• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please welcome special guests Rich & Becca from Breakfast In Bed by Robin Kaye

  

Rich, the epitome of “anti-domestic,” can’t cook to save his life, and his idea of cleaning his apartment is to invite his mother over. But he’s ready to settle down, and he can’t stop thinking about the ex-girlfriend who got away. When he notices that his soon-to-be-married friends cooked and cleaned their way into their women’s hearts, he asks his friend Becca to help transform him into a nurturing man to win back his ex.

Rich is the only guy who’s taken the time to know Becca for herself. She decides she’ll give him the makeover he’s asking for, though she’ll be damned if she’s going to turn him into a domestic god for another woman. She wants Rich for herself, but how can she convince him that her kitchen and her bedroom are the only domestic locales he desires?

Greta: Rich and Becca, thank you for agreeing to an interview today on my blog.

Becca sat down at the table. “Thanks for having us.”

Rich held Greta’s chair and smiled at her before turning to face Becca. As he sat, he mouthed the words “You owe me. Big. Huge.”

Lucky for him Greta was right there so Becca couldn’t smack him. He grinned. She couldn’t even give him a warning look. Maybe this whole interview thing wasn’t gonna be so bad after all.

Can each of you tell readers a little bit about yourself?

When Becca didn’t jump right in, Rich cleared his throat and started. “I’m Rich Ronaldi. I’m a professor at Columbia University. Did you say readers?” He looked over at Bec who was having a good time watching him squirm. “When Bec and I agreed to do this book thing, I hadn’t thought about readers. Hell, I publish papers all the time and no one reads those. Of course, my papers aren’t funny, nor do they contain sex scenes. I was under the impression the book would be more fictionalized. Robin may have embellished slightly, but only on my lack of domestic acuity.”

Becca coughed into her hand and kicked him under the table. “I’m Becca Larsen-“

Rich sat forward. “Ronaldi. Becca Larsen-Ronaldi.”

So much for Becca not being able to give him a warning look. He shrugged and sat back in his chair.“I’m a sculptor and partner in the Ben Walsh Gallery.

Rich shook his head. “She’s an amazing painter too. You should see the mural she did for my niece’s bedroom-”

Becca shook her head giving him the another-word-and-you-die look. He was no dummy, he shut up.

I understand that your story, Breakfast in Bed is being released soon, can you tell us about it?

 Becca was going to torture him now, he could feel it coming, but she looked so damn happy, he didn’t have the heart to stop it.“It’s a love story about two people who, after being thrown together, discover themselves and each other, overcome their obstacles, and fall in love and live happily ever after.”

“Yeah, but it’s not schmaltzy. You know, it’s the kind of book that men can read and enjoy. I get letters from guys. Some of them tear the covers off before they read it, but then I had one guy tell me he left it on. He said girls think it’s sexy when guys read romance. I just think it’s a smart thing for any man to do. There’s no better way to get into the female brain. I mean, think about it. These books are like freakin’ driving directions to relationship nirvana.”

Becca rolled her eyes. “Yeah, and how many men actually stop for directions?”

Rich, what was your first impression of Becca and how did that impression change through the book?

 “I met Becca at my sister’s engagement party and I thought she was gorgeous. When I tried to strike up a conversation with her, I crashed and burned, big time. I got the distinct impression that she hated me and was one of the few women who could resist the Ronaldi charm. It’s a good thing that was one of the few times I was wrong. She fell hard.”

Becca rolled her eyes. “I didn’t hate you. I just thought you were a really good-looking jerk. They’re the worst kind, you know. I hated the way he treated his sister, Annabelle, my best friend. So the whole good-looking thing was annoying to say the least. I mean who wants to be attracted to a guy she thinks is a first rate jerk? I didn’t think he was very smart either, I mean when we met, Rich didn’t know how to run the dishwasher, and don’t even get me started on the whole laundry debacle. It took a while, but I finally realized there is a lot more to Rich than meets the eye. Although you have to admit, he’s really yummy.”

Robin Kaye wrote your story, what was it like working her?

Rich rolled his eyes. “Of course we’re going to say she’s great. After all, she’s gonna read this. That woman reads everything. She’s a lot of fun, she has a wicked sense of humor and when she gets a few Sambucas in her, well, lets just say, you never know what’s going to come out of her mouth. We always have a great time when the whole clan gets together. Since she worked with Rosalie and Nick on their book, Romeo, Romeo and then with Annabelle and Mike on Too Hot to Handle, we knew her and felt comfortable with her taking on Breakfast in Bed.

Becca nodded. “It’s always great when she comes up to Brooklyn. It’s like old home day. She hangs out at DiNicola’s and gets her New York fix. We had a great time working with her.”

Have either of you read Breakfast in Bed? What did you think of it?

Becca sat up and smiled. “It was fun to see our experience put down in words. It’s like a photo album of our courtship, so yeah, I’ve read it several times. Rich, on the other hand, likes to read the sex scenes.”

