• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Jambrea Jo Jones discusses Magnus!

Available now at Liquid Silver Books

Colonel Joe “Magnus” River’s sole purpose in life is to protect the United States of America. It isn’t just a job; it’s his reason for being. Magnus’ life is turned upside down when he is informed a woman will be joining his team of elite marines. She made it through boot camp, but can she make it through Magnus?

Nothing in NCIS Special Agent Emily Patterson’s career could have prepared her for Colonel Rivers. Her orders: infiltrate the Colonel’s team and find out who has been kidnapping women and children from third world countries and selling them as sex slaves. A string of unexpected events changes everything, potentially exposing Emily before she finds the guilty party. Her mission becomes more difficult as she gets to know the man behind the uniform. Magnus can’t be involved, can he?

Jambrea, thank you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Thank you for having me! I love this blog.  🙂

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Let’s see. I’m a wife and mother. I work as an administrative assistant by day, for a steel fabrication company. Um…I was in the Air Force for two years and…my favorite flower is a daisy.  Is that what you wanted to know?  lol

How long have you been writing?

I started writing years ago. Mostly poems. I wanted to be an author, but I really didn’t know where to begin. In 2008 I got serious about writing and submitted my first story. While waiting to hear back on it, I submitted another story to a different publisher. One the same day, I received my first acceptance and my first rejection.  lol

What is your writing process like?

I hate to say it, but I really don’t have much of a process. I usually wait until my son goes to bed to start writing. And weekends are a good time for me.

Can you tell us about your newest release Magnus?

I started Magnus for a contest. Um…you might not know this about me, but I LOVE contest and a few of my stories start off with one. lol When I started, I only had to have a thousand word excerpts and if I won, I might have to have an 80k manuscript ready. Well….um…I only had 2k of the story done. lol. I had to haul ass to get the story written. As I wrote, I started to fear I wouldn’t make the 80k mark. The contest ended. I placed in the top 10, but wasn’t asked for a full. That ended up being a good thing because my story was finished at 53k. lol It is my longest to date. I finished it up and pitched it at the Lori Foster Event. They asked to see the first three chapters and the rest…is history.  🙂

Do you have any other books releasing in the near future?

My next release is in December. It’s called Unwinding Path. It is an m/m story, the sequel to Unseen Path, which is an m/f.

What are you currently working on?

Right now I’m working on Semper Fi: Ben, the second book in my Semper Fi series.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Ahhh…*looks around for the men with the ‘I Love Myself’ jacket* the voices…in my head? lol Ideas just come to me and I write them. Sometimes a song will trigger and idea, sometimes just seeing something. Like the other morning, I was driving my son to school and we had to drive under this bridge and I noticed a train going over it and an idea popped into my head.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I AM an avid reader. I wasn’t always. When I was younger I HATED to read. It was so bad that when my aunt gave my sister and I a box of Harlequins, I noticed duplicates. I had my sister read them to me while I followed along. lol After the first couple I was hooked. 🙂 There was no turning back. I love reading just about any genre. Romance, suspense, military, fantasy. Auto buys…I hope I don’t forget anyone, but I know I will.  lol TA Chase. He is my all time favorite author. Carol Lynne, JD Robb, Sherrilyn Kenyon, JR Ward, Mari Carr, JL Langley, Linda Winfree, Jayne Rylon, um…the other ladies of International Heat. Jess Dee, Rhian Cahill, Lila Dubois, Lexxie Couper & Vivian Arend. I’m sure there are a few more. lol

What books are on your keeper shelf?

I don’t buy a lot of hard backs anymore. I have a couple series. JD Robb, JR Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Deborah Cooke, TA Chase, Carol Lynne, Robert Jackson and if I have an autographed copy of a book I keep it.  🙂

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

The first book that really remember, my mom bought it for me on my birthday when we were on a trip to Florida. The book was Defiant Splendor by Michalann Perry. I read my first copy so many times that pages started falling out. I had to go to Abe Books to find a new copy. I’m thinking a re read might be in order.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

This is actually easy for me. lol I look at pictures to get ideas for characters. Magnus is David Boreanaz and Emily is Kate from NCIS, her real name is Sasha Alexander.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would it be & why?

