• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Joey W. Hill

A story of two lovers who could not be more different.

Daughter to an angel and a mermaid, Alexis has grown up in peaceful waters. So when her nightmares begin, the mer-angel has little idea what to make of them. In her dream is the loneliest man Alexis has ever met-and she’s strangely drawn to him. Until the night her dream comes true…

Born of a vampire and a Dark One, Dante only knows brutality. And although he’s the leader of the underworld, he longs to escape it. How better than to hold for ransom the Prime Legion Commander’s daughter? But there’s one thing Dante never planned on-the way Alexis steals his heart.

Joey, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

You’re very welcome – it’s my pleasure, and a delight to be here.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Sure – I’m an erotic romance author for Berkley Heat and Ellora’s Cave Publishing. I write mostly paranormal for Berkley, and mostly contemporary for Ellora’s Cave. While some of my work is more mainstream erotic, most of it has a BDSM theme or undercurrent to that effect. I’ve been told my style is exceptional for the emotional depth and psychological exploration of my characters. I also tend to write longer books than many in this genre – you can decide if that’s good or bad, depending on your reading preferences :).

On the personal side of things, I’m dull as dishwater. I pretty much write, take care of our seven animals, eat, sleep and start over each day. I don’t travel too far afield, due to the fact I don’t fly, though I hope to do a leisurely cross country trip and stop at all the places I’d like to see one day. Grand Canyon, New Orleans, dozens of roadside thrift shops :). I have a wonderful husband who has been the center of my life for over twenty years.

How long have you been writing?

I wrote my first story around the sixth grade and wrote all through school and early college. All sorts of romances – mafia romances (my Godfather phase), psychic romances, paranormal romances (when we called them fantasy romances – grin), etc. I stopped for about ten years when I became heavily involved in animal welfare jobs and the animal rights cause. That worthwhile effort took much of my creative energy during that time. However, around the time I turned 30, my mind turned back to the writing, and I started pursuing it professionally.

What is your writing process like?

I used to handwrite my first drafts, but when I became contracted for over four books a year, I had to change my process to increase my turnaround time. The first rule of any part of my process is that I don’t want to sacrifice quality, so that has been a little bit of a difficult transition, but over time, I’m learning to connect to the same creative flow through a keyboard that I used to do with a pen. And I can always switch back and forth if I get blocked up.

Once I get the first draft in, I do three full edits, and a fourth on my ereader if there’s time before the deadline, to “read it like a book”, which gives me a different look at it.

I started fulltime writing in November 2007, so I typically write five days a week, 6-8 hours if the creative juice holds, work on marketing three nights a week, and, if my deadline is tight, also add a weekend day to my writing time. See? Told you that’s all I do! LOL

Can you tell us about your newest release A Mermaid’s Ransom?

Here’s a blurb on it:

Growing up the daughter of a famous mermaid and the second in command of the angelic legions can put a lot of pressure on a girl. Though she loves her parents, Alexis has chosen to live among humans as an ordinary college girl, but she can’t hide the tranquil aura of angelic light and empathic ability that draws people to her. Unfortunately, while it draws men to her, none of them are willing to cross the line to find her true heart and soul – or even give her a decently passionate kiss. That is, until she begins to dream of a male trapped in fire and rage, who wants her so badly he’ll tear the universe apart to have her. However, while all she can feel is his pain and suffering, and a yearning to heal him, Dante sees her as the way to his freedom. He thinks he’s willing to destroy her to accomplish that, but once he kidnaps her into his world and is confronted with the girl who is the opposite of everything he’s ever known, he starts to wonder if his freedom is as important as keeping her by his side.

Dante was a major challenge to write, because an author has to connect to a character in order to write them in such a way that the reader can also connect with them. He came from such a harsh world, beyond most people’s understanding, and it took a while, and Alexis’s help, for me to get under the surface and find the hero within that she could feel with her empathic abilities. The way to connect with a character is to put him in scenes that open him up, and that’s kind of a chicken-egg thing – you have to know what kinds of scene will open him up. So there was a lot of guesswork at first.

