• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Today’s guest is Angie Fox

Angie Fox author photo

Angie, Thank-You for agreeing to be guest here today

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Sure. I’m the author of the Accidental Demon Slayer series. It’s about a preschool teacher who finds out she’s a demon slayer and is forced to run off with her Grandmother’s gang of geriatric biker witches. Happens every day, right?

How long have you been writing?

Oh geez. Do you count the romances I wrote for my friends in high school where each of them ended up with their dream guy? I’ve always loved to read, and write, but I began to write seriously about four years ago.

What is your writing process like?

I wish it was classy, but here goes: pour a Diet Coke with lots of ice. Open manuscript. Decide I need Triscuits and Laughing Cow cheese in order to be creative. Read and tweak work from the day before. Get more Diet Coke and perhaps a few more Triscuits – who needs to count calories when the fate of a demon slayer is at stake? Write like a mad woman for about two or three hours.

I’m not one of those writers who can just turn it on and off. I have to ease into the story and get a feel for what needs to happen next. I know I’m on the right track when things start happening that surprise even me – like when dogs start talking, my demon slayer is attacked by Frozen Underwear spells or when her sexy griffin boyfriend decides to take things into his own hands. I really like it when that happens.

The Accidental Demon Slayer

Can you tell us about your two books The Accidental Demon Slayer and the Dangerous Book for Demon Slayers?

The Accidental Demon Slayer is a quirky book about a straight-laced preschool teacher who runs smack dab into her fate when a demon shows up in her bathroom. Turns out, that’s just the beginning. Soon her hyperactive terrier starts talking, and her long-lost biker witch Grandma is hurling Smuckers jars filled with magic. And just when she thinks she’s seen it all, Lizzie learns she’s a demon slayer—and all hell is after her.

Of course, that’s not the only thing after her. Dimitri Kallinikos, a devastatingly handsome shape-shifting griffin needs Lizzie to slay a demon of his own. But how do you talk a girl you’ve never met into going straight to the underworld? Lie. And let’s just say he tries a little bit of seduction too.

People have been saying The Accidental Demon Slayer is like the movie Shaun of the Dead, only with witches, and I take that as a great compliment.

 Angie Fox Dangerous Book cover

The Dangerous Book for Demon Slayers is the story of what happens when you take a bunch of biker witches to Las Vegas. Well, it’s more than that, I suppose. Lizzie and the gang head to Las Vegas to save her uncle from marrying a succubus.

As she experiences all kinds of new (and weird) things in Vegas, Lizzie is determined, once and for all, to master her powers. In fact, she’s going to write the book on demon slaying. So she begins a journal, The Dangerous Book for Demon Slayers, where she records what she’s learning, starting with newfound discoveries about demons, gargoyles and a particularly mischievous live spell named Beanie who likes to fill Lizzie’s boots with pumpkin spice latte.

Things get dangerous when the demons get their hooks in Dimitri. He’s much darker and sexier in this book. And we introduce a new character, Max, who is half demon and 100% yummy.

When will your next book release?

I have two novellas coming out – a vampire story in The Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2 (out this September) and a voodoo story in My Zombie Valentine (out in January 2010)

Then I have a book out at the end of January 2010 called A Tale of Two Demon Slayers. This is the third Accidental Demon Slayer book. In it, Dimitri takes Lizzie to his family home in Greece where she discovers all kinds of juicy secrets about his past.

What are you currently working on?

Well I just finished A Tale of Two Demon Slayers a few days ago. I’ll catch my breath for a week or so (and catch up on email), and then head right into the fourth book in the series, tentatively titled The Last of the Demon Slayers.

MidT2DS

Do you prefer working with demon slayers or demons? Why?