I would totally switch with Emily. She kicks ass and gets Mag. lol

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Um…when is that?  lol  I love to play games with my son. His new favorite is Uno. And I like to take pictures and scrap book. I’ve even tried my hand at painting, but I can only do abstracts.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

Wow..I get to ask a question.  Hmmm….What is the first thing that draws you into a book? Cover? Blurb? Excerpts?

Where can readers find you on the internet?

I’m usually around a few yahoo groups. I’m actually a part of my own called Heat Wave. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Heat_Wave_Readers/?yguid=80421025
I have my own website www.jambrea.com

I also have a couple blogs

http://jambrea.wordpress.com/

http://internationalheat.wordpress.com/

*** Leave a comment answering Jambrea’s question for a chance to win a digital copy of Magnus!

20 Responses

  1. […] est and it will be the day. heehee  I’m around and about today.   I’m at I Don’t Want to Wait, here I’m talking about Mag. I’m at The Blackraven’s Erotic Cafe, well…Mag […]

  2. Yay Jambrea!! I can’t wait to read this!

  3. Great interview, Jambrea! Love the story about you and your sister reading together. And David Boreanaz…great choice. Best of luck with the new book!!

  4. Hi Jambrea!
    Great Interview! Hot, hot, hot cover. And first I would have to say covers ALWAYS draw me #1. Besides knowing the author’s works and wanting to gobble them all up. Second is the blurb!
    Magnus sounds awesome and I have just added to my TBR!!!
    Brande

  5. Very nice interview Jambrea and a FANTASTIC cover. He is HAWT! Congrats on your new release!

    While a cover might catch my attention, it’s not what sells the book for me.

    I want a good blurb that gives an idea of what the story is about, followed by a couple excerpts showcasing either the heat or the action.

    And sometimes the authors name alone will sell the book all by itself.

    Sandie

  6. Congratulations ! Hope you have a great day!

  7. Great interview!
    the first thing that draws my attention is the cover of the book. But I always read the blurb even if the cover is bad, I would have missed a lot of good books if I only made my decision by the cover.

  8. Hi, Jambrea!! Can’t wait to read Magnus–loved the blurb! If I’m shopping in a real store, covers do draw my attention, but these days, I do most of my book buying based on reading blurbs, excerpts, and especially from reading about the book and/or meeting the author on blog visits, chats, etc. My TBB is gigantic now since I’ve started hanging out on-line! Anyway, a gorgeous cover is always terrific, but it won’t make or break a purchase decision!

  9. Thank you everyone. 🙂 I”m so excited and happy to share my day with you!!!

  10. Can’t wait to read Magnus!
    I don’t buy by cover , blurb or excerpt. I go byn author or recommendation from friends or blogs.

  11. When shopping for books with no author in mind, I first look at Cover, then read Excerpts..If I like both of these, then I read maybe 1st chapter. I usually know at that point that I want the book and have not read already. (not always true, but can give it away or keep).LOL…
    I have not read any of your books but am adding you to my TBB.
    Would love to win and this way I will get your book faster since I have over doz here to read and a long TBB list…LOL. Thanks

  12. The cover helps get the book in my hands (Magnus is a real hottie and I’d definitely drool over him for a minute). The back blurb is what ultimately helps me make that buying decision though.

    Congrats on your new release!

  13. Happy Release Day, Jambrea. I love that the heroine is an NCIS agent.

  14. Cover definitely. If the cover grabs me I will flip it over to read the blurb.

    That is ALWAYS the case, but most of the time.

    Congrats Jambrea!!

  15. Opps, that should say
    “That ISN’T always the case…”

  16. Hi Jambrea,
    Congrats on Magnus! He sounds delicious!

    The first thing that catches my interest is the title and the cover. If I’m interested I will read the blurb, and if I am still interested I will read an excerpt. I buy most of my books online, not in the bookstore. That is of course for an author that I either haven’t read before, or have only read one or two. If it is an author that I know and love I will buy it no matter the cover or the blurb…and I’ve rarely been disappointed 🙂

  17. Thanks everyone! 😀

    Jane…I LOVE the show NCIS so I add to have an agent in my story. lol

  18. I’m so excited for you Jambrea! I feel like all of us on the Samhain group can say we knew you when! And now you are gonna be this wonderful famous author with another great book hitting the shelves! Congrats! 🙂

  19. Thank you Sherry!!!!! xoxo

  20. Mmm, I have to agree with the rest… that cover is niiiiicccceeee

Leave a Reply

