• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Review: Crossroads by Moira Rogers

Crossroads , book 2 in the Southern Arcana series, picks up where Crux left off.  Nicole Peyton is back in New Orleans, her friends are safe, and she is still lusting after recently-turned werewolf Derek Gabriel. When Nicole throws a birthday party for Derek’s cousin, the setting is finally perfect for Nicole and Derek to act on their attraction. Unfortunately, a knock at the door changes things. Nicole’s twin sister Michelle and her bodyguard Aaron have arrived in New Orleans, being chased by the Conclave, after breaking some serious rules. If they are found, Michelle will be taken back and Aaron will be executed.

As Nicole’s friends gather to protect Michelle, they realize that there is no easy solution to the problem and it all comes down to one question. What are you willing to do to keep a loved one safe. Would you kill? Would you die? Would you sacrifice your own happiness? Would you be willing to let someone else make those sacrifices?

When I first heard that book two of this series was coming out, I had mixed emotions. I couldn’t wait to revisit this world but I was also nervous. I loved Crux. It was one of the best books I read last year and it set a bar I wasn’t sure could ever be topped. Well, Moira Rogers did. The love scenes were hotter, the action more intense, and the emotions….oh my, the emotions. Crux left me teary-eyed, Crossroads made me sob. So if you’re a big softy like me, have your tissues ready. You’ll need them.

I think Crossroads can be read as a stand alone but I wouldn’t recommend it that way. Many of the actions from Crux have consequences that are played out in this book and I don’t think a reader would get the whole impact of it without the backstory.  The Southern Arcana series is such a perfect blend of urban fantasy and romance, I can’t imagine any paranormal lover being disappointed in the purchase.

Crux is available now in digital and print.

Crossroads will be available from Samhain Publishing on February 9th.


7 Responses

  1. Nice review!

    I loved Crossroads. And I agree–Crux would be hard to follow up, but Moira Rogers did it perfectly. ^_^

  2. I haven’t read the Crux yet. I think I’ll follow your suggestion and look up Crux first. Thanks!

  3. I haven’t read Crux yet so I guess i need to get it before I read this one. It sounds really good.

  4. Crux sounds right up my alley. I will check it out.

  5. I enjoyed Crux and look forward to laying my eyes on Crossroads.

  6. […] the emotions…oh my, the emotions. Crux left me teary-eyed, Crossroads made me sob. – Lillie, I Do Not Want to Wait, I Want the Book Now …Crossroads blew me away. This book is full of action that will keep you on the edge of […]

  7. […] I loved Crux. It was one of the best books I read last year and it set a bar I wasn’t sure could ever be topped. Well, Moira Rogers did. The love scenes were hotter, the action more intense, and the emotions…oh my, the emotions. Crux left me teary-eyed, Crossroads made me sob. – Lillie, I Do Not Want to Wait, I Want the Book Now […]

Leave a Reply

