• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Red Rose Author Laura Breck is here today

SecretVegasLives for blogging bigger

Laura, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

Thank you, Greta, for hosting me on your site. It’s a great name, I Do Not Want to Wait, I Want the Book Now. As a reader, I feel that way all the time!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I’m an accountant by trade, I work for a professional sports team in Minnesota, and for the last three years I’ve been taking writing classes, attending workshops, and reading everything there is to know about the craft of writing. I set out with a goal of becoming a published author, and chose as my mantra, “You can’t fail if you never quit trying.” With hard work, supportive writing friends, and a wonderfully understanding family, I’ve succeeded.

How long have you been writing?

I started in the ‘80s writing historical romances. I finished one, Capture a Pirate’s Heart, and actually found an editor who read it and gave me great suggestions. Halfway through my second historical, real life stepped in and usurped all my time. It took me until 2006 to find my way back to writing. And I truly love it!

What is your writing process like?

I’m a plotter! I make a detailed outline first, writing whole scenes as they come into my head, and create the darkest moment to give me a basis on which to slip clues and foreshadowing into the prior chapters. Then I start writing from the beginning. I read my work just before going to sleep, then wake in the morning and try to get in an hour or two on the manuscript before I go to work. That quiet time in the morning, with a cup of coffee and my laptop, is precious.

Can you tell us about your new release Secret Vegas Lives?

I’d love to! Dr. Valerie Kane is an eminent psychologist who is at the wrong place at the right time, and is mistaken for a blackmailer by novelist Antonio Daniato. They both swear they’re not the blackmailer, but their suspicions keep them from exploring the intense attraction between them. When they learn to trust each other, the passion is red-hot. But there’s a reason they’re being blackmailed, and when they learn each other’s secrets, their perfect romance is torn apart. Can Valerie convince Antonio to give up his decadent night life? And will Antonio be able to accept Valerie after her surprising revelation?

This is your first release correct?

Yes, it is, and I’m very excited! I submitted to Red Rose Publishing in early January, and a week later, received an e-mail with a contract attached, requesting the rights to Secret Vegas Lives. Now, a short nine months later, I’m e-published. In a few months, Red Rose will release Secret Vegas Lives as a paperback, and I’ll ask Greta to post the word for me on her wonderful blog.

Do you have any other books releasing this year?

My second novel, Scandalous L.A. Desires, is the second book in the series, and stars Antonio’s brother, Dante. It will be released from Red Rose Publishing in 2010.

What are you currently working on?

My work in progress is a story set in Miami, a romance between a Cuban-American man and a young woman from Seattle who inherits her estranged sister’s life – her house, her company, and her sexy business partner.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

I lived in Las Vegas for three years, and traveled back there in 2006 for a bachelorette party. From there, it was easy to create a story of Las Vegas society, and the guilty pleasures of Sin City that fascinate us all. My second book, Scandalous L.A. Desires, was born one morning after I woke from a dream. Dante, a gorgeous Italian artist, and Lindsey, a shy, philanthropic heiress. The Miami book, my work in progress, I concocted after watching CSI Miami for the first time. Whenever my muse strikes me, I pay close attention!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I like happy ever after romances, so I read everything I can find. Lisa Kleypas, Lori Foster, Suzanne Brockman, and all the authors in my writers groups. For the male point of view, I like to read Randy Wayne White, Michael Connelly, and, surprisingly, Jimmy Buffett is a great author, and a favorite of mine.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Lavyrle Spencer, a retired Minnesota writer, has signed all my hard copies of her books. She’s a fantastic storyteller, and I love her sweet, character-driven romances.

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

I started out with historicals, thanks to Fabio Lanzoni! The first time I saw his face (and the rest of him) on a paperback, I fell in love. I don’t remember the name of that first book, but my all-time favorite historical is Judith McNaught’s Almost Heaven. I read it every few years, and love it more each time.

antonio_sabato_jr_

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I would love to see Secret Vegas Lives made into a movie. I attended a seminar a few weeks ago on screenwriting, and I’m hoping to find someone to help me adapt my novel into a screenplay. I see a hunky Italian, like Antonio Sabato, Jr., playing the role of my Antonio. And I guess I could step up and play the female lead! No? Okay, how about Alyssa Milano, my husband’s favorite actress, as Valerie.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

I would love to be Valerie Kane, Psychologist to the Stars. She earns enough from her therapy sessions with rock stars, actors, and magicians to need only work a few days a week. She spends her free time counseling at a youth shelter. I would love to have more time to volunteer!

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I bike a lot in the summer and on our mid-winter get-aways to warmer climates. I bake incessantly, and have perfected the art of buttercream frosting. And I’m a closet Parrot Head – oops, I guess it’s not a secret any longer! I’m a Jimmy Buffett fan, and belong to the local club. It’s a great organization whose meetings always include a fundraising drive, and donations to needy causes.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

Hi Readers! I write a spicy romance, with lots of love scenes. The heat rating definitely falls right in between Sweet Romances and Erotic Romances. Do you like the hot bedroom action, or do you prefer less steamy pages?

