• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Welcome Jasmine Haynes

Three steamy linked novellas.
Transformed into mistresses of the night, three women discover that sometimes fulfilling your deepest desire is the most dangerous thing you can do.
Meet Marianna Whitney, Dominique Lowe, and Noelle St. James-three ordinary women who discover that becoming modern-day courtesans can help them satisfy their clients’ most extraordinary fantasies, as well as their own.

Jasmine, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

 Thanks so much for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Let’s see, I’m married, I have no kids, just a dog and a husband and numerous neighborhood cats.  I live in the woods, but I’m just a short drive to the beach as well.  I love writing, of course, it was always my dream to be a writer.  I currently have three pseudonyms, erotic romance as Jasmine Haynes, the Max Starr paranormal mystery series as JB Skully, and as Jennifer Skully I write humorous romantic mysteries and women’s fiction.  Readers can hear about my multiple personalities at http://www.jasminehaynes.com/ and http://www.jasminehaynes.blogspot.com/.

How long have you been writing?

It feels like forever.  I used to write as a kid, then wrote my first book in high school.  I think I was born a writer.

Can you tell us about your newest release YOURS FOR THE NIGHT?

Thanks so much for asking.  Yours for the Night, which is a Romantic Times Top Pick, begins an exciting new erotic romance anthology series, the Courtesans Tales, each book containing three hot, romantic stories to titillate your imagination.

Enter Courtesans:  A glitzy, sensual world of powerful people and the courtesans they’ll pay anything to have.  An exclusive and secret agency, for over two hundred years Courtesans has specialized in providing entertainment of a sexual nature.  Its clients are rich, powerful, and influential men and women, and one only meets a courtesan through referral from trusted sources.  Courtesans facilitates bringing together men and women to satisfy any sexual need imaginable, matching the perfect courtesan with just the right client.  The agency prides itself on training its courtesans, male and female, to interpret and fulfill its clients greatest fantasies, even the secret ones no one dares to say aloud.  The price is high, but everyone who’s ever had the pleasure of a date with a courtesan will agree, the fantasy is worth every penny.  These are their tales…

This is the first in a series for you, The Courtesans Tales. what can you share about upcoming books in the series?

Yours for the Night features a different courtesan’s tale, why she became a courtesan, and the man she meets who changes her life.  You’ll also meet Isabel, the madam of Courtesans.  Hers for the Evening, out in May 2010, the stories center around the clients who utilize Courtesans, couples, men, women.  You see, not all courtesans are female.  In Yours for the Night, you’ll meet Simon Foster as a secondary character, encounter him again in Laced with Desire, my February 2010 anthology with Jaci Burton, Joey Hill, and Denise Rossetti, then I give you his story in Hers for the Evening.  And finally, in Mine Until Morning, releasing Dec 2010, the theme is courtesans who are “outed,” their secret life as a courtesan revealed.  And we’ll have Isabel’s story, too.  I’m very excited about the series and all the stories.  It was fun exploring all the reasons why a person would want to be a courtesan or date a courtesan.

Do you write under any other names, will you have any books releasing in the near future under any of these names?

As Jennifer Skully, I had five books out with HQN.  Sex and the Serial Killer was a Daphne DuMaurier award winner.  They were my funny books.  Currently I’m working on women’s fiction for Jennifer Skully.  As JB Skully, I’ve written the Max Starr mystery series for http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/. Max Starr is a psychic who sees murdered people, including her husband.  Of course, she’s forced to help solve their murders to release their spirits to move to the afterlife.  And she gets a lot of help from hunky detective Witt Long.  But can Max let go of her dead husband for Witt?  I love this five-book series.  I have more plots in mind for Max, but with so many other things on my plate, I’m not sure when I’ll write them.

What are you currently working on?

I’m currently writing the last story in Mine Until Morning.  Yes, we work about a year in advance.  At the same time, I’m revising Take your Pleasure, a novella for http://www.loose-id.com/ which is tentatively slated for February 2010 release.  I’m very excited about releasing an e-book again.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Ideas come from everywhere.  You just can’t pinpoint a certain place.  Snippets of life, people I observe, a news article, a movie, something a friend tells me.  In other words, ideas come from everywhere!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I’m so far behind on my reading that I no longer have autobuys.  It feels like the one thing a writer misses is the opportunity to read as much.  But I love historicals and romantic suspense.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Hah, I just looked at my keeper shelf and it’s mostly historicals!  Mary Balogh, Christina Dodd, Kathleen Woodiwiss.  I’ve also got Linda Howard, Tami Hoag (the romantic suspense, not so much the new stuff), Ann Stuart.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

This is not the first romance book I read, but it really stands out because I was shocked when I learned it was written by a man.  It was The Key to Midnight by Leigh Nichols.  I loved that book, it was such a wonderful romantic suspense story.  I read all of Leigh Nichols’ books, they were autobuy.  Then I found out that Leigh Nichols was a Dean Koontz’ pseudonym.  He did a rewrite of it and reissued later on under the Dean Koontz’ name.  I have that one, too, but I think the original was better.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which actors would you like to see as the lead characters?

