• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please welcome Katie Allen

Hi Katie! Thank you for agreeing to an author interview today.
Thank you for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?
Ack! This is a request for a bio disguised as an interview question, isn’t it? 🙂 I’m horrible at writing bios and usually find a sneaky way to get out of doing it. Okay, I’ll actually cowboy up this time and take a crack at this.

I’ve just returned to Minnesota to write full-time after a decade in Colorado, where I worked as a mechanical engineer. I grew up in the Midwest as part of a huge family, which was too much fun (our favorite games were Hide-and-Ghost-Eek! (hide-and-seek in the dark basement) and Little Louse on the Hairy (our very own spoof of “Little House on the Prairie”). Since I’ve relocated to the frozen North, family members often drop in to see me, which is both fun and frustrating, since it plays havoc with my writing schedule. Besides reading and writing, I enjoy riding my horse, gymnastics (yes, I’m way too old for that, but I do it anyway. Flips are fun.) and a whole bunch of other things. I’ll be heading to cop school this January, which will be great research, since many of my characters tend to be in law enforcement.

Wait—you said “a little bit” about myself, didn’t you? Okay, I’ll stop babbling now.

seeing blindHow long have you been writing?
Creative Writing was my undergraduate major, but then I got my M.B.A. and writing fell to the wayside for a while. In the back of my mind, however, I’d always dreamed of becoming a published author. About four years ago, it occurred to me that, in order to be published, I’d have to actually, well, write something. Looking back on this, I can see it was a bit of a “duh” moment, but then many of my moments are, unfortunately. 🙂 I’d discovered Ellora’s Cave about six months before that and had enjoyed a number of their books. My first manuscript, Seeing Blind, was written with Ellora’s Cave in mind as a potential publisher. When I received the acceptance e-mail, I shrieked loud enough to start all the dogs in a three-mile radius howling. Since then, I’ve had six books published with EC and have an additional one submitted to my editor.

What is your writing process like?
Messy. This drives me batty, since I’m freakishly organized in all other facets of my life. With everything else, I love lists and schedules and detailed directions, but the thought of plotting before I write a book makes me run screaming. I get a vague idea about a person or plotline or moment between two people, and I start writing. I’ll write a single line or a chapter, just to get the idea down, and then I’ll go back to my work-in-progress. When I’m ready to start a new book, I’ll go through my file of forty or so started books and pick one that strikes my interest. The plot develops as I write, which often means rewrites or at least major changes to make it work once the first draft is finished. I’m the rare author who actually likes edits—I think it’s exciting to see the book evolve into its final form.

Can you tell us about your newest release Chasing Her Tail?
Chasing Her Tail features Bridget, a first-grade teacher who is bitten by Sam, her were-puppy student, and transformed into a dog. When an obsessed billionaire tries to capture her, she takes refuge with Hammer, a kind stranger who smells like heaven and hamburgers. Sam’s sexy uncle, Micah, is hot on her trail, however, and Hammer is beginning to suspect a link between his new pet and the mysterious woman who shows up in his bedroom at night wearing nothing but a black leather collar.

chasingHerTail

This is my first shifter book, and it was a blast to write. Hammer first appeared in One-Two Punch, so it was great being able to write about him again. Chasing Her Tail has a healthy dose of humor (it’s a were-mutt ménage, how could it not? 🙂 ), plus suspense and, of course, lots of hot and wild action!

Do you have any other books releasing in the near future?
I’ve just submitted a follow-up to Private Dicks (Trevor’s story), so I’m waiting to hear from my editor on that one. Hopefully, if it’s accepted and the edits aren’t too painful, it will be out early next year.

What are you currently working on?
Right now, I’m a book and a half deep into a new series featuring five (yummy) men who’ve escaped from the lab where they were test subjects in an experiment intended to create the perfect fighting machine. This series is currently nameless, because I feel about titles as I do about bios—Run away! Run away!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?
Everywhere. A few of my books started with a plot idea, but most started with a character, or even just a few seconds of a specific scene. I love writing about how people interact with each other—not just the sex (although that’s fun to write, too 🙂 ), but the conversations and touches that make up the connections of daily life. I’m more interested in the nitty-gritty of living than epic romance. I think I can relate to falling in love in the grocery store cereal aisle more than during a crashing storm in a ship on the high seas or something equally dramatic. Not that there’s anything wrong with excitement and suspense—my books have a lot of both of those things—but I think relationships are formed in the small and quiet and often funny moments of life. Okay, did I even answer that question? Did I mention that I like to ramble?

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?
As far as fiction goes, my favorites are romances, although I often stray over to the general fiction, young adult and mystery sections. In non-fiction, I’ll read whatever I’m interested in at the moment (I’m slowly working my way through a book on solar energy, but I can only take three or so pages at a time before my brain goes off to ride bikes. It’s a bit dry). I love Jacob Clifton’s writing (from TelevisionWithoutPity.com). My auto-buys are Kelley Armstrong (I’m really liking her YA series), Jordan Castillo Price and…a bunch more that I can’t think of right now.

What books are on your keeper shelf?
Anne McCaffrey’s The Lady; Mandy Dickinson’s Out of Bounds; Sherryl Jordan’s The Raging Quiet; Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods; Robin McKinley’s Sunshine and Deerskin; Laura Kinsale’s The Shadow and the Star. There are a ton more, but these were the first ones I grabbed off my bookshelves.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?
Ellen Emerson White’s Life Without Friends. It still makes me want to name all my heroes “Derek”.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?
Actually, I’d prefer unknown actors to play the roles. Once I get to know more about actors in the gossip magazines or when I watch them doing interviews, it becomes hard for me to believe them as characters. If there’s a certain actor who seems to be an ass off-camera, that’s all I can see. It ruins the whole movie for me.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?
Hmm…probably Jenny from Breaking the Silence. I have such a soft spot for Will.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?
I have a horse, Toby, and I want to event him next year (just have to teach him to jump first J). I also like gymnastics, Krav Maga (a form of self-defense training), traveling, scuba diving, hiking, painting (pictures, not houses) and shooting (paper targets, not anything living).

