• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Karin Tabke

MOCFinal

Karin, Thank you so much for agreeing to be a guest on my blog. 

Greta thank you for inviting me!!!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself? 

My life is crazy, and I love it!  The most exciting thing for me right now is my soon-to-be grandmahood.  We just found out my daughter is having a little girl.  I am so excited, I can’t stand it!

How long have you been writing? 

I’ve always written.  I wrote my first romance in high school.  I had a mad crush on Rod Stewart and writing our love story was my way of getting my man!  Sigh.  The thrill of writing that story was so engulfing, I found I had to do it again and again!  Here I am, many years later still writing passionate love stories that make me sigh.

What is your writing process like? 

I’m a panster. But I always begin a story knowing who my hero and heroine are, what they want, and how far they will go to get it.  It’s easy from there.  J  Then I write daily.  Sometimes in the wee hours of the night.  Sometimes during the day.  But I write daily, except weekends.

Can you tell us about your newest release Master of Craving?

 It’s the third book in my Blood Sword Legacy series.  I love writing stories in this time period. Men were men and women were women and the tempestuous backdrop makes for exciting conflict. 

Here’s a blurb that explains who the Blood Swords are, and the last paragraph is about MASTER OF CRAVING specifically.

The Blood Sword Legacy

Eight mercenary knights, each of them base born, each of them bound by unspeakable torture in a Saracen prison, each of them branded with the mark of the sword for life. Each of their destinies marked by a woman.

‘Twas whispered along the Marches the demon knights who rode upon black horses donned in black mail wielding black swords would slay any man, woman or child who dared look upon them. ‘Twas whispered their loyalty was only to the other and no man could split them asunder, nor was there enough gold or silver in the kingdom to buy their oath. ‘Twas well known each of them was touched not by the hand of God but by Lucifer himself.

‘Twas also whispered, but only by the bravest of souls, that each Blood Sword was destined to find only one woman in all of Christendom who would bear him and only him sons, and until that one woman was found, he would battle and ravage the land…

…but the darkest secret whispered was that there was one among them whose violent craving for the one woman he could not have would be the spark that would set an entire region on fire, and nearly bring down a kingdom, with the aftermath to be felt for the next thousand years.

Will there be any more books in the series? 

There are eight Blood Sword knights.  Book four is contracted, and I hope my readers love the books enough to convince my editor to buy the four remaining stories.  J  In a nutshell?  The sales of the books already out need to support Simon & Schuster to buy more!

Do you have any other books coming out this year? 

Not this year, MASTER OF CRAVING just released, but next year I have the first book in the L.O.S.T. Last Option Special Team series, due to hit the shelves in June.  I LOVE this series.  It’s dark, edgy, sexier than hell and no holds barred. I think a lot of people are going to be scintillatingly shocked when they read book one.

What are you currently working on? 

My first L.O.S.T. book. And I’m loving it.  It’s one of those books where the hero and heroine just pop and the chemistry is palpable.  I love when that happens!

Where do you get your ideas for your books? 

My characters come to me first, then their story.  Although MASTER OF TORMENT, book two in the Blood Sword Legacy series is based on an actual event back in the day.  A Viking princes got stood up at the altar, so she hired an army, hunted down her betrothed and, well, he didn’t live too much longer.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors? 

I love Linda Howard.  LOVE her.  I like the old Anita Mills historicals too. And I like the old Brenda Joyce medievals. Basically I love reading authors who let their characters be human.  Layered and have a dark side they wrestle with and sometimes lose to.  The perfect fa la la la fluff doesn’t float my boat.

What books are on your keeper shelf? 

Gone With the Wind.  The Flame and the Flower, The Wolf and the Dove.  Mr. Perfect.  To Kill a Mockingbird. The Conqueror.

What was the first romance book you read or the first romance book that has stood the test of time?

I remember vividly.  The Wolf and the Dove.  My girlfriend gave it to me in eighth grade.  I was never the same.

If one of your books’ was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Contemp?  JADED.  Angelina Joile would play Jade. But with black hair and jade colored eyes.  Jade is a smoldering femme fatal who men cannot resist but who is cold as ice.  She has a lot to hide.  For the hero Jase Vaughn?  Be still my heart.  He is so damn hawt!  When they  meet the air goes up in flames around them.  Hmm who would play Jase????  He would have to be tall, dark, handsome as sin, and cynical as hell.  He has that smile that makes women puddle.  I’d say a darker-haired more intense Hugh Jackman.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Any one of my heroines!  And do your really have to ask why?  Just read one of my books!!!

If you were not writing, what would you be doing?  