I would love The Max Starr series, written as JB Skully, to be a movie.  Or a series of movies.  I love Max and Witt and Max’s ghostly husband Cameron, and I think they would make great characters on the big screen.  Sort of like “Castle” or “True Blood.”  I’d want to have David Boreanaz as Witt (okay, Witt’s blond, but so what, David is hot, loved him as Angel on Buffy) and Clive Owen as Cameron (be still my heart).  Can you imagine having to choose between David and Clive???? I’d have Anne Hathaway as Max.  I think Anne is very versatile.  Loved her in Becoming Jane.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would it be & why?

LOL, that’s a tough one!  But I think I’d be Faith in The Fortune Hunter because I loved her hero Connor!

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I love hiking, watching classic movies, working in the yard, and shopping at thrift stores with my mom and sister.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

My question would definitely be:  What’s your favorite kind of hero?

Where can readers find you on the internet?

Thanks so much for having me!  This has been great.  Readers can find me at http://www.jasminehaynes.com/, http://www.jasminehaynes.blogspot.com/ and http://www.skullybuzz.com/.

***Leave a comment answering Jasmine’s question for a chance to win a signed copy of Unlaced. Good Luck 🙂

40 Responses

  1. Mmm.. Steely alpha males with a tortured past. They may be a pain in the neck for the heroine, but they can take care of her and love her like no other.

  2. Thanks so much for having me as a guest, Greta!

    I agree, Rachel, in real life, steely alpha males can be a pain, but they make such delicious reading.

  3. Hmm…..I kind of like the guys who are tough on the outside, but when you get to know them, they are sweet. Intelligence is a must too!!!! Hate when heroes are dumbed down…how the heck am I supposed to like them then?

    Jasmine, always love your books!!! I remember when I read your first “Jasmine book” because immediately after reading it, my mom picked it up and loved it too. Congrats on the new release!

  4. Strong alpha males who are thoughtful and sensitive when necessary. Really built is a plus.

  5. I like men who have pasts…I enjoy learning more about them as the story continues. No idea why, I just like the building of the character.

  6. I am definitely a fan of the Dominant. The Alpha. The Strong. yum yum yum! I will have to keep a look out for you work!

  7. Rachie, thank you so much for loving the books. And thanks to your mom, too! I agree on the intelligence in the alpha hero. I love a sense of humor, too!

    Anne, we agree! Strong, thoughtful, sensitive, but definitely built! A good hero definitely needs to be fit. No plumber’s crack or pot belly!

    A man with a past is great, Lyoness. All those secrets to be revealed, yes, love it.

    And I agree, Natasha, yum on Dominant, Alpha and Strong. I hope you’ll look for Take Your Pleasure coming from Loose-id.com in February, because that is Lincoln my hero exactly.

    Thanks for stopping by to visit and answer my question everyone!

  8. My favorite type of hero is the dominant, strong Alpha who can kick-ass but can also still fully love a woman.

  9. Hi Jasmine 😀
    it’s great to see you here – loved your post!
    I like tortured heroes – strong alpha men with problems *sigh* there is nothing better for a book, but for the reality… I don’t know…
    Wish you all the best!
    Ina

  10. Oh I will!

    As for RL, I am married to a dominant, alpha male. It’s amusing though, because if people were to look at our relationship, they would think I wore the pants in the relationship. I joke that I may be the pants, but he is the belt that keeps the relationship on 😀

  11. gretat interview
    hot book and congrats on the great reviews
    please dont me in me ty

  12. My favorite hero is a strong, passionate, sexy alpha Highlander. Whats not to like. Hello….man in a kilt.

    Congratulations on your book, Jennifer. I’m really looking forward to reading the Courtesan tales series.

  13. Sorry, I meant Jasmine.

    I just had lunch with my friend, Jennifer. *dies of embarrassment* You would think I can remember a favorite author since one of my all- time favorite book is one of yours: SOMEBODYS LOVER.
    (Okay, hope I redeemed myself).

  14. I love the bad boys!

  15. My favourite kind of hero is the romantic type who can be gentle yet strong when necessary.
    I would love to be entered in your draw. Thanks.

  16. Yes, Jeanette, I love those kick-ass heros who aren’t afraid to love, too.

    Oh, Natasha, I love the description of your husband!!! It’s perfect!

    Thanks, KH, I’m glad you liked the interview.

    LOL, Armenia, you can call me Jennifer, too! My husband does. Well, unless he’s calling me sweetie. And thank you so much for your kind words about Somebody’s Lover. No need for redeeming, but I love what you said anyway!

    Oh yes, Teresa, those bad boys are wonderful!