I ended up being pleased with the result, though, and hope the readers will agree. Like most my books, not an easy read, but if you like the kind of love story where there are hard choices to be made to earn the love and happy-ever-after, and a difficult hero who has to earn the reader’s love as well, this book will fall under that category.

This is the third book in your Daughters of Arianne series, how many more books will there be?

I know I want to write at least one more. In A Mermaid’s Ransom, Alexis’s clairvoyant roommate develops a crush on a very grumpy angel captain named Marcellus, when he was pulling guard duty over Alexis. I think he and Clara have a future together, though at the moment he’s quite adamant they don’t :).  After that, who knows? I never know what secondary characters will develop in each book, or what story ideas will branch off into other ideas, but I’ve enjoyed writing this one, so I’m sure something else will crop up, if more books are meant to be.

What books do you have releasing in 2010?

Laced with Desire is the newest anthology by Jaci Burton, Jasmine Haynes, Denise Rossetti and myself. It has the connecting theme of a corset in each story. My story, Honor Bound, is another of my Knights of the Board Room series. Peter is about to do another tour in Afghanistan with the National Guard, but on his last few days stateside, he meets an incredible sexual submissive in a BDSM club. Turns out she’s an Army sergeant about to go on a tour to Iraq. It will be a year before they see one another again, and when they do, Dana has been badly injured, such that he has to use his talents as a Master to help her embrace her life again. The anthology releases February 2010, and of course will feature fantastic stories by these other three ladies – I’m honored to be part of it.

Recently, I turned in Vampire Mistress, which is Gideon’s story (Jacob’s brother from Mark of the Vampire Queen in the Vampire Queen series). Gideon’s story turned out to be a ménage, where Gideon, a hardcore vampire hunter, gets tangled up with the Mistress of a BDSM club. When Anwyn is violently turned by a pack of rogue vampires, Gideon discovers she has a silent partner, the mysterious vampire Daegan Rei. Gideon finds himself drawn into a relationship with two vampires. The relationship was complex enough that it needed to be told over two books, so this month I’m cleaning up Part 2, Vampire Trinity, which will be released in September 2010. Vampire Mistress comes out May 2010.

I’m also finishing up the next book in my contemporary Nature of Desire series, Branded Sanctuary. This one features Brendan, who is an extraordinary male submissive, devoted to the wellbeing of his chosen Mistress. He falls for Chloe, who is not part of the D/s world, and so they have to figure out how their love will work. Two favorite characters from earlier books in the series, Tyler and Marguerite, who are both strong Doms, will help them reach that point. This book should release in the spring.

What are you currently working on?

If my vampire series contract continues, I hope to write two more vampire books in 2010. Jacob and Lyssa of the first two books now need a third book, because Mark of the Vampire Queen left them wide open for another sequel, where they’ll get to interact with the Fae world, and continue to explore their ever changing relationship dynamic. Also, I’ll have a book about Elisa, a character introduced in Vampire’s Claim, who is the guardian of a handful of children that were turned by force to vampires. It’s a situation which brings her to a wild cat sanctuary and the brooding vampire who runs it, to see if he can help her teach the children how to get along in the very “the fittest survive” vampire world. This book allowed me to do some great research on wild cats and visit the Big Cat Rescue sanctuary in Tampa, which was a delight. Great organization.

On the contemporary side, I hope to write one or possibly both of the books left for the Knights of the Board Room series. I mentioned Peter above, but this series revolved around five high powered male executives, all sexual Dominants. Each story focuses on one executive finding his soulmate, and using the sensual talents of his other four companions, if needed, to woo the woman of his dreams to be his forever :).

