• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Q&A with Melissa Schroeder

Melissa, Thank-you for agreeing to an interview today.

Thanks so much for having me here today!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I am a military wife with two kids. I grew up in the military so it is really just old hat for me. Of course, with that background, I have lived all over the place from Ohio to Germany to Hawaii but right now, we are living in Virginia.

How long have you been writing?

I started writing in college, but mostly very melodramatic short stories. They were filled with angst. Then, I tried everything. Suspense, cozy mysteries, then I accidently picked up a romance in 1999, and that is when I started writing romance.

What is your writing process like?

It changes constantly. But for the most part, I am back to my old ways. I will sketch out a light plot, get my character studies down, then I write like a crazy person, putting out 4-5,000 words a day. It is very rough and usually ends up about 75% total when I finish the rough draft. I let it sit for a month, then I go back and do 3-4 edits of it.

Can you tell us about your newest release Conquering India: Texas Temptations #1?

This is my first full ménage. India came to me a year or so ago. She is a lot of fun, but a little lost. She has everything back on track in her life after splitting with her cheating ex, but her personal life. She hasn’t really dated since her divorce. When she is hired to cater a party for Marc and Wade’s security company, Wade gets it in his head that India is the one for them. It was fun to watch Wade trying to convince both India and Marc that it could work.

Is this beginning of a new series for you?

Yes, I have at least two more planned. The first one is Delilah’s Downfall. The second is as yet unnamed.

Do you have any other books releasing this year?

Yes. I have a rerelease in June from WCP, Hands On Training. I rewrote it and expanded it by about 30K.

Next I have two Samhain releases, A Little Harmless Obsession in August, and The Spy Who Loved Her (the sequel to Lessons in Seduction) due in December.

What are you currently working on?

That is always a loaded question. Because of my ADD I usually have several projects going. Right now, I am finishing up The Spy Who Loved Her, but I am also working on Delilah’s Downfall (plotting it), and I am working on two unsigned paranormals, The Cursed Clan and By Blood. Next up is A Little Harmless Addiction.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

OY, this is huge. Right now, I am huge into historical. It is my favorite genre to read and there is enough of it out there. My fave that I always buy is Liz Carlyle. I like Stephanie Laurens too, but Liz is my fave. I love Nora Robert’s suspenses, and I love, love, love Shayla Black’s erotics. I love her brethren too, but really, her contemporary erotics make my day.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Really? I have too many to name, seriously.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

First book, Linda Howard’s All the Queen’s Men. I actually thought it was just a suspense. I read it in ONE DAY. But, I have one book I always go back to and that is Nora Roberts’ Carnal Innocence. I just love the hero in the story and she really gets the setting right. Oh, and Howard’s After the Fire. Love that book.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Hmm, I think I would like Brad Pitt and Minnie Driver in A Little Harmless Sex. Of course Brad would have to bulk up a bit :)

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

MILA in Hunting Mila. That woman knows how to handle anything from tea parties to invading aliens. And she knows just how to get herself out of sticky situations.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I like to spend a lot of time with my kids and husband. For so many years, I had to write at night because the kids were young and I was too busy during the day. So, I like to spend a lot of my extra time with them.

 My oldest is a freshman and I know we only have a few years left together like this. So, one of our favorite things to do is watch shows that I missed the beginning of (because I used to write at night) and she was too young to watch. We made it through Bones, we are now on NCIS :)

My youngest is a writer. She is eight and has been writing books and reading them to the class. So, we put her books together. She writes and illustrates them, then we staple them together.

Other than that, I am learning Reiki healing. More for myself, really because it has helped me with my back problems.

If you could ask readers one question, what would it be?

If you could choose an erotic genre for the next Harmless book (after A Little Harmless Addiction) what would it be? Ménage, bdsm, straight contemp, etc?

Where can readers find you on the internet?

I am all over the place:

http://www.melissaschroeder.net/

I am one of the wicked writers:

http://www.thewickedwriters.com/

Also, I tweet on a regular basis:

www.Twitter.com/melschroeder

and facebook:

www.facebook.com/authormelissaschroeder

***Leave a comment answering Melissa’s question for a chance to win a download copy of Conquering India. Good Luck :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.