• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Kari Thomas is visiting today

Kari, Thank you so much for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

K:  THANKS for the great opportunity! I am a multi-published author in the Paranormal Romance genre. At present I have five books, and I’m working on book #6 now. I live in Arizona and I’m the caregiver for my dad. Between my writing and taking care of dad, I stay BUSY! (grin)  I also do Freelance Editing for a small press publisher, and Book Reviews on my site under “Kari’s Korner Reviews”.

How long have you been writing?

K:  Actually since I was old enough to start writing! My mother was a writer too. And she taught me to read and write before I started school. And being blessed with an over-active imagination just fired the need to create my own stories. Officially, I started writing for publication about five years ago after I joined my local Romance Writers of America branch.

What is your writing process like?

K:  My writer friends shake their heads and say its CRAZY! I’m not disciplined at all. I can’t plot — it takes away my creativity. So, I’m a definite seats-of-the-pantser. I usually write very early morning while dad is at dialysis. On good writing days I can get out a couple thousand words. Then, in the afternoon I edit those pages before I finally allow myself to go online and do Promoting.

Can you tell us a little bit about your books?

K:  GRIN! Don’t get me started!  Seriously, though, they are all Paranormal Romances because it’s my favorite genre and because I absolutely love a hero who can be so sexily Alpha and still be, so incredibly loving, too. And if the “Beast” in him comes out a few times, then it’s all the more sexy!

Hunted_Mate_Cover_Small-153x234

 

HUNTED MATE (http://www.blacklyonpublishing.com/ ) has a Cat Shifter as the hero. Logan Cross owes a life debt to Wolf Prince Damien and finds himself assigned with the daunting task of bringing Damien his missing Mate. When he kidnaps her, he thinks he’s got everything under control. But he doesn’t count on having to deal with his feelings or the feisty heroine who is determined she wants him — not Damien!

 

669TU-157x215

 

TEMPTATION UNLEASHED ( http://www.mybookstoreandmore.com/ ) also has a Cat Shifter for the hero but this story is very different from the norm. Aiden Calhoun is the very perfect example of the word ALPHA. Head of his shapeshifting family, his only goal is to protect them when an Evil strikes bringing death to one of his brothers. When the heroine, a witch, comes into his life, Aiden finds himself falling in love with her.

 

kt-hhhs1-165x240

 

HER HEART HIS SOUL ( http://www.bookstrandpublishing.com/ ) is a darker paranormal, and instead of shifters, the hero is a rare being: he’s half Angel, and half Demon. He fights the battle of both his souls on a daily basis. When he has to protect the woman who holds his entire future in her hands, everything he believes in is called to explain. A battle of Good and Evil is on the horizon and Drake must protect the humans — first. Even if it means losing Sara. And his soul.

 

SeducingTheHero200x300dpi72-155x234

 

SEDUCING THE HERO ( http://www.eternalpress.ca) is actually a Novella length (also available in Print at Amazon) very sensual love story that isn’t entirely paranormal. The heroine is a kitchen witch, and there’s a “touch of magic” throughout the entire story, but the hero is a human male. Colt is an ex-detective-turned-cowboy and he takes on the assignment to protect Baylie from a dangerous stalker. With the help of her “magically blessed” animals, Baylie decides that Colt has to learn to trust love again — and fall in love with her.

PREY FOR THE WOLF (http://www.eternalpress.ca) is also Novella length and will be available in Print when it comes out in the next few months. The hero is a Wolf Shifter, very Alpha, and very determined to make sure his brother doesn’t marry the too-human woman who has come so mysteriously into their lives right when they’re facing danger from their enemies. Poor Kane doesn’t stand a chance of backing away once he meets the heroine. She’s his Lifemate. This one is VERY hot for so short a story (approx 26,000 words).

Do you have any books coming out this year?

 K:  One in the next few months —- PREY FOR THE WOLF. Then, my HER HEART HIS SOUL (already available in Ebook) will be out in Print in late August. I’m in the middle of another book, but I don’t know if I’ll finish it in time to come out this year.

What are you currently working on?

K:  Another Paranormal Romance, of course! This one is one of those books authors call “the-book-of-my-heart”, so it’s probably going to be my longest length. HER HEART HIS SOUL is the longest to date at 83,000 words. This one MIGHT be longer, but I don’t know yet! LOL!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

K:  (GRIN!) it all comes back to that way-too OVER-active imagination!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

K: I’m a professed BOOK-A-HOLIC! I own over 3,000 books in my personal library AND I buy more every week!  I love ALL romance genres. And I enjoy reading Non-Fiction as well. Some of my auto buy authors are Christine Feehan, Lora Leigh, Cheyenne McCray, Shannon Leigh, and oh soooo many more!

