• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please welcome Alison Paige!

Who said being eaten by the big bad wolf was a bad thing?

Maizie Hood struggles to keep her bakery turning a profit, her landlord from evicting her, and her dear Granny in a nursing facility. Wrestling with the decision to sell Gran’s cottage is hard enough. The last thing she needs is her childhood big-bad-wolf nightmares turning into real-life adult fantasies. Sexy businessman Gray Lupo’s sudden interest just makes matters worse. Is he the answer to her problems, or just a wolf in gentleman’s Armani?

Since his wife was killed twenty-one years ago, Gray’s life has been focused on two things: protecting the pack and avoiding the grown daughter of his wife’s killers. When it becomes clear he can’t do one without compromising the other, Gray finds playing “big bad wolf” to Maizie Hood’s “Little Red” is a role he enjoys far more than he expected.

A real bad wolf’s attack on Maizie changes everything. Gray can’t deny the pull she has on his instincts—and his heart. Suddenly he finds himself taking on a role he never thought he’d want, as her protector and mate. Until the truth about his connection to her nightmarish past comes to light…

Hi Alison! Thank you for agreeing to an author interview today.

It’s a pleasure to be here. Thanks for inviting me.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I’m a stay at home mom, with three teenage daughters.  I take advantage of school hours to write because once they’re home, I’m mom again.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been “seriously” writing since my oldest daughter was born. She’ll be 19 this May. But I’ve been writing in the pursuit of publication since 2001. Wow, I can’t believe it’s been that long already.

What is your writing process like?

I’m a plotter. I’ve tried just sitting down and writing but then I’d stop to take notes on a scene I wanted to write later and then it’d happen again. Before I knew it I was plotting. The beginning is always different. Sometimes I get an idea for a character or a scene, and sometimes ,  like with LITTLE RED AND THE WOLF, it’s a game of what if. “What if the story of Little Red Riding hood was about a werewolf?” After that I let the idea stew in my brain for a while. When I’m ready, I sit and write long hand everything I know about the characters and story, background, family, goals, motivations, pivotal moments, etc… Then I take that info, lay it out in some semblance of a story arch, open a file document on the PC, name it “Chapter One,” and start writing.

Can you tell us about your upcoming releases, Little Red and The Wolf and Naughty Bits 2?

LITTLE RED AND THE WOLF, is an erotic paranormal romance, based loosely on the fairy tale Little Red Riding hood.  Maizie Hood struggles to keep her bakery turning a profit, her landlord from evicting her and her dear Granny in a nursing facility. Now her childhood big-bad-wolf nightmares have become her real life adult fantasies. But is sexy businessman Gray Lupo the answer to her problems, or just a wolf in gentleman’s Armani?


Naughty Bits 2 is the second in the highly popular compilations of breath-hitching, leg-crossing, pulse-quickening short erotic fiction from the editors of SPICE BRIEFS. Penned by some of the genre’s best authors these nine provocative, flirty, haunting—but always arousing—erotic encounters may be brief, but each one is guaranteed to be the naughtiest part of your day!

Do you have other books releasing this year?

Actually I do! In March, Samhain Publishing will be releasing the print version of my erotic romantic suspense, TAME HORSES WILD HEARTS. And then in June the benefit anthology, GIFT OF LOVE will be released from Berkley. These are all brand new stories from Lori Foster, Ann Christopher, Jules Bennett, Lisa Cook, Heidi Betts, Gia Dawn, and me (under my other persona, Paige Cuccaro).  All the stories are family friendly and mine is another werewolf tale that I hope will give readers a smile and a good read.

What are you currently working on?

I’m working on a few things. A short erotic paranormal—another twist on a popular fairy tale. And two young adult stories, one dealing with angels and the other with werewolves.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Most of my stories come from playing the “what if” game. I see a news report, watch a movie, a TV show, read a magazine article and something about catches my imagination. Before I know it I’m thinking, “what if things were just a little different…” and it takes off from there.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I LOVE reading. I don’t have as much time to read as I’d like, but even if I could sit and do nothing but read all day I’d still have the same problem. My favorite genre is, of course, paranormal. I’ve got several auto-buys, more than I should (according to my bank account) and too many to list them all. A few, off the top of my head… Jim Butcher, Laurell K. Hamilton, Kim Harrison, Kelly Armstrong, Christopher Moore, and the list goes on.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

All the books in the Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice. It was Interview with a Vampire that made me want to write. I LOVE those books! Also all the books of the above authors and here again, the list goes on. Shelf space is a real problem in my house. I’ve passed my love of books to all three of my daughters and we all hate to part with any of our books.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

The Scofield Diagnosis. (Not sure that’s spelled right.) I read it when I was probably twelve. It belonged to my older sister and I had to sneak into my closet to read it so my mother and sister wouldn’t catch me. But I was HOOKED. After that I devoured  Flowers in the Attic and then every book by V. C. Andrews after that. By the time I finished them I was old enough to indulge my romance addiction openly.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Gabriel Byrne, just so I could go to the set and meet him. That man is wicked sexy.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters, who would it be & why?

Switching places with my heroine from OBEY ME (Written under my Paige Cuccaro, persona) would be sweet. She has the power of suggestion. Who wouldn’t want that?

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I’m a TV and movie junkie. Two of my oldest daughters work at the local movie theater and one of the perks is dollar movie passes. (YAY!) I also LOVE strolling the mall, people watching.

If you could ask readers any question, what would it be?

