• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Mari Carr discussing Because of You and tearjerkers

Today marks the release of my latest book with Samhain Publishing, Because of You. It is a romantic suspense and one of the hardest books I’ve ever written—for several reasons. First of all, suspense is a damn hard genre to write as the pacing is quite a bit different than a straight contemporary romance. Secondly, my main character, Jessie suffered some terrible loses in the story. I loved her character and it was hard for me to drag her through hell and back!

Stephenie Meyer said her inspiration for Twilight began with the dream of Edward and Bella in a meadow where they discuss the fact they’re falling in love and he wants to drink her blood. Usually the ideas for my stories come to me as I’m lying in bed at night–trying to fall asleep. A writer’s version of counting sheep! Because of You came to me with one very sad scene that kept playing itself over and over in my head until I finally got up and wrote it down.

In the scene, a doctor is sitting beside a woman in the hospital as she regains consciousness after a car accident. It’s evident the doctor knows her and cares deeply about her. He gives her very sad news and they cry together. I actually teared up as I wrote the scene and it was the moment that Jessie and Caleb came to life for me. As I worked my way through the writing and then the edits on the book, it was those pages that left a lump in my throat each time I reread them.

So would I describe Because of You as a tearjerker? No, I wouldn’t. It is a suspenseful book with sad parts, but ultimately I believe it is a book about hope and second chances.

Because of YOu

Blurb for Because of You:

Sometimes what you’re looking for is closer than you think.

Jessie’s life is a mess. In the eight hellish months since her husband died in a freak accident, she’s been mugged, her house has been trashed, and now she’s receiving frightening pranks calls. She resists a friend’s offer of a weekend getaway—her grief is still too fresh to consider meeting anyone new.

Then again, since it’s a party for gay men, there won’t be any pressure, right?

ER doctor Caleb James feels perfectly at ease among his gay brother’s friends, but one look at Jessie sparks a sexual tension that’s impossible to ignore. A few drinks and a few hours of conversation later, things move a lot faster than either of them expect. Jessie is left confused and Caleb aches with regret—and love for a woman who is still guarding her heart.

Pressure is the last thing she needs. But as it becomes apparent that her string of misfortunes trace back to her husband’s death, help is what she’s going to get. Caleb’s help…ready or not.

Warning: This title contains a two adults playing doctor. But that’s okay, one of them is licensed to practice. A prescription for extra-strength Kleenex may be required.

Question for the readers—Is there a book that makes you cry every time you read it?

***Leave a comment answering Mari’s question or a chance to win a download copy of Because of You. Good Luck 🙂

25 Responses

  1. Happy release day! Because Of You sounds really good!

    Maya Banks has a few books that still choke me up when I reread them but Sharon Sala’s Out Of The Dark leaves me sobbing every time. And I’ve read it at least ten times.

  2. Congratulations on the new release!

    Pretty much anything my Jodi Picoult will get me every time! And Lisa’s Gift by Mackenzie McKade…cry every time!

    Thanks~
    Amy M
    atc218 at aol dot com

  3. Hi Mari,
    Congrats on the new release! There are only a few books that I have reread and had the same kind of emotional reaction that I did the first time. One is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, and the second is Wild Card by Lora Leigh. I think a lot of it has to do with the wounded warrior…

  4. Congrats on release day, thanks for sharing your inspiration 😉

  5. Hi Mari!

    Happy Release Day!

    I cry at everything, even sappy commercials, so there are many books that can set me off on a sobbing jag. Linda Howard’s Cry No More is one that gets me every time, also Wilson Rawl’s Where The Red Fern Grows-that ending…..I feel like crying right now ;- )

  6. Linda Howard’s Sarah’s Child, or at least I think thats the name. It’s been awhile but every time I reread it I cry. I can’t remember the name of it but a Harlequin Presents title by Lucy Monroe several years ago had me in tears.

  7. No I just started reading in December. There are so many books out there that I have missed out on. So I can’t read books more than once. …. Not yet anyway.

  8. Hmm… I can’t think of one that always brings tears. I know that some have, but I tend to remember the HEA more than the crying! 😉

  9. Because of You… sounds like a great book and I will be putting it on my wish list at Amazon.
    YES I most definitely have two books in mind that I cry every time I reread them and they are JR Wards “Lover Awakened” and “Lover Unbound”. Caution ladies when reading these books have a box of kleenex…but all ends well and happy!!

  10. Happy Release Day, Mari. When I am in the mood for a good cry, I re-read Lora Leigh’s, Legacies series. Oh man, first two books are heart wrenching, but if you can make it to the third book, you get your happy ending.

  11. The book sounds awesome and congrats on the release! The one book that can always bring out some tears would have to be Mercury’s War by Lora Leigh.

  12. I bawled like a baby *still sobbing* It was awesome!

  13. I’m a cryer, too so just about anything can get me but looking at my bookcase the first one to catch my eye is Son of the Morning by Linda Howard.

    I noticed this book in the coming soon list at Samhain and had plans to put it on my wishlist…it looks awesome.

  14. Happy Release Day, Mari!
    I am a cryer. Almost any book will make me tear up.

  15. Good Luck with your release.

    And I am a cryer too.

    Almost every book can make me cry becuase when I read I become involved with all the characters and hate to see the end. I get depressed when books end because I would love to see a never-ending story!!!

  16. Hi Mari!

    Congrats on release day!!

    LInda Howard writes books that hit me right in the heart……I am also a cryer so most books get me!! 🙂

  17. Congrats Mari! As for books that make me cry? I know there are some….Linda Howard is pretty good at that.

  18. Happy Release Day, Mari!

    I’m not much of a crier so it takes a lot to make me cry. I can’t really think of any titles of books that have done it, but I know there are a few.

  19. Congrats Mari! I am a huge fan and I can’t wait to read this, it sounds incredible!!! I have to say Leah Brook’s Desire for Three – Desire, Oklahoma 1.

  20. I cried over Linda Howards’s CRY NO MORE and Diana Gabaldon’s OUTLANDER. It was hard for me to read that last bit of Outlander, set it aside for a month thinking about it, then my heart mended a little so I can pick it up again.

  21. Congrats on the release Mari!!

    Happy Birthday!!

    One book that I can think of that made me cry is by Patrice Michelle- Scions: Revelations.

    Thanks for the contest.
    Good Luck to all!

  22. Congrats on the new release!!

    Always To Remember by Lorraine Heath always tears me up. It’s so emotionally well-written.

  23. Hey Mari! You know I can’t wait to read this one! 😉

    The only books I can think of that made me cry are Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon, and The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

  24. Hi Mari~

    Because of You sounds very interesting. Several books have made me cry…probably the first was The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. Recently, Patricia Briggs’ Iron Kissed made me cry. I love when a book packs enough emotion to actually make me cry.

  25. Heartbreaking moments enhance a love story, making one even more appreciative of a happy ending. Second chance stories usually make me cry, especially when one character sacrifices their happiness for their true love. Then comes the realization and the reunion. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

