• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please welcome Shannon K. Butcher

Shannon, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Sure.  I’m a fairly new author, writing paranormal romance and romantic suspense.  I’m married to #1 NYT bestselling author Jim Butcher, who taught me how to write.  Before that, I was an engineer in the telecom industry.  We have a son who goes off to college next year, and a fluffy, little dog who thinks he’s tough.

How long have you been writing?

I started writing in 2003.  My first book came out in 2007.

What is your writing process like?

I plot extensively, planning the whole book out.  Then, when it’s ready to write, I go a bit obsessive and generally knock out a rough draft in 5-6 weeks.  I let it sit for a couple of weeks while I plot out the next book, clearing my mental palate.  Then I revise, send it to a few beta readers and revise again before sending it to my editor.  I’m very much the kind of person who treats it as a job–getting up every day, working six or seven days a week.  I work much longer hours now than I ever did as an engineer, but it’s so much more fun.

Love You To Death

Can you tell us about your recent releases LOVE YOU TO DEATH and FINDING THE LOST?

LOVE YOU TO DEATH is a creepy romantic suspense with missing women, dismembered bodies and a sick serial killer.  Elise will stop at nothing to find her missing sister before it’s her body that turns up, and Trent, an ex-cop, refuses to let her do it alone.

FINDING THE LOST is the second book in my paranormal romance series, The Sentinel Wars.  Andra has a gift for finding children who are stolen by evil monsters–the same monsters who destroyed her family years ago.  She has no idea how special she is, but Paul does.  He’s been looking for her for centuries.  She’s the only one who can keep the magic that is growing inside him from killing him.  Andra isn’t so sure about all the magic stuff, and no matter how much she’s drawn to the hot, tattooed, sword-wielding stranger, she doesn’t want to get involved in the war Paul’s people are fighting.

What books do you have releasing in the future?

The third book in The Sentinel Wars comes out in May 2010.  I also have stories in a couple of novellas next year: DARK AND STORMY KNIGHTS (my first attempt at urban fantasy) and THE MAMMOTH BOOK OF SPECIAL OPS ROMANCE.  In addition to those, I have another six books contracted: three more in the Sentinel series and the first three of a new romantic suspense series, The Edge.  I don’t have release dates yet, but they should be coming soon and I’ll post them on my website as soon as I have them.

What are you currently working on?

I just finished the first book in The Edge series, titled LIVING ON THE EDGE, and I’m getting set to start work on the fifth book in The Sentinel Wars.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

So many places.  Other books, movies, of course, and the geeky adventures we have every Friday night when we get together for tabletop role-playing games of various sorts.  I also draw a ton of emotional inspiration from music, which I think is vital to any story.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I mostly read in my genres, since I consider it market research and I have far less time to read than I used to.  Every minute counts these days, so I try to double up my enjoyment and research.  Some of my auto-buy authors are: Shannon McKenna, Lora Leigh, JR Ward and Suzanne Brockmann.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

I started out reading historical romance, so there are huge swaths of those.  Now suspenses and paranormals are crowding the space.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

Julie Garwood’s GENTLE WARRIOR was the first romance I ever read in 1998.  Before that I’d scoffed at them as books my mom read.  After that, I was hooked to the point where I rarely read anything without a heavy thread of romance running through it.

Finding The Lost

If one of your books was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Oh no.  I’m not touching this question with a ten-foot pole.  When Jim’s books were made into a TV series, I could not believe the ferocity that people laid into each other over the casting wars.  In the rare event that any of my work ever hits either the big or little screen, I prefer to stay silent and safe. 🙂

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

None of them, because if I’m doing my job as a writer, my characters are tortured mercilessly.  I don’t want any of that. I like my nice, boring, safe life. 🙂

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I make beaded jewelry which I often put up as prizes in my (mostly) monthly contest.  My obsession with sparklies has grown to the point where I now own a glass kiln, which has been all kinds of fun.  My crooked projects get smashed with a hammer and recycled.  It’s a great stress-reliever.

 

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

That’s an easy one.  What do you want to read–what thrills you and makes you squirm in anticipation of the next book?  That’s what I want to write.

Where can readers find you on the internet?

http://www.shannonkbutcher.com/

http://twitter.com/ShannonKButcher (@ShannonKButcher)

In both cases, don’t forget the “K” or you’ll find the jazz singer, not me.

Thanks for inviting me to visit your blog today!  It was fun! 🙂

***Leave a comment answering Shannon’s question and one lucky commenter will win an autographed copy of Love You To Death. Good Luck 🙂

22 Responses

  1. I want to read urban fantasy/paranormal romance/romantic suspense that’s part of a larger storyline, but also doesn’t end the individual books as cliffhangers. I can and do walk away from authors who do that. The larger storyline should resolve itself (and perhaps the series) in 3-5 books. Beyond that? It gets really, really hard to remember the details between books, plus there’s the tendency to jump the shark if things go on too long.