Writing.  Seriously.  I can’t not write.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Hanging out with my hubby, my kids of my gfs.  I really enjoy my family, and my girlfriends are the best.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

How would you describe that instant when you fall in love? 🙂

I also wanted to share some news.  To celebrate the release of MASTER OF CRAVING, my publisher Simon & Schuster has released A KNIGHT TO REMEMBER, as short story as a free read.  Click on the link and check it out!

A KNIGHT TO REMEMBER Free Read!
http://www.simonandschuster.com/giveaways/karin-tabke-free-download

And feel free to stop by my website http://www.karintabke.com/.  My blog The Write Life is always a lot of fun.  I twitter karintabke  I’m on Facebook as Karin Tabke and Myspace under Karin Tabke.  I’m everywhere!   Don’t be shy, say hello!  I’d also like to give a signed copy of MASTER OF SURRENDER, book one in the Blood Sword Legacy to a lucky commenter today!

Thanks again Greta for inviting me to hang with you today!

Karin*

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Master of Surrender by Karin Tabke. Good Luck!***

46 Responses

  1. Just thought I’d stop by and gush. The Blood Sword Legacy series is awesome. I just finished Master of Craving and… Well… WOW.

    The instant when I fell in love? I saw him across a semi-crowded baggage claim, and it was like all the air was sucked out of the room. Then he looked up at me, and I was done for. I wanted to run and jump into his arms, but since we hadn’t really met in person before, I waited until we got to the parking lot. We celebrated our 5th anniversary in May. =o)

  2. Hi Karin! I love your Blood Sword series. I haven’t read Master of Craving just yet, but I have it. I actually just did a series spotlight on Monday on my blog for your series. There aren’t too many Medieval Romances out there, so it’s nice to have this one and it’s a good one :)! I love how the heroes in the first two books so far don’t let their past interfere with wanting their women. There is no inner turmoil getting in the way, causing them to wonder if they are worthy or not! Love it!

  3. Hello Karin,

    Thank you for the interview. I have not read your Blood Sword series – but after this interview I have put you on my ‘TBR” list. 🙂

    Best to you.

    Michelle Greathouse

  4. Love the Blood Sword books, so I hope S&S buy the other 4, but I can’t wait for the L.O.S.T. books. If they are considered more scintillating than some of your other books, then they may be too hot to handle 🙂 This is the first I have heard of them, and am eager to find out more!

  5. Hi Karin. Great interview. Master of Craving sounds wonderful. Love the cover. 🙂

  6. Hi 🙂
    These books look great, I just found out about them and yummiest covers ever. Would love to read some

  7. Hi Karen and Greta!

    Great interview. I read about your books at Amy’s blog the other day and they sound wonderful.

    I’ve added them to my list, but please enter me in the draw!

    The cover art is fabulous. 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Lea

  8. Great cover.The books sounds great.Please enter me in the giveaway

  9. Hi Karen,
    It is a very nice, tempting cover. And needless to say, I love medievel romance. It all started with Catherine Coulter’s Song Series and Moning’s Highlander travel series. I’ll be sure to add Master of Craving to my list. Thanks again.

  10. Looking forward to your new series – sounds Awesome.

  11. I love medieval romances and I’m happy to hear you’ll write about all the eight knights!
    This new series of yours sound interesting, I’ll add it to my TBB list!

  12. Hello, Ms Tabke!

    I love the time period that this series is set on–I hope they do very very well indeed so you can get the other four out for us!

  13. Chistian Bale would make a great Jase

  14. Morning, ladies! I um, slept in. But I have coffee in hand and am raring to go.

    Beth, thank you for your kind words. You are such a support. I love your love at first sight story! Sigh.

    Hey, Amy, thanks for the spotlight! I’m sorry I missed it. 😦 would you post your link?

    Hi, Michelle, the interview was my pleasure. And thank you again Greta for the invite!

  15. Mornin, Booklover. I hope S&S hangs in there and buys the remaining four books as well. I LOVE writing them. As far as L.O.S.T. goes, I can’t wait to pounce on the first story. Those characters keep calling to me to get back to it!

    Hi, Crystal B. I love the CRAVING cover too. I’m not sure if it’s my fave or not. Coz I love the MASTER OF TORMENT cover too.

    Blodeudd, you can thank my editor for those sexy covers. She was very specific with the art department. And they delivered in spades!

  16. Hi, Lea! You’re automatically entered in the drawing coz you commented! I hope you enjoy the series.

    EJG. You are entered!

    Hi, Armenia, I agree about the tempting cover. Makes you think of naughty things. 🙂 I’ve met Catherine Coulter several times. Fabulous writer, fab fab fab lady!

    Hope you enjoy, Leanne!

  17. Hi, Eva, I love medievals too! They are so dramatic. The conflict is epic.

    Hello back atcha, AztecLady. I love the period too! And I’m with you on the series doing well. Keep your fingers crossed for me and the boys!

