• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Angel or Spike … Cynthia Eden wants to know

belong-to-the-night (2)

The great debate:  Angel or Spike

Hi, everyone! (A big thanks to Greta for inviting me over—and for giving me such a great topic for the blog!)

When it comes to vampires, there is often a great debate among fans. Just which vamp is supreme? (And, no, Edward Cullen does not fall into the discussion; this is a Buffy discussion, and, well, if you want to know what Buffy would think of Edward, check out this link: 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZwM3GvaTRM

When it comes to vampires…two sexy fictional vampires are often the studs of choice: Angel and Spike.  For me,  there’s never been any real competition between these vamps—I’d choose Spike any day of the week. Why? Let me just tell you my top 5 reasons:

  1. That accent—SEXY.  I loved it whenever he said, “Bugger.” I know, “Bugger” shouldn’t be sexy, but with his voice, it oh-so was.
  2. The man fought for his soul. He fought to prove that he was good enough for the woman he loved. He didn’t luck up and get cursed with a soul.  He shed blood for it. That’s sexy.
  3. He was a bad boy, twenty-four seven. I like bad boys.  Angel only let his bad side come out and play if he got too touchy-feely with Buffy.
  4. I think blondes do have more fun. Spike seemed to, anyway.
  5. Underneath that pale skin, the man had the heart of a poet.  And he could sing—anyone see the musical episode of Buffy, “Once More With Feeling”?  So good.

Those are just a few of my reasons for loving Spike. Why do you love him?  Or, if you are in the *shudder* Angel camp, why do you like your guy?

Leave me a comment and let me know what you think.  The lovely Greta can pick one winner  to receive an autographed copy of BELONG TO THE NIGHT, my new paranormal romance anthology. The anthology features my story, “In the Dark”—a tale about my vampire, Liam. And, yes, I do think Liam could give Spike a run for his money in the sexy department.

Thanks!

Cynthia Eden

www.cynthiaeden.com

BELONG TO THE NIGHT—Available now from Kensington Brava

41 Responses

  1. Normally I’d go for the dark haired guy – well, just cause I’m more partial to dark hair than light. But in this case it’s Spike all the way.

    Yes it is that bad boy vamp vibe – and the accent, oh my. But we also have the humor and the leather – can’t forget the leather and the long black duster.

    Angel was just too tortured and somewhat boring. Granted, he did have to save mankind every week and I imagine that sucks the life right out of a person (vamp). But come on, laugh a little.

    Spike on the other hand found humor in the oddest of places and where he couldn’t find humor – he gave the finger. LOL

    M

  2. I have to go with Spike, also. The accent, the attitude, the angst…

  3. Perfect timing for this post, LOL. This time next week, I’ll be at Dragon con, where I will be hunting James Marsters and singing along at the Buffy Horror Picture show!

    Spike is awesome. Bad boy, dry humor, accent *drools*
    Angel was just too emo for me. He was at his most entertaining when he was Angelus.

  4. Oh I would totally have to agree. Spike was the HOTTEST vamp on TV!! I loved his accent it made me want to melt. The way he loved Buffy was so sweet and sexy. That man was just the total package.

  5. I used to be in the Angel group, but I changed to Spike. I don’t know if it is because he grew on me or what, but the last two seasons of Buffy he was SO hot. And then when he went to Angel, he was even hotter.

    And I agree…that accent…yum!

  6. I would have to say Spike. While I loved Angel’s show, I loved it the most when Spike was on it. The fact that he chose to go through hell to get his soul back so he had a chance.. Angel was too… broody. Now, I love brooding men, but Angel, jeez, needs to lighten up once in a while.

  7. Angel. Because blonds just don’t work for me.

  8. i LOVE Spike for his sexy accent, attitude, and for being a bad boy
    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  9. Spike, Spike, Spike all the way.

    He had incredible strength of personality. No matter what they threw at him, he kept coming back. He didn’t stop ever, even when he knew it was gonna hurt.

    The love he developed for Buffy and the lengths he went to prove himself….my heart ached for him. He was willing to leave himself in incredible emotional pain because the result was better for the woman he loved.

    Angel had a decent body, but he was rather whiney and that is a HUGE turnoff.

  10. Hi Cynthia,

    First off, let me say the guy on the cover of ‘BTTN’ is totally HOT HOT HOT….(sigh,,,thud!)

    Now Angel-Spike? Well, I wasn’t too into Buffy except for watching a few re-runs. In my limited viewing, I was not totally impressed with Spike…maybe it was the name. But after reading your reasons for favoring Spike, I guess I would have to agree with you. Spike is one hot number!

  11. I wake up, and there are already 9 responses–ah, obviously, people feel as strongly about this as I do, LOL!!

    Michelle, I did so love it when Spike gave life the finger!

    Oh, Amy, that accent!!!

    Lillie, do you *know* how jealous you just made me?

    I think he was the total package too, Jamie!!

    Ah, Jambrea, you’re a convert! That’s awesome!

    Morning Glow, I often thought Angel was a bit broody too. Come on, man, lighten up!

    Aha!! Chris has weighed in as an Angel fan! (I am sore there will be more, Chris!) Different strokes for different folks. 🙂

    Ralena, I think bad boys are the bestest! LOL.

    Noelle, I’ve always thought his character (and the development of that character) was one of the best I’d ever seen!!!

    Thanks for all the comments!

  12. OK – I’m Angel fan all the way 🙂 I love bad guys trying to be good and when the part of the reason is a girl… yummy…

  13. of those two even though I don’t like blondes I’ll have to pick badboy spike cause I likey me some badboys and he rocks. And ducking angel is kind of whiny to me. you’re a vamp suck it up and enjoy it. lol
    Please don’t enter me in the contest. I already have it. and as soon as finish two book for review this is next on my list.

