• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Rhonda Leah discusses The Business Of Sex

Rhonda, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Thank you for having me. I love reading your blog and getting book news, book talk and so much more. I’m very glad to be here!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I’m married to my hero, who does cook, but doesn’t clean. I’ve got two very active girls who try to see how much we can fit into each day. And I’ve have a day job, I’m very lucky to love 98% of the time and it comes with a pretty flexible schedule.

How long have you been writing?

I started writing about nine years ago. I was fortunate to stumble upon a really unique group of writing friends. Life happened, again and again, so I took a break from actively writing for four to five years. I maintained a friendship with a few online friends and my local writers group (somehow I knew I’d be back *g*). I started back actively writing in mid-2007, and haven’t stopped since.

What is your writing process like?

I’m a complete and total pantser. I start with an idea and just dive in. And while I don’t intentionally plot, I do what I like to call “stop and plot” (a little) once I’m about 1/3 of the way in – so I’m a pantser with a kick J

Can you tell us about your recent release The Business of Sex?

I actually wrote this story before I took a break from writing, but once I started back this story kept calling my name, so I pulled it out, made a few changes and submitted it to Red Sage’s Alpha Male Contest in 2008.  It was one of four finalists but ultimately not picked up by them. I submitted to Lyrical Press on a whim and was thrilled when they contracted it.

Here’s the blurb and links for a couple of excerpts:

busofsexWith Lee in her life, Laurel doesn’t need the props she peddles.
Laurel Delacroix owns and operates The Rubber Tree, a sexual necessities shop, on Bourbon Street. She’s spirited and independent, but when the man by whom she measures all others reappears in her life, she can’t resist tempting fate. She might not do relationships, but she craves sex. And sex with her inspiration for The Rubber Tree is the best she’s ever had.
Lee Carter is used to women dropping at his feet, but Laurel is different. She’s a challenge in every way. When he finds out about the threats she’s receiving, along with her store being vandalized and her condo torn to shreds, he’ll do anything to protect her…and make her see they belong together permanently.
Content warning: This story contains explicitly fun sex and strong language.

http://www.lyricalpress.com/the_business_of_sex_excerpt
http://www.rhondaleah.net/Post.aspx/Show/New%20Excerpt

This is your first release, correct? What emotions and feelings have you experience this week?

Yes, my first release! My emotions and feelings can be summed up in one word – obsessed. It is insane the things I have found to worry and obsess over, seriously. Will anyone buy it? Will anyone read it? Will anyone write a review? Will I get reader mail? Will so&so actually find it and it’s me that wrote it? And yes I could go on, but I’ll stop now!

Do you have any other releases this year, if not when is your next release?

My next book, One Wilde Night is set to release 3/1/10.
Straight-laced History Professor Tucker Carson has never imagined having a one-night stand until…wild and sexy Tara makes him an offer he can’t resist.

After that About Last Night (you can read the opening here http://www.bravaauthors.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=162&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=7 ) will be out in 2010.

What are you currently working on?

I’m having lots of fun with my current project. The heroine is a little bit older than the hero and she’s a widow. He was the kid next door (though the age difference is only 5 yrs). He’s very much an alpha hero – more so than any I’ve written so far and I’m loving writing these two!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Just about every book I’ve written has started with an idea for a ‘cute meet’ or if you are a fan of the movie The Holiday a ‘meet cute’. The stories might not turn out exactly how the idea started, but that’s my ideas spark. The first time I watched The Holiday and they talked about the ‘meet cute’ I was so excited because I was like “that’s how I get ideas for books” and my family was like “hush, we’re watching a movie”.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I mostly read Romance, because I always want the HEA. My auto-buy list is pretty long, all the writeminded authors are on it – I found them because of Jaci Burton. Jennifer Cruise is one of my all time favorite authors. Lisa Kleypas – I just love her historicals and Sabrina Jeffries and Susan Enoch too. I’m really loving Nora Robert’s new contemporary series and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

What books are on your keeper shelf?
Even though it doesn’t have an HEA – Gone with the Wind
Lots of Nora Roberts’ contemporary romances
Everything Jenifer Cruise has written
And I have a special shelf for the books written by my writing friends because those are most important and special to me, because I remember what we all went through to get where we are now.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