“Guilty, you gotta admit, they were great. The break-up and the emotional parts are hard to get through. Living through them was bad enough. Me, I like to revisit the good stuff.”

If Breakfast In Bed was made into a movie, who do you see playing yourselves?

 Rich raked his hands through his hair. “Aw hell, I don’t know. Robin said something about James Franco, but he’d have to hit the gym a little harder.”Becca shrugged.

“They don’t make movie stars who look like me.”Rich laughed. “She doesn’t know how gorgeous she is. What’s her name? Scarlett Johansson, yeah, she’d be great if she cut her hair short. She’d be a shoe in.” 

Becca laughed. “In your dreams maybe.”

Rich shook his head. “Babe, you know I only dream about you.”

Will readers see either of you in the future?

Rich shrugged. “I don’t know. Maybe. I was at Ben and Gina’s wedding so I think if she writes their book, I might make a guest appearance.”

Can either of you tell us something about Robin that readers might not know? 

Rich laughed. “Oh yeah, Robin loves to cook. She gave me some great recipes. She even gave Annabelle a few that she can’t screw up. Robin should write a cookbook for dummies.” 

Is there anything you would like to ask the readers?

Rich laughed, “Sure, I’d ask them buy the book. Robin gives us a cut of the royalties.”

Becca hit him. “No she doesn’t. I’d love to know if they enjoyed our story half as much as we did.”

Where on the internet can readers find out more about Robin and her books?

Robin has a website at http://www.robinkayewrites.com/. The first chapters of all her books are on there as well as the Top Ten List of Why Women Love Domestic Gods.

***Leave a comment answering Rich & Becca’s questions or ask Robin a question about Breakfast in Bed or Rich & Becca for a chance to win your choice of Breakfast In Bed, Too Hot To Handle, or Romeo, Romeo. Good Luck 🙂

35 Responses

  1. What a great idea !!!
    I just loved this interview !

    Rich and Becca, I’m sure I’m going to love reading your story.
    Sorry Becca, but honestly I fell for Rich the first time I saw him in Romeo, Romeo. It’s in the genes you know. Being half italian myself, Rich’s charm is almost impossible to resist 😉

    I’m counting the days till reading your story. And did you mention something about Ben ans Gina’s wedding ??Grrrr… it’s gonna be a looooong wait !

  2. That was a fun interview. I’m wondering when the book comes out.

  3. Hi Emmanuelle~

    I’m answering for Rich, he can’t since his head is so big it will no longer fit through the door. It was bad enough when he was just a legend in his own mind. Anyway, I completely understand, he’s pretty hard to resist.

    Maureen~

    There was a problem with the printing of Breakfast in Bed, the foil on the cover seemed to stick to people hands more than the book itself. The whole batch had to be reprinted and as of now, we’re looking at the books hitting the Sourcebooks warehouse December 1, it will take two to three weeks to get on the shelves. I’d start looking for it in mid to late December.

  4. I think this interview just jumped to the top of my Coolest Interview List… if I had an actual list, that is, and not just a mental one. Thank you (all three of you) for dropping by and giving me something great to read before I start my somewhat crappy day of research. I’d love to check out this book, can’t wait til it comes out!! I’ll have to check my library for some of your other books!

  5. I definitely enjoyed their story, it was hilarious reading the interview too!!

  6. Morning Glow~

    Thanks (from all of us) for the complement. I hope you enjoy Romeo Romeo and Too Hot to Handle while you’re waiting for Breakfast in Bed.

    Jeanette~

    I’m so glad you liked it. I’m guessing you received an ARC?

  7. LOL – You guys banter back and forth like my husband and I *wink* I haven’t read your book yet but I am looking forward to it!

    Miranda

  8. Loved the interview. Can’t wait till it comes out.

  9. Thanks, Miranda and Linda! We had fun doing the interview with Greta. We hope you enjoy the book and good luck to everyone. One of you will get the first copy that Robin gets…she can’t wait either!

  10. Enjoyed the interview, looking forward to this one!

  11. A friend posted this on her facebook page so I thought I’d check it out and I think I have found a new favorite author! It sounds great! Now I’m off to find the rest of your books!

  12. Hey, omg i loved how you brought the characters into the interview! I adored it! I’ve never read the book, but i soo plan to now. It looks fab, as do the characters
    H-O-T! lol

  13. What I’m wondering is, Becca are there any secrets/dirt that Rich doesn’t want us to know about but you would be willing to let us in on???

  14. OMG, Robin, you’re a hoot. What a brilliant idea this interview. I am excessively diverted, darling! 🙂

    Yep, a movie, I wouldn’t mind seeing those gorgeous people having breakfast in bed on the big screen! 😉

  15. LOVED that interview! Seriously. To cute 🙂

    And I haven’t read the book yet, but I definitely will!!

  16. Teresa~ Thanks for stopping by!

    Maxi~Enjoy Romeo, Romeo and Too Hot to Handle. You’ll have plenty of time to read them before Breakfast in Bed makes its way to the shelves. Though, maybe you’ll be lucky and win one.

