• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please welcome Cathryn Fox today

Instinctive large

Cathryn, Thank you for agreeing to be my guest today.

Thank you so much for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Ah, well, besides being a writer, I’m a wife, a mother, a sister, a daughter, an aunt, a friend, and a dog lover. 

Everyday I get behind on emails, struggle to find balance in my life, and when it comes to the computer I’m technically challenged. 

I love junk food, red wine, and hanging out in the evening with my family watching big action flicks.  I’m not much of a party girl (anymore <wink>), and prefer quiet time at home.  I work hard every day and try to write stories that touch readers on some level and leave them wanting more.    

How long have you been writing?

I was a closet writer for years, then put it away when I had children.  After my kids went to school, I knew it was time to go back to work, but the writing called out to me again.  So this time I told the world I wanted to be a writer, and I joined writers organizations and really worked at the craft.  That was back in 2000.

What is your writing process like?

I write Monday-Friday, and sometimes on weekends if I have to get edits done or complete some other kind of office administration work.  I aim for five pages a day and on good days I write plenty more, on bad days it could take me my whole day to get those five pages.  I like to finish when the kids get home from school so we can go over homework, cook together, and just generally spend time together. 

Can you tell us about your newest release Instinctive?

Oooh, yes, I’d love to tell you about Instinctive, the first book in my Eternal Pleasure Series because I’m just so darn excited about it.  It’s my first paranormal release at NAL and it comes out in October!  (Mark that on your calendar LOL!)

Enter Serene, a supernatural playground where sexy shape shifters live behind the white picket fences…

Free spirited Jaclyn Vasenty is about to inherit a cosmetics empire, yet her scandalous personal history may ruin her chance for a corporate take-over. Saying goodbye to her naughty ways, she moves into a quaint gated community in Serene, New Hampshire. But these gates are locked at sunset…

The town’s dark sensuality rocks Jaclyn’s insatiable appetite to the core—and stirs desires that are… inhuman. That’s because Serene is home to demons, witches, vampires, lycans, and panthers, for whom primal exploration comes naturally. Especially for shape shifter Slyck, the cunning panther who’s pushing Jaclyn to the brink of erotic possibilities and making her feel wildly…feral. As tension between species rises, Jaclyn learns she must draw on all her feminine wiles and join forces with Slyck if she wants to make it out alive.

Here’s an early review!

Fox’s tale of paranormal beings and primal exploration lurking under the surface of a quaint New England town is a winner! The strong heroine and hot panther hero are a combustible combination. This book is hot enough to steam up the windows and exciting enough that you’ll ruin your manicure.

Summary: Jaclyn Vasenty is afraid that her personal history may prevent her from inheriting a cosmetics company. So she vows to leave her naughty ways behind and moves into a charming gated community in Serene, N.H.
She’s surprised to learn the gates are locked at sunset. Before long, an erotic appetite that barely seems human overcomes her. That’s because the town is home to a collection of inhuman sensual beings: vampires, werewolves, witches, demons and shapeshifters. As tension between species rises, Jaclyn must call on all of her strengths and join forces with Slyck, the panther shifter who’s been exploring erotic possibilities with her, if she wants to get out alive.

This is the beginning of a new series correct?

Yes, the second book in the series, Impulsive comes out in May 2010, and it’s a hot werewolf story.

Do you have any other books releasing this year?

Yes, besides INSTINCTIVE I have:

CLAIMED, Samhain.  This is a print book containing my story, Blood Ties, released on September 2nd.

DANCE OF THE DRAGON.  Samhain.  An ebook released on September 8th.

ALL WORKED UP.  Samhain.  This is an ebook, the second story in the Pleasure Inn series.  Scheduled for release this December.

WRAPPED IN SEDUCTION:  NAL HEAT, October29th.  This is a HOT Christmas anthology with stories from Lisa Renee Jones and Jodi Lynn Copeland.  It’s a unique book in that the three stories overlap.  It was fun and challenging to write, that’s for sure!

What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on something completely different than my readers are used to.  I’m working on GAME OVER, the first book in a series for TOR. 

Here’s the gist:

Be careful what you wish for…

Because sometimes legends are based on truths.
And fairy tales don’t always end in happily-ever-after.

Just ask gamer girl River Weston. When she unwittingly sells her soul for her latest creation to work, only one man—Guardian, Chase Hawkins—has the ability to help her buy it back.

But will the price they have to pay pit Earth against a dangerous Dark Lord, or will they discover a way to reclaim her soul and save her own world before it’s…Game Over.

Where or how do you get your ideas for your books?

I think I just take in everything around me and ask what if, and then play with that until I have a story.  I could see a TV show, read something in a magazine, or hear someone say something that can lead my thoughts astray, and next thing I know I have an idea for a book. 

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I do love reading and even though I’m busy I try to make it a part of my everyday.  I just recently moved into a new house and had a nine foot by thirteen foot bookshelf build and it’s full of books.  I have so many auto-buys and just a few are Shayla Black, Sylvia Day, Sasha White, Lori Foster, Lora Leigh, Christine Feehan, Kelly Armstrong, Larissa Ione…and the list goes on.  