  2. I think a good cliff hanger makes me want to read the next book, but not so much that I have to go on meds to wait for it. BAHAHAHAHHA Just enough of one that I can’t wait for the next book. I love romance mixed with a kick butt heroine.

    Thanks for the cool interview. I saw a video of you and your husband where you talked about writing and you guys were great. I love that you talk paranormal abilities at the dinner table. *snicker*

  3. Hello Shannon I love paranormal romance and mystery stoires. I love going places in stories that are out of this world and not real.

  4. I don’t like big cliffhangers at the end of the book, the feeling of being left on the edge naked with no where to go. I feel like the author makes sure stay on the edge only to buy\read the next book. I just finished a book that felt like the book ended in the middle of a fight. I hate that feeling I want to know everyone is ok.

    I loved the first Sentinel War book.

  5. I’m not much for cliff hangers either. But I do love to get a bit of a tease as to what might be coming in the next book. I also love the introduction of new, mysterious characters – you’re left wondering where they fit in and if you’ll see them again.

    I love The Sentinel Wars and I so hope Logan gets a book….

  6. I hate cliffhangers. HATE. ug especially when i have to wait 4ever to get the next book. drives me mad! i dont think i would hate them as much if i had the next book ready to read, but i read fast, and books come out slow, so no cliffhangers for me.

    anyway, i have never read your books, but they look really interesting!

  7. Hi Shannon,
    I like to read about characters that I like in exciting settings.

  8. I’m a sucker for a good long series. Especially ones where each book features a new character, but the old ones keep showing up to help, or as part of the driving force, etc. That way, usually, there’s no cliffhangers or much at the end that makes me drool and glare at the calendar because the next one isn’t out for several months, but I get to see the old, familiar, loveable characters again in the next book, even if they aren’t the main focus. Some examples of this are Katie MacAlister’s Dark Ones series, Lynsay Sands’ Argeneau series, etc..

    Wow, I feel like I rambled, sorry! Thanks for visiting, and it was great to read your interview!

  9. I love some good suspense but I don’t like big cliffhangers, that leave you totolly lost until the next book. I also don’t like real long series. Three to four books in a series works well for me.

  10. Hi Shannon 😀
    I just read “Burning Alive” und finished “Finding the Lost” yesterday and it was great, fantastic, heartbreaking, compelling, awesome and it makes me speechless! I couldn’t take a break during reading – I really really love the books!
    today I’ve ordered the three “no…” books and can’t wait to read them..
    as for your question: I want to read Zachs and Lexis story (they will get one, right?) and at the same moment Madocs and Nikas book (they will get one too, yeah?) – when will they come out?
    what’s with Thomas? Is he really… you know…? He was so cute with Carmen *sigh*
    oh please, I really need some spoilers!!!
    so THAT’S what I want to read!!
    Thank you so much for your books – you just made my month!!!
    Wish you all the best,
    Ina

  11. Ugh, I really dislike cliffhangers when I don’t have the next book handy or have to wait until the next book is released. It’ll drive me crazy wondering what would happen next (you should have seen me when watching anime on tv and have to wait until next week to see what happens..)

    I have your Burning Alive in my TBR pile.

  12. Fantastic interview! And I love to read books with a good supernatural element and lots of lots of romance! 🙂

  13. Hi Shannon,
    Congrats on the new releases. I’m a big fan of your romantic suspense books and look forward to reading your paranormals. I like a lot of action and excitement.

  14. I love serious historicals, mostly regency, with lost of angst and danger, think Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre

  15. I like fun books with strong sexy women as the main character. I usually prefer urban fantasy and gave a squeal of delight to read about Dark and Stormy Knights.

  16. Hi Greta and Shannon, thanks for the terrific interview! Wow, Shannon, you are so busy! Congrats! I am so excited for your new Edge Series. Rom Suspense is really my favorite genre, so that’s my answer to your question. I like really really good suspense stories. I don’t want to know “whodunit” in the first 25 pages, but I don’t want there to be so many characters I can’t keep score. AND I want erotic romance that will scorch the pages! I just picked up No Escape and No Control and can’t wait to read them!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  17. I don’t like cliffhangers!
    I like books with a lot of romance and a supernatural element.

  18. I like to read series or connected books but I don’t want them to be like a tv show, to be continued. No cliffhangers, I don’t want to worry myself sick waiting for the next one. I like suspense, but not to the extent I’m biting my nails.

  19. I love paranormal romance stories that wrap up nicely at the end but leaving a few key unaswered questions begging me to wait for the next story. I haven’t picked up your book yet, so I’m really keeping my fingers crossed!

  20. I love thrillers! They are the types of books I itch to read and usually can’t put down once I get started readiing.

  21. Hi Shannon~

    I love to read paranormals. Generally, I enjoy the story to be wrapped up in the end, but with the potential for the next book in the works. I am a huge series fan.

  22. Shannon your paranormal series is just AWESOME!!! They are so original and these sentinel guys are hot hot hot!

Leave a Reply