    Taylor~ Rich and Becca have minds of their own. Once they start, there’s no stopping them.

    Maxi~ As for secrets and dirt, since Becca can hardly tell you, she’s married to the man and has to live with him. I thought I could tell you. As a kid, he was a very bad crook–though it didn’t help that his girlfriend ratted him out to the cops because she found out he was going to dump her. That landed him in military school–not that he got much out of it. The man still can’t make a bed a quarter will bounce on. Then there’s the little problem he had when he dated the adult, divorced daughter of his dean.

    Renee~ So wonderful to see you! I’m glad you liked it. Lord knows, we all had a great time.

  17. What a novel interview—I loved it.

  18. Great interview!! I loved the first two books and I can’t wait to read Rich’s story. I would really like to read Gina’s story, since her character made me laugh from book 1.

  19. I am really looking forward to Rich’s story and seeing how the others are doing. I really enjoyed the first two in the series….keep them coming!

  20. Chelsea and Estella~ I I always have a great time hanging out with Becca and Richie. I’m glad you did too.

    Lisa and Amy~ I’m thrilled you enjoyed Romeo, Romeo and Too Hot to Handle. And rest assured, Gina’s book is coming. I’m working on it now as a matter of fact. I’m not sure of a pub date, but it’ll be on my website just as soon as I get it. Right now, the working title is As Good as He Gets. I’m having a great time with Ben and Gina. We’re exploring a whole new world together (well, from Gina’s perspective anyway) with lots of new and fun characters.

  21. Ciao bella
    I just got home from tennis & saw the post. This picture is the biggest I’ve seen of the cover & it’s shows how gorgeous it is. This post was so funny. What a great idea. I feel like I already know the characters. Hey do you put Sambuca in your espresso? I figure the Sambuca offsets the coffee LOL.

  22. Ciao, Mary~

    I put sambuca in my coffee as often as possible, but I’m happy to drink it straight, too with three coffee beans (to avoid any bad luck) . When I go to my favorite Italian restaurant, they don’t even ask any more, they just bring over my coffee and sambuca with a plate piled high with homemade biscotti. Yum.

    DH and I are going there Wednesday night for our 20th anniversary. Getting married Thanksgiving weekend seemed like a great idea at the time, now not so much, especially when Thanksgiving falls on my anniversary (this year it’s the day after) and I have to do all the cooking. Okay, not all, DH helps but still. You get my point…

  23. Happy Anniversary next week. We got married on a long weekend as I thought it would be helpful to the people travelling from out of town but of course some people bitched that we spoiled their long weekend. LOL. Can’t win. My hubby’s got this easy amazing biscotti recipe I’m going to send you. The pistachio cranberry combo is amazing. The anisette ones are still my faves (for dunking).

  24. Mary~ They sound amazing! Please send the recipe. I’m partial to the anisette ones for dunking myself. Now you’re making me hungry. The first breakfast Rich brought Becca in bed was a bag of Stella Doro Biscotti and microwaved instant coffee. The breakfast of champions. He got better…slowly. But then when you have a guy like Rich, who needs food?

  25. I will send it. It’s the same recipe for all. You just put in the different flavored stuff. Last Christmas he made 4 kinds: anisette, pistachio-cranberry, chocolate-hazelnut & orange peel. I was grossed out with the thought of the pistachio-cranberry ones. I wanted just pistachio. They turned out to be my faves. I have to say for an manga-cake he’s an awesome cook LOL.

  26. Here’s the info for everyone:
    http://www.joyofbaking.com/biscotti.
    The pictures are gorgeous (great for people like me who like to know how stuff is supposed to turn out).
    These will be perfect to have while reading any of your amazing books. I forgot for a moment we’re here for the books!!!

  27. I loved the interview and I know I would enjoy the book as much as you guys did!

    Haven’t had a chance to check out the books so here’s hoping I might win!

    Thanks for the great contest!

  28. Loved the interview! I sure I would love the book, it sounds awesome. I could use a good laugh right now.

  29. Good luck, Terri & Quilt Lady!

  30. Robin,

    Do you plan to make a book trailer for Breakfast in Bed?

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  31. *lol* I really loved that interview – Rich and Becca are both gorgeous! Rich, I will definitively read your story – you promoted it fantastic!
    Have a great day,
    Ina

  32. Hi Tracey~

    I hadn’t thought about a trailer. I’m on a hard deadline for As Good as He Gets, and though it would probably be a good idea. I just don’t have time time to even think about it. Between a blog tour and a deadline, I’m in way over my head.

    Ina~ Rich and Becca thank you. Especially Rich. He looks forward to hearing how you enjoy their story.

    Robin 🙂

  33. This sounds like it would be a great book; I’ll have to pick it up sometime

  34. How many other books have you written?

    I would love to be entered in this draw. Thank you.

  35. Hi Wanda~

    I’ve written two other books, Romeo, Romeo and Too Hot to Handle, the first two books in the Domestic Gods Series. I hope you’ll give them a try.

Leave a Reply