Both. Lizzie, my demon slayer, is growing in power and it is a lot of fun to invent new ways to test her and train her (and surprise her with her abilities). Yet it’s also fun to come up with the demons she needs to battle. So far, I’ve had a mad scientist-type, a sex-on-the-brain succubus and a power-hungry villain of mythical proportions (literally). Since coming up with quirky characters is one of my favorite things to do, I’m in heaven. Even with a few demons around.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

I don’t have a formal process. Rather, I figure that if it amuses me, my readers will probably be amused too. A lot of what I write evolves on the page. Like when I sat down to write The Accidental Demon Slayer, I had no notes about a sidekick for my heroine. But in the second chapter, when Lizzie learns she’s a demon slayer and there are some very scary, very angry creatures on her tail, she takes comfort in her dog. As I was writing, I thought, ‘This is a sweet moment. Now how do I throw her off?’

I made the dog say something to her. Nothing big. After all, he’s only after the fettuccine from last week. And he knows exactly where Lizzie can find it (back of the fridge, to the left of the lettuce crisper, behind the mustard). It tickled me, so I did it. Thanks to her unholy powers, Lizzie can now understand her smart-mouthed Jack Russell Terrier. I ended up having a ball with it. Pirate can say and do things that my heroine can’t. He’s such a kick to write.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Oh my first love will always be books. Being a writer hasn’t changed that a bit. Favorites lately have included Katie MacAlister’s Ghost of a Chance, Blue Diablo by Ann Aguirre, Stakes & Stilettos by Michelle Rowen (her entire Immortality Bites series is amazing), Kiss & Hell by Dakota Cassidy, No Rest for the Wiccan by Madelyn Alt, La Vida Vampire by Nancy Haddock, Midnight Sins by Cynthia Eden. And of course Dead and Gone. I want to read that one again because I read it too fast the first time. Charlaine Harris is such a great writer. I also want to re-read Beyond the Rain, a debut by Jess Granger that has been getting lots of great buzz. So many books, so little time!

What books are on your keeper shelf?

The entire Sookie Stackhouse series, the entire Amelia Peabody series, The Corset Diaries by Katie MacAlister, The Mummy by Ann Rice, the Shades series by Linda Fallon (Shades of Midnight, Shades of Scarlet, Shades of Winter – this series is only three books long, but it’s one of the best gothic romance series I’ve ever read). Dark Fever by Karen Marie Moning (and the rest of that series as well). Lair of the Lion by Christine Feehan (sooo sexy and dark), Janet Evanovich’s Three to Get Deadly (my favorite in the series), Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear, World War Z by Max Brooks. The list goes on…

What was the first romance book or the first book that stood the test of time for you?

That would have to be And One Wore Gray by Heather Graham. It was one of the first romances I ever read (I had to keep them taped under my bed – literally.) I just loved that book. I re-read it about a month ago and it’s still wonderful.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

That’s such a hard question because I think more in terms of books than movies. If I had to venture, I’d say Sandra Bullock for Lizzie and a Greek Harrison Ford for Dimitri. For Grandma and the biker witches, I think we’d have to hire every senior-age actress in Hollywood.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Pirate the dog. He’s so outgoing he could make friends with a doorknob. I’ve always wanted to be that way.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I’m a computer games addict – the Sims, Civilization, and this game I found at the dollar store that is totally addicting called The Guild. It’s by a German company and the translations are hilariously bad, but it’s an engrossing strategy game (business, politics and highway robbery medieval-style) that pulls me in every time.  I also like to go out and do trivia with my friends and husband. Geez, I sound like such a dork. I also go mountain climbing (okay, I don’t, but I needed to say something cool).

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

If you could meet any author, living or dead, who would it be?

Where can people find you on the web?

http://www.angiefox.com/

http://www.facebook.com/angie.fox

***Leave a comment answering Angie’s questions and one lucky commenter could win their choice of The Accidental Demon Slayer, The Dangerous Book for Demon Slayers, or a Kiss My Asphalt Shirt. Good Luck 🙂 

 

frontback

61 Responses

  1. Great interview! This series has been on my to-buy list for a while. I’ve heard great things about it.

    I think I would want to meet Edgar Allan Poe. I became fascinated with his work when I was in 6th grade and he is the only non-romance author that I still read. Give me a nice stormy night and I’ll be rereading The Bells, Cast Of Amontillado, or the Tell-Tale Heart.

