• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Discussing shifters with Annmarie McKenna

Hi Annmarie! Thank you for joining us today. Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I am a mom of four, wife, chauffeur, writer, reader, and love to travel with my family.

How long have you been writing?

Since about 2004 I guess.

What is your writing process like?

Well until now I’ve always written at night, in the dark quietness of the house, after everyone’s–all the kids at least–have gone to bed. Now that my son is in kindergarten, I am able to write in the mornings.

What made you decide to write about shifters?

I love ‘em :) I love to read about them and would really like to meet the ultimate dominant alpha male. LOL

If you could be any type of shifter, which would you choose?


I think a werewolf. Or maybe a jaguar. Perhaps an eagle…

Do you have any future plans for heroes of the furry variety?

I tend to flop around from genre to genre a lot. I am still working on the third in the Mate Series, Ultimatum. If only Derek and Paige would cooperate, things would go much easier.

Can you tell us about your next release(s)?

To the Max releases May 4th from Samhain. It’s a short, fun, pole-dancing red-hots! If anyone has read the first two, Between a Ridge and a Hard Place or Bridging the Gap, then you’ve met Max, the security man.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Traveling, watching my kid’s various sports, long drives to nowhere in particular. We really like indoor waterparks so we’ve been hitting those lately. And if I had a loom, I’d probably spend vast amounts of time weaving.

If you could ask readers any question, what would it be?

I’m always wondering what people are truly looking for that they’re aren’t finding. You know us, always looking for ideas.

Where can readers find you on the internet?