  14. Hi Cynthia *waving*

    Hmmm – there seems to be something missing in my vampire education? I have no idea who you are talking about! Lol! Angel?? Spike?? Well, I have heard the names before but not watched the show!

    Yes, I live in a cave! 😀

  15. Spike for me. The sexy accent did it for me. But something about his eyes mesmerized me, and his dry sense of humor.

    Hey Cynthia…congratulations on your new release, and its a very nice book cover, too.

  16. Okay I love Angel but I LOVE Spike.

    I agree with all the things you stated plus I always like the Vamp that embraces his Vampiric nature and melds it with a human touch — Spike does this so well. Plus he doesn’t whine about it.

  17. LOL, thank you, Karen! I think he’s pretty hot, too.

    Frana, you will be marked as another Angel gal. 🙂

    Hey, Pamk! I like to think he rocks, too.

    Oh, Willa, I can’t recommend this show enough! Whter you pick Angel or Spike (and they do both of have good points), the show is awesome!

    Thanks for the congrats, Armenia! And I’m with you–I love a man with a good sense of humor.

    Marnie, when I first watched the show, I did love Angel. Yep, I fell for him in that first season, but then I saw the wonder that was Spike.

  18. SPIKE!! I love him! But then Angel was so hottt but he was sooo Buffy’s as Spike was everyone and anyone’s for awhile there.

  19. Spike is definitely the right choice! The chemistry between him and Buffy was combustible–way more than what she had with Angel. Buffy and Spike, literally, brought the house down with their lovin’.

  20. I don’t think we should be forced to choose. I loved them both. Great characters, each with their own unbelievable personalities! 🙂

    But I might just have to choose Spike myself…if forced.

  21. SPIKE, SPIKE, SPIKE!!!. Um, did I say Spike?

  22. okay, not that this is a real debate, but Cynthia, you have confirmed that you are MY BFF in loving Spike as much as I do. I never quite forgave Buffy for not giving him her heart and being his partner. Oh look, I’m still bitter about it…

  23. Spike of course!!! He is sexy and the fact that he actually wanted to get his soul back and went through hell to do it makes him so much hotter. He is the champion 😀

  24. Frana, you’re not alone, lol. While I do like Spike a lot, Angel’s my choice. I like the brooding type, trying to save the day, and to make up for everything Angelus did. And, at one point, he gave up Buffy again to save her, justr like he did with his son, hard as both were for him.

  25. I’m with you! Spike all the way. Bad boys are soo much more interesting than good guys. And everyones got to let go and live alittle. Spike does that.

  26. I definitely have to go with Spike. H’es menacing but innately good on the inside. He’s also the bad boy that all the girls want.

  27. I have not read any of Cynthia’s stories so I can’t say..but Spike does sound like one to take home. I will have to check the books out.

  28. I usually go for the dark haired guy too, but Spike definitely had that tempting bad boy aura. Spike wins hands down.

  29. Spike for me all the way, love the bad boys!

  30. Spike, hands down. He’s a good guy hidden under a bad boy persona and a sexy accent. He could bite me any day.

  31. Great post and author!

    Spike for me all the way too!

    The accent, bad-boy persona, angst and his relationship with Dru.

  32. Sayde, isn’t it great to be able to choose between two hot men?

    Hi, Joder! Oh, wow, they did have some amazing chemistry!

    LOL, JK, you can pick them both!

    Llehn, I think we can easily count that as 3 (no, 4) votes for Spike. 🙂

    Jeffe, I’m bitter, too!! That woman should have considered herself grateful to have him!

    Hey, Ashley! Oh, when he got his soul…I think I teared up a bit.

    Another Angel fan!!! Pam, Angel definitely has some good points–and quite the fan following!

    Hi, Taylor! Spike certainly wasn’t afraid to be bad. I sure liked that about him!

  33. Hey, Jeanette!! He was good, wasn’t he? A bad boy with a good soul.

    Jen, oh, I wish that I could say I was the writer who created Spike! He and Angel are characters from the Buffy show. The writers who created them–they were brilliant!

    Woo-hoo! Teresa is a Spike girl, too!!

    Flygirl, I wouldn’t let many men bite, but he could.

    Terri, I am so glad you brought up his relationship with Dru. He really tried to take care of her. What a guy.

  34. Oh yeah….Spike it is!!! Nothing like an ill tempered hard body bad boy with a scarred heart that needs a little tough love to set the heart racing!!! Oh boy….

  35. Hmm, you know, I never watched that many episodes of Buffy. I know! Shame on me! But what I DID see I totally agree, Spike all the way!

  36. Spike totally. Angel was too “good”.

  37. Spike for me! I think that he is just so sexy…not that Angel wasn’t…and I love a bad boy. Plus, I think that Spike worked so hard to make himself “good” enough for Buffy.

  38. I usually don’t go for the blondes but Spike was just wicked with a lovely accent. Angel was so dark and brooding and yes boring

  39. I like Spike. Love the accent and the attitude too!

    mitzihinkey at sbcglobal dot net

    Thanks for the contest!!!

  40. This is something my sister and I will never agree on (coincidentally we have been watching Buffy and Angel seasons on dvd this summer). She is a total Spike fan, but I am, and will always be an Angel fan. Something about him, meow!

  41. spike!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I DIDNT LIKE watchin him in , ps i love you, kinda wimpy 😦

Leave a Reply

