• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Rita Herron says demons aren’t romantic?

GRAND CENTRAL spine white

IN LOVE WITH A DEMON?

No.     

Demons aren’t romantic. They have fangs, wings, scales, hideous features, can shapeshift into all kinds of creatures, stalk the night and prey on innocents.

They don’t bring you flowers or candy. Sweep you off your feet with romantic compliments or gestures. Or impress your parents with their nice manners.

Some of them even have super powers. Evil urges. Crave sex constantly. Indulge in wicked fantasies.

Have dark hungers.

So why would a smart, tenacious reporter like Annabelle Armstrong fall in love with one when she is out to get the scoop on him and expose his secrets? When he is a cold-blooded killer?

Yes, Quinton Valtrez, the hero of DARK HUNGER, like his brother Vincent in Insatiable Desire, the first book in the Demonborn series, was born part demon, part human. Bred from descendants of Satan and an Angel of Light – they are both good and evil.

And yes, Quinton is a government assassin.

But there’s more to the story than Annabelle every imagined.
And when the Death Angel and other evil beings flood the earth to destroy lives on All Hallow’s Eve, he suddenly becomes a savior.

For Quinton only kills evil beings.

No, he doesn’t bring flowers or candy. Sweep her off her feet with romantic gestures or compliments. Or impress anyone with his nice manners.

But how can she NOT fall in love with a man so tortured by his own past? A man determined to control his inner demons? A man whose dark eyes rake over her with a hunger that stirs her own wicked fantasies?

And what is more romantic than a man who risks his own life to destroy the sinister forces threatening the world? Or a man willing to defy his own father, the leader of the underworld, to protect her?

And what could be more romantic that a man wanting you so badly that when he looks at you, when he whispers your name, when he touches you, your body burns with raw passion, and you will do anything he says, even succumb to the dark hunger in his eyes, to have him?

Who is your favorite romance hero? What about your real-life hero, if you have one, makes him a hero or romantic?

Leave a comment or question for Rita today and be entered in a contest for a copy of Rita’s first book in The Demonborn Series: Insatiable Desire.  But don’t stop there!  There’s a second contest for today’s readers.  Visit Rita at her website http://www.ritaherron.com/ and sign up for her newsletter to be entered in a contest to a copy of both books in The Demonborn Series: Insatiable Desire and Dark Hunger.  And, by singing up for Rita’s newsletter, you will also be automatically entered in Rita’s regular monthly contests.  You can also find extras on the Demonborn series at http://www.thedemonborn.com/. And visit Rita on Facebook, Myspace.com/ritaherron, and Twitter.com/ritaherron! 

***Don’t forget to leave a comment answering Rita’s question for a chance to win a copy of Insatiable Desire. Good Luck 🙂

32 Responses

  1. When trying to come up with my favorite romance hero, my mind went in about 40 directions. In both movies and books, there have been so many great ones that it’s hard to pick. However, I think I’ll settle on the one I got attached to WAY back in junior high, King Arthur. Arthur was noble, faithful, and willing to give up all that he held dear and true to save his wife. I can’t say that I have a very high opinion of her though!

    Greta: Please disqualify me from the contest. Thanks.

  2. My very favorite it Roarke, even though he’s definitely more romantic than tortured. 🙂

  3. Wow, I am liking the sounds of this one 🙂

    My fav romantic hero, well I fall for Mr Darcy (even though he is kind of an ass), and John Thornton from North and South. My heart just melts.

  4. Looks like I’ll need to buy a book soon. Sounds like a great read.

    Sandy Elzie

  5. favorite romantic hero dang how can I pick just one. Love whichever I am reading at the moment. This series sounds great and I’m just wondering how I misssed this one. Off to sign up for you newsletter.

  6. Chris – I love Roarke, too! Tough protective men are so sexy!

    Haven’t seen North and South – will have to watch it.

    And Pam, hope you enjoy! It’s been fun writing these dark, tortured guys.

    Rita

  7. Don’t enter me…I already have Insatiable Desire and Dark Hunger…love this series.

    My favorite romantic hero is Vishous of BDB – love ’em mean and smart!!! In real life, it’s none other than my wonderful husband because while not mean, he’s smart and gorgeous!!!

  8. Hmmm – dark & tortured? Really enjoying Larissa Ione’s Demonica series – a trio of tortured souls so far, Eidolon, Shade & Wraith! 😀

    And about to dive into Cynthia Eden’s latest with the demon Niol, who has featured as a shadowy and very questionable hero in the 2 previous books. Ooh – can’t wait!

  9. Happy release day! I’ll be picking up Dark Hunger this weekend and I can’t wait!

    I have many favorite heroes, but they are all the same type. Usually bad boys that have a big soft soft for their wife, mother, and kids.

    Please don’t enter me in the contest. I already have Insatiable Hunger. 2 copies actually, LOL.

    I’m looking forward to seeing you at Dragon Con! Just a few more weeks! 🙂

  10. Glad to know some of you have ID – sounds like you all like the same kind of men I do. Dark, tortured, and a soft spot for women and kids.

    I like Larissa’s series as well and she’s a great girl.

    And husbands can be real life heroes. I have to admit that I’m married to a great guy – he’s not dark or tortured at all, but smart, ambitious a hard worker and he loves his kids to death. He’s also a cutie and muscular and really supportive although I think my books scare him!

    Looking forward to seeing you at DragonCon, too, Lillie! That is the wildest place I’ve ever been!

    Rita

    Rita

  11. Hummm that is a hard question because I have so many favs. I guess I will have to go with Z or Visious from the Black Dagger Brotherhood. They are sexy, tortured souls and I lover them. I also love the sexy demon brothers mentioned above in Larissa’s Demonica series.

