. That was fun too, creating a system of governance for this world, giving it heart, giving it flaws.

Family/friendship groups! This is something I use across genres from my contemporary Chase Brothers books to my Cascadia Wolves. I’m of the belief that you get to know a person or a character via his or her relationships with the people they’re closest to. It gives the characters a place to hang up their coat. Are they protective? Do they have a hard outer shell but they go out of their way for their mother or sister? It’s a glimpse into someone’s character.

relentless-0503091

In RELENTLESS you meet Abbie, who is very close with her siblings and who has a very complicated relationship with her father. And Roman, to whom Family is everything because he’s a single father and the most highly Ranked leader in the Known Universes. He seems remote and aloof, but when you see him with his sons or with his friends, you know he’s much more complicated than it appears at first glance.

And in SENSUAL MAGIC, Nell’s family are the witches in her Clan, she relates to the world via her position in her Clan and her relationship to them as the Hunter. Poor William, he’s rather alone in the world except for his brother, Nell is more than he ever expected.

For me, the joy of each book is when I feel like I’ve truly given readers a glimpse into a character they can root for. Doesn’t mean you won’t want to pop them in the nose sometimes, but in the end, characters and a story who make readers feel something, even for just a few hours.

That’s the joy of it, the joy of it for me as a reader, when I open up and book and get swept away (be it to a werewolf pack or a small town in Georgia). I hope I can do that too, I hope that when readers finish my books they feel their time was well invested and that my characters stay with them.

How about you all? Are characters important to you? Is the story important? Do you have settings or themes you avoid or go right for?

For more information on Lauren Dane and her books please visit her website at: http://www.laurendane.com/

***Leave a comment answering Lauren’s questions. She has graciously offered up a chance for two commenters to win their choice of either What Happens In Vegas…After Dark or Relentless. Good Luck***