• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome R. G. Alexander

ThreeMe_pr

R. G., Thank you so much for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Thank you for inviting me!  Well, let’s see. I’m a writer, a reader, and enjoy studying mythology and alternative archaeology in my spare time (okay, I admit, my sister has gotten me hooked on a few reality shows). I’ve been married for seven years to a wonderful man who reads for me, helps me with my research *g*, and makes sure I get up from the computer to see that a world exists outside my laptop occasionally. So I’m pretty lucky.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing predominantly paranormal and erotic romance for close to three years now. Wow. It doesn’t seem like it’s been that long. Before I wrote my first Ellora’s Cave book, LIFTING THE VEIL, I’d written poetry and song lyrics from the time I was eight years old and read bags full of romance novels every month.

What is your writing process like?

It varies between possession and pain. What I mean is, sometimes it flows so easily and swiftly I barely notice the day has passed, and other days…not so much. I’m one of those who rarely know what’s going to happen before it does. When I do have a plan, my characters tend to disagree with me anyway. The most important thing, for me, is to spend at least eight hours a day focused on writing. With the occasional computer chess or Bookworm detour.

Can you tell us about your newest release Three For Me?

THREE FOR ME? Is my very first contemporary. Nothing is flying, floating, or shifting—which is weird for me. But I enjoyed the relationship between the Charli and the three men, as well as the individual relationships between Simon and Charli and Eric and Rafael. They definitely steamed up my laptop.  Here’s the blurb:

Three men, a tomboy…and one erotic game that could change everything.

Simon, Eric, Rafael, Lee…and Charli. It’s never mattered that Charli is the only girl in the crowd. She’s always been a tomboy, anyway. Just one of the guys.

Between work and Couch Potato Thursdays, life is pretty full. Sure, no man alive can get through the friend gauntlet, but thanks to her boys and her toys, she’s got plenty of fantasy material. It’s a win-win situation. Until Lee has a destination wedding in Cozumel—and Charli’s “best-man” duties take a kinky turn.

Through what looks to be foul play by Lee’s new brides, Charli finds herself on a decidedly decadent shore excursion, playing “The Race Erotic.” With each sexy challenge, it becomes clearer that down deep, she desires not one, not two, but all three of her remaining single buddies.

They’re the only family she’s ever known. She can’t imagine living without them. Will she have to choose? Or will the final score be three to one?

Warning: Naughty costumes, kinky toys, a boy, a girl…two more boys, all doing unspeakably dirty things to each other.

Without giving anything away, can you tell about the “The Race Erotic”?

I actually went to a destination wedding in Cozumel, and participated in their version of The Amazing Race. I Amazing Walked Really Slowly, but that’s another story. Anyway, it gave me the idea for a sexual excursion for couples (or in this case, quartets)

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

I do. MIDNIGHT FALLS, Book Four of my Children of the Goddess series is releasing from Samhain Publishing in October, WHO LOVES A SUPERHERO?, a compilation of two novellas—WHO WANTS TO DATE A SUPERHERO? And WHO NEEDS ANOTHER SUPERHERO? —Is coming out in print from Ellora’s Cave this summer, and I may have another series starting at Samhain in December (fingers crossed).

What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on a three novella anthology for Berkley Heat, which will be coming out in summer 2010! The working title for that one is BONE DADDY.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Everything. Games, dreams and daydreams, a random conversation. My favorite question is “What if?”  That opens the door to a thousand and one possibilities.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I read Graham Hancock and other alternative archaeology and mythology books. I do love to read romance, all genres, and way too many authors to name. But I’m a series addict. Get me hooked on a family or storyline, historical, scifi or paranormal? I auto-buy and bite my nails until the next book comes out. Maybe that’s why most of my own stories turn into series.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

I have a few signed copies of Eden Bradley’s works, Rhyannon Byrd is a keeper on my computer (though I haven’t had a chance to pick up her print series), In Ice by Crystal Jordan, Emma Holly, Lora Leigh. Oh and Robin L. Rotham’s  Alien Overnight and now Enemy Overnight. Kenyon, Foster…I told you the list goes on and on.

What was the first romance book you read or the first romance book that has stood the test of time?

Oh wow. That’s hard. But if I’m honest I think I have to say Warrior’s Woman by Johanna Lindsey. Until then I had been reading my grandmother’s romances. The ones where all the women were blonde and slender and perfect, and all the men were Sheiks or Greek Tycoons. Nothing wrong with that at all, I love me some Greek Tycoon.  And don’t even get me started on men in kilts (I still have a thing for them), but I think it was the first time I was truly interested in the female character, or a female computer, instead of just enjoying the love story, if that makes sense. Plus it was definitely risqué for me at that point. And gave me a taste for big men. *g*

If one of your books’ was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I want to say LIFTING THE VEIL, with Hugh Jackman as my hero. But honestly, I’d love to see WHO WANTS TO DATE A SUPERHERO? on the screen. Although my hero, Theta Wave, would be harder to cast.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Meru Tanner from LIFTING THE VEIL. She was my first heroine. I like to say she’s me, but WAY better. Plus she can read the Book of Veils, and she gets to hang out with some incredibly hot supernatural stud muffins. 😉

If you were not writing, what would you be doing? Wishing I was writing.

