• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Q&A, plus giveaway, with Charlene Teglia

To survive, she’ll have to keep up with him all day. And all night…

Take Me, Lover, Book 3

Jill Martin loves adventure—as long as it comes between the covers of a book. Preferably one sporting a bare-chested hero. But to reinvent her faltering travel agency, she needs to start with reinventing herself. Her assignment: a three-day backpacking trip through the Olympic High Divide.

Soon she’s forced to cope with bears, blisters, and a basic instinct to get horizontal with her vertical guide. He’s as hard as the ground they sleep on and his heart’s as icy as the glaciers that surround them. Not a problem, since she’s only interested in his body.

Ryan Lowe knows how to read terrain, and Jill’s is easy. Soft lips, soft eyes, soft curves, soft muscles. She won’t last a day. Plus, if she knew what his imagination was doing with her body right now, she’d turn tail and run. Yet the city girl surprises him with her sheer grit—and sassy tongue.

When they run into geocachers using the remote location as a drug drop-off, there’s only one way to escape—plunge headlong into the untracked wilderness. As she puts her life in Ryan’s hands, Jill wonders if she’s in danger of losing something more precious. Her heart.

Hi Charlene! Thank you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Lillie, thanks for asking me.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself? How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing daily since I was 12. I’m 42, so that’s 30 years of ingrained habit.

What is your writing process like?

There are multiple stages, so I always have several projects going in various stages. One idea might be getting researched while another one is at the proposal stage. One is in the process of being written, another is being revised, another proof-read before release, and so on. My process is very organic, plots and worldbuilding grow from the characters and the situation they’re in.

Can you tell us about your newest releases, Adventure Lover and Bride of Fire?

Adventure Lover is the 3rd in the Take Me, Lover series from Samhain. These are hot contemporary romances with men who aren’t SEALs or supernaturals, romance with an emotional punch and a thrill of danger. Adventure Lover is the story of a woman who sets out to explore the wilderness and push her own limits, and the man who pushes them with her.

Bride of Fire is an erotic retelling of the myth of Persephone and Hades. It’s part of All Romance Ebook’s 28 Days of Heart fundraiser for the American Heart Association. When you buy a copy, you do something good for your heart and for somebody else’s.

Captive for his pleasure…

Hades, Lord of the Underworld, rules the realm of darkness but his kingdom has no queen. He burns for Persephone who lives in the world above. If he could only lure her below, she would taste the passion he alone can offer and agree to stay and rule by his side.