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Every book I’ve ever read, I swear.  I can’t part with anything, because I love books too much. 

Do you read books other than romance books?

Yes, I love Urban Fantasy, Horror, Fantasy…

What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

I used to sneak my mother’s old Harlequin Romances and read them.  I can’t remember who the authors were, but do know they whisked me away into a new world, and made me a lifelong reader of romance. 

If a book of yours was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I’d love to see the new story I’m writing for TOR put into a movie.  I’d like to see Matt Damon as the hero and Kate Beckinsale as the heroine. 

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

I think it would be River, the heroine from Game Over because she goes on quite the ride in the story!  And the hero Hawk is so yummy.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I love to spend my spare time with my family.  My son plays on the Provincial soccer team so that keeps me pretty busy.  My daughter and I love to go shopping, cook and bake together, and hubby loves to relax in the evening with a big action flick. 

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

Since I’m always interested in other people’s lives, and relationships, I’d ask them to tell me a little about themselves. 

For more information on Cathryn and her books please visit her website at: http://www.cathrynfox.com/

***Leave a comment answering Cathryn’s question and one lucky comment will win a download e-book from Cathryn. Good Luck 🙂

30 Responses

  1. Cathryn!! Can’t wait to read your newest. It’s in my TBB (to be bought) list– way up at the top. Love your stories, so keep them coming.

    Let’s see…about myself. Well, I love to watch my son play sports as well. He used to play soccer, which was my sport in school, but switch over to football — possibly for the girls. 🙂
    It’s a difficult sport for me to watch because i am clueless and want to remain that way — about football. The guys all look alike, all wear gear so that they’re buried under mounds of shiny material — and look a bit odd to me, but I usually just get a kick out of the parents — and try to spot my son when I can.

    He also plays baseball — which I love, and he’s much easier to spot! LOL, either way, I enjoy just being there, supporting him.

    Wishing you the best!

    billi jean

  2. What a great interview, Greta. Thanks! I’ve got instinctive on my Kindle. Can’t wait to devour it. -Kris-

  3. You get the sexiest covers, Cathryn! Which is good since you write amazing stories. 🙂

  4. Well the relationship situation isn’t happening right now due to the fact that I’m trying to survive midterms in college right now. So no partying *sigh* My day to day life is going to class, eat and study which takes up quite a bit fo time. But I can’t wait till midterms are done so I can return to reading!

  5. Great interview! Your books sound fabulous! A little about me. I love to read of course and I spend my spare time reading and piecing quilts. I love to make the Lone Star quilts, but haven’t quilted for a while. Mostly do that in the winter.

  6. WOW! Great interview. I loved those responses. Looking forward to reading Instinctive and everyone has a super weekend!

    Ro

  7. Hi Cathryn!

    I am STILL waiting for Instictive to be delivered (I swear I ordered it early enough on the pre-order that it should have been here by now grrr). Can’t wait to read it. I remember reading the synopsis when I was trying to practise mine and thinking WOW, this is why she sells. 🙂

    Lilly

  8. I really enjoyed the interview. It looks like we’ll have plenty to look forward to from you, Cathryn.

    As for a little bit about me, there’s not a whole lot to tell. I work full time and hoping to get into a PhD program in English Literature for next fall. I play volleyball as often as possible. Also, I like to travel and have been on one trip out of the US every year since 2006. One of the most interesting places I’ve been is Russia, which was a trip I took last year.

  9. Considering how many people I know who play soccer I can’t believe it’s not more popular over here. Anyhoo about me, I’m a bookaholic who’s job is a product tester. So all the new products coming on the market I get to review a year early. It’s a fun job.

  10. Wow! Very hot cover!

    About me… I’m married and have two very active little boys. And I’m a book addict, LOL!

  11. Catherine,
    I have Dance of the Dragon that I just picked up and it’s at the top of my TBR pile. Good Luck on your new series and Instinctive.
    Zina

  12. I am a retired grandmother who loves to read.
    Am looking forward to reading Instinctive.

  13. Great interview, Cathryn 🙂

    You know, I want to thank you, because recently, my sister has been suffering postpartum depression, so I bought her some books in hopes to help in one way. She started out with the copy of Sun Stroked I got her and is very much enjoying it. She smiles whenever I ask how the reading is going… she hasn’t really read much in years 🙂

    As for me, well, I recently started a relationship this past May with a wonderful man that I’m just head over heels in love with. He renewed my faith in love and happiness *bg* He’s everything I wanted and everything I needed *sigh* Right now, though, he’s in KY while I’m here in TX… but, we hope to resolve that soon 🙂

  14. Hey Cathryn, nice interview.

    I’m just like you when it comes to books. Can’t seem to part with them, even when my friends want to borrow them I insist on a check-out list !! LOL, how extreme is that? I know, I know, I have to know where all my lovies are. At least with the ebooks I know exactly where they are. *hehehe*

  15. Hi Cathryn, Instinctive looks so good, I love shapeshifter stories and the excerpt has me hooked.

    I am the mom of twin boys, married 34 years to my high school sweetie and reading is my passion and escape from the current testosterone in my house. Besides loving paranormal romance stories, I have quite a collection of historical westerns and urban fantasy stories filling up my favorites book shelf.