Actually, before my writing addiction, I sang in bands, and tried my hand at more jobs than I can count. I like to say now that it was all research for future stories.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I enjoy spending time with my husband, talking on the phone with my friends and fellow smutketeers, and singing-both in the shower and out in the world. That isn’t very exciting is it? I should say I run marathons, climb Mount Everest and am working on a food replicator to end world hunger in my spare time, but at least I’m honest about being boring.

Thank you so much! I really enjoyed the interview.

**********

For more information on R. G. Alexander and her books please visit her website: http://www.rgalexander.com/ and a member of the blog group the Smutketeers.

Three For Me? will be available for purchase tomorrow, Tuesday, July 14, 2009 through Samhain Publishing.

****Leave a comment asking R. G. any question for a chance to win a print copy of Lux In Shadow, Book Two – Children of the Goddess and winners choice of a download e-book from R. G. backlist. Good Luck 🙂

29 Responses

  1. […] I have an interview today at I Do Not Want To Wait, I Want The Book Now […]

  2. Hi! That’s a great interview. I really love R.G.’s books on the Veil. Can’t wait to read the third in the series, on Sheridan and Finn. When will it be out? And I would love to read Nyc’s story as well!

  3. Hi R. G.,

    You are new-to-me author, never read your work, but I have to say they sound terrific. Will definately check them out a bit closer. Now, about those books-to-movies….don’t sound like they would be made for TV with a PG 13 rating…more like NR-17…but that’s not a bad thing, right?

  4. Great Interview, you are a new to me author as well and it is always great to find new Authors to follow! Question: Why Erotic & Paranormal Romance?
    bjwaldron@gmail.com

  5. Thank you so much for letting me hang out today!

    Tamsyn-Veil is my favorite personal series. My first and I love those guys 🙂 I got a bit behind-and Sheridan is giving me hell about it (yes, I talk to my characters)
    Next year is what I’m looking at as far as the next book. And don’t worry-Raj and Nyc will also get their turn.

    Karen-Yes, lol, there would definitely have to be some editing and even then-late night cable all the way. 🙂

  6. Hi R.G.!
    My question is how do you come up with your titles? Does it come up right at the beginning or towards the middle?

    Can’t wait to read your books.

    Count me in!

    cindyc725 at gmail dot com

  7. Great interview. Three For Me sounds good. Like the cover. 🙂

  8. I heart/cindy-
    Titles usually come early, occasionally-like with Who Wants to Date a Superhero? The title gave me the story idea of a reality television show where women competed to win a date with a superhero.
    Regina in the Sun came together all at once-I had a dream about her, I had a song for her in my head-She’s only happy in the Sun by Ben Harper-and the title was born.

    Crystal B-Thanks! Yeah, I love that cover. You can never have too much eye candy imo lol

  9. Thanks for the great interview and congrats on the release! The book sounds interesting, although I think I like the paranormals more. Will you continue to write contemps or will you go back to the paranormals?

    eva.silkka at gmail.com

  10. Three for me sounds fantastic! I will definitely be keeping my eye open for it! I am slowly (as in just loaded the first of your Children of the Goddess onto my reader) buying your backlist. It sounds like you have a wide range, and I am very excited to devour them! Question….is there a genre that you won’t write?

  11. Eva- Oh, I’m paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Sci fi all the way. It was hard to go against the grain lol, but it was kind of fun to step out of my comfort zone. In a way, its still more fantasy than reality. I mean, 3 guys. LOL

    Natasha-Yay! Genres? Paranormal, historical, cyberpunk, steampunk, scifi, fantasy, contemporary…I love them all, and wherever the characters and the story goes, I will go.
    The only one I hesitate to write is full on BDSM, because though I’m not, I know people in the lifestyle and dynamics are so important to get right.
    Not to say I don’t tie people up and spank them on a regular basis. (I never said I was innocent)

  12. Great interview. I so love your work RG! Regina in the Sun and your Superhero’s series is awesome.

  13. Hi R.G.!

    You are a new to me author as well……fantastic interview!! I’m going to go and take a peek at your site to find out more about your books…..Three For Me looks like a great book!! 🙂

  14. Pam-Flattery will get you everywhere LOL

    Blanche-Thank you! And I hope you enjoy my site!

  15. I’ve been looking for a good contemporary menage and Three For Me sounds perfect! I wants! Is this your first menage book?