Persephone falls into Hades’ trap and becomes his captive. He offers her his bed and a throne, but will he offer her what she truly wants—his heart?

~~~~~~~~

Do you have other books releasing this year?

Yes, Dangerous Lover, the fourth and final installment of the Take Me, Lover series will release from Samhain this spring. Red Queen, also from Samhain, is the sequel to Animal Attraction. The Mammoth Book of Special Ops Romance in May contains my story Shoot to Thrill. Then in June, July and August my Wishmasters trilogy will release from Carina Press; these stories are tales of the Djinn and the women they fall for, three hot romances with one over-arching storyline. In the fall there’s Kiss of the Demon, the second Shadow Guardians novel from Samhain. I believe the Mammoth Book of Hot Romance which contains my story Wolf at the Door will also release in 2010.

What are you currently working on?

Right now? Revisions for Dangerous Lover, Red Queen, Djinn and Sin (Wishmasters #1) and Wolf at the Door, in various stages of the process.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

The overall answer is that I have the kind of brain wired to develop story ideas. More specific answers: for Dangerous Lover, I wanted to write about a hot firefighter in a southern setting. The story grew from that kernel. For Adventure Lover, I wanted to write about a city girl thrown together with a wilderness guide. For Bride of Fire, I wanted to write the romance of Hades and Persephone because I always believed the story was romantic.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I love reading mysteries, urban fantasy, paranormal romance, Young Adult. To name just a few, I will buy anything by Lynn Viehl under her various pen names, Lori Armstrong/Lorelei James, Shannon Stacey, Maya Banks, Lauren Dane, Ilona Andrews, Lois McMaster Bujold, Jim Butcher, Kim Harrison, Kelley Armstrong, Dean Koontz, Kristopher Reisz. I hate making lists like this because I always forget people, this is just a sample and not a complete list.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

I have several large bookcases full of keepers. Too many to list.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

It’s not really a romance, but I’d say A Wrinkle In Time, because Meg and Calvin’s romance is timeless and it’s really the first story with an important romance storyline I remember reading.

If one your books was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I really can’t say. I don’t think in terms of celebrity types for my characters; they are their own people in my head and I can’t really see them as anybody else.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters, who would it be & why?

I’d never want to end up in one of my own stories! My characters have to fight bad guys and go through all sorts of unpleasant situations I never want to find myself in. I like a more peaceful life.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Spending time with family and friends, raising kids, opening and closing doors for cats, painting, baking, gardening, hiking, camping.

If you could ask readers any question, what would it be?

Do you read ebooks? If not, why not?

Where can readers find you on the internet?

My blog, news, covers, excerpts and release information can be found on my website at www.charleneteglia.com. I’m also on Twitter and Facebook and I’m tracking my year in reading at Goodreads.

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a download copy of Adventure Lover! Good luck 😀

29 Responses

  1. Nice interview, Charlene! To answer your question, I love e-books! I have to travel so much for my day-job, I love being able to sift through my e-library and read whatever spicy story I’m in the mood for.
    Keep the great steamy stories coming!

  2. Great Interview.Adventure Lover sounds great.
    I can’t wait for Kiss of the Demon to be released.

  3. I love to read ebooks, especially the shorts! I only lament the lack of beautiful cover art to carry around and advertise while I am out and about. Thanks for the chance to win!

    Miranda

  4. great interview I hope I win!!

  5. I do read ebooks. I still prefer an actual book though. Probably cause you can hold it and touch it. LOL. Not sure if I could figure out those new ereaders as I have enough problems with the tv remote. LOL. Great interview and thanks for the contest.

  6. I love my e-books. I’m a little upset about the price things that have been going on because I don’t want to pay that much for an e-book, but I find a lot of great books online and if they are reasonable I’m all for it. I do still get the actual books, especially for series that I started in books. I’m always reading in my free time which is great with e-books.

  7. I read e-books all the time. I do worry though about the pricing issues that are coming up. I understand all the work that goes into both print and e-books… I just wonder where the not having paper deduction comes into the price points.

    What I really like about e-reading is instant gratification and all the new authors I wouldn’t normally get to read in print.

    Your book Adventure… sounds very interesting to me. I haven’t read your stories before this will be a great introduction.

    Thanks for the chance to win.

  8. I read ebooks and print. I like the instant gratification that comes with buying an ebook, plus I don’t have to worry about my kids picking up my book and reading something they shouldn’t be reading at their age.

    Your latest release sounds like a great addition to the series. I’m looking forward to it.

  9. Awesome interview and I love all your books! This newest release sounds like a fabulous read!

  10. I love ebooks. I either read them on my PC or I load them on my phone so I have a book to read no matter where I’m at.

  11. Adventure Lover sounds good, I like suspense and action in my books.

    I just got an e-reader, but haven’t really used it yet. In theory, it sounds great having many books on one device. Whether I’ll get used to the feel of it… I’m unhappy though that mainstream publishers are now charging the same for an ebook as a paper book. They say the actual cost of printing the book is miniscule. Yeah right. They should still take $1-2 off.

  12. Interesting interview. I do read ebooks on my laptop as I don’t have an ereader yet. I really enjoy them because I don’t have to worry about running out of physical room to store them. lol

  13. I haven’t read ebooks lately..
    Cool interview:)

  14. Yes, I do. I like the wider variety of genre stories to pick from in the ebook world. I’m really into reading stories in the m/m genre and most of those are definitely in ebook format.

  15. Hi, Charlene! What an incredible series 🙂 As for ebooks, I do read them, although sometimes I still prefer an actual book–I find them easier to toss into whatever bag I’m carrying, and I don’t worry that I might get it wet/drop it/ruin it the way I still worry about an e-reader. And reading on the desktop is OK, but not as convenient as holding a paperback. On the other hand, there are some amazing books available in e-book form, and I can have them NOW!! 😀

  16. Great interview.
    As to your question about ebooks, for a while I wanted to get an ereader before I started buying them but finally gave up on that when I got tired of not being able to read all the great books I was finding on the publisher sites. I have long since lost track of how many ebooks I have. Have started having to put them in separate folders in the computer just to keep them halfway organized. I still buy print books as backup(learned that lesson during a 6 day power outage) and for any series I already had started in print.