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Laughter – I’ve said in a past interview this is the one question I’d love to have struck off of my interview questions, but only because there’s no good answer to it. I don’t really know. I mean, there are times I’ll hear a snippet of conversation or get intrigued by a stranger’s face and it might kick off a scene in my head that leads to a fully fleshed story idea, but on the whole, a new idea just comes in my head, probably something plucked from the collective unconscious. Of course, these days, since I have four series going, a lot of my new books come from secondary characters developed in previous books.

One thing I’ve always been curious about, many of your books have the D/s or BDSM theme, is there a particular reason why?

It’s a genre I very much enjoy reading, and I am a sexual submissive. I started writing erotic romance when I was exploring that side of my personality, and it led to a deep fascination with the many facets of this personal orientation, both the Dom and the sub side.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I like a central love story of course, and prefer heavily character-driven plots, versus a lot of politics, intrigue or world building. Definitely want steamy sex or sexual tension. I want the protagonists to have a lot of obstacles to overcome, but I want them to be drawn together by that, not constantly driven apart through the book by contrived “misunderstandings”. That irritates me like nothing else. I like it when the stakes are high and heroic – probably why I like paranormal romance almost as much as contemporary.

Because so much of my reading is to keep my style fresh, I have shamefully few “autobuy” authors, because it’s usually specific books, versus ongoing series or offerings, that capture me. Exceptions would be Denise Rossetti, who is one of my critique partners, and JD Robb’s “In Death” series, which is my brain candy when I need to relax. I also will buy any of the Outlander series that Diana Gabaldon publishes.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

See the question below for my “test of time” romances, but in addition to them and the autobuys above, the Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz. There are others, but those are representative 🙂 I also have a lot of early Nora Roberts’ work, which heavily influenced by original style.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

I can’t remember the very first, because I was reading 2-3 Harlequins a week by the time I hit 5th grade, but there are a handful that have stood the test of time – over twenty years for some!

Once in a Blue Moon by Penelope Williamson

Ashes in the Wind by Kathleen Woodiwiss

Hidden Riches by Nora Roberts

Flowers in the Storm by Laura Kinsale

The Black Lyon by Jude Devereaux

Son of the Morning by Linda Howard

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Hmm…this is always a tough one, because I think we all tend to imagine the hero and heroine looking the way we want them to look, for our own private fantasies, and I don’t necessarily want readers to have that ruined by knowing what I imagine the characters to look like. Of course, as I’ve told my husband, sometimes it works best when an actor or actress is chosen to portray a book character, not because they’re an exact physical match, but because they have the ability to encapsulate the most important qualities of that character.

On that note, there are really only a couple actors with whom I’ve been able to match my characters. I could see Hugh Jackman playing just about any of my heroes – that may be because I’m such a fan 🙂 If he was still alive, I would have wanted Heath Ledger to play Brendan of the upcoming Branded Sanctuary. Brendan is a quiet, gentle soul with a tough edge to him, and Heath would have pulled that off with style – as he did all his roles.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

I think I’d be willing to switch with almost all of my heroines, after they go through all the life threatening and tragic situations, so I could spend some time with the heroes 🙂 Yeah, I’m a real wimp. But let’s pretend I’m brave and I have the strength of character to deserve the love of one of their incredible heroes. I love Anna’s character from A Mermaid’s Kiss. The chance to be a mermaid, human or pixie fairy (she has a handful of shifting forms), and have someone like Jonah, the Prime Legion Commander for the Goddess and head of the angelic Dark Legion, devoted to me? Sign me up for that.