What books are on your keeper shelf?

K:  “Gone with the Wind” (which I read at age 10!), ALL of the JRR Tolkien “Ring” books (read during my second grade of school and have re-read a thousand times since then!), and there are others but I’d have to go check and that would distract me!

What was the first romance book you read or the first romance book that has stood the test of time?

K: Definitely “Gone with the Wind”. I’m a Southerner and that book was REAL to me!

If one of your books’ was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

K: I’ve been told — many times — that HUNTED MATE would be great for a movie. I do have a Trailer for it (see my site). Hmmm. I’d have to think about who would act in it. The characters are so special, and they’d have to be just perfect for the parts. Too bad the Model (Sean) who is on the book Cover isn’t an actor — he’s so perfect for Logan!

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

K: OH NO! That’s one of those “sneaky” questions, huh! So, I’m going to tease and say I would definitely choose the heroine from the book I’m writing now. She’s got a lot of me in her! (GRIN!)

If you were not writing, what would you be doing?

K: Not-so-quietly going insane! Honest! LOL! My life is so crazy at times I know that if I didn’t have my writing I wouldn’t survive the constant ups and downs. But, if I did have another career choice I think it would be to be an Archeologist.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

K: Sleeping! Okay, that’s not true because I’m an insomniac and have been for years. Being dad’s caregiver pretty much takes up A LOT of time otherwise.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

K: Is there any other genre you’d like me to write, or do my Paranormals keep you happy? LOL—that’s sappy isn’t it!

THANKS for having me here! You can visit my site at: http://www.authorkari.com or write me at authorkari@yahoo.com

10 Responses

  1. Hi Kari!

    Since I’m kind of a paranormal freak, lol, I’d be happy to have more please! The cover art is amazing, I love it!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Dottie 🙂

  2. Hi Kari,

    Gone with the Wind was my first as well and yeah, I think it’s a southern thang!!

    I’m with Dottie on this one. I’m a major paranormal fan and am more than happy to read more….

    Greta…I’m so glad I found this blog. I thought I had a decent TBR pile, but now, thanks to your blog, I’ve discovered some great new authors – thanks!

  3. Hi Dottie and Cyberclipper! Thanks for commenting. I’ll be on and off all day, (I take care of my dad), but will try to answer any questions.

    (Grinning here) Yeah, I love all the Covers on my books, too! Ive been very lucky to have great cover artists. On HUNTED MATE, the model is a guy named Sean who is a friend of the publisher. He is sooooo perfect for my hero Logan. And on TEMPTATION UNLEASHED, the cover artist is multi-published author Mandy Roth (aka Natalie Winters) and she did the perfect picture of the hero and heroine. I really love the cover for SEDUCING THE HERO cause the cover artist REALLY NAILED the whole story with that. And sigh, who doesnt love a nearly naked guy with angel wings (HER HEART HIS SOUL)!

  4. If you stop by my Website, I just wanted to let you know its completely updated. I had a computer crash a few weeks ago and lost all the files. Its very basic now, but hope its nice enough to get people to surf the pages!

    Im also doing a BOGOF deal. Buy one of my books and get a FREE PDF copy of another with Proof Of Purchase Receipt.

    Take a look when you get the chance! http://www.authorkari.com

  5. Paranormal is my favorite genre. Bring em’ on!

  6. Nice interview. Paranormals have definitely been keeping me happy for a while now. If you keep them coming, I’ll keep reading them.

  7. Great interview! Love paranormals, can’t get enough of them!

  8. Hi Kari!! I remember one of your books when it was at the other pub! Did you change or add to it from it being published before? I love paranormals and the more the merrier! I love how you are a pure book-alcoholic as we are, LOL I love to read alot of vamps and werewolves and the like. I never get bored of them because each is unique of what the author writes you know. Great to read your interview! Fun too!

  9. Kari as a care giver myself I know how busy you can get, I can’t imagine how you find the time and energy to write so many great stories, but please continue to do so because I love paranormals, they keep me sane whilst I cope with a mad, mad world 😀

  10. THANKS so much for all the comments, everyone! I just wanted to let you know that I also have a mailing list —where I send ONLY updates or news —so its not often —where you can sign up, if you’d like to know more about my books. Just email at: authorkari@yahoo.com

    THANKS again!
    hugs, Kari

Leave a Reply

