• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Today’s guest is Susan Kearney

Lucan

THEIR LOVE IS FORBIDDEN

Healer and high priestess of her people, Lady Cael is fated to life without a mate. But a mysterious explorer named Lucan Rourke doesn’t know her secrets, and his touch makes her crave a future that her extraordinary birthright has forbidden her. . .

BUT DANGER IS NO MATCH FOR DESIRE

Lucan has just one mission on Pendragon: to find the mythical Holy Grail, Earth’s only hope for survival. His powerful attraction to Cael is a distraction he can’t afford, unless he convinces her to join forces with him. Yet working so closely together only heightens their passion . . . even when the terrifying truth of Cael’s heritage threatens to shatter Lucan’s every belief-and the galaxy itself.

Susan, Thank you for agreeing to be a guest on my blog. 

Thanks for asking me to be here. 🙂  It’s always great to find a fan that has followed me from romantic suspense all the way to my futuristics.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself? 

I grew up in New Jersey, finished college with a degree in business from the University of Michigan and never thought about writing until after I had children.   My first love was futuristic romance but I couldn’t sell them.  So I wrote romantic suspense for Harlequin and a Star Trek book.  Gradually the market changed and I was finally able to sell what I love best—stories set in the future.

How long have you been writing? 

Twelve years.

What is your writing process like? 

I’m plot driven.  I think of a problem, usually an end of the world scenario—then I come up with characters who need to save everyone.  Along the way they fall in love.  I usually write 6 pages a day, then go back and revise.  I hate the revising part. 🙂  Once I’m done with the story I want to go on to the next one.  But those revisions are critical and can make a big difference in the final product—so I force myself to reread, rewrite, and then do it all again.

Can you tell us about your newest release Lucan? 

Lucan is kind an Indian Jones story in the future.  Think adventure, danger, and a sexy archeologist who finds an extraordinary woman.  The problems arise when she’s after the same object as he is to save her world—just like he needs to save his . . .

This is the start of a new series correct? 

Yes, The series is called the Pendragon Legacy and is based upon King Arthur legends and an ancient star map.  I freely admit I played with the legend.   But no one has ever found any evidence that Avalon ever existed—so that mystery was something I could take from our distant past and manipulate to fit into the story I wanted to tell.  And the Arthur era always brings to mind sexy men and passionate women, themes I always like to explore.

Do you have any other books releasing this year? 

The second book in the trilogy, RION will be out December 1, 2009.  It’s the story of Lucan’s twin sister Marisa and a special talent that is needed across the galaxy to free the people on the planet Honor from slavery and an alien occupation.

What are you currently working on? 

That would be the revisions for the third book in the trilogy, JORDAN.  I don’t want to ruin the surprises, but I take a 2,000 year old character from LUCAN and RION and he becomes the hero of book three.  I match him up with a brilliant, self-made billionaress who is determined to build a starship to help save Earth from invasion.  The only problem is the two of them disagree on the best way to accomplish her mission.

Where or how do you get your ideas for your books? 

Ideas come from newspaper headlines, a stuffed animal I saw in a store, dreams or simply playing “what if?”  What if I sent an archeologist across the galaxy to find Earth’s greatest treasure?  What if the woman whose help he needs wants that treasure for her own people?  What if he has to decide between saving her life or saving his world?

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading?

Who are your auto-buy authors?  Linnea Sinclair, Susan Grant, Sandra Hill, Virginia Henley, Julie Leto, Jayne Castle

What books are on your keeper shelf? 

Groan.  My shelves are overflowing onto my desk and then across the floor.  I have bookshelves in a spare room stacked with books.  My husband has long since given up asking me to get rid of any of them.  Instead, he brings home new bookcases.

What was the first romance book you read of the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

ATLAS SHRUGGED.  I loved that book and have reread it many times.  I also really enjoyed Johanna Lyndsay’s WARRIOR’S WOMAN and Linnea Sinclair’s GABRIEL’S GHOST.

If a book of yours was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters? 

LUCAN would be my first choice because the pacing is so fast and I believe the story would work well in a visual medium.  As for the lead characters?  Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie would work just fine!   

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why? 

I’d probably want to switch lives with Vivianne, the heroine in JORDAN because she has a star ship and I’ve always wanted to go exploring.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I love physical activity including figure skating and belly dancing.  I also love to travel and just returned from a trip to the Far East.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be? 

I want to know why you connect with certain characters.  What makes them real?  What makes you feel their emotions?  What makes you root for them to win at life and love?

For more information on Susan Kearney and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.susankearney.com/

***Leave a comment answering Susan’s questions for a chance to win a copy of Lucan. Good Luck***

33 Responses

  1. Hard one, I honestly can’t say, it might be anything. They show they are human, a feeling there or here, then again I do feel for the dark ones too. So I guess it all in the end comes down to great writing

  2. I agree with blodeudd on this. It is hard to say because the draw can really be anything. And it can be different from reader to reader. But, IMO, it all goes back to the author’s skill and talent in bringing to life the people of his/her imagination and if the word pictures painted are believable, interesting and compelling.

  3. Hi, Susan!

    I loved your previous futuristic romance so I can’t wait to read LUCAN, it sounds so good! Plus, okay, the cover is realllly cute!

    If the character seems so real and so human to me, I can’t help but love them. If they’re three-dimensional, with real emotions, that’s what makes me root for them

  4. Hi Wendy,
    Thanks so much. Glad you like my books! I try really hard to write characters that appeal to me–so i always hope readers feel the same way.
    Best,
    Susan Kearney

  5. Karen and Bio,
    You are both correct. A lot of whether the book works depends on the writer’s skills–and that of her editor! I’ve lucked out with some really good ones.
    Best,
    Susan Kearney

  6. Hello Susan
    Your book sounds exciting. I started reading Sci-fi then branched over to romance. I love when I can read a book and feel like I am right there. When there is a build up to the character’s coming together, it just keeps me turning pages. I guess it’s the whole package.