Where can readers find you on the internet?

I’ve got two great contests going on right now on my website, LauraBreck.com, I blog every Wednesday at RosesOfProse.blogspot.com, and my e-book, Secret Vegas Lives is available at RedRosePublishing.com.

Thank you so much, Greta, you’re a wonderful host, and a great interviewer! I’ll be around for the next few days, and I look forward to reading everyone’s comments.

***Leave a comment and one lucky comment will win a goodie bag from Laura. Good Luck 🙂

23 Responses

  1. Hey Laura,

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! on your new release…

    I can’t wait to read it!!!

    Happy Reading!!!
    Happy Halloween!!!
    Anna Shah Hoque
    s7anna@yahoo.ca

  2. To answer Laura’s question I have to say I prefer the hot bedroom action just because it’s more fun and thrilling to read.

  3. Congratulations on your book. When it comes to steamy or not steamy I will say it depends on the book. I can enjoy either. If the storyline takes them to the bedroom (again and again) I’m ok with that. If the storyline is a sweeter romance story I’m ok with that too. Although I will admit, sometimes I will pick a racier book if that is what I am in the mood to read.

  4. Congratulatins on your new book. I appreciate the eye candy, if only he was in color.

    I prefer it more on the steamy side now, but there has to be a good story that builds up to the steamy bits as well for me to really enjoy it.

  5. Hey Laura,

    By the way, I’m a huge advocate of scorching bedroom scenes…I love it when authors push the limits!

    Happy Reading!!!

  6. Thank you for the congrats! It’s great to be here today.

    I agree, the steamy scenes are my preference, but an intriguing story is most important.

    I fell in love with Antonio Sabato, Jr. when he did a few months on my guilty-pleasure-soapopera, The Bold and The Beautiful. I had a lot of fun Googling pictures of him! Two hours later…I chose the shirtless beach scene.

  7. Hi Laura 🙂
    first at all – congrats on your book release!!! thats fantastic and I can’t wait to read your book… I think I will wait for the printed version, but who knows…
    and the answer to your question: I LOVE hot bedroom action *lol* My favorite books are paranormal ones and without the bedroom action it would be a little bit boring…
    wish you all the best!
    Ina

  8. Hi Laura!

    Congrats on the new release, to sounds amazing! I would have to say to answer your question that I do love the hot love scene’s. What can I say the naughtier the better!!!!

    Brande
    bjwaldron(at)gmail.com

  9. I’m excited to hear you all like to peek inside the bedroom door. When I re-read the steamy scenes in my books, they seem to go so fast! And I took hours and hours to write them. I guess that’s why I put so many hot spots in my books.

  10. I love a hot a hot scene now matter where it’s a bedroom, kitchen maybe in the living room any where if its written right is okay with me.

  11. Congrats on the new release, it sounds like a great story! And for me, the steamier the better. With winter coming on, I’m especially loving steamy books.

  12. Hey This looks like such a good book, It is not on my want list. Lol. As for your question, it depends on the book/author. Some authors do some really great bedroom scenes and ill read them over and over, and some books i prefer the out of the bedroom maybe because of the action in the plot continues more, or maybe its more of a comic relief. Overall though i would go with the hot scenes. —tayyz

  13. *now…oopss

  14. Congratulations on the release of Secret Vegas Lives!

    I love the hot steamy bedroom action.

  15. I’d like to write a really funny love scene one day. Let’s see, where would I get the inspiration for that? Oh, yes, have I mentioned my husband???

    I love him to pieces, but we end up giggling a lot…

  16. That was a great interview! And congrats, Laura, on your book release! I can’t even imagine how excoted you must be!

    And as for the question: It really all matters on timing. If hot bedroom action is just thrown around pointlessly, hot though it may be, its just that:hot and pointless. I like those scenes to mean something. Like the book would be missing a huge piece if that steamy scence wasn’t in it.

  17. Hi Laura! I prefer steamy, detailed sex scenes. I want to know everything. I could imagine it, but I want the author to create the scene for me, to seduce me with their words. lol

    Deidre

  18. Chelsea and Deidre, you both make good points. It’s the lead-in to the scene that makes us anticipate breathlessly, and the emotional connection we feel with the characters during the love scene that make it memorable.

    Thank you for your comments!

  19. Congrats on your new release!

    As for the bedroom action, the hotter the better as long as the story isn’t all sex with no plot or connection.

  20. your work always sounds awesome congrats on the new release deff begettint this one too ty for the contest and the interviews

  21. Congratulations on your new release! sounds so good!

    Thanks
    Amy M

  22. I love hot romance in the bedroom, but I don’t like a whole chapter of it. I hate it, but love it when the characters have to jump through hoops to be together. Congrats on your release Laura the book sounds wonderful.

  23. Congrats & best wishes! Your book sounds great.
    I love romantic suspense & erotica, Great if there’s both LOL.

Leave a Reply

