• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Review: Sanctuary Unbound by Moira Rogers

Release date: June 1, 2010

From Samhain Publishing

I have to put a spoiler warning on this one. I did my very best to write it without including spoilers for the previous books but I just couldn’t do it. So much from the first 3 books play a huge part in Sanctuary Unbound that the only thing I can say in the review without including the spoilers is “Wee! Read the book!” So if you haven’t started this series yet, you might want to walk away now. 🙂

Sanctuary Unbound starts off with a scene that breaks my heart. Gavin,  the Alpha of Red Rock Pass, has had another heart attack and it has become obvious that this war is killing him. He is no longer a young man and it’s time for Keith (hero of Cry Sanctuary) to take over, whether Gavin and Keith are ready or not.

Keith’s greatest ally in this war is Adam Dubois, vampire lumberjack. Adam has the power to help Red Rock win but the last time he used that power, he lost everything. Now he’s being asked to risk it again. He’s also being asked to stay away from the pack’s sexy doctor, Cindy. Adam is more than willing to help Red Rock Pass but staying out of Cindy’s bed is asking too much. As Adam and Cindy realize that what they need is more than physical and their relationship starts to develop, the war brings itself to Red Rock Pass.

Now it’s up to Keith to ban together his rag-tag group of allies.  A reluctant leader, a novice witch, and a determined vampire are all that stands between evil and the freedom of all werewolves.

This book was it for me. That perfect squee-worthy book. As soon as Bree (half of the Moira Rogers duo) mentioned “lumberjack vampire” on Twitter, I wanted this book. And once I got the ARC, I had to read it immediately. Then I had to reread the entire series 😀  My expectations for Sanctuary Unbound were pretty high but the book actually exceeded those expectations. I expected adrenaline-pumping action and it delivered. I expected to fall in love with the hero and to be able to relate to the heroine.  Once again, I got it. What I didn’t expect was the nostalgia I felt when reading it. In the free short story Becoming, we meet Gavin and Samantha. Gavin is already Alpha and Samantha is so unsure about her place in this new world. Now they are older,  time has taken it’s toll, and it’s time for the next generation to take up the fight. Keith is no longer the too-wise-for-his-age child we meet in the same story. He has become the leader he was raised to be.

All in all, Sanctuary Unbound is not just a sqee-worthy book but a sigh-worthy one as well. Moira Rogers has created a world that I don’t want to see end anytime soon.

You can read more about Sanctuary Unbound and all the Red Rock Pass books (including free short stories) at the Moira Rogers website.

4 Responses

  1. Very nice review. I just finished this one and I loved it! Loved it!

  2. I didn’t read the post since I haven’t started the series yet. Really nice cover though.

  3. That cover is beautiful. Thanks for the review. Sounds very good.

  4. […] Need a Little Romance, The Book Binge, Book Addict, or the very first review (that I saw): I Do Not Want to Wait, I Want the Book Now. (My google-fu is not so badass this morning, though, so maybe there are more out […]

Leave a Reply

