• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Interview with January Rowe

Love knows no limits…

Briony considers herself easy to please. All she wants is a Dominant who’s wickedly creative and completely devoted to conquering her—and only her—with joy. She has everything she wants until her Dom takes on another girl. Bri delights in fantasy role play, inventive toys and bondage at Hell Mary’s BDSM club, but she doesn’t do poly.

Now she’s on the hunt for a new play partner who’ll give her exactly what she needs. A little flirtation with Hell Mary’s Dungeon Monitor is just the thing to ease her back into circulation—except the hardass wrapped in khaki treats her like she needs protection.

Behind his imperturbable DM mask, Chris has eyes only for Bri. It’s his job to make sure things don’t get out of control at the club. Despite her bravado, Bri’s broken heart is like a target painted on her back. She needs to learn some things on her own, but when a private scene goes too far, he can’t wait any longer to step in—and show her she doesn’t need fancy trappings.

His body is more than enough.

Warning: this title features kink and imaginative sex in a variety of forms—scalding hot, kinda lukewarm, and juuuust right. Reminders to breathe are clearly marked. Ignore them at your peril.

Hi January! Thank you for agreeing to an interview. Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I live in Colorado. I’m married to my grad school sweetheart, and we have three children. Our favorite place in the universe is Yellowstone Park. My background is in science.

How long have you been writing?

Since I was a kid. My first short story was a melancholy tale of loss. I wrote about a tree house.

What is your writing process like?

I’m an extremely slow writer. I write, and then I revise, revise, revise. Then I revise some more. I rarely have writer’s block. If I’m stuck or unhappy, it just means I need to shove aside the analytical January. I abandon the computer and go off with a spiral notebook and pen. Then I imagine “what ifs”. Afterwards, I’m all better.

Can you tell us about your newest release, My One?

My One is a BDSM novella. It’s a hot and intense love story about two people completely comfortable with their kink.

This is your first release, correct? What emotions and feelings have you experience this week?

Yes, this is my first book. I’m thrilled and proud!

Do you have other books releasing this year?

None so far!

What are you currently working on?

I’m writing another BDSM romance. This is the story of a long-term couple who have lost their kink groove, and want it back.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Most of my ideas come from contemporary non-fiction sources. Newsweek, the local newspaper, even People magazine, inspire plot fragments, locales and characters.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I get a big kick out of complex, outrageous scientific and medical thrillers. I also love futuristic romances. My favorite futuristic authors are Robin D. Owens and Ainsley Davidson. Reading Star Trek novels is my guilty pleasure. My autobuy are novels by J. D. Robb.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

I treasure the science fiction novels of Ray Bradbury and Kate
Wilhelm. I also value classics, such as the works of Aristophanes, Ovid, Augustine, Machiavelli.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

Georgette Heyer’s These Old Shades was the first romance book I ever read. I read it when I was a teen, but the emotions of the heroine are still fresh in my mind.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

What a fun question! My hero: Christopher Chance (he’s the yummy hunk on the TV show Human Target). My heroine: the saucy Katy Perry.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters, who would it be & why?

When I’m writing a story, I am living my characters’ lives. So when I’m finished with the tale, I’m ready to be just plain me.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I love watching my kids’ sporting events, browsing used bookstores, Zumba dancing, and gardening.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

What turns YOU on?

Where can readers find you on the internet?

http://januaryrowe.blogspot.com

9 Responses

  1. Ooh, your story sounds spicy. Without a doubt, a sexy, tortured alpha male is the hottest.

  2. This sounds like a very hot book. I like how Briony knows what she wants and goes after it.

  3. Congratulations on your first release! They did you proud for your first cover. It’s great.

  4. Congrats on your release.
    Sexy alpha males turn me on.

  5. Congrats on your first release. I love characters with a sense of humor and just enough flaws to be “real”.

  6. Thank you all for your comments and congratulations! I LOVE the cover, too!

  7. Briony, that is a name you don’t see used too often. I’m a lover of the unique and different names.

    And yes, that cover is really nice. You just can’t stop oogling it.! Hope to read your book in the future

  8. Congrats on the book – it sounds really hot and fun to read.

    In answer to your question about what turns me on – I have to say my husband does (and has done so for the last 33+ years).

  9. I enjoyed the interview and My One’s blurb. What a great cover!

    What turns me on??? Many things but I guess a kind hearted and gentle man.

    Thanks!

Leave a comment