  18. Great interview. I haven’t read the Blood sword series yet but have heard great things about it. Can’t wait to read Master of surrender. I have really enjoyed your other books especially Good girl gone bad.

  19. I didn’t think to leave a link. Thanks for wanting to check it out :).

    http://romancebookwyrm.blogspot.com/2009/06/series-spotlight-blood-sword-legacy-by.html

  20. I’ve been incredibly interested in reading your books since I seen a couple on-line. Just never really had the extra book money to take the chance. I need to remedy that since I had someone on facebook highly recommend you.

    Hopefully the next time my hubs lets me pick out a book, I’ll pick yours up.

  21. Great interview. Unfortunately I have now got yet another load of books to add to my wishlist.

    *wonder how far my book budget will stretch*

  22. Hi Karin, loved the free read and can’t wait to start this series.

  23. I haven’t read this series yet. Sounds great!

  24. Thanks for the interview. I now have more books to put on my WishList!

  25. I love the cover. I haven’t read these yet but I am always adding to my wish list. I will add this series.

    I am definitely going to check out the free short story when I get home. My lovely work computer won’t let me download it.

  26. Congratulations Karin on the book and then new grandbaby.

  27. great interview!

  28. Delitealex, GGGB was my first single title! Phil and Ty have a special place in my heart. 🙂 I hope you enjoy the Blood Swords as much.

    Thank you Amy! Wow, what a nice write up. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you spotlighting the series.

    Raonaid, I’d like to think when you have a few extra bucks, picking up one of my books will be money well spent! 😉

  29. Ilona, I hear you on the book budget! Just when I think I have it under control, another author tugs at it. Sigh. But I love to read!

    Cathy, so glad you enjoyed A KNIGHT TO REMEMBER!

    Lillie, I love the series. I hope you pick up one or two books and love reading it as much as I love writing it!

  30. Estella, thanks for stopping by!

    Hi, Heather, I love the cover too! Enjoy A KNIGHT TO REMEMBER!

    Maureen thank you! I am so excited!!!

  31. How is it I have yet to read this series? Lord help me!

  32. Hi Karin,

    Congrats on your newest release. I have yet to read this wonderful looking series. I have the books down on my wishlist.

    Also congrats on the newest addition to the family :).

  33. I just downloaded it and can’t wait to read it. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  34. Oh wow – I can’t wait to read your series!!!

  35. Master of Craving sounds great! Great interview!

  36. Congrats on you new release! Master of Craving sounds great.

  37. I haven’t read your series yet, but I’m going to. The interview and seeing it around on so many blogs has worn me down.

  38. I just wanted to butt in and say hi! I have MASTER OF SURRENDER right here to read and its coming up soon! I’m so in love with reading historicals and my favorites are Medieval, Regency, Victorian, Georgian and western! I’m sure there may be more in this setting. There’s not much out with Medieval so I’ve been very excited about this series! I read the booklet on MASTER OF CRAVING and I was pulled right in! Thanks for more of a peek into in Karin!

  39. suzette, I have no idea! 🙂

    Hi, Pam! Thank you, thank you.

    Enjoy, Heather.

    Amy, thanks for stopping by.

  40. Rachel, let me know how you like the stories!

    Thank you, Marie!

    Yay! It worked. We wore Sue down. 🙂

    Hey, Caffey girl. Butt in whenever and wherever you like! And let me know how you like SURRENDER.

  41. Hi Karin,

    You are a new-to-me author and after reading this interview and seeing the cover of this book…I gotta have it! Putting it on my BTB list!

  42. Hi, Karin! Yay! I’m glad to hear book 4’s in the works, and I definitely hope they’ll pick up the rest of the 8. Each of these heroes needs to have his story told!

    As for the moment I fell in love? I’m not sure it was one instant for me, but a bunch of little “whoa” moments when I recognized what a thoughtful, considerate, sexy man he is… it all added up 🙂

  43. Hi, Karen in NC! I hope you do put a Blood Sword book or two on your BTB list! Thank you in advance.

    Hi, Fedora. I like lots of whoa moments. I still have them with my hubby! 🙂

    Greta? Would you do the honor and pick a winner? 🙂

  44. Hi Karin!

    I’ve heard so many good thing about Master of Craving, your whole series actually. Can’t wait to give it a try.

    Thanks!

    Dottie

  45. Karin, you have GREAT taste in men! I STILL have a wild crush on Rod Stewart!

  46. Hi Karin!

    I love your interview. I haven’t read your Blood Sword series yet, but after this interview I put it on my TBR list. And I just looooveee the covers 🙂

Leave a Reply