I was sort of late to start reading romance – I was in my twenties and I read a few harlequins my friend’s mom gave me… and I was hooked. The only book that pops into my head right off is Bet Me, by Jennifer Cruise – and it isn’t that old, maybe a 2004 – 2005 release, but I love it and have read it numerous times.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I have to laugh. Obsessed would fit here again. I actually changed Laurel’s hair color in The Business of Sex, because I wasn’t finished with edits when I got the cover… and well her hair had to match the cover. But as far as actors, heck, I’m not sure… maybe Reese Witherspoon (I’m thinking of her in Sweet Home Alabama) and Ben Affleck?

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would it be & why?
Oh- none of them! They might get the great guy (I have one) but they go through hell to get there (I’ve been there done that, lol).

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?
Ack. You mean I am supposed to do something besides read? I like to spend time with my family and I love watching movies!

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

I love writing dialogue.

Do you like a good mix of dialogue and narrative? Or do you prefer books heavy in dialogue? Why? *g*

Thanks again for having me! I’ll be in and out today, so if you have any questions, please ask! Also we are giving away a copy of The Business of Sex, so leave a comment to enter!

Where can readers find you on the internet?
www.rhondaleah.net (this was supposed to be temporary, but it works while the other does not yet!)
www.rhondaleah.com (maybe today, maybe not)
http://lyricalpress.blogspot.com/ I normally blog here at least once a month

*** Remember! Leave a comment for a chance to win a download copy of The Business Of Sex.

12 Responses

  1. Hi Rhonda,
    I like a good mix of dialogue and narrative. Dialogue is great so you can experience how the characters interact with each other, but narrative is essential so you can get inside their head to know what they are thinking and feeling.

    Business of sex sounds hot hot hot and fun. Congrats!

  2. Rhonda, nice interview. Congrats on your first release and the cover is so sexy.

  3. You just mentioned three of my favorite historical romance authors! Lisa Kleypas, Suzanne Enoch and Sabrina Jeffries.

    Heheh, thanks for going easy on Lillie during the interview! But it was lovely to meet you.

  4. Hi, Rhonda 🙂
    great interview! Congrats, again 🙂
    As for your question, I like a good mix of dialogue and narrative… but, if I had to have too much of something, I’d prefer it to be dialogue.

    I already have a copy, so please don’t enter me 🙂

  5. cool interview Rhonda and Lillie:)

  6. Hi Rhonda 😀
    oh, that was a great interview – thank you! as for the question – thats not easy to answer… I think it depends on the story I read… but for the most parts I like dialogues where you can see the interaction between the protas!
    Have a nice day!
    Ina

  7. Business of Sex sounds like a hot read!
    I like a mix of narrative and dialogue. Dialogue gives you the interaction between the characters, and narritave lets you
    know what is going on in their heads.

  8. Hi Rhonda,
    Congrats on your debut release. A good balance of narrative and dialogue is ideal, but could be hard to achieve. The dialogue and narrative should move the plot along.

  9. Booklover – thanks for stopping in

    Armenia – thank you for the congrats

    Raonaid – Yeah, I love to read historials – and we (Woot!) have some of the same favorites!

    Hi Ali! Thanks for stopping by – I agree – I’d prefer more dialouge if there is too much of something!

    Thanks Bama!

    Ina – thanks for answering – I knew it was a little tough 🙂

    Estella – thanks and I do think it’s a pretty hot read – I had a lot of fun writing those two!

    Jane – thank you! And I agree about dialouge moving the plot along, sometimes that is the most fun to work with though!

  10. Rhonda, I know what you mean about books your friends who are authors have written having a special place on the bookshelf and in your heart! I haven’t had the honor of being involved in too many books personally but those I did rank up there with ones by a a friend who hit the NYT bestseller list on something like his 86th (published) book!

  11. Hi Amy T – thanks for stopping by! I agree it’s great to have a keeper shelf of friends.

  12. Hi, Rhonda! Congrats on this–it sounds terrific! As for narrative vs. dialogue, I enjoy a combination, as long as it fits for the flow of the story and is true to the characters. I do have a weakness for snappy dialogue and it’s a gift when an author does it well so it really flows!

Leave a Reply

