• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Today’s guest is Susan Kearney

Lucan

THEIR LOVE IS FORBIDDEN

Healer and high priestess of her people, Lady Cael is fated to life without a mate. But a mysterious explorer named Lucan Rourke doesn’t know her secrets, and his touch makes her crave a future that her extraordinary birthright has forbidden her. . .

BUT DANGER IS NO MATCH FOR DESIRE

Lucan has just one mission on Pendragon: to find the mythical Holy Grail, Earth’s only hope for survival. His powerful attraction to Cael is a distraction he can’t afford, unless he convinces her to join forces with him. Yet working so closely together only heightens their passion . . . even when the terrifying truth of Cael’s heritage threatens to shatter Lucan’s every belief-and the galaxy itself.

Susan, Thank you for agreeing to be a guest on my blog. 

Thanks for asking me to be here. 🙂  It’s always great to find a fan that has followed me from romantic suspense all the way to my futuristics.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself? 

I grew up in New Jersey, finished college with a degree in business from the University of Michigan and never thought about writing until after I had children.   My first love was futuristic romance but I couldn’t sell them.  So I wrote romantic suspense for Harlequin and a Star Trek book.  Gradually the market changed and I was finally able to sell what I love best—stories set in the future.

How long have you been writing? 

Twelve years.

What is your writing process like? 

I’m plot driven.  I think of a problem, usually an end of the world scenario—then I come up with characters who need to save everyone.  Along the way they fall in love.  I usually write 6 pages a day, then go back and revise.  I hate the revising part. 🙂  Once I’m done with the story I want to go on to the next one.  But those revisions are critical and can make a big difference in the final product—so I force myself to reread, rewrite, and then do it all again.

Can you tell us about your newest release Lucan? 

Lucan is kind an Indian Jones story in the future.  Think adventure, danger, and a sexy archeologist who finds an extraordinary woman.  The problems arise when she’s after the same object as he is to save her world—just like he needs to save his . . .

This is the start of a new series correct? 

Yes, The series is called the Pendragon Legacy and is based upon King Arthur legends and an ancient star map.  I freely admit I played with the legend.   But no one has ever found any evidence that Avalon ever existed—so that mystery was something I could take from our distant past and manipulate to fit into the story I wanted to tell.  And the Arthur era always brings to mind sexy men and passionate women, themes I always like to explore.

Do you have any other books releasing this year? 

The second book in the trilogy, RION will be out December 1, 2009.  It’s the story of Lucan’s twin sister Marisa and a special talent that is needed across the galaxy to free the people on the planet Honor from slavery and an alien occupation.

What are you currently working on? 

That would be the revisions for the third book in the trilogy, JORDAN.  I don’t want to ruin the surprises, but I take a 2,000 year old character from LUCAN and RION and he becomes the hero of book three.  I match him up with a brilliant, self-made billionaress who is determined to build a starship to help save Earth from invasion.  The only problem is the two of them disagree on the best way to accomplish her mission.

Where or how do you get your ideas for your books? 

Ideas come from newspaper headlines, a stuffed animal I saw in a store, dreams or simply playing “what if?”  What if I sent an archeologist across the galaxy to find Earth’s greatest treasure?  What if the woman whose help he needs wants that treasure for her own people?  What if he has to decide between saving her life or saving his world?

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading?

Who are your auto-buy authors?  Linnea Sinclair, Susan Grant, Sandra Hill, Virginia Henley, Julie Leto, Jayne Castle

What books are on your keeper shelf? 

Groan.  My shelves are overflowing onto my desk and then across the floor.  I have bookshelves in a spare room stacked with books.  My husband has long since given up asking me to get rid of any of them.  Instead, he brings home new bookcases.

What was the first romance book you read of the one book that has stood the test of time for you?

ATLAS SHRUGGED.  I loved that book and have reread it many times.  I also really enjoyed Johanna Lyndsay’s WARRIOR’S WOMAN and Linnea Sinclair’s GABRIEL’S GHOST.

If a book of yours was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters? 

LUCAN would be my first choice because the pacing is so fast and I believe the story would work well in a visual medium.  As for the lead characters?  Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie would work just fine!   

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why? 

I’d probably want to switch lives with Vivianne, the heroine in JORDAN because she has a star ship and I’ve always wanted to go exploring.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I love physical activity including figure skating and belly dancing.  I also love to travel and just returned from a trip to the Far East.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be? 

I want to know why you connect with certain characters.  What makes them real?  What makes you feel their emotions?  What makes you root for them to win at life and love?

For more information on Susan Kearney and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.susankearney.com/

***Leave a comment answering Susan’s questions for a chance to win a copy of Lucan. Good Luck***