• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Jessica Andersen and The Final Prohecy

Hi Jessica. Thank you for joining us today!

Hi Lillie, and thanks so much for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about the Final Prophecy series?

Love to!  The Nightkeeper books are sexy paranormal thrillers about the magic-wielding men and women sworn to protect us from the 2012 doomsday predicted by the Mayan calendar.

As the end date approaches and the barrier between the earth and underworld thins, the Nightkeepers must unravel ancient legends, find lost artifacts, and win their destined mates in order to prevent terrible Mayan demons from coming to earth and enslaving mankind.

However, these magi are the last dozen survivors of their kind, and lots of their spells and prophecies have been lost over time. In addition, they were raised as humans like you and me, which means they’re struggling to update the ancient magic and figure out what comes next!

My latest release is the fourth book in the series (though they can be read by themselves). DEMONKEEPERS is my ‘nerds that roared’ book: It’s the story of Lucius, an Indiana Jones wannabe who never quite measures up until a twist of magic gives him powers beyond belief and reunites him with Jade, the one-night stand he never forgot.


What made you decide to write a series about Mayan legend?

Well, I guess my best answer is that I’m a huge fan of books and movies that have lots of action and romance in them, but are spiced up with interesting factoids that I didn’t already know (National Treasure, DaVinci Code, etc.).

So when I came across a reference to the end of the Mayan calendar in 2012, I immediately saw the potential for a high-action, high-intensity series based on a mythology that hasn’t been done to death in the paranormal romance and urban fantasy markets.

Part of my fascination comes from having spent time down in the Yucatan as a kid. My parents would pull me out of school for a few weeks every spring (much to my teachers’ relief, I suspect) and we would go investigate the ruins, which were in the process of being restored at the time.

They’re far more regulated and tourist-ified now, but back then, ruin ratting was a total Indiana Jones, creep-through-the-collapsing-tunnel experience. I try to bring that to the books.


Which is easier to do, writing a story-line based on a known legend or writing straight from the imagination, where the only rules you have to follow are your own?

I think it probably would have been easier in a sense to make up everything from scratch, because then you can let your imagination run wild. Personally, though, I love having the framework of an existing mythology to work with.

I think it gives the stories a real-world authenticity that they might lack otherwise. The Nightkeepers are real people living in the real world, but their reality has been shifted by the fact that they’re now being asked to believe in—and learn how to use—the magic of an ancient culture.


Will we be getting another Final Prophecy book this year?

Absolutely!  BLOOD SPELLS: A NIGHTKEEPER NOVEL will be released on November 2. Even better, it’ll be followed pretty quickly in Feb 2011 by the first Nightkeeper novella, CRYSTAL SKULL, which will be part of IN THE HUNT, an anthology with Gena Showalter, Shannon K. Butcher, and Deidre Knight.


If you could switch lives with one of your characters, who would it be & why?

Hmmmm… I really relate to Jade, the heroine of DEMONKEEPERS. She’s a bookworm who is working hard to break out of her current role as support staff, and become a warrior in her own right. I can relate to the feeling of wanting to be bigger, tougher and more capable than my fallback mode, and love it when she starts really growing into herself.

But at the same time, she and Lucius are racing to uncover the Nightkeepers’ ancient library, which contains many of the spells and prophecies they need. That totally appeals to my inner Lara Croft. And so does Lucius. 😀


If you could ask readers any question, what would it be?

Who do you prefer, the Bad Boy or the Good Guy? Why?

I ask because the heroes of DEMONKEEPERS and BLOOD SPELLS are both good guys at their core. Yeah, they’ve got issues, but they’re loyal, centered, honest and have huge hearts. The hero I’m writing now (for next June’s book), though, is a MAJOR bad boy. And I’m so digging him!

Which is making me wonder whether I’ve got a thing for the hardcore alpha, borderline butthead types, or if it’s the variety that’s turning me on. I’m not sure yet, but I’m sure having fun trying to figure it out!


Where can readers find you on the internet?

For more on the Nightkeepers, check out www.jessicaandersen.com. There, you can subscribe to my quarterly newsletter, email me, and find me on Facebook (via the Contacts page, or search for ‘Doc Jess’ or ‘Jessica Andersen’ on FB).