I am the most horrible author for updates–I’m sure everyone who’s ever looked can tell you that. Sorry! www.annmariemckenna.com or on facebook. I have a Myspace page but man, are those even used anymore? and a blog that you can access from the website but again…it’s woefully behind in updates. I also have a yahoo group that’s mainly used for special announcements. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Annmarie_McKenna/
~~~~
Annmarie has offered a great Shifter Week prize! One lucky person will get their pick from her backlist. Winner’s choice! All you need to do is leave a comment answering her question. Good luck :D
32 Responses

  1. Lets see what I am looking for…..in my shifters I love a very aggressive alpha. He knows what he wants and makes no apologies for it. I like them to be tough stuff so that means fighting. I really like the idea of marking their property.

    What I am missing?
    Honestly, their seems to be a major increase in people trying to writer about shifters and it is more than just having a character that changes it is all about the “world” in which they live that is important. Especially if it is going to be a series. With the world laid out right you can easily put yourself into the story. With that being said when it omes to shifters the story is just as important as the sex. I have read a lot of books lately that did not have a good story.

  2. Well… I think the most common thing I find lacking is a rich world in where the shifters live. Sometimes it seems like I need to fill in too many gaps.

    Great interview by the way! Your books sound awesome.

  3. I’m looking for a really great romance where the characters just happen to either shifters or vampires or even a paranormal mix with humans. As long as the story is well written and the romance is believable I’m pretty much happy.

    On a side note, will there be a sequel to Tooth and Claw…I loved that book.

  4. What am I looking for….. I am looking for a well written world that can be a stand alone story or evolve into an entire series over time…

    I am missing? Not really much, in the way of variety of books but the quality could be taken up a notch with the shifter’s back story getting more fleshed out and the main story not evolving into romps in the sack between the characters. Sex is great but lately has become the focal point for too many authors in too many of their books.

    Thanks for the interesting interview and now that I have found Annmarie McKenna will have to check out your work more closely…..

    jackie b central texas

  5. When I am reading a shapeshifer novel I am looking for the main characters to be a strong alpha male whose mate is a strong independent woman who can take care of herself. I also look for a book where the author has done a good job with world building.

  6. You know, I’m pretty much right along with everyone else. I’m generally just looking for a good story. I think that there is plenty of variety out there from Vamps to Shifters etc. but if the story itself isn’t good, I don’t want to read it. I’m also along w/CrystalGB I like strong characters that can take care of themselves. By the way Annmarie, I luuuuved Seeing Eye Mate! Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!

  7. I’m not looking for anything in life in general, but I’m always looking for a great read in any genre.

  8. I’ve been fortunate enough to find more than enough reading material out there addressing all my needs whether it be paranormal, contemporary, romantic suspense, erotic (m/m/f, m/m/, m/f/m, m/f), futuristic/sci-fi romances. I’m a voracious romance reader…I’m open to reading all the sub-genres as long as there is a HEA and the blurb catches my interest.

    I’m a HUGE fan of your work and have pretty much read everything you’ve written…I’m looking forward to reading your upcoming release.

    Thanks for a great interview.

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day
    Anna

  9. I’ve read your shifter books and some others and really enjoyed them. I would say I’m looking for a great secondary characters. I really enjoy series, so I like how a secondary becomes the primary. Ususally I get to liking the secondary and really enjoy reading their story. Great characters help add to the story of the primary and usually lightens up the story, since they are usually funny. I want a HEA and a strong heroine and hero. I like an alpha male but the female has to have enough strength to not just be a push over.

    Thanks for the great stories!

  10. Great interview. I love how you can’t really nail down what kind of shifter you’d like to be. I’m with you on that. There are so many varieties that I doubt I’d be able to pick the one I’d really like to be.

    As for what I’m looking for but not really finding enough of, that’s pretty hard to answer. Since I’ll read pretty much anything, I’m pretty satisfied with the variety I’ve been finding. However, I would love to see more books that incorporate more of a variety of mythologies – like Norse and eastern mythologies. Even more Greek mythology, though I can usually find those if I really look.

  11. I’m always looking for more background info attached to the shifters and more of their friends and family in the story. I think the secondary characters always make a story more fun to read!

  12. I would be intrigued by a book that has a main character be disabled , but then not have their disability when they shift. I’d be interested to see the conflicted feelings the character goes through.

  13. cool interview;)

  14. I love a bit of laughter in a story.

  15. I just look for a good story. I am pretty happy with what I find out there now.

  16. Thanks for an interesting post. You are one busy woman, I can relate. I raised five children and it’s not an easy job. Kudos to you!

  17. Oh dear. What I’m looking for but not finding?… I seriously can’t think of anything! Is that sad? Lol, there is just so much possibility discovered by all the wonderful authors that is really does not leave much for us to miss out on!

    Thanks!
    Kate
    aka YzhaBella
    http://www.yzhabellasbookshelf.blogspot.com/

  18. In books, what am i looking for? hmm…well for me its just a romantic NEW idea that while may seem that it doesn’t occur often, it has realistic plot points in it, that you imagine yourself doing with ur guy when u are older. And humoring it up is always good, because only relationships that don’t last are boring. The funny they are the more realistic the relationships are, because the common folk always joke around and stuff.

  19. For me, I look for characters I can cry with, laugh with and get mad with.

  20. More books that continue the story from Seeing Eye Mate and Checkmate! I LOVED those stories!!! They are two of my favorites that I reread a lot.

  21. I’m always looking for a good paranormal book I prefer shifter but if I can’t find one I will read just about any kind of paranormal story.

  22. The only thing I have found lacking when I first started reading paranormal, was the author only used one type of paranormal being and ignored the others. I’ve seen several that are changing that. I’m seeing more books these days with a mix of paranormal beings and even a decent mix of shifter species. shifters are my fave but if they can exist some of the others must also. It seems for a while some authors forgot that.
    I love stories where the characters have great chemistry but have things to overcome before they can settle in to their HEA. And if there is well written humor woven into the story, it makes it a lot more enjoyable for me that a story that is all dark and stressful.
    The only other thing I can think of is there is a distinct lack of futuristic romance out there. Sci-fi was my first reading love.
    On a more specific note, I’d really love to get my hands on the third book of the Mates series.

  23. umm there isn’t a lot of dragon shifter stories that I have found

  24. Honestly, there isn’t much I haven’t been able to find :) I do find that I enjoy stories that pick up with a long-term/married couple, and take it from there, sort of an after-the-HEA kind of thing. I have been enjoying the variety in shifters though, including more dragons as of late!

  25. What am I looking for ? A hero and heroine who aren’t perfect so I can relate but that Alpha male every time who has heart, compassion and a need to protect. My all time want is a Highlander in a kilt who can shift to a were wolf or panther. :)
    Carol L.
    Lucky4750@aol.com

  26. I can’t seem to find a story, para or normal, that discusses the deep emotional challenges of two couples living together. Strange right? I’ve read a couple attempts but they were not believable to me.

  27. I agree with Miranda. That would be such a challenging story to write. But I want that story to be deeply passionate and engaging, and so totally believable.

    armiefox at yahoo dot com

  28. I enhale paranormal romance stories, and have been really satisfied with the current selection. I can pretty much find any kind of shifter story that captures my interest, with every level of sensuality to fit my mood. A unique storyline has to go hand in hand with great storytelling that immerses me into a fantastical world that I feel sorry to leave.

  29. I am always looking for the story that has unforgettable characters. The ones that are so real you want to revisit their story because you don’t want it to end. These are the books that go on the keeper shelf.

  30. oh my, Annmarie, you are asking impossible questions *sigh* I like new plots, unpredictable turnarounds and strong characters…
    wish you all the best, Ina

  31. What I would love to have more of….are hot romance indepth (novels) and I wish there were more of them. If seems to me….that if you want hot, you are limited to erotica and most of them are not long enough to really get into the depth of the story…and the typical romance novels are steamy but not necessarily hot.

  32. Of course I’ve been trying to think of “what I’m missing” in my books but really coming up blank. Yeah I do miss a bit more adventure in my books and watching characters grow before my eyes. Other than much, nada

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

