• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Allie Boniface is visiting today

OneNightInNapa300

Allie, Thank you so much for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

How long have you been writing?

I always dabbled in writing, from my earliest days in elementary and middle school.  But after the tragedy of 9/11/01, I began serious pursuit of publication.  I realized that all the things we plan to do “someday” might not happen.  I began focusing on novel writing soon after, and 5 years later I signed my first publishing contract.

Can you tell us about your newest release One Night In Napa?

Like my other “one night” books, One Night in Boston and One Night in Memphis, this is a contemporary romance that takes place over a single day and night – 24 hours unfold in 24 chapters. 

In One Night in Napa, Grant Walker is a reporter who’s desperate to please his father, the editor-in-chief of San Francisco’s biggest newspaper.  Grant gets the opportunity of a lifetime when a prominent movie star is abducted by terrorists and he gets an inside tip. Even better, the star’s estranged daughter, Kira March, shows up after 10 years in hiding, trying to protect the family secret.  Of course, as the night wears on, Grant gets closer to the truth Kira’s trying to hide – and both end up falling for each other.

I love this book because it has nonstop action and romance from page one, along with a twist ending.  I’ll be really interested to see which readers can figure out Kira’s secret before Grant does!

How do you choose your cities for your “One Night” series books?

I like to set the stories in places I’ve actually visited, just because I feel as though I can better describe the details.  And I like to pick places that I’ve personally found exciting, appealing, or romantic – as well as varied around the country.  However, I think a “One Night” story set in a foreign locale – maybe London or Paris – is on the horizon as well!

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

Summer’s Song, a contemporary romance set in a small mountain town, releases in ebook this November. I’m excited because this is a story that’s been revised more times than I care to remember, and I’m so happy it will finally see publication!  It’s about a museum curator who left her small town when she was 18, the summer her brother died.  When she returns 10 years later after her father’s death, she begins to discover that her memories of the past are not what she thought they were…

What are you currently working on?

Right now I’m drafting the first stages of another One Night book, One Night in Savannah.  I’m also working on a women’s fiction novel called Entwined, which moves back and forth between two different time periods and includes some paranormal elements as well.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Everywhere! From stories in the news to songs to dreams to snippets of experiences from my own life.  It’s exciting when a story idea pops up and demands attention.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Believe it or not, I’m a huge Stephen King fan.  I think he’s s terrific storyteller, regardless of genre.  I also enjoy a lot (though not all!) of Jodi Picoult’s books.  I also read a lot of what would be called literary/women’s fiction and just finished Nancy Horan’s historical novel Loving Frank.  It’s the semi-fictionalized story of Mamah Cheney, the mistress of architect Frank Lloyd Wright.  Very interesting story – and quite a romance, too!

If you were not writing, what would you be doing?

I teach high school English and Education courses ten months out of the year, which I love.  I think even if I could support myself with my writing (maybe someday!), I wouldn’t entirely give up teaching.  I have incredible relationships with my former students, some of whom are years out of high school.  To know that you have touched another person’s life for the better is a powerful thing.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I play the piano, volunteer at our local pet shelter, travel, and enjoy all kinds of physical activity. My latest addiction is Zumba – if you don’t know what it is or haven’t tried it yet, you’re missing out!

For a chance to win a download copy of One Night In Napa, leave a comment asking Allie a question about her travels. Good Luck 🙂

To find out more about Allie and her books please visit her website at: http://www.allieboniface.com/.

12 Responses

  1. Thanks for having me here today, Greta!!

  2. Love the idea of 24 hours in 24 chapters. I need to add this one to my wishlist!

    So you have visited Savannah? What was your favorite thing there?

  3. Do you have a favourite place you have visited? Where do you want to go, you mention London and Paris…anything else?
    Congrats on your release yesterday!! 😀

  4. Do you pick certain places to visithoping to set a book there?
    Congrats on the release of your book!

  5. One Night In Napa sounds like a wonderful read. My friend has been doing Zumba, it’s all she can talk about. She keeps trying to get me to go with her, but I can’t seem to put down my books long enough to go.

  6. Lillie, I’ve visited Savannah a couple of times and love the riverfront. My husband and I actually did a midnight river cruise there for the millennium!

    Natasha, I don’t think I could pick a favorite place, though Hawaii is so relaxing I could go back every year!

    Lisa, you must find an hour to try out Zumba! You must!!

  7. Allie,

    Your books sound great and I like the idea of a chapter per hour. What is your favorite thing in Hawaii?

  8. Allie,
    Did you get to visit volcanos in Hawaii?
    congrats on the release.

  9. Hi Allie,

    My question is how do you pack when you travel? You go to so many places and the weather is so different, how is it possible to fit life in one suitcase?

    -IHBG

  10. Pam, I love Maui – so beautiful and so relaxing.

    IHBG, I’ve gotten better at packing…though if you ask my husband, he’ll say I still bring too many outfits wherever I go 🙂

  11. Allie,

    It amazes me when people travel, they hang out at the hotel and shopping area.

    Keeping safety in mind, of course, do you ever try to get out of your comfort zone and try out, say, the local flavor and discover hot spots in that region?

  12. Armenia, One of the best travel experiences I ever had was in Germany…we went to many of the local bars/restaurants which had great local flavor and forced me to practice my (very limited) German. I think the best things people can do when they travel is get out of their comfort zone…it broadens your horizons and makes you appreciate the world that much more!

Leave a Reply

