• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Elisabeth Naughton is here with Stolen Heat

Naughtonl_Elizabeth1

Thanks so much for having me here, Greta!

I get asked all the time how I came up with the idea for STOLEN HEAT, and my first reaction is always, “Um…I dunno,” (said in the same voice my 7-yr old uses when I ask him why he hit his brother.) I don’t think I ever really conceptualize how and why ideas come to me in my writing, I just go with them. But the repeated question has definitely made me think.

STOLEN HEAT is the sequel to STOLEN FURY, and the second book in the Stolen Trilogy. You met the hero, Peter Kauffman, in the first book. Pete is handsome, charming and successful, but he hides a lot of secrets, and from the beginning the reader knows he’s not entirely on the up and up. When I first wrote Pete in FURY, I knew he was a character with a past and a story to tell, and even before STOLEN FURY sold, I knew I wanted to write his story. But what would it be? And where would it take place?

I’ve always been fascinated with ancient cultures. Part of what I love about writing is it has given me the opportunity to focus in on topics that interest me – sciences like archaeology and Egyptology, history around the world, current events, new discoveries. One area of history I’ve always been enamored by is that of ancient Egypt. And so when I realized Pete had this troubled and emotionally heartbreaking back story, I knew I wanted it to have something to do with Egypt. He’s an antiquities dealer. It made sense he would have traveled around the world, that he could have spent time in Egypt, that something there probably changed his life forever.

For me, the fun of writing is getting to learn all about things I want to know. That’s really the fun in reading, too, isn’t it? I love when I pick up a book and not only find a great story, but learn a little something along the way. When I decided to set part of this book in Egypt, I devoured information right and left. I never see research as a burden, but something to enrich a story. 90% of the information authors research never gets into their books, but it’s that knowledge that makes a story more real and transports the reader into the time and setting.

Have I been to Egypt? That’s a question that keeps popping up for me. Nora Roberts was once asked a similar question about Alaska after Northern Lights was published a few years ago. Her response was, “Not physically. But why would I need to go there now? I’ve already been there in my mind.” I read that book, and I can honestly say I’d never have known she hadn’t been to Alaska had I not heard that interview. The setting of Northern Lights came to life for me, and I felt like I was there with the characters. As a writer, Nora did her job of transporting the reader into the world of the story, and as far as I’m concerned, that’s all that truly matters.

There are lots of places I’d like to see, lots of jobs I’d like to experience. If I stuck to writing only what I know and not what I want to know, I wouldn’t have much to write about. STOLEN HEAT is a story that takes the reader to a different continent, a different culture, a different way of life. It’s a book that taught me a lot – not only about history and location, but about governments and terrorist organizations and…well, second chances. I hope those of you who pick up STOLEN HEAT are not only entertained, but learn a little something new, even if that something is as simple as the temperature in Cairo in the spring.

Thanks again for having me here today, Greta. One lucky commenter today will have the choice of either an autographed copy of STOLEN FURY or STOLEN HEAT. So leave me a comment and tell me…What’s the last book you read where you were not only entertained, but learned something you didn’t know before?

Stolen Heat large

Blurb for STOLEN HEAT:

Book Two in the Stolen Trilogy
Available: August 2009
ISBN: 978-0-505-52794-3

His past tore them apart. Her lies thrust them back together. Now a killer’s out for revenge, but the biggest threat for both may just be the heat they thought they’d already lost…

Antiquities dealer Peter Kauffman walked a fine line between clean and corrupt for years. And then he met the woman who changed his life—Egyptologist Katherine Meyer. Their love affair burned white-hot in Egypt, until the day Pete’s lies and half-truths caught up with him. After that, their relationship imploded, Kat walked out, and before Pete could find her to make things right, he heard she’d died in a car bomb.

Six years later, the woman Pete thought he’d lost for good is suddenly back. The lies this time aren’t just his, though. The only way he and Kat will find the truth and evade a killer out for revenge is to work together—as long as they don’t find themselves burned by the heat each thought was stolen long ago…

Visit the author’s website at http://www.elisabethnaughton.com/

To enter the author’s big STOLEN HEAT Contest go to www.elisabethnaughton.com/stolen_heat_contest.html or click on the widget below:  

stolen heat

25 Responses

  1. Good Morning,
    Elisabeth Naughton is another new author to me.Her books sound great,I can’t wait to read them.
    The last book I read was Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs..funny book.

  2. Hm, interesting question. I honestly can’t say, where did I learn something?
    Let’s go with the Shopaholic books, I learned that I sure am not a shopaholic even if I can think so

  3. Hi, Elisabeth~~
    I LOVED Stolen Fury, and can’t wait for Stolen Heat.
    Read about it on so many blogs, I had to have it, and was thrilled with how great it was.
    I learn something from just about EVERY book I read. LOL, it’s my way of traveling vicariously to places I know I’ll never go. I’m reading Nina Bruhn’s new release, Shoot to Thrill, and WOW, that woman can write….and the scenery and descriptions just put you THERE…………I love books that do that for me. When I can smell the water, feel the heat, the grit of the sand….
    Thanks for a great blog!!

  4. Hi Elizabeth. Your books sound wonderful. I learn a lot from books I read. I learn historical facts, facts about different areas of the world, and facts about other cultures and languages.