    Of course, I’m sure that meeting would last five minutes before I realized he was he was insane and I ran away screaming 😀

  2. Great interview. I loved the first book in this series and am very anxiously waiting to read the second. if I could meet any author I would choose Linda Howard. Her work is amazing.

  3. Nice interview, I do like the look of these books and I finally got a book, now I just need book 1 too 🙂

    I’d like to meet Tolkien, to have a talk with him about the wonderful world he created, the history and languages. He sure went all the way

  4. Very nice interview Angie and Greta. I’ve met alot of my favorite authors, but one I haven’t met in person yet is Sue-Ellen Welfonder. I plan to met her next year if all goes well, she’s a favorite of mine, I love her dearly as a person as well…………………….

    hugs,
    WendyK

  5. Hi Angie,
    great interview! Can’t wait to read your book in november when it will be published in German 🙂
    I’d like to meet Katie MacAlister – I really love her books *g*
    Best wishes,
    Ina

  6. I’d be right there with you, Lillie. My favorite of his is The Black Cat. I keep trying to go to the Poe House whenever we’re in Boston and whenever I show up, it’s closed. Once we were late in the season, once it was closed for renovation. I’m starting to suspect a supernatural conspiracy.

  7. Thanks, Sara. This series has been a blast to write.

    I’d like to meet Linda Howard too. I had the chance to see her speak at a luncheon this summer and had to skip it because I had edits to an anthology due. Then I got to hear all of my friends tell me how witty and fun and great she is. So if you ever track her down, let me know. 😉

  8. Great to see you, blodeuedd! Tolken is such a classic. The Hobbit was one of the first fantasies I ever read.

  9. Good to see you, WendyK. And I haven’t read Sue-Ellen Welfonder yet. Thanks for the recommendation!

  10. Thanks, Ina. I’m looking forward to that German release too. My family is originally from the Black Forest area (changed Fuchs to Fox when we got to the states). It’ll be interesting to see how they translate the biker witches. 🙂

    Katie MacAlister is one of my favorites too.

  11. Great interview. Your books sounds so good. Love the covers. I would love to meet Sherrilyn Kenyon.

  12. Angie – great stories. Your books make me laugh and that is a great thing. I love Lizzie and her dog. I always imagine that the things my dog would say would follow along the same lines.

    Must say Dmitri is hot should Lizzie ever get rid of him (okay I hope not but…) I would volunteer to soothe his broken heart.

    My question is — where can I buy one of those shirts? I love them.

  13. Great interview.i haven’t read these books yet but I’ve heard great things about the series.
    An author I’d like to meet is Stephen King.

  14. Great inteview!

    I loved reading “The Accidental Demon Slayer” which is the only book I can find at my library and I love all the covers!

    Keep up the good work!

  15. Hey Angie,

    What a great interview. Don’t register me – I already have both of the books and loved them. They are great.

    I have met Kim Harrison and the fabulous Gena Showalter and am going to Memphis this weekend to meet Sherrilyn Kenyon. Hopefully I’ll get to meet Angie some time next year and would love to meet Lora Leigh (absolutely love her stuff) and JR Ward (was supposed to meet her this year but signing was cancelled).

  16. Thanks, Crystal. I really did luck out on the covers. Praised be to the talented Art Department at Dorchester. I just wish those were my legs.

  17. loved the first book and I get questioned on my shirt all the time. Great advertising there my friend.

  18. Hi Angie,
    oh, I don’t know your origins are in Europe!
    Yeah, I hope the translation is as good as the original… more often than not it’s not the case 😦
    Best wishes,
    Ina

  19. Hi Marnie – You know that’s how Pirate started. I was goofing around with my dog, Beau, and imagining the kinds of comments he’d make if he could.

