• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Q & A with Tawny Taylor

Phoenician prince Talen Jacek has lived a cursed existence for over two thousand years. Suffering one violent death after another, though, is nothing compared to the emotional isolation he endures. Computer programmer Keri Maddox’s life may not be exciting, but predictability is her mantra. Then she discovers Talen in her apartment wearing only a towel-and her safe, tidy world is yanked from under her feet. An inferno of carnal need erupts between them. Yet the power of their igniting love may not be enough to save Keri from a killer who is determined to deliver the inevitable death stroke.

  • Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Samhain Publishing (December 1, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1605044474
  • ISBN-13: 978-1605044477
  • Available now at Amazon.com.

Hi Tawny, thank you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Hi Lillie, thank you very much for having me! Your blog is so much fun to follow.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?
There isn’t much to tell, IMO. I am the mother of five, as well as grandma to one adorable little girl. My second grandchild is expected the first week of January. My family is the center of my universe. If you asked my kids to describe me, I’m guessing they’d say I’m a little quirky, in a way that makes me a smidge odd, but not scary-strange. My husband would say I have an easy smile and tend to laugh when I don’t know what else to do, but he knows I hide my shyness under that grin. And I’ll admit I tend to find a new passion and become totally obsessed with it. (Right now, that passion is the police procedural program, Criminal Minds) All in all, I’d say I’m like a lot of other women my age…at least, I think I am…right?

How long have you been writing?
For publication, since the summer of 2001. For pleasure, since I learned to print the alphabet.

What is your writing process like?

My writing process changes with every book I write. When I was just starting out, I would draft a detailed chapter-by-chapter outline, making sure I had mapped out every major plot point. Gradually, I moved away from that process, instead writing a blurb and a short synopsis. Lately, I just jot down notes about characters and motivation then dig in and write the first three chapters. Only after I’m happy with the sample chapters do I tackle the synopsis. But like I said, that’s in general. I’ve done something a little different each time I’ve started a book.

Can you tell us about your upcoming release Prince Of Fire?
The December 1st release of Prince of Fire is actually a re-release of a book that was formerly only available in ebook formats.

I wanted to write about a hero who was emotionally cut off from everyone, every single human being, and not by choice. No friends. No lovers. No family. The only way I could see that happening was for my hero to be isolated from humanity in some way. After doing some reading and soul-searching, I decided he would be like a phoenix, living, dying and then being “reborn”, over and over. This cycle would restrict him from becoming close to anyone, and would provide such profound isolation and loneliness, I had to write the book to make sure he received the HEA deserved.

Do you have any other books releasing in the near future?
The second book in my Masters of Desire series, Decadent Master (Aphrodisia, Feb 2010), is releasing in the next few months and is already available for preorder on Amazon.

What are you currently working on?
I have a couple of books in process right now. The first is the second book in my Masters of Sin series, titled Lust’s Embrace, and the second project is the first book in a new series for Aphrodisia titled Darkest Fire.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?
People ask me this question all the time (I have a feeling all authors are asked this). I get my ideas from everything/everywhere–conversations with friends, brainstorming sessions with fellow writers, books I’ve read, movies or television programs I’ve watched, artwork, music, dreams, the list goes on. I think everyone, writers and non-writers alike, get ideas about stories, but writers are the ones who write them down.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?
I do read a fair amount, and I read a wide variety of books, both fiction and non-fiction. I can’t say I’ve purchased every single book written by any one author, because I tend to be an impulse reader and buyer, but I have purchased a lot of titles by James Rollins, MaryJanice Davidson, Katie MacAlister and Gena Showalter.