In my contemporary works, it would be Savannah of Board Resolution (Behind the Mask anthology). She’s an accomplished business woman, and yet is utterly taken over, heart, mind and soul, by Matt’s loving dominance. And then to have the other four “Knights of the Board Room” as constant eye candy around the office and during their weekend get-togethers? Definitely.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I’ll let you know when I have spare time (laughter). Seriously, my day is pretty tightly scheduled between writing, promo and family/pet needs, but when I treadmill at night or take short lunch and breakfast breaks, I like to unwind with one of my favorite movies, or series that I DVR. Like right now, I’m trying to watch the ER seasons I missed that are running in syndication on TNT, though I’m beginning to remember why I stopped watching them 🙂 I also love Criminal Minds. My husband and I will usually have a movie night on the weekend – our latest finds were Transformers 2 and Up, both great movies. I look for stuff with great characters, a moving story line and happy endings (which is probably why I stopped watching ER, because it got SO depressing all the time, but I’m grimly determined to see it through to the end, mainly because I love Noah Wyle.) It’s easier for me to watch movies or TV than it is to read, because I’ve done so much writing and editing over the years it’s hard for me to “turn off” the editing mode and just get into a great book. Which I hate, because I used to adore reading. But I can still manage it on vacation, when I get into “relaxation” mode, or if I find a really outstanding book.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

I always encourage readers to give me specific feedback on my work, whether good or bad, because both types can help me continue to grow as a writer. That’s what I continue to ask them – please keep giving me reactions to my work, no matter what they are!

Where can readers find you on the internet?

My website is http://www.storywitch.com/, and there are free excerpts and blurbs about all the books/series mentioned here. You can subscribe to my newsletter through my home page and get monthly news about my upcoming works and have the chance to win books and other great things in my monthly contests. I also have a blog, accessible through the home page or directly. I usually go into detail about past appearances there, but the real draw is that I serialize vignettes featuring characters from my full length works. Right now, I’m finishing up an eleven-part one called “Tyler Tied Up”, featuring Tyler and Marguerite from the Nature of Desire series.  After the holidays, I’ll start on one featuring Lyssa from the Vampire Queen series. You can also follow that vignette and read archived excerpts and vignettes if you join the Fans of Joey W. Hill yahoo group. I am on Facebook and Shelfari as well. Thanks so much for having me here!

***Leave a comment answering Joey’s question and one lucky commenter will win a copy of A Mermaid’s Ransom. Good Luck 🙂

47 Responses

  1. Thanks for having me here, Greta! Will look forward to any comments or questions anyone may have (smile).

  2. Yay Greta, you snagged a great author for your blog today!

    I started this book over the weekend, loving it so far. Dante makes me want to smack him over the head with something (he might like that!) but I know he’s gonna get it…Joey has her hands on him!

    Loved the interview Joey! I have every confidence you are in no way, not ever “dull as dishwater”. You rock! 🙂

  3. Great interview! Joey, I’ve never read any of your books. I’m going to have to read them, they sound awesome! What’s not to like with vampires and BDSM? LOL!

  4. **Waves to Ms. Joey**
    Thanks Greta for having Ms. Joey here today! She is such a great author ans such an awesome person. I love her writing style in her vampire series and I am waiting to dive into the mermaid series as well.
    And Ms. Joey knows that I keep my opinions very honest about all books that I read and her’s is no different. They freaking rock. If you have yet to try her books, run – do not walk – to go get them!!!!
    PS. FYI ~ Ms. Joey, I bought Beloved Vampire last weekend. So I will letting you know my thoughts, lol! =)
    And yes, please drop my name in this hat for a chance to win this one!
    I hope everyone has a great day!

  5. Great interview. Will be checking out Joey’s books.
    And thanks for the chance to win a copy of Mermaid’s Ransom.

  6. Yvonne – you gave me a smile to start my day – thanks for that! Yes, Dante needs some serious attitude readjustment, particularly at the first. But Alexis will take care of that, no worries, though she might have a gentler approach than you or I might employ (laughter). Glad you’re liking the book, and thanks for the great compliment!

    Connie, I thought it was a winning combination (grin). It actually was my dissatisfaction as a reader with the decided lack of BDSM in the vampire genre (creatures who so naturally lend themselves to the practice/orientation), that inspired the series (wink). When you dip your toe into it, hope you enjoy them!

