• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

An Interview with Christine Wells about Sweetest Little Sin

A Marquis’ Betrayal
Lady Louisa Brooke has many suitors, but the only man for her is the wild and ruthless Marquis of Jardine. When Jardine suddenly abandons her after a long-standing liaison, he leaves her with nothing except the secret they share. Her future in ruins, Louisa recklessly accepts a mission from the head of the secret service and becomes embroiled in a perilous operation in which nothing is as it seems…

A Lady’s Revenge
The Marquis of Jardine is determined to destroy the criminal mastermind who’s sworn vengeance against all he holds dear. But when he hears that Louisa is to wed a dangerous enemy, Jardine is tortured by jealousy and fear for her safety. He tracks her down, only to discover that her mission collides with his.

A Love that Won’t Be Denied
Together, Louisa and Jardine must now foil a plan to betray the secret service and escape a diabolical revenge. But can they put the past behind them, and take the greatest risk of all—on love?

Christine, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Hi Greta, thanks so much for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

A Love that Won’t Be Denied
Together, Louisa and Jardine must now foil a plan to betray the secret service and escape a diabolical revenge. But can they put the past behind them, and take the greatest risk of all—on love?

I live in Australia with my husband and two small boys. Thank goodness our dog is a girl or I’d be completely outnumbered! I’m a former lawyer who decided to exchange writing contracts and prospectuses for romance novels. I can’t believe I get paid to have this much fun!

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing with a view to publication since about 2001.

What is your writing process like?

I’m a fly by the seat of my pants writer and I wish I wasn’t. Things stew away in my head for a long while and then when it reaches some kind of tipping point I just blurt it all out on the page in a fairly quick draft. Then I go back and flesh out and cut and polish. I’d much prefer to outline and I have tried a lot of different processes but nothing else fits.

Can you tell us about your newest release Sweetest Little Sin?

Oh, gladly! The Marquis of Jardine, a ruthless government spy, and Lady Louisa Brooke were secondary characters in an earlier novel of mine, THE DANGEROUS DUKE. They have a long and tortured history together but SWEETEST LITTLE SIN opens with Jardine telling Louisa it’s over between them. Shattered by his betrayal, Louisa recklessly accepts a mission from a British spymaster, only to find that her objective coincides with Jardine’s.

What are you currently working on?

I’d love to tell you—I’m so excited about my next project—but unfortunately, it’s under wraps for the moment.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

I’m not sure where these ideas come from. Some spring from tidbits of research but usually certain characters and situations appeal to me and then the story unfurls from there.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Yes, I love reading, of course! I often have two or three books on the go at one time. Auto-buys—Liz Carlyle, Lisa Kleypas, Loretta Chase, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, too many to name. I also enjoy reading crime, C.S. Harris, Elizabeth George, PD James.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

My husband always grumbles that there are too many ‘keeper’ books in my collection. But also very special to me are books written and signed by friends. I’d never part with those.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

I think Georgette Heyer’s novels were the first romances I read and I still re-read them from time to time. I recently bought a wonderful audible book of Heyer’s Sylvester read by Richard Armitage.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Oh, that’s a tough one! I think Richard Armitage would be wonderful as Jardine. I’d pick a cool blonde for Lady Louisa but not someone conventionally pretty. Maybe Megan Dodds, who was in MI-5/Spooks.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

I’d switch lives with Louisa if it meant I could have Jardine!

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I love spending time with friends and family, going to the beach, traveling.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

I’d like to know what romance novel you’d love to see as a movie and who you’d cast in the roles of hero and heroine. One commenter will receive a signed copy of SWEETEST LITTLE SIN.

Where can readers find you on the internet?

Please visit my website: http://www.christine-wells.com/

Or join me at the Romance Bandits blog: http://romancebandits.blogspot.com/

Thanks so much for having me here today!

14 Responses

  1. The Ocean Between by Lynda Coker. I would like to see the hero Rashid as Karl Urban and the heroine Victoria as Sandra Bullock.
    Your book cover is beautiful! Great interview. Thanks for being here.
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. I would love to see Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series made into a movie. I’m not sure who I would choose to act out the characters and I’m not a huge fan celebrity actors.

    lilazncutie1215 @ yahoo.com

  3. The Secret by Julie Garwood. I love me some highlander action. I have a thing for Russell Crowe so I’d love to see him as Iain and don’t really know who for Judith. I’d be happy with any highlander book as a movie! LOL

  4. Hi Sue! I haven’t read that book but I like the idea of Keith and Sandra together. Thanks for commenting!

    It is a great cover, isn’t it? Jim Griffin has done all of my covers and he came up with something a little different in this one, didn’t he?

  5. Hi Jeanette, oh, yes wouldn’t Kenyon’s books make wonderful cinema viewing. And sometimes I like a new actor to make the role his own. When you haven’t seen them in anything else, you can often believe in the character more, can’t you? Harry Potter is a good example.

  6. Alicia, after Gladiator, I’d have to agree Crowe would make a wonderful highlander. THanks for commenting!

  7. I think it would be cute to turn It Had To Be You by Susan Elizabeth Phillips into a movie. I could picture Gerard Butler as Dan and maybe Cameron Diaz as Phoebe.

    I enjoyed reading the interview!

  8. Hi Lori Ann! I LOVE all SEPs and It Had to Be You is a great favourite. Cool choices as hero and heroine. I think Gerard would be great as a big football coach. Cameron might be a bit skinny for Phoebe but perhaps they could persuade her to put on some pounds for the role? I think Kate Hudson would be great, too. She has that soft sex kitten thing going for her. Thanks for commenting!

  9. Kenyon’s dark hunter books have the right elements and action for movies or a series, but it would be damn difficult to find the right actors to protray them. I’m not really up to par with actors and actresses. Roxanne St. Clair’s BulletCatchers would be a good tv show, Lara Adrian’s, maybe even Kresley Cole

  10. Hi Raonaid, thanks for commenting! I think if you are a friend of Sherrilyn’s on facebook, you can see all the actors/models she has chosen as like the characters in her books. Thanks for commenting!

  11. I would like to see A Touch of Scandal by Jennifer Haymore made into a move with Jeffrey Dean Morgan as Garrett and Sandra Bullock as Kate! This was a great book and I would love to see the movie!

  12. Hi Quilt Lady! Jennifer is a good friend of mine and I’m sure she’d be delighted to hear that! Garrett is a fabulous hero and I agree Sandra would be great as Kate.

  13. Hi, Christine! Great to see you! As for casting a novel, I’m really horrible about that sort of thing–I don’t watch many movies, and even when I remember the actor’s look, I can’t remember his/her name! As for novels that would make good books, I’ve always thought Suzanne Brockmann’s Troubleshooters would be fun to see–they’re fun to read, and it’d be neat to see if the action plays out well on screen 🙂

  14. I’d love to see Susan Donovan’s He Love Lucy made into a movie. It’s one of my favorite contemporary romances.

    Casting it is a tough one. The hero is a personal trainer and would love to see Eric Bana as the hero who has a brother who I believe has Downs Syndrome (if I remember correctly).

    The heroine Lucy is a reporter who has a thing for Milk Duds (or Whoppers) and is challenged to lose weight as part of a promotion for her job. I think Kate Winslet would be good for this role. She has the humor and the girl next door personality that would be perfect for it.

    It’s a romantic comedy that would make a great film.

    Congrats on your new book. I’ve not read a book of yours before, and I think this book would be a great introduction to your work.

Leave a Reply