    Congrats on your latest release.

  17. I do read ebooks—-on my PC and my Kindle. I call them my instant gratification.

  18. Hi, all! Lots of interesting discussion.

    Rachel, travel and ebooks are a match made in heaven. Says the person who used to travel with a bag full of books.

    Elaing, thank you, I’m excited about the next Shadow Guardians installment!

    Miranda, that is a downside but there are some pretty nifty apps that display the book covers on the reader like a library shelf.

    Sue, sometimes it is harder than it should be to read an ebook. A lot of people rave about their Kindles because buying/downloading and reading are so seamless.

    Alicia, the price thing is a big issue. From an insider standpoint, I do understand the costs involved in producing an ebook. But I do think there should be ways to pass along savings.

    Marnie, instant gratification is a biggie. Wait a few days for shipping, drive to the bookstore, or download? *g* It’s nice to have options. It’s also nice to discover authors like Shannon Stacey via ebooks!

    Lisa, keeping the book out of little hands is a biggie. Now that both of my little people read, more of a factor than it used to be. : O

  19. Anne, I think once you get used to it you’ll like it. I have come to love my Sony reader. So many books on that slim little rectangle!

    Karin, you’re telling me. We have a house full of bookcases, and that’s after shifting to e-reading for many purchases for the last 5 years!

    Barna, thanks.

    Fedora, I still buy both. Sometimes it comes down to price and I’ll download the ebook because it’s $2 less than the print book, etc.

    Beth, the lack of universal formats and the ability to read across platforms is frustrating, I agree. You’d think we’d be further along on that by now.

  20. Great interview! I love ebooks! I think they open up whole new genres to readers who may not have enjoyed them before.

  21. wow sounds like a great read. Like reading stories like this and sassy mouth heroines are my fav.

  22. I’m a print-ho through and through. I have a few ebooks but do not own a reader nor am I likely to buy one in the near future. There are too many formats that aren’t universal to suit me; the non-sharing aspect and the cost of the reader plus the cost of the ebooks. It strikes me as a total rip-off for publishers to sell ebooks for the same cost as a print copy. I image the real cost of an ebook is pennies on the dollar versus a print copy.

    The most I’ve done is read an ebook novella on my computer on occasion and that’s not the same as relaxing with a book in my hand reading anywhere else.

    I’m a book a day reader and I haven’t found any genres or sub-genres not available to me in print. Perhaps if I ever see some of my objections to an e-reader and ebooks resolved, I might consider one. Until then, I see ebooks and e-readers as just one more money-making technology scheme. It strikes me a lot like buying the latest computer and it’s basically obsolete by the time you get it home…assuming one can’t live without all the bells and whistles. I think for me that I just don’t want ONE more technology demon to keep up with. I mean, how hard is it to slip a paperback in my purse?

    I guess if there’s a place that Amazon or B&N can’t deliver books that it could be an issue. Am I the only here who will never run out of books to read *grin*? I must have 300 books in my TBR and I never stop adding to it. Mostly new books but also used so the concept of “waiting” for a new book to read is foreign to me.

    Nothing gives me more joy than hitting a thrift store or UBS and buying an entire xerox box full of books for $15-20 bucks. The treasure hunt to track down those books on my 25 page TBB is all part of the fun.

    Many readers think that ebooks and e-readers are the last word, I just don’t happen to be one of them. I also don’t think print books will go away (at least in my life time) so to me it’s not even a debate…to each his own.

    The last stand alone book I read of yours that I most thoroughly enjoyed was “Wild, Wild West.”

  23. Great inteview! I read both e-books and print. I still read more print than e-books, but that is only because I haven’t bought an e-reader yet and I have to read my ebooks on my pc. Adventure Lover sounds like a really good book.

  24. Great interview and I really enjoyed the blurb. Yes I read e-books I read them on my computer. I would love to have a e-reader but I can’t it’s not in the budget right now.

  25. Thanks, Cari! I don’t know about new genres, but I know in ebooks I’ve come across stories that due to length or mixed genre or setting didn’t have good prospects in traditional publishing. And I was glad I got to read them anyway.

    Pam, sassy heroines are fun to write. *g*

    Nancy, sadly the cost difference between producing ebooks and print books isn’t that huge. The printing costs are a minor part of the whole, and with ebooks, other costs replace them. The files have to be converted into the various formats, online resellers take their cut same as print distributors. (The other costs including paying the author, the edtiors, the cover artist, and all of the business overhead.) Far from a money-making scheme, on some formats the sales are so few that publishers lose money by making a book available as an ebook. The profit margins in publishing are just not very big.

    That said, I don’t think it makes sense to price an ebook same as a hardcover or trade paperback. Mass market price is more reasonable, but then the tradeoff is that in traditional publishing, mass market release follows a few months after hardcover or trade. I’d like to see that lag time reduced for e-release at mass market price.

    I don’t think print books are going to go away, either, but things are definitely changing. Glad you enjoyed Wild Wild West!

    Becky, an e-reader does make it more convenient, although then you are locked into format. It’s a trade-off.

    Sherry, I think e-reader prices will be dropping. I’ve heard speculation that Amazon will make the Kindle free just to sell more books. Which is actually good strategy.

  26. Ebooks generally depend on my mood. Yeah I still like the feel of the actual book in my hand, but now that I have a Kindle2 (and hubs has a Sony) it is convenient when you don’t wanna drag around large quantities of books with you.

  27. the evil one has a sony too Rao? sighs…. Wants an ereader that will work;)….

  28. Hi Charlene

    I only discovered your books this month, and I’ve been lucky to track down pretty much all of your print issues, and am contemplating the ebooks too. I wanted to say how much I’ve enjoyed them and how I now can’t wait for the books you have coming out in future.

    I’ve just gotten myself a Sonry e-reader, so as soon as I figure it out, I will treat myself to some more.

    Regards

    Rita

  29. Hi Carlene, I don’t have an ereader but I just installed a program on my laptop that supports ebooks and I’ve read (1) ebook so far and looking forward to reading more of them.

    Love Satisfaction Guaranteed and Wild Wild West!!!

    Thank you for the chance to win one of your great books!!!

Leave a Reply

