• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

An interview with Juniper Bell

  

Juniper, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Thank you so much for having me! 

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself? 

I live in Alaska, but we’re hoping to move to Hawaii someday (we can dream, right?)  I spend my time writing, reading, tending to my stepchildren, doing yoga, and (these days) shoveling snow. 

How long have you been writing? 

I began writing romance and erotic romance about three years ago, but I was a TV writer before that. My first job was writing for an encyclopedia. So one way or another, I’ve been writing professionally my whole adult life. But writing fiction is the most fun, by far! 

What is your writing process like?  

It’s mysterious. It starts with a tiny wisp of an idea, then I set my mind loose on it and see where it goes. Sometimes I plot ahead of time, sometimes I free-wheel it. It depends on the story, and what it seems to want from me. 

Can you tell us about your newest release Doll?  

How about if I share the blurb, which sums it up perfectly! 

Even a plaything can be pushed too far…  

Chloe Barnes thought her marriage to a wealthy politician would be the stuff of fairy tales. Instead, he took advantage of her naiveté and used her as a plaything to fulfill his twisted sexual needs. Ten years is enough. She returns to Bellhaven Island to sell the summer cottage she inherited, hoping the money will buy her freedom—and custody of her daughters.  

Fisherman Dustin McDougal never forgot the childhood crush he once had on the fairy-like Chloe. The woman she’s become has a haunted look that brings his feelings back, stronger than ever…with a mature edge. Along with all his protective instincts.  

Their passion blows stronger than a Maine nor’easter, awakening Chloe to the joy of true love. Yet it may not be strong enough to free her from the past… 

The story-line for Doll sounds intrigue, could you expand upon how you came up with the story line? 

My family has a long history with an island in Maine, which is a romantic but rugged kind of setting. Visiting there always brings up a lot of emotion in me, and this story is all about deep emotion. A woman trying to free herself from painful memories and find some joy through sexual healing – the storyline came from a mood more than anything else.  

What are you currently working on? 

I’m working on my first historical – a Regency erotic romance called “My Three Lords.”  You can probably imagine what direction that one’s heading.  

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Well, there’s this great new store … just kidding. I wish there were a guaranteed way to find ideas. Or at least, good ideas. They seem to pop into my head at random moments, I have no control over it.  Sometimes they’re good, sometimes crappy. I think the key is to remain open to what’s around you, and inside you.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors? 

I’ll buy anything Susan Elizabeth Phillips writes. I’d buy her to-do list, if she offered it! I’m kind of a binge reader. If I find someone I like, I’ll immediately and obsessively track down all their books. I’ve done that with Julie Garwood, Jane Feather, Georgette Heyer even Nora Roberts – and that’s a lot of books!  I went through an Elizabeth Lowell phase, a Lisa Kleypas phase, Lori Foster … I could go on and on.

What books are on your keeper shelf? 

Going back to childhood here: Little Women. Everything ever written by Jane Austen. The Chronicles of Narnia. As well as my later discoveries (see above.)

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you? 

Two books made me want to be a romance writer: Sweet Revenge by Nora Roberts and Fancy Pants by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. I loved them both so much, but I didn’t know they were “romances.” I just loved the stories, the happy endings, the characters, the focus on a relationship. My career took a different direction, but those books stayed with me, and later on I thought, hey, why not see if I can write one? They gave me so much joy, and I wanted to be able to do that for others.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?  

Eek! I don’t think I could watch. But for the sake of the box office, Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

My characters tend to have troubled pasts, so I’m not sure I’d want to switch lives with them! Then again, they do have all that hot sex … I guess I could handle it for a day.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time? 

I like to ski for very short periods of time, plan trips to warm climates, and play make believe with my five-year-old stepdaughter. (Talk about ideas! She has a million a day.)

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

What pisses you off the most in a book? Annoying heroine, obnoxious hero, dumb plotline? I really hope we get some feedback on this, so I can make sure never to do it!

Where can readers find you on the internet?

My website is http://juniperbell.com/. I also have a blog at http://authorjuniperbell.blogspot.com/. I’m always open to new friends on FaceBook, and I’m also on Twitter as AuthorJuniper.

Thank you so much for having me on your blog!  And — You Do Not Have to Wait, “Doll” is available as of Tuesday at http://new.mybookstoreandmore.com/shop/product.da/doll.

***Leave a comment answering Juniper’s question and one lucky commenter will win a either a digital copy of Juniper’s first book The Extremist or a gift bag containing an autographed cover flat of “Doll” and hot chocolate (that is mentioned in the story). Winner’s choice. Good Luck

18 Responses

  1. That’s a lovely interview. Doll sounds like a good read. I don’t like repetitive explanations. Its like “haven’t I read that somewhere before in the book?” And a good storyline is important otherwise the story will read like a loose collection of episodes.

