• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Erin Nicholas is visiting today

Erin Nicholas

Erin, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

I’m so excited to be here to chat today!  Thanks for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Anything except what my bathroom scale said this morning!  I am a physical therapist when I’m not writing, a mother of two (even when I am writing!) and have been married for fifteen years.  I live in the Midwest, always have and always will.  My mom is the one who first introduced me to romantic fiction. I love to watch college football.  I’m addicted to the TV show, Glee.  I can’t go a day without a Starbucks frappucino.  I love Will Ferrell movies and am a champion Uno player.

How long have you been writing?

Actually writing?  About ten years.  Seriously writing and trying to get published?  About six years.

What is your writing process like?

Well, ‘process’ is a bit of a stretch 🙂  I write whenever I can.  Some days I get tons done.  Others, I barely touch it.  I take my laptop everywhere, but that means I have to be careful.  Just because I can have my laptop with me at a kid’s football game doesn’t mean I should!  I write well with noise and distractions though, so if my kids are doing homework or playing Wii, I can be there with them and still get some work done.  I write a lot at night and weekend, like most working mom writers, so have had to give up Seinfeld reruns!

Can you tell us about your newest release No Matter What?

I’d love to!  It’s about Adam, a single dad who insists on always having the best for his daughter, and Jaden, the best pediatric physical therapist in the area.  Adam makes Jaden an offer she can’t refuse—a million dollars to privately rehab his daughter after a life-threatening illness lands her in a wheelchair.  Jaden needs the money to finally finish the new rehab wing at her hospital, so agrees.  But they’re both used to getting their way and they have some real conflicts over what should happen with Emily.  In addition, the attraction between them is there from the moment they meet.  So, there are lots of sparks!  There’s a lot of emotion too with the determined father, passionate therapist and stubborn teenager… but the story is fun and sexy and uplifting!  Jaden doesn’t let things get too sad or melancholy!

No Matter What

This is your first release, correct? What emotions and feelings have you experience this week?

This is my first release!  I’m very excited!  I love this book and am so ready and happy to share with everybody!  Adam and Jaden have really been with me for about six years now, so it’s time for someone besides me and my editor to fall in love with them!

Do you have any other books releasing this year?

My next release will be in April (2010).  That book is Just Right and is the story of a trauma physician and an ER nurse.  I’ve worked in healthcare for more than ten years and it’s so natural for me to write about medical heroes and heroines!

What are you currently working on?

I’m finishing up the third story in a three book series (that starts with Just Right next April).  This one is about the youngest of the Bradford siblings, Sara, who has been in love with her brother’s best friend for years and has finally decided to let him know!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

My books usually come to me as characters first.  Once I have a hero (or heroine… though usually I meet my heroes first for some reason) then I think about what person they most need in their life.  Finally, I find a way to put them in a situation that will most challenge them!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Oh, I read voraciously!  I will really read anything romance.  I usually pick contemporary over historical, but Julia Quinn is an auto-buy for me.  Don’t even read the back blurb, just pick it up and pay.  Susan Andersen, Lucy Monroe, Lori Foster, Cherry Adair, Jennifer Crusie, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Erin McCarthy… all are auto-buys for me.  I like things a little light and fun versus real dark and serious.  I do love Cherry Adair’s suspense though!  And I’m getting more into erotic and paranormals because of my author group, Nine Naughty Novelists (http://ninenaughtynovelists.blogspot.com/).  I’m lucky to be rubbing elbows with some fantastic writers from different genres from me and really packing my keeper shelf full! J  I do not like any book (or movie) where one of the lead characters dies.  Do you hear me Nicholas Sparks?

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Everything Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Julia Quinn, Susan Andersen and Lucy Monroe have ever written.  Seriously.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

Separate Beds by Lavyrle Spencer.  My mom gave it to me when I was a teenager.  I was hooked on romance from then on.  But I’ve read all of SEP and Julia Quinn at least three times.

If your book was made into a movie, which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

That’s so funny you asked that… my friend and I were just talking about this today!  It’s kind of a tough question… do you go by who looks most like them or who acts most like them?  For Adam, he’s tall, dark, very confident, intimidating to most people.  I’ve always pictured him looking a bit like Pierce Brosnan.  I think Pierce could probably pull it off J.  For Jaden, I think Meg Ryan fits most for me.  She’s petite, blond, upbeat, but passionate. 

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Well, Jaden has a lot of spunk and I really like that about her.  Plus she gets to have Adam in her bed every night! J  But Emily, Adam’s daughter, is in the midst of having her first boyfriend, school dances, dating… it would be fun to go back to that, for a few days at least!