What books are on your keeper shelf?
Every book I’ve purchased. *Guilty grin* I’m a book hoarder. I can’t part with even one.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?
Despite my proclivity toward hoarding, I don’t have any of my old books, from back in the day–too many house moves. But I cut my teeth on 80’s Native American Indian romance novels, historicals, and time travels. Gotta say, I loved the whole concept of the time travel, specifically the kind where the heroine travels back in time and falls in love with a prince/duke/king/Scottish laird/whatever.  I’m sure this has everything to do with my obsession for historical reenactment and costuming.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?
Hmmmm….have you seen the cover of this book? That’s one serious set of abs to live up to. I’m drawing a blank at the moment.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would it be & why?
Oh gosh, I don’t know if I’d want to switch with any of them. My life is great. I’ve loved like my characters have loved. I’ve hurt like they have too. And I’m living the HEA each of them get by The End. You see, I don’t need to switch.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoy doing in your spare time?
Sewing. I just LOVElovelove researching and constructing historical costumes. It started when I was a child–my mother had no idea what she was doing the first time she put me in period garb. It’s become an obsession. During the summer, you’ll find me (and my family) in Revolutionary War period garb, Civil War period garb, mid and late Victorian garb, and, of course, Renaissance garb.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?
What story are you waiting to read? What story hasn’t been told yet, but needs to be?

Where can readers find you on the internet?
Readers can find me here and there on the internet. I’m not big on promoting myself, and I don’t hit dozens of yahoo groups, blogs and forums on a regular basis, but I have a myspace (http://www.myspace.com/fictionwithsassitude) (though I haven’t updated it in a while) and facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/tawny.taylor). And, of course, there’s my website (www.tawnytaylor.com) and blog (tawnytaylor.blogspot.com). I’m also a regular visitor of the Romance Divas forums (www.romancedivas.com).

Thank you again for having me!
Tawny

 

*** One lucky commenter will win a surprise package from Tawny Taylor!

53 Responses

  1. ‘fraid I can’t think of a story that hasn’t been told. What’s more important is how a story is told. Prince of Fire sounds fabulous!

  2. Great interview! And I absolutely agree – they are great abs! I love romance and don’t really mind if the same old story is being told, if it is done well.

  3. I loved this interview, I just recently read a few of her books after a friend told me about her. Can’t wait to read this one,it is In my tbr pile as of tommorow.

  4. Great interview! I’m a book hoarder too. Prince of Fire sounds great!

  5. I am not really waiting for any story to pop up. I love the suprise of finding a new author that blows me away.

  6. Amy S–Thank you! Glad to see I’m not the only book hoarder out there 🙂 I have so many books, a lot that I haven’t read yet, and still I can’t help buying more.

    Jen E–thanks for the insight. I also love finding new authors! I just had one of those ohmygosh-I-gotta-read-more moments recently.

  7. Awesome interview and the Prince of Fire sounds fabulous!

  8. Tawny,

    I totally know what you mean by not able to give away books you buy. I used to be like that too until I moved to a teeny apartment. No room for my treasures!

  9. Prince of Fire sounds intriguing – looking forward to hearing how he finally breaks the curse!

  10. Tawny, congratulations on tomorrow’s release!

    I’m very fortunate that I found the story I’ve been waiting my whole adult life (to date) to read just a month ago. I devoured it in one sitting and it wasn’t until I woke up at 5 o’clock in the morning thinking about it that I realized WHY I enjoyed it so much. I think that’s been my most memorable reading experience since Orson Scott Card’s HART’S HOPE almost 13 years ago. 🙂

  11. I’ve kept just about every book I’ve ever read as well. Prince of Fire sounds really interesting and as I’ve never been a big e-reader I’m excited it’s coming out in print!

  12. I can’t part with any of my books either – my DH actually had a barn built and turned our 2-car garage into a library – he got tired of the stacks falling on him.

    To me a great untold story is the Nephilim – giant, fallen angels(?) – that also ties to my other fascination of Enoch, his 300 year trip to heaven returning with the Books of Enoch, information, and “helpers” to act as instructors. Great stuff there!

