• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Sylvia Day as Livia Dare – In The Flesh

In The Flesh

Thank you, Greta, for inviting me over today!

I’m excited to talk about my upcoming release IN THE FLESH. It’s a book that’s been a long time coming. I wrote ITF in 2004 as my second completed novel (ASK FOR IT was my first completed manuscript, which just goes to show that books don’t necessarily release in the order they were written). The story came to me as one scene–which was futuristic in tone–but when I sat down to write it, it became apparent that it was a sheik/desert hostage tale! I was so excited. *g*

The story unfolded in a way that surprised me at every turn. Sapphire turned out to be a kick-ass heroine who gives as good as she gets in the bedroom and on the battlefield. Watching a character like her navigate through an old school romance has been so much fun. The men around her don’t know what hit ‘em. (They just know they like it!)

Sapphire’s story sold to Kensington in July 2006. For the last few years it waited to be published, in part because it was an enigma. How do you package and market a book that’s both historical and futuristic, S/F and old school, with an independent kick-ass heroine paired with an ancient ultra-Alpha warrior? How do you spine it and cover it? I had my own ideas, but such things fall within the purview of the publishing house. J

But IN THE FLESH (originally titled “Sapphire’s Worth”) is finally here and I love what Kensington did with the cover art! Emails flew back and forth as the art department queried me on clothing, weapons, etc. to use in dressing the models for the cover shoot. Although only Wulf appears on the first cover, photos were taken of a female model, too, as well as couple shots. I haven’t seen the others, but I’ve been so blessed with covers in my career that I know I’ll be blown away by whatever the Kensington Art Department comes up with for the second and third books in the trilogy.

Also, IN THE FLESH is an erotic romance and as such I’m very happy that Kensington is releasing the trilogy as mass market paperbacks through their Zebra imprint. This makes it possible for the books to sell at a $6.99 price point (rather than the $14.00 price point for trade paperback) and it’s also an added opportunity for Kensington to gauge the performance of erotic romance in the MM format. I’m excited about that, too.

So there’s IN THE FLESH in a nutshell. If you have any questions, I’d love to answer them!

For more information on Livia Dare and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.sylviaday.com/livia-dare/

Sylvia Day and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.sylviaday.com/

S.J. Day and and her books you visit her website at: http://www.sjday.net/

***Leave a comment for a chance win a copy of Livia Dare’s In The Flesh. Good Luck***

38 Responses

  1. Hi Sylvia! Er, Livia, S.J?! Gawd.

    In the Flesh sounds like an interesting book and hello, the cover’s hot!

  2. Hi Sylvia! Love the cover and the book sounds great.

  3. Sounds like my type of book to get down & cozy with! I love a good, strong, kick-ass heroine that doesn’t shrink away from challenging situations, etc, and meets equally, if not more ferociously with her male. Intriguing cover art – esp. the eyes. – All mysterious but piercing at the same time.

  4. Hi, Sylvia! I love that cover ❤
    Wow, sounds like it's gonna be a good book! ;D

  5. Oh wow, the cover is great! The story sounds fantastic – can’t wait reading it…

    Do you know when the other books will be published?

    Have a nice day,
    Lani

  6. Love the sound of this book & the cover. Look forward to reading it!

    Who is the cover model on your ‘Eve’ books’? Is it a real person photo or an artist rendition? She looks a little like Sophie Marceau who played Elektra King in the Bond film ‘The World is not Enough’.

  7. Wow, another book added to the “must buy” list for June 2nd. Sounds great!

  8. Really have to get my hands on this one! Lately I’ve had an interest in futuristic romance books and if I can get that AND get an erotic story on top of it – wow! Also adding your Eve books on my TBB-list.

  9. Hi Sylvia,
    I was not aware that In the Flesh was going to be mm. And am so excited about that! With the economy the way it is I have not been able to buy as many of the books that I want because most are released in trade size. Now I can get two for almost the price of one 🙂

    Thanks for writing the books that you do. I am currently reading the first Eve book, and LOVING it, which makes me even more excited to try one of your Livia Dare books. Would love to win it!