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Well, I should say gourmet cooking (my husband’s laughing even as I type that) or cleaning (my dust bunnies are laughing at that—they’re not even slightly nervous!).  I spend time with my kids… we love the Wii, card games, movies, art projects, goofing around.  I love movies, get-togethers with friends, visiting my parents and sister… I am very blessed by people so that’s where I spent my non-writing time.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

What is the one thing that makes you keep coming back for more from the same author?

Where can readers find you on the internet?

http://www.erinnicholas.com/,

http://ninenaughtynovelists.blogspot.com/,

or

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ErinNicholas/

 Thanks for having me, Greta!

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a download copy of No Matter What by Erin. Good Luck 🙂

13 Responses

  1. Hi Erin,
    Congrats on your new release. I love romances that are on the lighter side too! Some of your favorite authors are some of mine as well so I am sure that No Matter What is right up my alley.

    Will Just Right be connected in any way to No Matter What?

  2. Hi! Actually, Just Right is not connected to No Matter What, BUT Just Right is the first book in a three-book connected series! So, here’s hoping to get the next two on the release schedule soon! 🙂

    In No Matter What the hero’s brother Tony is introduced and I’m doing a short story for Samhain’s Christmas freebie program about Tony so you’ll have to check that out too! Those details will be on my site when I have a date!

    I personally love connected stories so these next three will be fun!
    Thanks for asking!
    Erin

  3. Hi Erin. Congratulations on the release of No Matter What. Sounds good. The one thing that keeps me coming back for more is when I am swept up in the story and I don’t want it to end.

  4. Congrats on the new release! And I concur on your list of authors on your keeper shelf. Those are some of my faves too.

  5. We share the same tastes in reading material for sure. Once I’ve found an author that can entertain me and engage my emotions I’ll generally keep buying their books. I like characters that have strong personalities and have to overcome some type of flaw, whether it be physical or mental (like arrogance). I like some humor, too! I want the sex scenes to be more than just sex – I want to feel what the characters are feeling.

  6. Oh, isn’t it the best when you have to read “just one more page” and pretty soon it’s past midnight? (Okay, I don’t like it the next morning when my alarm goes off, but at the moment I love it!) Being swept away is what it’s all about for me!

    And agree completely with the sex having to be more than just physical. In No Matter What, Jaden and Adam actually both have really good reasons for *not* giving into their attraction– of course, it’s inevitable 🙂 but they find their attraction strengthened as they get to know each other. To me, that makes it so much more meaningful! I think SEP does a great job with that same thing. Lucy Monroe too.

    The best books for me are the ones you think about when you’re not reading, or after it ends. It’s funny, as a writer the last scene is always hardest for me. I don’t want it to end either 🙂 and I want to make sure it truly wraps the story up and makes the reader give a contented ‘ah’ at the end!
    Erin

  7. A writer who can sweep me into the story will always keep me coming back for more.

  8. Congrats on the new release! And I have to say that I enjoy reading Julia Quinn, she is one of my autobuys not matter what. I like her wit and humor. Authors that can engage my emotions, make me bust out laughing one moment, sobbing another are keepers. And yes, I’ve had books where I tell myself “One more chapter… at the end of this chapter.” But get so sucked in I can’t put it down and lo’ behold it’s four, five am and I gotta get up at 7 to get my two oldest off to school

  9. What’s your favorite Julia Quinn book? For me it’s Romancing Mr. Bridgerton!
    I love the first line of that book:
    “On the sixth of April, in the year 1812—precisely two days before her sixteenth birthday—Penelope Featherington fell in love.”

    But I haven’t read a book of hers I don’t like! 🙂
    Erin

  10. Congrats on your new release! I read a little of everything myself and love historicals. What makes me come back to the same author is when a book catches my interest in the beginning and keeps me up until 3 am. I alway finish my books though.

  11. Let me add to the congratulations….the first always holds a special place in your heart, I am sure.

    I always come back to authors who make me laugh, make me care for the characters, and even those who make me stay up all night for that one more page. I have learned to start some people’s books first thing in the morning now!

  12. Thanks for the congratulations everyone!
    I love hearing what other readers like and look for!!

    As a special today/tonight, anyone who e-mails me at Erin@ErinNicholas.com and asks can get a free copy of the full first chapter of No Matter What!

    It’s only a chapter so you won’t have to worry about staying up all night with it 😉
    Erin

  13. A world that draws me in and fascinates me, causing me to question reality and my own beliefs is always a plus. Characters that I can relate to or want to be is another bonus.

    Deidre

Leave a Reply