  13. Wow, sounds good! And interesting interview ^^

  14. Hi Lillie! Hi Tawny! 😀
    oh I understand you – I can’t give away books too *sigh* but soon I will need a new bookshelf 😉
    Have a great day!
    Ina

  15. Jeanette–thanks, and good luck in the drawing 🙂

    Cybercliper–thank you very much for the insight. Nephilim…interesting! I’ve read blog discussions about angels and/or demon stories being the next “vampire”. You may be seeing some Nephilim books releasing in the near future.

    Chielle–thank you 🙂

  16. Hi Ina, you and me both 🙂 I have floor to ceiling shelves in three large rooms in my home, and books littering most horizontal surfaces in the others. I tell my husband I’m teaching the kids the joy of reading…by setting a good example.

  17. BTW, Cybercliper, that man is a keeper 🙂

  18. Prince of Fire sounds very interesting, I’ll be looking for your books!

  19. Nice interview! The story behind how Prince of Fire came about is interesting and now I’m looking forward to reading it.

  20. Hi Tawny. Enjoyed reading the interview. A grandchild on the way. Too cool. I’ll be looking for your books also.

  21. Looking forward to getting Prince of Fire sooner or later (hopefully sooner).

    As to waiting for a story that hasn’t been told yet – guess I will include all books yet to be written by all my favourite authors 😀

    Oh, and the one my daughter is hoping to get published one day – just so that I can boast about it 😀

  22. Hi Tawny! I need to put Prince of Fire on my list for my next vacation (I like to keep the really good ones for a commensurately lovely stretch of beach)! Congrats on the release and… just for the record… I recently read a series of articles that SAID we were supposed to let our kids see us reading and have stacks-o-books if we wanted said kids to grow up to be readers. So we all get a free pass to hoard books!

  23. Yikes! Sewing! You are brave and talented. I can crochet…

    Yummy is an understatement… i’m drawing a blank too. LOL

  24. I can’t think of a story that hasn’t been told. It is how the story is told that matters.

  25. I’m glad I’m not the only book hoarder. I love, love, love to read. Even when I’m done with the books, I can re-read them.

    I think there’s no hope for me. LOL.

    Great interview! Happy Sales!
    Fallon Hadley

  26. I really enjoyed the interview. I find it hard to let loose of books too. I’ve got some Harlequins from the 1970’s. This sounds like a great book. I will look forward to reading it.

  27. Bethanne, I learned to crochet when I was a kid. Used to love making granny squares. Never actually made anything out of them though 🙂

    Ilona, I wish your daughter success in her writing career!

    Anne, I’m going to print your comment and show it to the hubby 🙂

    Estella, so true. Thanks for commenting!

    Fallon, if there’s no hope for either of us, I think. But that’s okay 🙂

  28. Eva, thanks for reading and commenting!

    Karin, I hope you enjoy Prince of Fire.

    Sadangel, thanks for popping by and reading!

    I wish I could give a basket to everyone who’s commented.

  29. Linda, those old Harlequins are classics. Wonderful reads!

  30. Hi Tawny!

    Thanks for visiting with us today! I have to join in with the hoarder group. That’s one of the reasons I love ebooks. I have an external with over 1000 books on it, it still has room for plenty more, and it only takes up as much space as a hardback book.

    As for a story I’m waiting to read, I want a demon menage book! Two of my favorite subjects combined would make me very happy! 😀

  31. Hi Lillie! Yummy! Demon menage. That would be hot!

    Have you read Wrath’s Embrace yet (my ebook)? I think it might be your kind of read.

  32. Yes, I have! It was the first book of yours that I read. Loved it! Now I’m patiently waiting for Amun and Troi’s. Or Delius and Raine’s. Either will work for me, I’m not picky! 😀

  33. Congrats on the new release, Tawny. Who are some of your favorite romance authors from the ’80s?

  34. Ohh, great interview! And I agree, I don’t think theres an actor out there who can live up to the abs on that cover!

  35. […] Author Tawny Taylor’s stopped by I Do Not Want to Wait, I Want the Book Now. And wait until you see the cover of Ms. Taylor’s newest book, Prince of Fire. Another yummy one! […]

  36. No need to enter me for anything except more links to post, ladies! I’m just dropping in to let you know I posted about this at Win a Book. I hope it brings you more readers Tawny.