    Cecile, you’re too kind! And I’m bouncing on my toes, now that I know you have Mason and Jessica’s story. Loved writing that one! Hope reading it will also be a good experience. Look forward to more of your honest opinions, good or bad – though ones like this do make my day (smile).

  7. I have not read any of your stories as of yet… but I am very intrigued to see how you handle the hybrid characters and what their strengths and weaknesses will be. Everyone knows about vampires and werewolves… but Mer-angels are new to me!

    Sweet Vernal Zephyr

  8. I haven’t read any of your books yet Joey but they definitely sound like something I would read. i am going to add these to my wish list at Amazon. I’m hoping for some gift cards for Christmas.

  9. Hey Ms. Joey!!
    You know I had to get it after you lured me in there… lol!! You are evil woman!! LMBO!!! Pure evil…. **Evil grin**
    And you know I can not wait to share the story once I have read it with you!

  10. Oh Joey–
    I’m not finished with AMR yet, but Alexis’ empathy for Dante is catching (not that I am really surprised) and now I am in the cheering section wanting him to succeed fully in the (non Dark Ones) world. You have written Dante so well that first I hated him, then I felt sympathy for him, and and I am quickly starting to love him. I can’t wait to see how everything works out. Also, it has been nice to check in on Anna & Jonah and Mia &vDavid again.

  11. I stumbled upon your books through a contest where I won Beloved Vampire. And this one really rocked my world. So now I’m hooked on your books and will start the Vampire series from book 1. They are all on my Xmas wishlist!

    I heard so many good things about this series that I will probably by these too. The background noise is my groaning credit card.

    And all my thumbs up for fighting for animal rights! You so rock!

    Great interview!

  12. Thanks for all those lovely, lovely comments!

    Tamsyn, good to see you here. :>

    Miranda, in my mermaid/angel world, Alexis is the only one of her kind. That, and the fact she’s Jonah’s daughter (Prime Legion Commander), makes the angel legion VERY protective of her. It’s like she has a thousand big brothers. As powerful as Dante is, Alexis is the only shield he has against them (laughter).

    Heather, hoping for some of those myself – a gift card is so nice, because you can get yourself a gift without feeling too guilty about not spending the money on other things (smile).

    Cecile, lured YOU in there? You were the one who sashayed up to Dante and dragged him on the dance floor (chuckle). We’re of course referring to Leontine’s Beefcake Preview Club last week – Dante made an appearance and Cecile exchanged some Latin dance moves with him. It was tremendous fun.

    Karen, I’m so relieved to hear that! I went through the same process writing Dante. Okay, because I knew his history, I never hated him, but in the beginning when he’s so defensive and closed off, it was very difficult to get under the surface and find a way to his heart – or discover if he had a heart at all! Alexis really helped with that. She knew what to do and where to take him on their journey to open him up. Glad she took you there, too.

    Susi, awesome – Beloved Vampire is a great way to break into the series, even though it’s the fourth book. I always like it when the muse gives me a “standalone” like this – where it’s connected to the series, but a reader can plunge right in and be intrigued by characters that show up from other books, but it doesn’t dilute the story or take it away from the main characters. It doesn’t always happen that way, but I like that as a reader myself. Thanks for giving them a try, and hope you like the mermaids! And appreciate the comment on animal rights. I’m not as active now as I was in years past, but it’s still the “near and dear” cause of my heart.

  13. I haven’t read any of your mermaid series yet but I have read almost all of your BDSM books I really enjoy them but sometimes there just a little to intense for me. I plan on reading the rest of the series though.

  14. Sherry, the mermaids, in terms of the BDSM, are actually much lighter. Still erotic, still have D/s undercurrents, but one of my long term readers called them “Joey Hill Lite” (made me imagine myself as a beer ;>). I send you thanks for hanging in there, even when they get a little over the top.