    If you’re a Dimitri girl, you’ll like this book I just finished – A Tale of Two Demon Slayers is all about him and his past. We get to see his house, his sisters, everything.

    The shirts aren’t for sale yet, but there have been a lot of requests so I’m trying to figure out how to do it. I can’t do it online (through the Cafe Press types) because the shirts have this special metallic silver ink lettering. When I figure it out, I’ll post details on my website.

  20. Ohhh…you and me both, elaing8. I hear Stephen King is a really interesting guy to meet. Have you read his book On Writing?

  21. Thanks, Terri! The Accidental Demon Slayer was a wild and crazy book to write.

  22. Hi Heather – how awesome you get to see Sherrilyn Kenyon this weekend! I just wish JR Ward would make it to St. Louis. She never did re-schedule that signing.

  23. LOL Pam – people wondering why you want them to kiss your asphalt? I always have fun wearing the shirt too.

  24. That’s what I hear too, Ina. And I don’t know anyone who speaks German fluently enough to judge an entire book based on the nuances of character, dialogue, etc.

    If you end up reading the German version, do you think you can email me and let me know what you think of the translation? Not that I can do anything either way, but still, I’d be interested to know!

  25. Awesome interview! The books sound like a fun read and I love their covers.

  26. Very nice interview. I would love to meet Nora roberts.

  27. Great interview! And your books sound amazing, I’m going to have to go out and buy me one now! 🙂

    As for the question–I would have to say Jane Austen. I have so many questions for that woman its not even funny!

  28. I’d like to meet either Stephanie Meyer or Janet Evanovich!

  29. Thanks, Jeanette. It’s all about the dog. And the legs. Still wish those were my legs.

  30. Hi Estella. I’d love to meet Nora Roberts too. I hear she’s a real class act.

  31. Aw, well thanks, Chelsea. Have you read Pride & Prejudice & Zombies yet? I’m a huge Jane Austen fan and I thought it was hilarious – even better when you’ve read the original a few times.

  32. Good call, Teresa. I wouldn’t mind meeting Stephanie Meyer or Janet Evanovich either. I saw Janet speak this summer at a conference and she was just awesome – funny, inspiring, and very candid. It made me like her books even more.

  33. I guess if I could meet any author it would be Nora Roberts. I’ve been reading her for years. Also her J.D. Robb persona.

    Linda Henderson

  34. Hi Angie, nice to see you here! I have read the first book in this series and loved it. I haven’t got your new one yet!

    To answer your question if I could meet any author I would have to choose Constance O’Banyon because she was the author that got me started reading and I have read all of her books since back in the 80’s.

  35. Great interview!!! Authors I’d love to meet would be either Edith Wharton or D.H. Lawrence. They were both brilliant – somewhat twisted as we all are – and way, way, ahead of their times and peers.

  36. Great interview! I love an author who plays computer games. I’m also a game addict. Have you played WOW?

    To answer your question, I’d love to meet JK Rowling, then I’d pick her brains and copy her formula for success. 🙂

  37. I would love to have met Jane Austin, but J.R.Ward is another that I would love to sit down and have coffee with. Great interview.

  38. Good to see you too! Can you believe I’ve never read Constance O’Banyon? I need to fix that. Which one of her books do you think I should start with?

  39. Thanks, Cybercliper. I thought the questions were really original and fresh, so the credit goes to Greta.

    I haven’t read D.H. Lawrence in ages. Gotta pull Sons and Lovers off the bookshelf one of these days.

  40. Hey Carol – I’m actually afraid of WOW. That game is supposed to be awesome, and addicting. I mean, back when I was writing advertising, I scheduled a week’s vacation around the release of The Sims: Making Magic expansion pack. And as dorky as it sounds, I had a really good time. WOW might just do me in.