  12. I’m always looking for new author and series to read, your is in my favorite genre. Sounds good!

  13. Thanks, Teresa – I hope you enjoy it.
    And Jamie, I must see the Black Dagger Brotherhood – when does this come on?

    And Debbie, King Arthur – hmm, hot. I think the guys in The Tudor series are totally awesome hunks, although King Henry is a tyrant. But man, he’s got gorgeous eyes and that intensity…
    I also LOVE Fritz on The Closer, especially when his tough side comes out. But he’s so good to Brenda that you can’t help but love him.

    Rita

  14. Oh, also love the brothers in Supernatural. And I hate that Moonlighting went off – Mick St. John was so hot and I really enjoyed the series.
    Rita

  15. Hi Rita! You know, I have sooo many favorite romantic heros that I just don’t think that I can pick just one. My real life hero though is my son. He has asperger syndrome, and things have never been very easy for him. It always seems to me though, that he always seems to rise above everything and come out ahead. He is a straight A student and has become quite a wonderful young man. He is my personal hero!

  16. I have too many fiction heroes that I absolutely love but my true hero is my husband.

    No matter what bad health and adversity (in a wheelchair, diabetic, heart troubles etc.) has come his way he still has a sense of humour and is generous, loving and caring to all five of our children and myself. Who could ask for a better hero than that?

  17. Hi! Quinton sounds very interesting 🙂
    My favourite romance hero is Alex Markov from Susan E. Phillips’ “Kiss an Angel”.
    Have a great day!

  18. How touching IIona. I hope he’s doing better.

    Anyone want to share the most romantic thing that ever happened to you?

    I’ll go first. Swamped with kids a while back, I had the urge for a convertible – I know totally not practical. We got a mini van instead.
    But a couple of years later on Valentines Day, my husband took me to dinner. He seemed stressed and when I pushed him, he said he had a great surprise but it got ruined. Naturally I had to know what it was, and he admitted he’d found this used convertible and was going to get it for me. But when he went back, the salesman had taken a better offer. Of course, I was so touched that he’d even thought of this that we had a romantic night anyone.
    That Sunday we rode over to the dealership just for kicks, and while we were there, the man who’d bought it came back and said his wife wanted red. So we took it home that day!
    That night, my son was sick, so we couldn’t leave to go joyriding, so parked it in the garage, popped open some champagne and listened to music in the garage while we toasted. My son came down, took one look at us, thought we were nuts, and asked us to please hold it down, he was trying to sleep!

    But I’ll never forget that Valentine’s day.

    Rita

  19. Another new author to me.the book sounds great.I’ll have to look for the series.
    Romance hero? I would say the brothers from the BDB series by JR Ward.

  20. It has to be Roarke from JD Robb’s Death Series.

  21. My favorite romance hero is Roarke from the In Death books. My real life heroes are police offices and firefighters who brave all kinds of things to help others.

  22. Roarke is my favorite!!

  23. Drustan McKeltar from Kiss of the Highlander. Love me a Highlander in kilt.

  24. It is really quite hard to come up with my favorite romance hero – mostly because there are so many I love! Let’s see: Maddox from Gena Showalter’s The Darkest Night is certainly on of my favorites – and he’s possessed by a demon! I really like Rome Master’s from Gena’s Playing With Fire. Hmm. I’m sensing a pattern here. Tortured souls who are ashamed of who they are/have been but are genuinely good inside. You know, tall, dark, and brooding!

    My real-life hero is my husband. He’s done so many romantic things for me, I would take all day listing them out. Before we were dating, he offered to drive 300 miles round trip just to take me back to my college campus to spend time with me; when I first started my current job, he would rub my sore feet and legs even after having a long day at work himself; he makes dinner for me all the time; even when I mess up and am a total doofus, he’s my #1 fan and cheering line. I love him!

    Great questions! Quinton sounds like he’s right up my alley, so um… pick me! 🙂

  25. It sounds like we all like the same type of dark sexy tortured guys. Hope you fall in love with Quinton as I did.
    And great stor, Elisa – he sounds like a keeper.

    It’s been fun being here today. Thank you all so much for joining me. Hope to hear from you soon on Dark Hunger.

    Rita

  26. Hard to pick just one. But one of my favorite’s is Nicholas Blackthorne from A Rose at Midnight by Anne Stuart. A dark, tormented bad boy 🙂

  27. This is really tough but one of my favorite heros is the Marquess of Rothgar from Jo Beverly’s Devilish. i tink part if the appeal is that he was built up on the five books leading up to him. He had his demons sush as his mother killing his baby sister and commiting suicide. You know as a modern person that she probably had postpartum depression but he thought it was bad blood and didn’t want to pass it on. There was more as well. Love a tortured guy!

  28. My favorite romance hero? So hard to choose just one and I couldn’t. Finally decided on John Thornton from North and South and the reluctant hero, Rhett Butler from GWTW.

  29. My favorite hero is the kind that lights up when I come into the room, not just because he’s happy to see me, but because he’s been waiting and wanting, letting me know that I light up his world. I want a strong alpha type, but with a soft center just for me. I want playful, strong, and sweet. I want it all! Which is of course, why I love reading so much!

    Dottie 🙂

  30. Rita, I love your story about your most romantic moment – isn’t that so typical of a boy to think you are nuts for being mushy though? I’m glad that you didn’t let it spoil him your moment .

    As to my husband I am afraid the prognosis is no change for the better (even his heart op was cancelled because it will be too dangerous 😦 ) but he is still finding reasons to smile for me 😀

  31. Rita, thanks for taking your time to do an interview. My question is, are there any other genres you would like to write?

    Please count me in for the contest.
    cindyc725 at gmail dot com

  32. Answer to your question: My real life hero is my dad. Words can’t describe how lucky I am to have him as my father. He’d give us everything, even though we have very little.

Leave a Reply