    At a conference recently, a wonderful reader from MIssissippi was introduced to me. Her expression immediately transformed to one of absolute horror, and she told her friend, “Now how am I going to read her books? She looks like a kindergarten teacher. It’s just not right!” She said she’d feel like she was reading an erotic romance written by her grandmother (grin). Thought that would give you a smile during some of the more intense moments!

  15. Hi Joey 😀
    it’s great to see you here – loved your post… NR is one of my favorite authors too!
    your books are on my wishlist but I haven’t had the time to read them yet…but during the Christmas holidays I will have time 🙂 I would love to give you a feed-back…
    wish you all the best!
    Ina

  16. Ina – I envy you – Christmastime is always crazy in our family. Usually we take a week off afterward, but I have a Jan 15 deadline for Gideon’s story (Part II, Vampire Trinity). Never again!! I miss having my Christmas down time (smile). I’ll look forward to your feedback, however, good or bad – can’t wait!

    On NR, she definitely helped form my early style, and my treatment of heroes. I think the most significant contribution she made to my work was keeping the hero and heroine together for romantic interaction throughout the story, rather than constantly pulling them apart through the “misunderstanding” device. In her work, there was always an ongoing emotional issue/undercurrent that would cause some kind of blow up at the end, but throughout most the story the conflict comes from without, not within. Which maximizes the amount of romance, sexual tension, etc. It was brilliant (smile). Hidden Riches and Midnight Bayou are still two of my favorites.

    Happy reading!

  17. Hi Joey,
    greetings from a big fan!! You know I love your books, can’t decide if I like your vampires or mermaids more, but they are all wonderful! This new book is on my Christmas wish list, I hope Santa has read my letters!

    Happy Holidays!

  18. Eva, hey girl!! Thanks so much. Maybe your name will get drawn and Santa will come early (at least in terms of the announcement – I think the post office is a little slower – laughter). Of course, some loved one may have already put it under the tree for you (wink). My personal gift to me is going to be Addicted by Charlotte Featherstone. It’s such an intriguing storyline – I love those dark, tortured heroes, and a Victorian era opium addict is just too much to resist. Happy holidays to you as well.

  19. Thank you so much for interviewing Joey! I love all of her books and can’t get enough of them. It started with her Vampire series then had to wait for the next book and ended up reading all of the rest of her series while I waited. LOL now I find my self dying for the rest of the series’ again! I started with paperback but now have my Kindle and love that you publish for it. But I have yo say it makes it way to easy and muc faster to get her books. Thank you Joey for supporting Kindle and I love all of you books!!

  20. I have read a couple of your books and loved them!
    Mermaids Rqnsom sounds great.

  21. Great interview! I have not read any of your books so I can’t really give feedback other than the book sounds really good and I absolutely love the cover.

  22. I loved the first two books and am really looking forward to this latest one. I like the “Joey Hill Lite” comparison – that’s kinda how I feel. I have to admit I have the first two vampire books on my TBR pile but have kinda put off reading them due to the BDSM thing.

  23. Estella, thanks so much for that, and for coming by today (beaming). Raelena, isn’t it gorgeous? Very artful mist thing going there (grin). Hope you have a chance to try out the story one day and find it to your liking.

    Cybercliper, I have found it’s useful to describe my different series that way, because everybody has unique tastes. We’re all so busy, it’s really aggravating to spend the time to get into a book and then find that it’s not a pleasurable/worthwhile experience, something that doesn’t mesh with our leisure reading tastes. I get downright cranky when that happens. :>

    That said, I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my mermaids and hope, if and when you dip a toe into the vampire world, that you’ll it enjoyable. You’ll get a taste of them in Mermaid’s Ransom, since Dante and Alexis meet Jacob and Lyssa from Vampire Queen’s Servant (wink).