  2. Very cool interview. Juniper you are a new to be author but I have heard and seen this book all over the blogs! It looks fantastic so please count me in! Now for the question. One thing I don’t like is the constant theme of the heroine being too weak when it comes to forgiveness. One touch from the man and she forgives him and is putty. At least make him work for it a little. Groveling goes a long way!

    Brande
    bjwaldron(at)gmail.com

  3. First off, love the interview and you can move with me to Hawaii when I go! And like you, I’m dreaming… The book sounds great! One of my pet peeves in a book is when the heroine or even the hero being too “I’m perfect” or close minded… Drives me up a wall… Anyway, I’ll hush now but thank you for the interview and happy writing!

  4. I really enjoyed your interview I’ve read your free read Doll Interrupted and I thought it was really good and makes me want Doll really bad unfortunately I have to wait until after Christmas to get it. Christmas presents have broke me for right now.

  5. I get most annoyed at predictable plot lines BUT I can forgive the author if there is enough action and drama to liven it up.

    I took a hike over to read The Extremist excerpt and think I am in love… and there wasn’t even any sex (and only a glimpse of a hot man!)!! LOL

    Miranda
    mdwartistry at yahoo dot com

  6. Thanks for the great interview! I’d love to read the book!
    I don’t like annoying heroines in books.

    eva.silkka at gmail.com

  7. Awesome comments! Thanks for sharing your pet peeves. I’m taking notes! 🙂 Repetitive explanations always bug me, as do annoying heroines. Keep ’em coming … 😉

    Maxi, I can’t wait to move to Hawaii someday … it’s 1 degree here today!

    Miranda, not to worry, there’ s plenty of sex in the Extremist! 😉

  8. Hi Juniper,

    I get annoyed with predictible plots, too much backstory, tstl actions on the part of either main characters, and not too crazy about cliff hangers in a series.

    caity_mack(at)yahoo(dot)com

  9. I love unusual romances (formulaic just turns me off) and this definitely sounds unusual. Looking forward to reading your story. Paranormal, fantasy, and science fiction romance are some of the best and I am so happy to see another author in place for this. Have you thought of putting it up on Kindle? I love that format. Thank you for all your hard work.

  10. Great interview, Juniper! I think I’d join you for some of that hot cocoa right about now. I’m a southern girl, and this cold weather has my teeth ch-ch-chattering.

    Hawaii doesn’t sound half bad either. lol

    Congrats on your release!

  11. TSTL heroines piss me off.

    Congratulations on your release!

  12. “What pisses you off the most in a book? Annoying heroine, obnoxious hero, dumb plotline?”

    A H/H that are self pitying. She thinks he is perfect and could never love her and vice versa. I once read a story that they 2 MCs kept thinking “Oh he/she is so wonderful. I wish he/she could love someone like me but I’m just a loser.” (Paraphrasing there LOL). Over & over & over again. I’ve read others where one of the MCs thought that but not continuously throughout the book. It’s understandable for some characters to feel this way but it was just too much. That was the 1st time I couldn’t finish a book.

  13. My biggest pet peeve and the one that gets me to throw the book across the room is the hidden baby storyline. I despise it and I literally do throw the book when it occurs.

  14. I hate it when the hero is portrayed as being extremely overhanded and won’t listen to the heroine. I hate arrogant men in life and I hate them in stories.

  15. TSTL heroines and arrogant heroes … I totally agree on those! Thanks everyone for weighing in with your pet peeves. I have to say I don’t think I’ve literally thrown a book across the room, but I’ve been tempted! Good luck all, we should have a winner tomorrow. 😉

  16. OK, hmm… all of the above? Definitely no dumb heroes or heroines, please. And none that are convinced that they’re soooooo beyond the possibility of love that they can’t see it when they’ve been bonked on the head repeatedly. Also, can’t stand infidelity or big lies where I’m just not totally on board with why or the reason seems not to be a good one. Haaaate secret babies (hope that isn’t your next plot ;)) Anyway, you asked 😉

  17. The thing that annoys me most is a weak heroine.

  18. I know I’m too late for the contest but I just wanted to add my 2 cents…

    I must agree with some of the other posters, dumb heroes and heroines. I mean, DAG, if I can figure out something obvious, any dumb bunny can. And when the hero or heroine can’t, it makes me wonder about the grey matter….

    Thanks!

Leave a comment