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?
I guess it would be more of a request—please let me know what you think about my books. I love getting your e-mails, whether you liked the book or not (okay, so the “liked the book” ones are more fun, but the others are just as important) and let me know why you feel that way. I never e-mailed authors until I became one and discovered how wonderful it was to get feedback from readers. Now you can’t shut me up! 🙂

Where can readers find you on the internet?
Website: http://ktallen.com/
Blog: http://ktallensblog.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/KatieAllenBooks

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/katieallenbooks

Twitter: @KatieAllenBooks

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a download copy of Chasing Her Tail by Katie Allen.

26 Responses

  1. I haven’t read your books yet, but they sound very, very yummy! I’m looking forward to adding to my list.

  2. Hi Katie,
    Thanks for taking the time for a great interview. I can tell that you and your sibling were creative from the beginning with the games you played 🙂

    I’m sorry to say that I have not read any of your books yet, but from the books featured in the interview I liked Chasing her Tail because I love shifter romances and also your new WIP. It definitely sounds yummy!

    Good luck in Cop school…I hope you gets lots of inspiration 🙂

  3. I love your books! I have 2 of your books:One Two Punch and Seeing Blind. Looking forward to reading Chasing Her Tail!

  4. Hi Flygirl–I hope you enjoy them! I try to keep a high “yummy factor” in my books ;-).

    Hi Booklover1335–“Creative” is a nice way of putting it; my mom just shook her head. Thanks for the good wishes for cop school–I need new inspiration, since I don’t live next door to the fire station anymore.;-)

    Hi Connie T–Thank you! I hope you like Chasing Her Tail just as much!

  5. Hi Katie, hope you had a great birthday week. I haven’t read any of your stories yet, but the excerpt for Chasing Her Tail had me chuckling, and I would love a chance to read it.

  6. Hi Katie – I’m a Minnesota author too – welcome back to the land of ice, snow, and food-on-a-stick!

    Your books sound marvelous, and I’m definitely going to pick up Seeing Blind for my hot holiday read!

  7. Unfortunately I too haven’t yet read any of your books, However if Chasing Her Tail ends up as good as it sounds I will be remedying that ommision 😀

  8. I haven’t read any of your books yet, but I’m a big fan of shifter stories. And I must say that your future series with the five sexy men sounds very exciting.

  9. If the e-book is good as its cover then count me in to win..LOL

  10. I haven’t read your books yet. Chasing Her Tail sounds great.

  11. Hi Cathy M–Thanks, I did have a great week. I love birthdays. Good luck with the giveaway drawing–I hope you get a chance to read Chasing Her Tail, too!

    Hi Laura, fellow Minn-ie! It’s good to be back. Mmm…food on a stick… 🙂 I was bracing myself for the nasty weather, but it’s been gorgeous so far–yay! I hope you enjoy Seeing Blind.

    Hi Ilona–It’s never to late to dive in! 🙂 I hope you enjoy Chasing Her Tail.

    Hi Joder–I love the shifters, too; there’s something about those feral, hairy men (or feathery or scaley or…um, whatever else they grow when they shift :-)). I’m having a great time writing the series–it’s fun to know I won’t be completely deserting the characters after one book.

    Hi Majana–I know, right? 🙂 That’s some nice man-booty right there.

    Hi Estella–Thanks! I hope you get a chance to read it.

  12. Sounds great!!!

  13. A new author, yay!!! Ooh, and I hope I win, so I can read this on the ebook reader I am (hopefully) getting for Christmas!!! And I absolutely love the title. Make me giggle.

    Thanks!
    Morning Glow

  14. Hi Katie!

    You are a new author to me as well!! Great interview, the books sound wonderful, can’t wait to read them!! 🙂

  15. Hi Kayla–Thanks!

    Hi Morning Glow–An ebook reader? Nice! I’m still in the dark ages and reading books on my laptop :-). Thanks–titles are always a beast to come up with for me, so I’m glad you like it.

    Hi Blanche–Thanks, the interview was fun. I hope you enjoy the books!

  16. Hi, I haven’t read any of your stories yes but the premise for Chasing Her Tail sounds like a fun read.

    Miranda

  17. Hi Miranda–Thanks! It was definitely fun to write.

  18. Hi Katie,
    Great interview! You are a new to me author too. Great titles!

  19. Hi Chey–Thanks! It’s good to meet you.

  20. Katie – I just wanted to say thanks for the interview- I admit you are a new author to me – will definitely be adding your books to my ever grown TBR pile 🙂

  21. I would love to be entered in your draw. Thanks.

  22. Hi Greta–Thank you–it was great to be here. I hope you enjoy the books!

    Hi Wanda–Good luck with the drawing! 🙂

  23. While I have not yet read any of your books I loved your explanations of where the stories come from. I will be heading over to EC to look these books up. It is so much easier to contact an author now and share how the story resonated (or not) and I need to find a few email addresses to share my thoughts about my favorite stories.

  24. Hi Lindsey–Thank you so much–it’s always fun for me to talk about my (slight wacky) process. I hope you enjoy the books–please do let me know what you think!

  25. I know I’m late for the chat but my question is what do you think of book trailers? Do you think they help in book sales?

    Thanks,
    Tracey D

  26. Hi Tracey,

    I haven’t tried out book trailers yet–I’m scrambling at the moment trying just to keep up with writing, e-mails and basic promo stuff. I generally don’t buy books because of book trailers, but that’s just me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

