• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Q&A with Kelly Jamieson

Abby Finlay sticks to one simple rule: no commitment. Ever. She’s not a one-man woman—or even a one-woman woman. She likes sex, and she’s not afraid to experiment. The secret to her success is never sticking around long enough to let anyone get past her tough, cynical exterior.

And that’s what’s making her nervous right now. The Look. In other words, the expression on two-months-steady Eric’s face when he looks at her. It’s got “next level” written all over it—and Abby’s on alert to head for the door.

When Abby confesses to the sexual arousal she feels with his roommate, Jett, Eric can hardly believe his luck. He and Jett have been looking for that one perfect woman with whom to share their lives, and Abby is the missing piece who fits perfectly into the empty space.

Confronted with not just one man, but two who offer her the “C” word, Abby’s buried fears come roaring to the surface. There’s only one thing left to do. Run, before she hurts the two men who mean more to her than they should.

Hi Kelly! Thank you for joining us today.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?
I’m a very boring person.  I work full time as a manager at an insurance company. I’ve been married 25 years, to my best friend. He’s not the most romantic guy but he really is a wonderful husband, he’s very supportive of my writing, and he has a hot body. ;-) We have 2 teenage kids who really are the best kids in the world. Really.

How long have you been writing?
I spent a lot of time writing when I was a kid – does that count? When I started reading romances as a teenager, I knew I wanted to write romance, but I never actually did. Probably a little fear of failure combined with real life getting in the way. About three years ago I decided I was going to give it a serious shot – my kids were older and busy doing their own things and I was ready.

What is your writing process like?
My writing process is still evolving, I think! I spend much more time planning now that I did at first. I start with my characters because I believe all stories are ultimately character driven. I plan some major plot points, but not too many, because I’ve discovered that when I start writing, my characters take over and things happen that I never would have imagined. Then I write like crazy. I’m very fast. When I’m finished, I go back and do a lot of tweaking and editing, and then I put that baby away for at least a month. When I go back to it it’s more fresh and I can see problems I didn’t see before. Then I get my fabulous critique partner to look at it.

Can you tell us about your newest release, 2 Hot 2 Handle?
I’m pretty proud of this story, which was on the Top 10 bestseller list at My Bookstore and More for 4 weeks!!!  I think people like it. J It’s the third story in a sort of series (the stories aren’t really connected, just the characters). In the first 2 stories we meet Abby, who is always the third in a threesome, and that’s the way she likes it – fun sex, no commitment. Then she meets Eric and thing seem to be getting serious except she’s also kind of attracted to Eric’s room mate Jett…turns out they both want Abby!

Do you have other books releasing this year?
I have a novella coming out with Ellora’s Cave called Conference Call, no date yet. It’s a quick little story about the sexy things that can happen when you’re away at a conference. And coming in June, my  next Samhain release, Lost and Found, a very different story – yes, it’s still hot, as readers know me for, but intensely emotional and a different kind of romance.

What are you currently working on?
Right now I’m about two-thirds through a BDSM themed romance which I’m really enjoying! That’s unusual because at this point in my work-in-progress I usually hate it! I don’t have a title for it yet…I need a hot title.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?
Ideas come from all over – newspaper and magazine articles, TV shows, eavesdropping on people in restaurants!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?
Well I am definitely a romance reader. I love love. I have many auto-buy authors – although the author who’s probably my top pick isn’t actually a romance author – Marian Keyes. But her books do have a love story. I love how she tackles such intense topics with so much humor. Also Jill Shalvis, Tara Janzen, Lora Leigh, Lorelei James, Lacey Alexander/Toni Blake, Megan Hart, Erin McCarthy, Shannon McKenna…and many more!

What books are on your keeper shelf?
Many by the authors I just listed! We were doing some cleaning a few weeks ago and I found a box of books I’d kept from years back – Kathleen Woodiwiss, Judith McNaught, Jacqueline Susann (Valley of the Dolls!).

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?
I would say Shanna by Kathleen Woodiwiss.

If one your books was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?
Okay let’s face it, if most of my books were made into movies, they’d be X-rated. I don’t know who would star in them!

If you could switch lives with one of your characters, who would it be & why?
Hmm. I just submitted a book to one of my editors and the hero is a hockey player. I have a big fondness for hockey players. Oh yeah. So it might be her…Remi in Breakaway. Here’s hoping you all get to read it some day!

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?
Family time is the most important thing and I’m so lucky that my husband and I still have so much fun together after all these years, and also that my kids, despite being teenagers, still want to do things with their parents. I also like cooking (well, actually eating!), gardening and playing the piano.

If you could ask readers any question, what would it be?
‘Kay, I really thought about this – but I have no idea. I would just tell everyone who reads my books, I love you!

Where can readers find you on the internet?
www.kellyjamieson.com Come visit, I have a beautiful new website!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.