    I hear you re: JK Rowling. If you get that formula, you gotta let me pick your brain. 🙂

  41. given that kind of chance – I’d want to choose and author that could answer questions I couldn’t get answered anywhere else. Maybe a book from the Bible. Or Anne Frank. All we really know about here is what she wrote in her diary. I’d be curious about what she didn’t put to paper. Living in such tight quarters she had to worry about someone reading the diary. And probably left things out.

  42. Great interview! I suppose I would like to meet Maya Banks.

    Thanks~
    Amy M

  43. Neil Gaiman! I loved what he did with Sandman and would love to pick his brain!

  44. I’ve still yet to figure out an answer to that question. I can’t think of anyone that interests me enough alive or dead that I have to meet them. If I get to meet some of my favorite authors great. If it doesn’t happen then I’ll still be okay.

  45. I would LOVEEEEE to meet JK Rowling. She’s the first name that came to my mind. I’d love to watch her write, look at her notes, and just observe her whole writing process! 🙂

  46. Hi Angie,
    I would love to email you und tell you my opinion 🙂
    Best wishes,
    Ina

  47. I enjoyed The Accidental Demon Slayer and am looking forward to #2. I think I’d like to meet Charlaine Harris the most primarily to find out what she really thinks about how HBO reworked her Sookie Stackhouse series.

  48. Ohh…good answer, Lynda. I never thought of it that way.

  49. Thanks, Amy. I’d like to meet Maya Banks too.

  50. Ah! See this is why I’m glad I asked the question. I’ve never read Neil Gaiman. Getting my pen and paper out. Thanks for the recommendation, Llehn!

  51. That’s good, Brandy because then you’d probably be able to talk to some of your favorites when you actually meet them. I was a guest at a conference with Laurell K Hamilton and at one point, could barely get out a decent sentence.

  52. Awesome, Ina. You rock! I’ll be looking for you in my inbox later this year.

  53. Hey Rachael – I’d love to meet JK Rowling too. You know what’s neat about her? She seems like she’s extra easy to talk with and get to know. And her books are amazing.

  54. Nice interview. I’d love to meet Gena Showalter…. but you sound awesome, too!

  55. Hi Angie,

    Great interview…your books sound smashing!

    Tough question: What author would I like to meet? I think it would be a toss-up between Margaret Mitchell, Jane Austen and John Jakes.

  56. Great Question, I would have to say JR Ward, I am such a BDB fan and I would love to rattle around in the mind of JR Ward for a day!

    bjwaldron(at)gmail.com

  57. Hehe, Hi Angie! No Pants here (like I’m gonna live that down since BittenbyBook’s bash). You sure know how to throw a party. Still reeling from that one!

    Yes, I’ve been trying to encourage miss First Commenter Lillie up there to try your books. I’ve even been pimping your books out to two other friends. Hehe. I have one interested by swinging Dimitri beneath her nose. I’m bad

    Loved the two books. You are an automatic buy for me. Can’t wait for more books!

  58. Forgot to answer that question * Sheepish* If I could meet any author alive or dead? Dang, I would most definitely love to meet Mercedes Lackey just to thank her endlessly for her Valdemar books and hope that she’d talk about those stories. I just can not seem to get enough of Tarma, Warrl, Vanyel, the Companions, Firesong!

  59. My favourite author is Nicholas Sparks!! If I win this draw I would prefer the Kiss My Asphalt Shirt.
    wandanamgreb (at) gmail (dot) com

  60. If I could meet an author it would be Lynsay Sands or Gena Showalter. Of course I wouldnt mind meeting the author who is sponsoring this contest either! LOL

  61. Great interview! The books sound like they’d be fun to read, I have already put them on my Wish List on Amazon. I would love to meet several authors like JR Ward, Gena, Kresley, Christine and Stephanie. I am so glad a friend told me about this web site, I am always looking for new authors and great books to read!!!

Leave a Reply

