• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

The End …Or Is It, Elisabeth Naughton discusses trilogies

Big thanks to Greta for having me back on the blog. I’m thrilled to be here during release week for STOLEN SEDUCTION, the third book in my Stolen Trilogy, which hit store shelves yesterday!

Three is a pretty cool number, isn’t it? Just think about all the cool things in the world that come in threes…there are three primary hues – red, green, blue; Plato split the soul into three parts – the appetitive, the spirited, and the rational; Religions often use the number three – the Holy Trinity, the Three Jewels of Buddhism, the Triple Goddess of Wicca; Mark Twain’s 3 Lies – lies, damn lies, statistics (I love this one!); And when it comes to books…trilogies.

Ah, the trilogy. Three. Three connected books. Sometimes they have an overarching plot connecting them all together. Sometimes they’re connected by characters, jobs, families, etc. But a trilogy is a trilogy because it is made up of…three. (I hear that line from The Holy Grail in my head…do you? “The number shall be three. No more than three, no less than three, just three.”)

 My Stolen Trilogy has come to a close with the release of STOLEN SEDUCTION. I thought long and hard about what I wanted to do with these books and these characters, and in the end I decided three was where this series logically came to a close. It wasn’t easy. There are numerous secondary characters who have popped up along the way, and readers email me all the time to ask when I’m writing their books – Marty Slade from STOLEN HEAT, Maria Gotsi from all three books, Billy Sullivan (STOLEN FURY & STOLEN SEDUCTION) and even Hailey’s sister, Nicole, who emerges in STOLEN SEDUCTION. It would be fun to write all those books, but at what point does it get to be too much? The books are connected by characters – not plot – and coming up with new, exciting adventure plots that somehow link to these three original books would be, well, a struggle.

That doesn’t mean I’ll never write Marty’s story, or Maria’s or…any of the others. It just means they won’t be written within the context of the Stolen books. And that’s okay with me because that opens up all new avenues for me with my writing.

Of course, some series need more than three books. My new paranormal series –The Eternal Guardians—which launches in May 2010 with MARKED, the first book, is one of those series. I definitely have more than three books planned for this series. But that doesn’t mean I don’t like trilogies. There’s something magical about three…

How about you? Are you a fan of trilogies? Do you prefer series that run longer than three books? Does the way the books are connected matter to you—by character, by plot, by family, etc. Or would you rather read stand alone, single-title books not linked to any others?

To celebrate the release of STOLEN SEDUCTION, I’ve got a copy of STOLEN FURY, book 1 in the Stolen Trilogy, to give away to one lucky commenter.

AND…if you haven’t seen it yet, I’m running a big contest on my website through January 15th. Click the widget below for more details and to enter!

stolen seduction

share image enter today go to book