  10. An enigma wrapped in a conumdrum, etc….I love things that can’t be classified easily and this sounds great.

    I am also glad to hear that they are trying out the mm format. I hope it goes over like gangbusters so publishers will do it more often. My reading habit gets awfully expensive sometimes!

  11. The book sounds intriguing. Futuristic and historical. Great cover.

  12. Gotta say the cover really does drawn one’s eyes to it. Beautifully done. Hehe, I love kick-ass heroines who know how to hold their own.

  13. Beautiful cover, a book for my wishlist!

  14. great cover. can’t wait to put my hands on this book.

  15. looks good. can’t wait to read.

  16. Hi Sylvia! Absolutely love your books. I have In The Flesh, on my TBB List. I would love to win a copy. ** Grin **. By the way the first EVE book was FANTASTIC! Thanks for the contest.

  17. Hi Sylvia, congrats on your new release. I checked out the excerpt (love Wulf already), and watched the trailer (perfect music). I’ve been looking forward to this story and can’t wait to read it.

  18. I’m so glad y’all like the cover art, too!

    Lani – I was originally told that the Sapphire books would release every June. I haven’t heard differently yet, so I’m running with that for now. 🙂

    Karen H. – I’ve been told that the Eve model is an actual woman, but her photos were illustrated.

    booklover1335 – I’m happy that you’re enjoying EOD!

    Amy – *fingers crossed* erotic MM works out well for K. I agree about the expense of book habits. One of the reasons I’m glad the majority of my books are now being published as mass markets.

    Barb P. – I’m thrilled that you enjoyed EOD so much!

    Hugs,
    Syl

  19. sounds scrumptious!

  20. this book sounds so good. I’ve been reading excerpts and can’t wait for it’s release.

  21. Wow thank you so much for doing this!!

  22. Hi there!

    Thanks for sharing the story on how In The Flesh came to be. I’m really looking forward to reading it!

  23. This book sounds sooooo cool. I entering new worlds, trying to see what an author sees, especially one with a hot romance!

  24. Well, hoo-rah for MMER!! (Mass Market Erotic Romance) And many thanks to you, Sylvia, for writing (period!), and to Kensington for publishing it!! I agree, the price differential males it a lot easier to justify getting more than one book on those trips to Border’s, but that won’t stop me buying the trade books either!

    Later,

    Lynn

  25. Congrats on this, Sylvia–I’m so excited that your first Livia book’s out for the rest of us to enjoy!!

  26. In the Flesh sounds great!

  27. *drools over the cover*

  28. Oh so been looking forward to this! I love your historicals too! Is this a start of a series? Too do you keep like a chart with the details for all your books to have that info sorted and all?

  29. Sylvia – congrats on the newest release! I was about to say that this has been a busy year for you and then I glanced at the sidebar and realized it’s been one heck of a month for you!! Woo hoo!

    I’m also really happy to see erotic books going MM.

    lynda98662 at yahoo dot com

  30. Congrats on this long awaited release! I already looking forward to your next book.

    I’m already into MM so it is about the mainstream publishers jumped on the bandwagon.

  31. I’ve been waiting for this to come out, Sylvia, and really like the combination of historical/futuristic, sounds like it’s going to be an interesting series. Great cover.

  32. Sylvia, very intriguing book and congrats on your new release. I’m going to get this (if I don’t win it. haha). And by the way, the cover blew me away, which is not something I say for every cover I saw.

  33. Congrats on your new release! The cover looks fantastic!

    Dottie 🙂

  34. I’m so happy the cover works for so many of you! Kensington continues to blow me away with the covers they give me. 🙂

    Caffey — IN THE FLESH is the first book in a trilogy.

    I do keep a “series bible” for my various series. It’s a necessity really when creating new worlds, but they’re fun, too. 🙂

  35. In the Flesh sounds good. Nice cover. 🙂

  36. I am a big fan of yours and it all started with your book The Stranger I Married. From there, I have read all your historical romances. So I am excited to read In the Flesh. Sounds like a great book. Thanks again.

  37. Please count me in. Love the interview.

  38. Congrats on your new release! The cover is awesome!

Leave a Reply

