• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Vonna Harper

Taming The Cougar

She Senses Him

Deep in the canyons of northern Arizona, animal psychic Kai Tallon senses someone—or something—watching her, and wonders if the legends are true. This is the land of the Tocho—a pride of half man/half cougars borne of the Navajo—and rumored to possess unearthly masculine prowess…

She Feels Him

As night falls, Kai knows sleep will elude her, for her body is thrumming with sexual energy. But once she surrenders to the erotic sensations sweeping through her, she discovers a pleasure so breathtaking it can only be a dream…so intense it can only be real…so teasing, she knows she isn’t alone.

She Wants Him

Kai lusts after this mysterious presence whose visitations arouse her with his primal sexuality. Quivering with need, she longs to feel him deep inside. And she will, for the man in him wants her, and the animal in him will take her. Now a willing prisoner to rapture, Kai must choose between her captor-lover, and returning to civilization.

  • ISBN-13: 9780758229465
  • ISBN-10: 0758229461
  • Publisher: Aphrodisia
  • Date: October 2009
  • Page Count: 256
  • Vonna, Thank-you for agreeing to an author interview today.

    Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself? 

    Do you want the truth or literary license?  The truth is so boring but runs along the line of: lifetime lover of the written word, frittered away my childhood dreaming of great adventures.  Tackled my first fiction book during a period of unemployment early in my adult years.  Unfortunately, I neglected to include a minor matter of conflict and it petered out after a few chapters.  Fortunately I started taking this writing business seriously and studied everything I could about the career that chose me.  I’ve penned category romance for Harlequin and Silhouette, mainstream historicals for Tor, and now erotica. (Psst, don’t tell my mother)  One marriage, two sons, one grandson, two dogs, and a sad excuse for a garden.

    How long have you been writing?

    A week longer than forever.  I illustrated my own comic books when I was in elementary school and kept on trucking.

    What is your writing process like?

    Hmm.  Have to say that each story is different.  Something triggers something in my brain and I start that familiar business of “what if”.  I’m often hit upside the head by setting but emotion is always the trigger.  Music often jumpstarts the whole emotional curiosity.  I use insomnia to plot and bring my characters to life, then jot down everything I know about the particular story in a Word document that no one else will ever see.  Then I write Chapter One and start banging my head against my desk.

    Can you tell us about your newest release Taming The Cougar?

    Ah, glad you asked.  I once went to Canyon de Chelly in Arizona and knew I wanted to write about that unspoiled place.  I’m not sure why I decided to make my heroine an animal psychic but once I did, I had a ball.  Because I’d written a lot about Native American history, I had a pile of research books so incorporating Navajo beliefs into erotic fiction was easy.  Big cats fascinate me so creating a shape-shifting man/cougar was a blast.  Then for good measure I threw in a large chunk of capture because Vonna digs that theme and a murder mystery.  Wow, I just counted and this will be my tenth erotica with Kensington’s Aphrodisia line.

    Do you have any other books releasing this year?

    Again glad you asked.  Taming The Cougar is a print book but I also write erotica novellas for both Ellora’s Cave and LooseID.  I’d have to check my web site to tell you everything because as soon as I’ve finished a story, it slides out of my memory bank so I’ll have room for the new.  Within the past few days I sold Beast Master to Ellora’s Cave but not sure if it’ll be out this year.  However, War Prize will come out on Nov. 11 with EC and Wind Howl is pretty new at LooseID. 

    What are you currently working on? 

    I’ve done two Howl stories for LooseID about a back from the dead wolf/man shapeshifter and am editing the third story in the series.  Called Summer Howl, this one hopefully answers a lot of questions raised in Storm Howl and Wind Howl.  My poor shapeshifter finally finds his mate, or rather reconnects with her.

    Where do you get your ideas for your books? 

    The great Idea Factory.  As I touched on earlier, it is different every time.  Sometimes my mind is a sponge soaking up what I read, see, or hear.  Sometimes the sponge is dry.  But right now I have a drawer full of sticky notes I’ve jotted stuff down on so aren’t worrying.

    As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors? 

    I love suspense and romantic suspense.  I seldom read erotica because that’s a bit like work.  Because I’m a country hick, I’m particularly drawn to Nevada Barr’s series set in various national parks.  Tami Hoag, Stephen King, Lisa Jackson, and Dean Koontz are auto buys.

    What books are on your keeper shelf? 

    Those written by friends such as Catherine Anderson, Pat White, Ann Jacobs, Carole Nelson Douglas, etc.

    What was the first romance book you read or the one book that has stood the test of time for you? 

    I’d have to say Catherine Anderson’s Anne’s Song about a deaf woman and the man who believes in her.

    If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters? 

    That’s easy.  WhiteOut which isn’t an erotica.  There are four major characters in this man against nature story, but honestly I don’t watch enough movies that I can answer the second part of your question. Besides, one of those characters doesn’t make it to the end.

    If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

    Ria Torez in Coyote Woman because she’ll risk everything for her younger brother.

    When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time? 

