• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Chatting with Angela Knight

Hi Angela! Thanks for joining us today. Can you tell us about your newest release, Master of Fire?

With the Mageverse series, I’m really trying to do something a little bit different.  My hero is Logan MacRoy, a cop, forensic chemist, arson investigator and bomb tech.  As if that’s not enough, he’s also the mortal son of  King Arthur, who in my universe  is an immortal vampire.  Arthur’s mortal enemy, the leader of a werewolf cult, is Warlock, who has sworn to kill Logan.  He’s already murdered twelve Latents – the mortal descendents of Arthur’s witches and vampire knights.


Arthur orders one of his newest witches, Giada Shepherd, to go undercover as Logan’s bodyguard.  He also warns her not to become sexually involved with Logan, since sleeping with her three times would activate the spell that would turn Logan into a vampire. And Logan has told his father he doesn’t want to become a vampire yet, because he’s not ready to give up his law enforcement career.


So Logan believes Giada is a mortal chemist who wants training in drug testing. The two become friends. Meanwhile, the assassins Warlock has sent start making a series of attempts to kill Logan – planting bombs, killing cops, and generally keeping Giada busy trying to keep Logan alive.  The two become close, and before she knows what’s going on, Giada has fallen for Logan, who is deliciously seductive. Despite Arthur’s orders, staying out of Logan’s bed is probably the hardest part of the job.


This book was a huge kick to write, and I just loved every minute of it.  It was inspired by a real-life forensic chemist, Lt. Ashley Harris, who let me follow him around, taught me how to test drugs, and brainstormed all the evil bombs my villains use, as well as how to defuse them.  I dedicated the book to Ashley.

Will we be seeing more of the Mageverse world in the future?

Oh, definitely.  I love the Mageverse – It has literally infinite possibilities.

Do you have other books releasing this year?

Yes. Besides Master of Fire on March 2, there’s an anthology called BURNING UP with my first medieval paranormal story. That’s out August 3. Then there will be the next Mageverse book, Master of Smoke, out around Christmas.

What are you currently working on?

Master of Smoke, which continues the Werewolf War storyline in the Mageverse. Logan’s sidekick in Master of Fire is a shapeshifting cat named Smoke who is really a Sidhe demigod. During a fight with Warlock, he loses his memories and powers. He’s rescued by a beautiful comic book store owner named Beth Roman.  Beth is a werewolf, but fighting off the assassins Warlock sends still proves a challenging job.  I am having a ball writing this book, because Beth is constantly firing off snarky zingers, and David (Smoke’s new name) is a deliciously seductive hunk.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

I ask a series of “What if?” questions. I like vampires and the Arthurian legends, so I thought, “What if King Arthur was a vampire?”  And then I started building a universe around that idea. Often I get ideas from the newspaper stories I wrote as a reporter. For example, I did a story about a police K-9 drug dog, and I thought, what if the dog was a werewolf who fell in love with his pretty female handler?  That evolved into the Direkind.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Oh, God, I am such a book junkie.  I love JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and J.D. Robb’s In Death series. I also love urban fantasy – especially the werewolf series by Patricia Briggs and Eileen Wilkes.  Jim Butcher, Charlaine Harris, Laurell K Hamilton, and especially Lois McMaster Bujold are all autobuys for me.  I love reading really inventive, imaginative books.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Like I said, the whole In Death series,  The Black Dagger Brotherhood series, the Vor novels by Lois McMaster Bujold – I just love her Miles Vorkosigan. The concept of a 4-foot-nine Alpha male with brittle bones who still manages to charm and seduce everyone around into following him is just so fantastic.  I love that character.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

The first was The Wolf and the Dove by Kathleen Woodwiss. God, I loved that book. I was maybe 15, and my mother caught me reading it and threw it away. I bought another copy and read it until it fell apart.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Angelina Joile and Brad Pitt.  They kick ass so very well, and they’re pretty, too.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters, who would it be & why?

Probably Giada.  I love the idea of having magic powers and saving the world.  And having sex with Logan wouldn’t suck.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I do computer graphics, something like Avatar?  I do renders of my heroes and heroines and make book videos with them. Lately I’m getting reasonably good at it.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

Do I suck?  LOL!

Where can readers find you on the internet?

www.angelasknights.com.

Thank you so much for interviewing me, and for your interest in my books.  I deeply appreciate the opportunity.

***One lucky commenter will win a signed copy of Master of Fire! Good luck 😀