  24. Greta, thanks for the great interview with one of my favorite authors!

    Joey- I do enjoy your books. And I have to agree with you that my favorite of all your characters would be Savannah as well. I am also a fan of Tyler and Marguerite as you know.

    Heath Ledger would have made a great Brendan…..

    Lyn

  25. I’ve not read any of your books so I can’t really answer the question, sorry! That was a great interview, though. And I really look foward to reading some of your work! 🙂 Stunning cover!

  26. Hi Joey and Greta, just popping by to say “hi” and great to see Joey here. Don’t enter me in the draw…. I love Joey’s stories and they’re definitely time-investing reads: quality reading and bound for re-reads to fully appreciate the nuances and emotional impact of the story. Yes, I like Joey’s writing 🙂 Hope more lucky readers will be discovering that soon too.

  27. Lyn, Heath really would have made a great Brendan. His death struck me so hard because of Brokeback Mountain – one of the best acting performances I’ve ever seen, so much talent. And then, in one night, all gone. He was similarly stunning in Batman. Happy you stopped in (smile).

    Chelsea, that’s okay – glad you liked the cover, and no worries – you can give me feedback when you read one (grin). Of course, if you’re like me, your TBR list is probably a mile long, but if and when you do, I’ll be happy to hear your thoughts on it, good or bad.

    Allison, I’m giving you a big hug – thank you!

  28. As a bonafide Joeyfanatic whose read all of her books, you can’t miss with any of them. I haven’t finished A Mermaid’s Ransom yet, but I can see a sliver of good trying to peek out from under Dante’s persona, so I’m hanging in there. Vampires, mermaids, angels, Doms, subs, seawitches, whatever, as far as I’m concerned, Joey does it right.

  29. Ack, Michele! Don’t know how I missed your comment. So sorry about that. Thanks for your wonderful comments about my series. And I will have to bow toward Berkley and Ellora’s Cave, my publishers, and let them take credit for making the books available on Kindle, though I’m so happy they do. I have an ebookwise and love the digital format. It makes so much sense, particularly for avid readers. And it has an added benefit for an author – I can do my final read-through of a manuscript as a “book”, without having to print out reams of paper!

  30. I haven’t read your books yet, but after reading your teaser and interview, I’m definitely going to pick one up!

  31. I loved your story in Unlaced. I had to search out your backlist and have the first two mermaid books in my TBR pile (FYI they were in Amazon Bargain Books as of a few weeks ago so great price to give them a try for those who want to) and am eagerly awaiting more in the Knights of the Boardroom series.

  32. Hey Joey,,, **Blushing** Yea, I did approach Dante, but I have to say this is one man that is amazing!!!!
    You know any how I love my men ~ so you lured me with him!! LOL!!!
    And I can not wait to get my hands on him, I mean on his story!!! =)

  33. I enjoy the world’s you create in your books. You’re very true to them.

    I look forward to more of your works.

  34. Joey, nice interview. You are a new-to-me author and I think A MERMAIDS RANSOM sounds like a pretty thrilling read. Looking forward to it.

  35. Joey, Love the ‘lite’ comparison. Can’t imagine you as a ‘lite’ type, though.

    Those of you that haven’t read Joey are missing a treat.

  36. Terry, you do my heart good. Do hang in there – as Karen says, he gets better!

    Flygirl, glad to hear that! Hope you enjoy whichever one you choose. The free excerpts on my site often help folks choose (smile).

    Amy, you don’t have much longer to wait. Peter’s story comes out in February – woohoo! Part of the Laced with Desire anthology, but I promise you guys the last two books of this series are going to be standalone titles. Too much to share on these guys to contain in an anthology novella!

    Cecile, I don’t blame you a bit. What is it about us girls that we love our dangerous, hot men? (lol)

    Joder, thanks for that. I do try to stay consistent with my characters, and as long as my brain doesn’t get in the way of my muse, I usually succeed. But if I start thinking about deadlines and worrying too much about things like that, I can stifle myself. It’s very much a “keep your eye on the road, without keeping your eye directly on the road” type of strategy!