***To be entered in Jessica’s giveaway, just leave a comment answering her question. The winner will be drawn on Sunday afternoon. Good luck! 😀

30 Responses

  1. When you get right down to it, the hero ultimately must be a good soul. Nothing wrong with a Bad Boy attitude, though! A little rough around the edges, a bit of a snarly attitude and a GREAT BUT IS A PAIR OF BIKER LEATHERS will always make my heart “go a flutter” But, ultimately, when you peel away the layers, he must be a good soul!

    Thanks for the event! Please enter me!

    Kate (aka YzhaBella)
    mleger0546(at)rogers(dot)com

  2. Interesting post! The series sound very good, the whole premises is so fascinating. I was intrigued by Mayan’s prophecy since I read about them (about 15 years ago).
    To answer your question: I love both the good and the bad guy as long as I can understand their motivations, which really depends on how good they are written 🙂

  3. I have to go with the Bad Boy. I have not read any of Jessica’s stories, but I have Night Keepers … I will be starting this week. I have been craving an adventure.

  4. Hi Jessica,
    I enjoyed your post and have read good things about this series. I definitely have it on my TRL. As for Good boy Bad boy, I seem to go for the Alpha bad boy most times. And it’s because they are always concealing a wounded soul and no matter what they present to people on the outside they are always loyal, protective and honorable beneath it all. Besides , who doesn’t want to believe we’ll be the female to heal him with tender love and caring. :)Thank you for sharing Jessica.
    Carol L.
    Lucky4750@aol.com

  5. I think I like a melding of the two. I mean bad boys are fun because they are bad, but shouldn’t they be all sweet and gooey at the center too? I always did like that hard candy shell. LOL!

  6. I love the Bad Boy with the Good Boy interior (loyal to the end and loving with it).
    Good Boys aren’t nearly as much fun as they tend not to want to break a few rules and rule breaking can be fun (especially in the bedroom).

  7. I love the good boy who has a touch of bad boy to him lol. Those butthole alpha your spoke would run head long into my inner bi$$$. Hubby says that is not far from being an outer bi$$$ rofl. He should know our 24 wedding anniversary is Saturday.

  8. I like both good guy and bad boy. It depends on other things about the character too. If I can know or figure out why they do the things they do.

  9. I think I’m in the same boat with just about everyone… I want them to be essentially good. But I’m all for guys who act like the Big Bad Wolf, but have a soft, good heart. Actually, I prefer the badass acting guys who know how to care for a girl. I’ll even take a reformed bad guy, something about helping them get over their past, helping them heal their old wounds. Ahhh…

    What was I talking about?

  10. I’ll go with the bad boy. Bad boys seem so dangerous and sexy.

  11. I think everyone loves the bad boy but it’s the good guy you settle down with, unless the bad boy changes his ways enough that he’s sorta good. I definitely like the bad boy who takes care of his girl. But there’s something about a guy who’s so noble and nice. Good example that I can think of is a book by Kris Cook, Perfection. Has the good and the bad. Loved it especially b/c of the characters. Good guy turned a little bad and bad guy turned a little good.

  12. Hi Jessica!
    thanks for being here today – to answer your question, I totally agree with Kate, the perfect combination is outside a bad boy and has inside a good heart…
    wish you all the best,
    Ina

  13. I prefer them both! It just depends on what kind of reading mood I’m in LOL 🙂

  14. I cannot wait to start this series. The only book I am missing is Skykeepers. I did not see which book the giveaway is for. So do not enter me if it is not Skykeepers. In any case I will answer the question 🙂

    I much prefer the bad boy more. I find them more intriguing and I think authors can have more fun writing the characters. There are no limits, morals or rules. And when Mr. Badboy turns good it is all the more fun!

  15. I prefer the bad boy because they are more fun to read and you see how bad they are, broody and I’ve always been attracted to the bad boy.

  16. Hi Jessica,

    Please don’t enter me into the contest as I have copies of all your books. I love your series so much, it is so unique and I can’t recommend them enough!!!! You can check out my reviews of them at http://www.nightowlreviews.com.

  17. I vastly prefer the bad boy! They’re more exciting and constantly keep you on your toes. I like finding other layers underneath that bad boy veneer. And they just exude sex appeal.

  18. Mmm, well bad boys always seem to attract one’s attention but I guess I’d want a guy who was a little bit of both: Bad and Good..

  19. I totally love the bad boy – the one that scares the crap out of everyone else and what goodness that is there – it only comes out to those in real need or those he loves.