  7. Hi Susan!
    OMG that are difficult questions…what makes them real? their behavior, their feelings, the decissions they made, when I’m feeling grateful with them, when I laugh and cry with them, when I’m as excited as they are… that’s the moment they become friends for me 🙂
    Hugs,
    Ina

  8. I usually connect with the “underdog”. I feel for them and they make the books I read more appealing. wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

  9. Thanks, Jen,
    Like you I love SF and romance. I read other genres and have written other genres but I really like futuristic romance best . I love the worldbuilding and the romance together. I just hope enough people like them so I can keep writing them.

    Ina,
    Yep, it’s tough to make them real. Often they are perfectly real in my head but then getting it onto the page is difficult.

    Wanda–Hmm. You know I think my characters h/h are always underdogs but I don’t think of them that way. I just put them in trouble and then have them work their way out of it!

    SueK.

  10. Your new series sounds so good and I hope to read it soon! For me, I’m drawn to the goodness of a character. I want them to be loyal and willing to sacrifice when needed.

  11. Great interview, Greta and Susan! Susan, congrats on the new series!

    I think for me, what makes me connect with a character is when they are realistically strong, courageous, generous and warm. By realistically, I don’t mean to rule out paranormal — plenty of weres and dragons have grabbed my heart, I just mean that they can’t be SO idealized that I can never have any hope of being like them 😉

    Oh, and no whiny females please ‘-)

    ~bella

  12. Great interview! This is a hard question. I guess for me the characters has to seem real. They also need flaws because nobody is perfect in the real world. The more real they seem the better the book.

  13. The dark, brooding ones do it for me. They are scared of their emotions, but once they find that right person, they love and protect them. I love a man who is scarred a little on the inside and a little on the outside. Great question, and interview!

    Thanks
    Amy M

  14. Authenticity makes me connect with a character!

  15. When I’m absorbed in a book the very descriptive and human emotions that a character reveals also touches me. i also feel their emotions and feel that they’re real if all their personalities and descriptions are vividly described by the author.

  16. I like books that make me giggle…or who go through serious emotional scenes that just connect with me. Hard to put into words.

  17. Characters that can be associated with people in my life always connect with me. Just something about me but I love seeing a characters and saying, Hey that sounds like so and so. 🙂

  18. Oh, ma. I don’t know. Certain character’s just appeal to me. Usually the strong, caring and smart heroine’s are who I root for! But the heros on the other hand….Heros are different for me. I don’t think theres ever been a hero in a book that I DIDN’T like 🙂

    I love the cover to your book, Susan! And it sounds like its going to be really good!

  19. The characters I love the most are well developed, consistent, and not perfect. C’mon, everybody has at least one flaw and I hate it when a character suddenly starts acting in a way they never would have 100 pages ago. As for well-developed, if an author doesn’t care about a character why should I?

    I love futuristics and this sounds like a great series…putting it on the list!

  20. Great post. The series sounds really interesting. I love things that touch on Arthuria legends, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy your books.

    As for what draws me to a character, it usually has to do with the way they deal with a certain situation and if I can see myself dealing with it in the same way. It’s also their flaws that really draw me to them.

  21. Hi Susan,
    The pendragon series sounds amazing!
    I can relate to characters better when the people seem real. When, if the characters were real people, they could be my friends.

  22. hard to say what makes me connect to some characters and other not with others. I know I can’t stand A$$hole alphas and the TSTL heroines. or vice versa lol other than that if I would like to know them in real live then I like them in books.

  23. I can get really tied in with the tortured souls. The ones with external and internal conflict. Trying to escape their past and hoping for redemption in the future. I always hope they find someone and find a healing from their pain.

  24. I think when a character shows that they have compassion I can connect with them more.
    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  25. What makes them real? A character is real to me if he/she has a handicap. Several years ago, I read a vampire book and the main character was blind. Near the book’s end, an incident happened and I though he was going to get his sight back but he didn’t. But he still plays a big part in the sequels….

    Thanks.

  26. I probably connect more with characters that are most like me or that we share common traits. Other characters that I connect with are just ones that interest me because I would like to be them, they have something I want.

    Deidre

  27. I left a reply the other day, but it isn’t here? The video is excellent. From the excerpt I’ve read, this sounds like a very interesting book. Look forward to reading it.
    Good luck with the release, Susan.

  28. There are many things that make me connect with a character. It is hard to peg it down to one, but IMHO it comes down to how the author wrote the character.

    Melissa

  29. I love it when the characters are compassionate and cry. Shows the real emotions.

  30. The story itself makes me feel connected to a character if it is well written. The hardships they may have had to overcome also comes into play because although I want to escape reality when I read, I want the characters to struggle through a relationship like any one of us would. It makes the character believable, real.

    Love your books!

  31. Hi! Love the interview. Lucan sounds like my kind of man 😉
    It’ really hard to say why I connect with the certain character. I can relate to hero but also a week character. I think it’s the story and how well characters are written and their motivations explained.

  32. Depends on the depths the author/their creator gives them. The more believable, the more natural the characters the more I can relate and connect with them.

  33. I like the characters to have depth. They should have experienced life and have been marked by it. They should have deep feelings that may have been buried due to abuse, betrayal or neglect. I like a story that brings characters out of their darkness and into the light which only a loved one can shine on them.

Leave a Reply