    Armenia, hope you give Dante and Alexis a try! It is a standalone, but a couple reviewers have said you would likely get more out of it if you read the first two in the series (Mermaid’s Kiss and Witch’s Beauty), since Alexis is Jonah’s daughter from Mermaid’s Kiss, and you get a more enriched view of the relationships. :> But you can pick up the story without them if you’d rather just dive in (grin).

  37. Janet, I think it’s a relative thing (laughter). If a reader prefers the truly lighter side of romance, then I’m definitely not for them. But I can write varying levels of angst and brooding, depending on the characters (grin). Is anyone an Angel fan? Remember the episode when Buffy came to visit, and Wesley was imitating Angel and declared, “I’m so happy I forgot to brood!”

    Great line, though really not relevant. Just wanted to share my love for David Boreanaz(grin).

  38. awesome interview:)

  39. Great interview Joey. I just finished A Mermaid’s Ransom this weekend (on vacation). You are right about Dante. For a second I thought you might be a little insane but Dante has won me over.

  40. Joey, I started with your contribution to the Unlaced anthology and loved the characters–I really enjoy stories where you get a chance to know the people around the hero and heroine, too, and am looking forward to reading the other guys’ stories some day!

  41. great interview Joey 🙂 Just wanted to say that I’ve never been a fan of paranormal romance, and even if I loved your Nature of Desire series, I was so convinced I would never try the Vampires or the Mermaids… Some months ago you made an interview starring the famous bushman :), and here I am, waiting for waiting for Mason’s story to arrive, because I’ve read all the others 🙂 and absolutely dying here waiting for Gideon’s stories 🙂 And now, with everyone talking about Dante on the group, I will probably end up reading the Mermaids as well… Poor me… 🙂

  42. Hi Joey, your book sounds fabulous, I am sorry to say I have never read your work before. You would be a new author to me! I would love to get my hands on this book.

  43. I loved your Vampire Queen Series! I need to find time to start in your newest series for sure.

  44. Thanks, Bama!

    Sandy, oh, I’m a lot insane (laughter). But I’m delighted Dante won your heart in the end. Sometimes I think those are the best heroes to read, the ones who have so much to overcome to BE heroes.

    Fichen1, it’s fun for the author, too, because I get to revisit the previous book characters when they make guest appearances in the new stories. That’s part of the reason I started doing free vignettes on my blog and fan group, featuring characters from my full length works. It’s a blast to choose a random scene from their daily life and write it for them, to spend time with them without having to worry about a complicated plot, story arc, etc. It also helps the creative flow when I am working on the contracted works – it loosens up the brain cells, keeps them from getting so intense they choke the muse. :>

    Ioana, if that happens, I hope you like the mermaids as much as the vampires (grin). I’m always thrilled to hear this kind of feedback. What that tells me, as a writer, is that the type of stories I write have an appeal that transcends genre. I was fortunate to get a foothold in erotic romance primarily because readers felt I wrote BDSM in a way that appealed to non-BDSM readers as much as BDSM readers – at least that’s what they told me (smile). So every time I receive a comment like yours “I never thought I’d read..BDSM, Mermaids, Vampires…etc, but–” it gives me a warm feeling. Thanks tremendously. :>

    Quilt Lady, hope you get a chance to read one!

    Sue, I completely understand. Time seems to be the issue for most of us. My mom made a great observation, that for all our great time saving technology, the current society seems to have less time than most of the ones of the preceding decades. It’s a mystery, so if you figure out how to get more time for reading, let the rest of us know. We’d all like to do more of that! :>

  45. I enjoyed the interview and the excerpt. I look forward in reading this.

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  46. I always enjoy your books. I can’t wait to read this one.

  47. Thanks, Tracey and Linda! Hope you like Dante and Alexis (smile).

Leave a Reply