I’d ask them to tell me about the story they’re dying to read but haven’t found.

Where can readers find you on the internet?

I have two websites:
www.AlisonPaige.com
www.PaigeCuccaro.com
I’m also on twitter (Paigecuccaro) Facebook and myspace.

***Leave a comment answering Alison’s question for a chance to win a copy of Naughty Bits 1 (U.S. residents only.) If the winner is outside of the U.S., they will win a digital copy of any one book from Alison’s backlist. Good luck! 😀

29 Responses

  1. Alison – you’re book sounds great. What an interesting spin on an old tale.

    As for me, I guess I’m not the most creative. Nothing comes to mind regarding a story I haven’t seen yet. But, once I read it, I’ll know!

  2. Your new book sounds great I love wolf stories. Thanks for a great interview. I’ve been waiting for a book that was supposed to have already been out but have been pushed back. Big, Bad and Barbaric by Jaid Black the last I read its supposed to come out in February I’ve got my fingers crossed hoping that it does come out this time.

  3. Oh wow, this book is being written on my TBB list right now. I love the concept of the book. Very intriguing to say the least! The interview is just as intriguing.
    As far as what I am interesting in reading that has not been written… let’s see… I would like to see more gargoyles – they are very interesting. Thanks for a chance to win One!

  4. Wow your cover art drew me in and the story line kept me. I am adding you to my TBR pile!

    A story I would love but haven’t come across yet: The evil dragon’s crave for love from the virgin. It must be out there… but I haven’t read it.

  5. I’m not sure if it’s out there but I would love to read about some crazy nymph falling in love with an alpha male.

  6. Great interview! This books sound like it would be a great read! I would love to be entered!

  7. Not sure what kind of a story I’m dying to read but haven’t yet…although for some reason, I think a romance with Rapunzel might be a neat twist.

  8. Lillie and I have been talking about how gorgeous that cover is. Can you tell us who the cover artist is? They did such a fantastic job.

  9. I was so captivated by the “Little Red and The Wolf ” blurb that I just bought for my Kindle PC! I will dig into it later tonight.

    As for what story hasn’t been written, really tough question. Most any variation of an old fable would be new and interesting.

  10. Wonderful Cover!

    I see its kind of a common theme with some of the posters, but I enjoy adult versions of fairy tales.

  11. Hi Alison!
    it’s great to see you here – oh, I love the cover of “Litlle Red and the Wolf” 😀
    honestly, I can’t answer your question… everytime I think about something I want to read I find a new author who wrote it and I’m happy…
    wish you all the best,
    Ina

  12. I love the blurb for Little Red above.

    I can’t think of any story I’m dying to read. I have no imagination, thank goodness for authors that do.

  13. I love Lora Leigh’s breed series and I love to read the story of the first breed ever made. How he was conceived and how they came about?

  14. Nice interview. I like the idea of reading a grown-up version of Little Red Riding Hood. Updating fairy tales is really interesting.

    Your question is really hard to answer, Alison, as there is so much out there that I really enjoy reading and I’m not really sure if there is something I want to read but haven’t found. I’m usually able to find something when I decide there is a topic, plot, or genre I want to read. Maybe a story where the gods from Norse mythology clash with the gods from Greek mythology would be interesting.

  15. I can’t think of a story I am dying to read. I’ll leave up to the authors to find it.

    I love the books loosely basd on fairy tales.

  16. Thanks for all the great comments! I love the crazy nymph idea. LOL
    I’m so glad everyone loves the cover. The artist is Kanaxa and I feel incredibly lucky to have written the book that inspired such a cover. I hope everyone finds the story just as captivating!
    Hugs!
    ~Alison 😉

  17. Nice interview. The book sounds really interesting!

  18. Being a fairy tale fan from way back, and yet all grown up now, Little Red and the Wolf sounds fabulous! I also hear it got awesome reviews in the new RT magazine. Congratulations, Alison. BTW, I love your question for readers. Spot on perfect for any author.
    Best,
    Janie

  19. Since I read the excerpt and your comments, I’ve had that song, “Little Red Riding Hood,…till the big bad wolf came along” I’m trying to remember who sang that. Exciting! – Tanja

  20. Hey Alison,

    Congrats on the release. I bought my copy yesterday and can’t wait to read it!

  21. Hi Alison. Thanks for joining us today! I really love that writers are putting a new spin on fairy tales, myths, and legends 🙂

  22. I’d love to read a romantic Robin Hood tale.

  23. I enjoyed reading the blurb for LITTLE RED AND THE WOLF. An original take on an old fairytale!

    I’d like to read more time travel stories focussing on travel into the future.

  24. Great interview! Both your Alison Paige and Paige Cuccaro books are on my “keeper” shelf!
    — Marcia 😉

  25. Can you get Little Red and the Wolf on the Nook? I so want to read this story.

  26. Jen E,

    This is what I was told about the Nook. You can buy the book here in pdf format and then, using your usb cord, move it to the “my documents” folder in the Nook.

    I don’t own a Nook, but that is what I was told. Hope it helps!

  27. Hi Alison, I just love your spin on Little Red and The Wolf. I can’t wait to read it. Now I’m thinking…… there can be tons of stories from all those fairy tales we grew up with…you know, Jack and The Beanstalk, finding treasures, as well as love. I’m sure it would be even fantastic putting a futuristic twist to it.

  28. Alison what is your muse when writing your book?

    Please count me in.

    cindyc725 at gmail dot com

  29. The book sounds good!

Leave a Reply