  20. I love bad boys cause they are so much fun!!

  21. Hi Jessica!

    Thanks again for joining us today! I like the bad boys too, but only in fiction. I’m afraid in real life, I might be tempted to smother them with a pillow 😀

  22. Hello all! I’m SOO SORRY I missed you guys yesterday (I had it written down for today on my calendar), but if you’ll bear with a few long posts, I wanted to say ‘hi’ personally to everyone who took the time to read and post!

    First off, thanks so much to Lille for interviewing me 🙂 And LOL on the potential to want to smother a real bad boy with a pillow– I suspect I would be in that camp!

    @ Kate- LOLOL on the great butt in a set of leathers. Yep. I’m feeling that.

    @ Host- Thanks for the shout-out! It’s great to meet another fan of the Mayan stuff– when I first set out to write the series, I got a bunch of ‘er… Central America doesn’t sell’ comments, so I think it’s great that the books are finding readers.

    @ Jennifer– Hope you love Nightkeepers! It’s definitely an adventure 🙂 I write the books I wish I could find on the shelves more often- meaty, with lots of running and screaming. And sex. 🙂

    @ Danielle– LOL! Okay, I’ll put you down for crunchy outside, with a sweet center.

    @ Ilona– You hit on a great word for me- Loyalty. Yeah. That goes a long way to making me love a bad boy.

  23. @ Pam- Happy 24th anniversary! And ROFLOL on the inner vs outer beyotch. Yep. Feeling you.

    @ chey– That’s another great concept that can make the bad boy likable– motivation. If a writer sells me on *why* he is the way he is, I can forgive more than otherwise.

    @ Morning- It’s interesting that you mention him knowing how to treat his woman. My radio station was actually talking about this the other day in-between Lady GaGa and… more Lady GaGa. Anyway, a lady called in and said her guy was a badass biker who scared everyone around her and treated her and their three kids like absolute gold. I got a little mushy there 🙂

    @ Estella- You’re our first no holds barred bad boy vote. Congrats!

    @ Ina- Thanks for the shout out and the good wishes, and I’ll put you down for a gooey center. Lava cake, maybe? Mmmmm…

    @ Robin- (waves) Hey, and thanks for having the books! If you win, I’ll make it be SkyK, how’s that?? So you’re voting for an interesting bad boy. I like that 🙂

    @ Terri- Okay another full on bad boy vote. WTG! And yeah, there’s just something about the smell of black leather … (sighs)…

    @ Leslee– Thanks so much for the shout out and the reviews! Night Owl is a great place to hang out 🙂

    @ Joder– Ah, a good point– bad boys can be so multi-layered, often with that (soft candy) inner shell being so different than the outside.

  24. @ Raonaid- Okay, so a good guy with an edge, maybe, or a tameable bad guy? I’m feeling it.

    @ cybercliper- I agree- I love seeing the bad boy really come through for the people he loves. That’s a real ‘show don’t tell’ moment for me.

    @ Martha– Okay the bad boy wins our poll by a … er, pick the protruding body part of your choice!

    LOLOL.

    Thanks again for the comments, my apologies for not having been here to reply in real-time, and best of luck in the drawing! I’m subscribing for the email follow-up, so if you’ve got any questions or comments for my now-in-residence butt, let ’em rip!

    Otherwise, be well and happy reading, and thanks to Lillie for the fun interview!

  25. I like the good guy that is just a little bit bad it makes a more interesting story. Hero’s that are all good can sometime be a little boring.

  26. Hi Jessica! In answer to your question, I like them to be a little bit of both.I like a good guy that can be bad when he needs to be. Or maybe that’s a bad boy that is good when he needs to be ( HMMMMM! ) Love the series! Keep them coming.

  27. @ Sherry- Good point on the boring factor. I watched a movie the other day that suffered from that particular affliction. Not a bad movie, but would’ve benefitted from some naughtiness, imho!!

    @ Barbara- How about one of each? LOLOL! Thanks for the shout out, and I’m getting back to work on book 6 right now!

  28. I think I would want an alpha with a few beta tendencies thrown in. He would make life interesting.

  29. Definitely prefer a bad boy with some good guy tendencies but I do love the alpha guy

  30. I prefer the Bad Boy with a Good Heart….and she (of course) is the one to unlock it….Hehehe.

Leave a comment