  5. I think the last book I learned something from was Nina Bangs’ Eternal Craving. Her heroes have the soul of pre-historic creatures. Since the only one I even recognized the name of was a T-rex, I found myself googling ancient predators. It was a lot of fun and very informative.

  6. Hi Elizabeth,

    I have added you to my To Buy list. These books sound awesome and I can’t wait to pick them up. I love anything that has to do with Egypt, Ancient Greek/Roman Gods, etc.

    The last book I read was Nalini Singh’s Branded by Fire and I don’t think I really learned anything. Most of my reading is for pleasure and escapism. I get pure Joy out of reading and that’s why I love it so much.

  7. Good morning (erm… well, almost!) Greta and Ms Naughton!

    I have learn something from so many books that I can’t name only one (if you want to learn a helluvalot about manufacturing in the late 19th Century, read Jules Verne’s Mysterious Island 😀 )

    Here’s wishing you the BEST of lucks with the books!

  8. Hi Elisabeth,

    Enjoyed your interview and while I haven’t read your work yet, I’m placing your titles on my BTB list.

    I read mainly historical romances set in the Regency and/or Victorian eras. I believe I learn a little about the geography and sociology of the setting from every book I read but I think the last book I read that I really learned a lot was the 2004 book ‘Devil in the White City’ by Erik Larson. It is the about the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair, a non-fiction book written in a novelistic style. Excellent story that I highly recommend.

  9. i dont have one in particular
    takes lots of work to write a book and i respect that
    congrats on your books
    they look great

  10. These stories look great! I have learned a lot of interesting things from many of the books I have read and the last one was no exception, Bound By Your Touch by Meredith Duran.

  11. Hi Elisabeth!

    Wow, I learn something pretty much with everthing that I read. I love reading about the different locations and traveling vicariously throw the books :). I’ve learned so much about different cultures through what I’ve read.

    Congrats on Stolen Heat!

  12. Hi Elisabeth!

    You are a new author to me and I love reading books that have to do with Egypt, Greek/Rome mythology, etc.

    The last book I read where I learned something was “Chains” by Shiloh Walker. I learned some stuff about dom/sub relationships from the first story.

    Congrats on your upcoming release!

  13. Hi Elisabeth and Greta,
    Congrats on the new book.

    The last book where I learned something would have to be Dangerous Games by Lora Leigh, I learned alot about BDSM clubs.

  14. Hi Elizabeth,
    You are a new to me author and I’m looking forward to reading your books.
    I have learned a lot about foreign and domestic cities reading Harlequins.

  15. Hi Elisabeth,
    Congrats on the upcoming release of “Stolen Heat.” I learn a lot from reading historicals. I learned about the ranks and titles in the aristocracy and how they were to be addressed and etiquette.

  16. Hi Elisabeth, I haven’t started your series yet, but you’ve definitely tweeked my interest.

    Jessica Andersen’s Final Prophecy series has amazing information and I’ve learned a lot reading these books.

  17. I just finished the Dead After Dark anthology, which was great.
    In every book, I compare myself to the heroine, and I always learn a little more about myself – who I am, what I like (and don’t like), what I want to be – you get the drift.

  18. I like to think I learn at least something from each book. But the last book I read was Black Hills, and I know I learned something about big cats in that one.

  19. I love to read and I always learn something from each book – it may be discovering a new word or a new piece of history. I just finished Moning’s Spell of the Highlander and have Googled a lot on the ancient Druids.

  20. Hi Elisabeth,

    I read Diana Gabaldon’s OUTLANDER and DRAGONFLY IN AMBER. It took me months to read, and I had to put the books aside at times. Not that they were not any good, but the stories were intensely emotional for me because of Jamie and Claire Frasier’s adventures. Ms. Gabaldon’s novels are wonderfully written.

    I learned a bit about druidism, the Jacobite uprising in Scotland, and to my surprise, the ladies’ gowns in French court had see-through bodices, and pierced nipples did not begin in this century which I originally had thought. The courtesans wore jewelry on their nipples to adorn their breasts. (ouch)

  21. I just got done reading Black Hills, so I learned a little about cougars, South Dakota, and running a Wildlife Refuge.

  22. I’m nearly finished with Susan Sizemore’s series that include’s Primal Needs. In the book is a Prime (like a vampire) that was in World War II. There is a reference to General McAuliffe being in charge if the 101st Airborne. They were attacked by a much larger German force. When McAuliffe received the surrender request, He sent back his rely of *NUTS*. I had to double check that it wasn’t an urban legend even though I’ve heard that before.

  23. Hi, Elisabeth!
    I really enjoyed reading Stolen Fury, and can’t wait for Stolen Heat.
    You started me thinking about books I’ve read and now I can say that I’ve learned something from almost every book I’ve read. First that pops up in my mind is S. Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series – I’ve learned a lot about Greek Pantheon and New Orleans as well.

  24. Hi all,

    Thanks so much for the great comments! I now have a bunch of new books to add to my TBR list! Lillie…love the concept of the prehistoric creatures. I’ll have to check that one out for sure.

  25. Hi Elisabeth~

    I am really looking forward to Stolen Heat!

    The last book that I read was “Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper” by Diablo Cody. I found it to be very entertaining and I learned quite a bit that I did not know before.

Leave a Reply