    Yard work, being at our mountain cabin, watching my granddaughters at gymnastics, baseball, going to the gym.

    If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be? 

    Much of my erotica revolves around my personal sex fantasies so I’d like to ask readers what their fantasies in that department are and why do they think that is.

    For more information on Vonna and her books please visit her website at: http://www.vonnaharper.com/

    ***Leave a comment answering Vonna’s question and one commentor will win a download e-book from Vonna’s backlist at: http://www.vonnaharper.com/books/ Good Luck 🙂

    23 Responses

    1. Hmm… I read a lot of m/m, which I find totally hot. I’ll have to look at LooseId for your stuff – they’re probably my favorite online publisher. 🙂

    2. All the erotica I read either involves BDSM, or some serious alpha males. I’ve always been a sucker for an alpha male.. and usually they need to be older. As for why.. not sure.. I suppose I like the idea of losing control, and if I can’t have that.. at least the characters I read about can!

      Thanks,
      Morning Glow
      ohmorningglow AT aol DOT com

    3. I’ve never read your books, but i am a fan of those kinds. I’ve put them on my booklist! Happy writings!

    4. I have to agree with Morning Glow on everything she said… with the addition of additing an extra Alpha mail to a scene as well (If one is great, two must be better!).

    5. I’ve not read a lot of erotica, but my favorites are alpha males too, dark and dangerous, and some BDSM. I like to get away from everyday life with the nice boy next door sometimes…

    6. I like BDSM, very strong (but loving) alpha males. Darker erotica. As to the why…well, it is the losing control and letting someone else take over and knowing your body enough to make you enjoy everythign they give you. These kinds of stories let me get away from my crazy world for a while and trick myself into thinking that I am living somewhat a more daring life.

      Amy M

    7. I enjoy reading some mild BSDM and forced seduction scenarios–I think the idea of placing your person and pleasure so much into someone else’s hands quite exciting 🙂

    8. You know, I’ve never really thought about my fantasies much because there’s nobody with which to act them out. I do like the idea of seeing the naughty side of the boy next door, though. This is definitely something to think about…

    9. You would have to ask that question..LOL. I have to say my sexual fantasies require two men. Don’t tell my husband. I would love to read about it though.

    10. Mine would have to be BDSM and m/f/m menage. The BDSM is all about not having to be in control all the time, I guess. And the m/f/m is obvious, LOL. 2 men to worship just you is a great fantasy 😀

    11. Wow, I’m kinda like Karin there that I don’t really think much about sexual fantasies. Hehe, I have a very prudish husband. Though when I read erotica, I tend to like the alpha male and yes male and male (only becausethe friends that I have who influenced that reading.)

    12. I like to read some BDSM and menage. Though I only have fantasies about menage cause hubby and I talked and decided that as hot as it sounds reality would probably kill it. Other than that we’ve been together so long that we are pretty comfortable exploring the fun stuff.

    13. Hi Vonna!

      I like reading stories with strong Alpha males but I’m not sure I could handle one in real life. BDSM……..not so much into that, I can handle a little mild BDSM but the over the top stuff makes me squirm!

    14. I fantasize about a menage. Although I don’t know if it came down to it if I would have enough nerve to do it. LOL!

    15. Mine usually involve two or more men! lol

      Deidre

    16. Well….I would have to say I read much of what I like in real life, to one degree or another.
      BDSM
      Menage
      m/m
      Contemporary
      Red hot! 😀

    17. OMG I love the cover!!!!! This sounds like a great book!!!

      Is that the name you wrote Harlequin?

      I love the premise. I’m a big, huge major cat lover. We raised Bengals for a while because I just loved them, trying to talk DH into a Highland Lynx but he’s not quite won over to it.

      As for fantasy, I’m boring I’m sad to say. I’m one of those “good” girls from down south and even if I dared to dream of a fantasy I wouldn’t/couldn’t share it with ANYONE. Sad ain’t it?

      Great interview Greta!!!!
      hugs,
      WendyK

    18. Wow, what a question 🙂 Great interview, btw, Vonna 🙂
      Hmm, my fantasies run towards BDSM 😉

    19. The tall, dark, handsome stranger. I think everybody has had that fantasy.

    20. Awesome interview, and Taming The Cougar is now on my TBB list. Sounds really good.
      Hmm….I’d have to say gettin stranded somewhere with a tall, dark hunky alpha who just can’t resist me….for a week, at least, lol.

    21. […] Please Welcome Vonna Harper « I Do Not Want to Wait, I Want The Book Now idonotwanttowaitiwantthebooknow.wordpress.com/2009/09/28/please-welcome-vonna-harper – view page – cached * Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://vtibbs.wordpress.com/. — From the page […]

    22. I like reading about deflowering.
      Women deflowered by Men,
      Women deflowered by Women (Women discovering their bi-ness),
      Men deflowered by Women,
      Men deflowered by Men (straight guy discovering his bi-ness)

    23. I liked m/m and m/f/m before it became mainstream and popular, when only a few authors were brave enough to take them on. So I’m really enjoying it now that so many more authors have taken on the challenge.

    Leave a Reply