  37. We have something in common- quirky grandmas! We should start a club or something! haha

  38. I’m so glad you liked it! I have the next book about half-way written. So hopefully you won’t be waiting too long 🙂

    Jane, it’s been a long time. Let’s see… Jayne Ann Krentz, Johanna Lindsey, Cassie Edwards.

  39. Hi Susan, Thanks for posting the link! I appreciate it!

    Chelsea, maybe you know somebody who wouldn’t mind volunteering to cast the part? It would involve gazing at chiseled abs for hours a day…

    Kissa, I would SO BE in that club! Quirky Grandmas rawk. *g*

  40. Hi Tawny! 🙂 Congratulations on the new grandbaby. I love your facebook page, just wanted to send a shout out!

    I enjoy stories..but I’m not sure what story needs to be told. I always enjoy a great romance with intriguing characters 🙂

  41. Congrats on your latest, Tawny! I’m not sure I’ve got any story ideas that I might not be able to find, but I have really been enjoying some stories that pick up with a couple that’s already together, and follows them through a rough patch and to a renewal of an HEA. But it all depends a little on my mood–I’m so happy that no matter what I’m in the mood to read, I can usually find it 🙂 Thanks for writing wonderfully hot, exciting stories for all of us!

  42. Hello Ms. Taylor,

    I have a quick question for you this evening. Sounds like your awfully busy, when do you like to write? Mornings, evenings, nights? I think it would be hard for me to decide on a certain time but I find it fascinating how others can.

    Looking forward to this one, whew!

  43. Heh heh heh heh, I know what kind of story Lillie has been waiting one *coughsdemonmenagecoughs* Have to say I side with her

  44. Hi Lyoness,

    I’ve been a full time author since 2003, but it’s never been as easy as it is now to carve out quality writing time.

    My youngest child just started kindergarten this year, so I have a couple hours in the morning (of course, I also have to check email, take a gander at the convos on Romance Divas, update my blog and facebook pages–you know how it is *g*). Then, I steal some time in the afternoon after I’ve retrieved said kindergartner from school and have fed him lunch. Luckily, he’s the kind who can entertain himself (without getting into trouble), so I can concentrate on my work.

    RachieG, THANK YOU! I’m very glad to hear I’m doing something right on facebook. I wasn’t sure if anyone was reading my ramblings on there 🙂 I try to post mostly personal things, so my friends aren’t getting pummeled with promo posts all the time.

    Fedora, thanks for the insight! I like to read those kinds of stories too, though I’ll admit I tend to prefer reading about a couple falling in love for the first time. I just love living those shivery, jittery, pitter-pattery moments over and over again 🙂

    I want to thank everyone again! This was a lot of fun, and I appreciate everyone’s insights and comments.

  45. Raonaid, I’m going to have to write a demon menage story for Lillie, aren’t I?

    Lillie, you have read Gena Showalter’s Demon stories, haven’t you? I heart Gena in a big way.

  46. Oh, yes! Read them and have a tattoo of the demon butterfly. And another one from Larissa Ione’s Demonica series. I may have a wee bit of a demon obsession. The hot ones, not the reeking-of-sulfur ones. 😀

  47. Hehe. Tawny you’d make Lillie there a very, VERY happy woman with that!

  48. I’m wanting to see more stories told that feature those with disabilities. Since I’m disabled myself I want to see characters that are reflective of me and what happens in my daily life.

  49. Sounds like an interesting read. Sign me up!

  50. Hi Tawny, nice interview. The Prince of Fire and Decadent Master sound pretty good. Looking forward to reading them.

  51. So I am embarrassed to say that you are a new to me author, and it looks like I have been missing out. Your books sound wonderful, and I loved the interview!

    Amy M

  52. I would love to be entered in your draw. Thanks.

  53. Please count me in.

    cindyc725 at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

