• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Q&A & Contest with Dawn Halliday

Dawn, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Thanks so much for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I am a California mom of three who loves to write emotionally intense, sexy romance. I also write historical romance as Jennifer Haymore.

How long have you been writing?

I started writing seriously when my daughter was born five years ago.

What is your writing process like?

It really changes with every book! I’d say the consistent things are that after I come up with an initial concept for a book, I work off a loose outline, and I write sequentially. Also, I get my best writing done late at night with a cup of coffee or tea beside me!

Can you tell us about your newest release, Highland Surrender?

After writing two books centering on love triangles, Highland Surrender is my attempt at a “love square.” There are two couples matched up at the beginning of the book, but they end up with different partners at the end!

Do you have any other books releasing this year?

Yes, as Jennifer Haymore, I have A Touch of Scandal in April, and A Season of Seduction in October. Both are spicy-hot Regency romances.

What are you currently working on?

I’m currently finishing up edits on A Season of Seduction and starting my next Jennifer Haymore book.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

That’s a hard question to answer, because they’re just…there, usually! My husband sometimes helps me with original concepts, and often once I come up with a concept, he helps me to map it out. He’s a great “idea man.”

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I love to read, and wish I had time to read more! I also wish I wasn’t such a slow reader…

My auto-buy historical authors include: Laura Kinsale, Diana Gabaldon, Loretta Chase, Anna Campbell, Julie Garwood, and newcomers Tessa Dare and Courtney Milan. I love Monica McCarty’s Scottish historicals, and Maya Banks’s erotic romances.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, Whitney, My Love by Judith McNaught, Goddess of the Hunt by Tessa Dare, Claiming the Courtesan by Anna Campbell, and all of Laura Kinsale’s and Loretta Chase’s books.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

I think the first romance I ever read was Ransom by Julie Garwood. I loved it!

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

I’d switch lives with Ceana MacNab from Highland Surrender. Even though her life has been difficult, she is a strong woman who’s so skilled at what she does as a healer, and finds her job so satisfying.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I love hanging out and laughing with my family: we love going to the movies, going on bike rides, and just having fun around the house.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

What is your biggest pet peeve about the romances you read?

Where can readers find you on the internet?

http://www.dawnhalliday.com/

http://www.jenniferhaymore.com/

www.twitter.com/jenniferhaymore

www.facebook.com/jenniferhaymore

****Leave a comment answering Dawn’s question and one lucky commenter will win a signed copy of Highland Surrender. Good Luck 🙂

19 Responses

  1. Sometime the authors have the hero or heroine do something that to me is so out character for them it makes the story seem not as good. I’ve read a few books that I really don’t care for the heroine to much because she’s to big a bitch. I don’t want her to be walk all over but I also don’t want her to walk all over people.

  2. My biggest pet peeve is when a character acts dumb or is mean.

  3. My biggest pet peeve is when there is an unexpected ending that is BAD, like where the hero doesn’t end up with the girl who he was developing a romance with wth! Thankfully that doesn’t happen frequently!

  4. I love romance but my biggest pet peave would be is when the ending leaves you hanging! You will run into one every now and then that just leave you wondering just really what happened or leaves you wanting more! This has only happened to me a couple of times though!

  5. My biggest pet peeve is that the book usually ends quickly. You have the big build up and then bam! 40 pages left and everything’s done. I know it has to end and writers only have so many pages or words to write, but come on. The first 300 pages can be great and then the ending (last few pages) just usually ruins the book for me.

  6. My biggest pet peeve is when the hero or heroine all of a sudden act out of character, with no explanation.

  7. My biggest pet peeve is that a lot of the females act helpless all the time.

  8. TSTL heroines!

  9. I just love reading different romance stories with adventure. I love when a author breaks out of the normal mold with something no ones read before.

    I have a question, might sound dumb…why do authors write under different names?

  10. I don’t really have a pet peeve with the romances I read! If I’m not liking the book, I just put it down..

  11. My pet peeve are virgin heroines who get pregnant on the very first time.

  12. Hi Dawn!
    thanks for the great interview – I really enjoyed reading it 😀
    the biggest pet peeve for me: there are fantastic secondary characters out there and it’s really cruel giving them no book for their own…
    greetings, Ina

  13. Most of the previous posters have listed my biggest peeves. But I’ll add that I hate it when a heroine is strong and smart then becomes weak and stupid in hormone overdrive.

  14. i really have to agree with cybercliper for biggest pet peeve

  15. Thanks for the great interview, I loved Highland Obsession and I’ve been looking forward to reading this book!
    My biggest pet peeve is what Jeanette said, a bad ending or no HEA at all.

  16. Pet peeve is definitely annoying characterization, or sloppy characterization–where the author seems to be using stereotypes or relying on what we assume the hero or heroine might be like. Even if I’ve already read a bunch of stories about a secretary who falls for her boss, I haven’t read this one, and I want the author to make it fresh for me 🙂 (Demanding? Admittedly yes :))

  17. My biggest pet peeve helpless heroines 🙂
    Thanks for the great interview!

  18. I think my biggest pet peeve is, like some commenters before me, when the heroine is weak. I like my heroines to be strong, fighters, able to stand up for themselves… they just occasionally like to let the hero take over. Haha.

  19. I like my heroines to be strong but not bitchy. Alot of times its either she is too wimpy or too bitchy. I know it must be difficult to walk that fine line but when its done it makes the book that much more enjoyable.

    dcf_beth at verizon dot net

Leave a Reply