  16. See, I was so excited to answer your question, I hit enter before I knew it.

    Just wanted to say:

    Looking forward to INSTINCTIVE. That cover is pretty sexy !!

  17. Hi Cathryn,
    Congrats on the new release. I’m an avid reader and love watching crime dramas.

  18. Hi Cathryn! The new release sounds fantastic! I like the cover too. Congrats!

  19. OMG! This sounds like a most awesome new series. I am so going to have to find this!!!

    About me?
    Man, I am boring. I am a wife. Mom to two fur babies. Part time student. Full time library clerk.

  20. I’m looking forward to reading your series, Cathryn!

    About me… I’m an aviatrix with a love for animals (and my husband), with the fantasy of having a published paranormal romance book some day.

  21. Hi Cathryn! I work at a public library which makes sense because I love to read. I’ve been married for eleven years and have three hard-headed children. Guess where they get that from. lol Our pets include four dogs, three kittens, a bunny, turtle and conure parrot, so our house is very full.

    Deidre

  22. Hi Cathryn – I bought Instinctive at fictionwise last night, and am making myself finish the ebook I was reading before I start it.

    My husband of 30 years left me 3 years ago for another woman. We’re still separated, as he can’t afford to divorce me, LOL! It’s taken me quite a while to consider dating again, though I have recently taken the steps of getting accounts at OkCupid (which my daughter told me was a major mistake. I had no idea hookers looked for clients on there, did you?) and Match.com. eHarmony you have to be legally divorced to use. Anyone know any NICE unattached guys, 47-62 that you could introduce to me?

  23. Hey Cathryn,
    Congrats on your new book! It sounds like a fabulous series. Shapeshifters and werewolves are some of my fav paranormal romances so can’t wait to see what you have in store for us 🙂

    I am an avid romance reader that loves to add a little spice in my life. While reading romance is my favorite hobby, like you family and friends come first. I love that you have been able to find a balance between your two passions.

  24. Thank you all for sharing a bit about yourselves with me! I love, love, love to learn about other people!

    I really appreciate you all coming to read my interview and taking the time to respond, and I am truly grateful to all of you who have read, and continue to read my books. Thank you sooo much!!

    Ali, I’m so happy your sister is smiling again. That has put a huge smile on my face.

    Amy T. OMG, that is so funny about OkCupid. I’ve never heard of it. Speaking of nice single guys. I had a friend here last night that fits your requirements and he’s also looking, but sadly, I think we’re just too far away.

    I hope you all are having a great weekend!

  25. Sounds like a fantastic read and I absolutely love the cover.

  26. This seems like such a great book! Love the blurb!! If i don’t win it, i am def going to buy it on kindledx so i can read it on my ride up to Hershey next week. Keep the books coming! lol happy writings!

  27. Hi cathryn
    Great cover congrats on the release i will keep an eye out for it.
    About me born in England lived in Scotland now in Canada married without children but not from the lack of trying just not in this life time I guess.
    Started reading late in life now I am a huge book junkie and proud of it. I have a huge keeper bookcase that keeps getting bigger eventually I hope to have a floor to ceiling book cases in the basement we want to finish.
    I love to garden, love me pond, new on the plan list is to build an outdoor fireplace that I can cook on as well probably start that next spring nothing I love more than sitting by the fire out doors reading a book or on my laptop .
    Have a good one.

  28. A little about myself, I’m actually kind of dull. I’m 57 and divorced, mother of two grown daughters, grandmother to 5 ranging in ages 14 down to 6 months. I’m a homebody and love to sit down with a cup of hot chocolate and a good book. I watch a lot of drama’s on TV, my favorite being NCIS and I love watching Castle. I would love to read your book, I love series books.

  29. Great interview! A little about me huh…well, I am a stay at home mom of 4. I have 3 boys ages 10, 9 and 5 and a 3 year old daughter. I also work part time from home. My daughter has dilated cardiomyopathy and is on 6 different medicines that she takes 7 times a day, which comes to about 25 squirts a day…so I call myself a part time nurse too. 🙂 Plus, 2 of my boys have Peutz-Jeghers Syndrome, which they inherited from me…so we always seem to have something going on. But, even with more of us having some sort of illness, we are a very happy family and really busy with football, baseball, basketball, gymnastics, school and all of the after school activities. My husband is a coach for the kids, so he is always running them somewhere!

    I love to read and bake, if I ever have any spare time. Normally that is when the kids are in bed, I have cleaned all that I can, and I need to relax in the tub. That is where I get most of my reading done!

    Thanks! It was nice to get to know everyone a little better

  30. Little bit about myself? Well, I’ve been married for close to eleven years (this coming March), and I have three blonde, blue eyed boys. Yeah, I am the only female in the house. I’m hoping that one of my boys becomes interested in books. My four year old use to love simply looking at books so there’s my hope. My hubs reads books too but not as much as I do * yes I say this with pride*

Leave a Reply