    Thanks, Wanda, you’re definitely entered since you answered my question! And I love the romantic, strong type, too. Heh, that’s my husband! Don’t let him hear that, though, or it’ll go to his head.

    Thanks for stopping by everyone!

  17. I like all kinds. I guess it just depends on the mood I’m in at the time.

  18. Hi Jasmine
    I already have Unlaced so don’t enter me. Just wanted to say I’m a huge fan and have all your books except for the newest one. I love all your heroes but the 3 guys in Open Invitation blew me away. Best wishes.

  19. Janet, you’ve made a great point, different men for different moods is perfect!

    Thank you so much, Mary. And I’m so happy that you loved my heros in Open Invitation. That is still one of my favorite books! I fell in love with each and every one of them, too! That’s when writing feels so good.

  20. Favorite male characters… I always seem to connect with the bad boys that are an engima but you can tell they are tortured.

    Then I like male characters that have a sense of humor.. sometimes wry in their humor

  21. Nice interview! Sounds like you’re keeping busy and the book looks interesting.

  22. Oh yes, Raonaid, a sense of humor in a hero is wonderful.

    Thanks, Karin, I’m glad you liked the interview. And I’m definitely busy!

  23. I’m not too much into bad guys. I like funny, athletic guys who seem tough but have a soft and romantic side

  24. I like a lot of angst in a story so I definitely go for the troubled alpha male.

  25. I like the kind of hero that outwardly seems so deeply scarred that he’s seems absolutely unredeemable – tough, untouchable, quiet, and a lot on the dark side – but able to recognize what he’s missing in his life. And once he does, he has no problems pursuing and obtaining his happiness by whatever means necessary. 😀

  26. Funny, athletic guys are great, too, Andrea!

    As is angst, Sue. My hero Jace from Somebody’s Lover had a lot of angst, and honestly, I loved that about him!

    Cybercliper, your kind of hero is very sexy!

  27. I like the strong, dependable, trustworthy hero that can also be a romantic at heart. If he likes babies and animals thats great.

  28. My favourite hero would be a bad boy, with redeeming qualities of course! :o) Dark and alpha but sexy, definitely sexy!

  29. My favorite hero is the broken bad boy who needs a good saving.

    Please count me in.

    cindyc725 at gmail dot com

  30. Exactly right, Linda, they have to love babies and animals. It shows they can’t be all bad! It’s definitely part of those redeeming qualities Tamsyn mentions. And Cindy’s got a good point, too, don’t we all dream of saving that bad boy?

    One of my favorite books was One Summer by Karen Robards where the hero went to prison for murder. the story takes place when he gets out on parole (at least I think it was parole), and he so needed saving. Thanks for reminding me about that book! I’d forgotten, but it definitely needs another reading!

  31. Like most of us I like the tortured Alpha Man whose redeeming feature is the way he loves and protects his heroine.

  32. This sounds likes the key, Ilona. Everyone seems to agree, we want a man with those redeemable qualities, the hero who gives us hope and builds us up.

  33. I like my hero to have a sense of humor, a cowboy’s code of honor, and be willing to devote himself to my pleasure! I can remember my grandmother saying to look at a man’s hands – not sure what she was looking for, but that is how she judged men. When she met my husband for the first time she told me he was a good man and she knew it by looking at his hands.

  34. I love when a hero goes crazy when someone threatens his women.

  35. Hi, Jasmine!! My favorite kind of hero is one with a strong sense of honor and ideally, a dry sense of humor 🙂 He doesn’t have to be the class clown, but I love when a man can laugh at himself or at the situations he’s in.

    Congrats on Yours for the Night–looking forward to reading it! And no need to enter me; Unlaced is in my keeper pile 🙂

  36. Lisa, I love your grandmother’s story! It doesn’t matter whether it’s logical or not, it works! Bet Grandma’s declaration made you sit up and take notice, if you hadn’t already figured it out. Or maybe it was affirmation of what you already felt.

    Ooh, yes, Jen, a stand up guy who goes to the matt for his woman. Love it.

    Hi, Fedora! Thanks for stopping by! And thanks for putting Unlaced in the keeper pile! I love a sense of humor in a man, too. He has to be able to laugh at himself, instead of taking things too seriously all the time.

  37. I think everyone above me mentioned what turns me on in a hero lol

  38. And isn’t it nice to know we’re on the right track, Bama!

  39. Yours for the night sounds interesting with the modern courtesan twist.

    My favorite kind of hero, is a little bit alpha, but not domineering. He’s super sexy and has a sense of humor. As well as being honorable, trustworthy, dependable, but still has a few flaws to keep things interesting. If there was a modern day man who epitomized the character Jamie Fraser….I would be in heaven 🙂

  40. Oh Jamie Fraser is a wonderful character! From Outlander, right? I think we talked about him on another blog, too. And thank you on Yours for the Night. I like doing a twist!

Leave a Reply