  16. Lillie
    Actually there are four of them lol so I can’t really call it a menage-but I definitely have menage stories.
    I blushingly admit I have a thing for…I mean my characters have a thing for threesomes. 😉
    The second book in my Temptation Unveiled series, Piercing the Veil, is a pretty steamy menage
    The second book in my Children of the Goddess series Lux in Shadow, is a bisexual menage. (also there is some voyeurism of a bi-menage in book one)
    I have a bit of menage in book three of COG series as well, and one coming up in Midnight Falls, book 4
    (My only explanation for those kinky characters is that they’re vampires and werewolves-after a few hundred years, missionary is boring. lol)

    Oh and I’m working on a whole series of menage novellas for Samhain, the first of which I hope will be out by the year’s end.

    This is my first book that isn’t paranormal or scifantasy. It’s also my first foursome. But I definitely had fun writing it.

  17. HEllo and welcome. I read this post early this morning before going to work, but didnt have to time to comment, So im back now that work is over for the day. Thank you so much for the post today I was really excited after reading it, you are a new author to me and this interview has stuck with me most of the day. I would love to read your work.

  18. Hi, R.G.! Thanks for the interview! I’m intrigued by your latest–it sounds exciting, but potentially pretty complicated to have so many interconnections! How did you research the lifestyle? And not necessarily for this book, what’s the most interesting/strange thing you’ve seen/done in the name of research? Finally, say a leprechaun or something similar bequeaths you several million dollars–what are your plans? 🙂

  19. Sara- Well, now I hope they live up to your expectations. lol

    Fedora- Great questions 🙂 #1 It is a little complicated. Simon’s feelings for Charlie, Rafael’s for Eric, Charli’s for all of them and that fear that comes from turning a friend into a lover. But these four have been friends forever, and until I became an author and met so many like minded females, most of my friends were guys as well, so it was easier to get into Charli’s mind. In fact, I was best friends with my husband for several years before we had our “love at first sight”.

    #2 Strangest thing I’ve done in the name of research. Um, no comment. LOL

    #3 If so blessed by that Irish imp, I already have it spent with travel, homes for relatives and friends, money for my favorite charities and my husband Cookie really wants a den decorated like the helm of a starship, complete with a view screen where he can watch his scifi favorites and anything Bruce Campbell has ever been in. (Not sure if he’s serious, but it comes up everytime this question is asked lol)

  20. Three For Me sounds like a great read!
    Very nice cover.

  21. Hi R.G.
    Three for Me sounds like a fantastic read! It is definitely going on my wish list.

    I haven’t read any of your books yet, and based on your comment it appears that most of your other books that have been published lean more towards the paranormal. But I love that you wrote a straight contemporary. I’ve been kind of burned out on paranormals and love the spin off of Amazing Race in this story.

    My question is this. Why did you decide to try writing a straight contemporary when your other works fantasy/paranormal?

    I’ll definitely be looking for Three for Me!!!!!

  22. Your latest sounds naughty… I look forward to reading it!

  23. The book looks great…and I loved that you used to be a singer!! 🙂 Do you still moonlight sometimes?

    Three for Me looks AWESOME!

  24. Please count me…sounds delicious!

    My question – What was the hardest thing about writing a contemporary??

  25. Estella-Thank you!

    Booklover-Why did I write contemporary? It almost wasn’t-to be honest I was a little nervous about writing a book without some goddess or misplaced Viking or werewolf popping out to play with Charli-but in the end-the story didn’t lend itself to any magic other than romance.

    Flygirl- 🙂

    Lyoness-I am the official family wedding singer, lol and I’ve been known to gravitate to my guitar playing friends at parties. I haven’t done much singing in the past few years, and I miss it, but not as much as I’d miss writing.

    RachieG- Hardest thing- actually it wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be, and I really had fun with the side characters-Lee’s wives and the other teams in the race. I think remembering condoms and that human men are fallible would have to be my answer LOL

  26. Hi Rg, would love a chance to win your books. Have never heard of alternative archaeology but will look it up…I like achaeology, particularly Celtic which is my fave.

  27. Since I had so much fun, I picked two winners 🙂

    #1 Natasha A-will receive signed print copy of Lux in Shadow, and one ebook of choice

    #2 Sara Hurt-will receive an ebook of her choosing.

    please email me at r.g.alexander@hotmail.com with your request and/or information

    Thank you all-I had a blast!

  28. Marial-I didn’t see you until I posted 😦

    But you know I’m having another contest today-so its not too late for anyone who still wants an ebook

    alternative archaeology is woowoo to the academic community. The pieces that don’t fit into the timeline, the stuff that dreams are made of…and books 🙂

  29. Wow! Thanks so much R.G.!! I have emailed you! 😀

Leave a Reply

