• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

My guest today is Mari Carr

Mari, Thank you so much for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I like to joke that I have two careers nowadays. Writing started out as a hobby that seems to have gone a bit beyond what I’d intended. In my real life, I’m a high school librarian and mother of two teenagers. In my fun life, I write erotic romance books!

How long have you been writing?

I’ve actually written off and on for my entire life. I love writing. It’s a stress reliever for me, sort of the equivalent to doing crosswords or sudoku puzzles for other folks, I suppose. I had an epiphany on my thirty-fourth birthday when I realized I wasn’t really working toward the one goal I’d always held on to-writing a book. I sat down and wrote No Recourse, gave it to some friends who offered suggestions and encouragement. Then I sat down to write another book. After I completed my third book, Erotic Research, I thought it might be cool to try to get it published. An editor at Samhain read it, liked it and offered me a contract. The rest as they say is history!

What is your writing process like?

I just sit down and write. Seriously. Sometimes I see a scene in my head and I start there. Sometimes one line will pop into my head and I just write it down and things start to happen. I learned recently on another blog that I am what is called a pantser (what a funny term). Basically it just means I fly by the seat of my pants-story of my life!

sugar-and-spiceCan you tell us about your latest release and your next release?

My latest Ellora’s Cave release, Sugar and Spice is one of those stories that started with one line that just sat on my computer for awhile. Funny enough it became the first line of the book. “Hey there, baby. What do you have sweet in those drawers for me today?” It’s a fun book and I wrote it very quickly-took me less than two weeks. I love friends to lovers stories and this follows that theme. My next release is the sequel to Sugar and Spice, Everything Nice and it will hit the virtual shelves on June 3. It’s also my first foray into m/m/f and it started as a bit of a dare from the girls in my writing circle.

What are you currently working on?

Honestly? Nothing. I’m currently planning a junior prom! Actually, I was dared (by my writing circle again-those girls are tenacious) to write a shifter story. I’ve written about five pages and it’s sort of snowballing in my head into a series of books! Unfortunately, time is not on my side! I will definitely tackle these stories this summer when I’m OUT of school-yay!

I know you primarily write contemporary erotic romances and erotic romance with mΓ©nages, do you write in any other romance sub-genres or do you have plans to do so?

YES-what a great question and it leads me to my exciting news! Remember those very first books I mentioned writing after my mini-midlife crisis at 34? Well, they’ve been contracted by Liquid Silver. They are time-travel stories in which two modern day women are transported back to Regency England-dukes and earls and ball, oh my! They were a great deal of fun to write and I hope folks will enjoy them. And not to worry-there is still plenty of steamy sex in them!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Everywhere! I may hear a line or a brief story and before you know it, there’s a story flowing. Sugar and Spice started when a woman on a yahoo group told us about her boss stealing candy from her desk drawer. Everything Nice evolved from a conversation with my friend and fellow author, Jambrea Jo Jones. She’s an avid m/m fan and she’s the one who really dared me to try to write it.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I read voraciously. Love, love, love to read. My auto-buy authors include–but are not limited to–Lora Leigh, Larissa Ione, Diana Hunter, Diana Gabaldon, Emma Holly, Cheyenne McCray. I could actually go on and on!

What books are on your keeper shelf?

You’ll probably laugh, but as I mentioned I’m a high school librarian. My keeper shelf includes the entire Harry Potter, Twilight and Pullman’s Dark Materials series (can’t tell you how many times I’ve read those). I also have every Diana Gabaldon book from the Outlander series-I’m seriously in love with Jamie. Romance-wise, I have quite a few favorite books from lots of different authors-Robin Schone, Lisa Kleypas, Iris Johansson, Catherine Coulter.

What was the first romance book you read or the first romance book that has stood the test of time?

The first romance book I read was probably Judy Blume’s Forever. My mother gave it to me one summer in what I’m sure she thought was “an inspired parenting moment.” I read the thing in one day-loved it! As soon as I finished my mom asked me what I learned from it. I told her I learned that if you really love someone, it’s okay to have sex. Her response was, “No! You learned that you should wait until after marriage.” Needless to say, my mother never gave me another book!

If one of your books’ was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Oh wow! What an awesome question. Hmmm…probably Erotic Research. It was my first published book and is very near and dear to my heart. I sort of see Gerard Butler as Ross, but that’s probably because I LOVE Gerard and would pay big bucks to see him in anything…or better yet, nothing! As Julia-how about Jordanna Brewster or Ginnifer Goodwin? They’re both cute and funny with a definite sex kitten edge!

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Kylie from Tequila Truth. Um…hello-Heath AND Colt are both in love with her and they are willing to share. Oh yeah!

If you were not writing, what would you be doing?

Truthfully, what I’m doing. Being a high school librarian is the greatest job on earth and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I cannot tell you how fortunate I feel to be able to do the two things I love most in the world-write and work with teenagers.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

My mother and I run. My daughter and I watch American Idol-we’re ridiculously addicted to it. My kids and I play rummy-gets a bit cutthroat. My family and I travel quite extensively in the summer. We’re about to take the train cross country in August and I can’t wait!

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

Which of my books is your favorite and why?

***Mari is giving away a download book from her backlist. Leave a comment and answer Mari’s question for to be entered. Good Luck***

To find out more about Mari Carr and her books you can visit her at her website: http://maricarr.com/

20 Responses

  1. […] I’m being interviewed today on the I Do Not Want to Wait, I Want The Book Now blog. I hope you’ll take a few minutes to stop by and visit. If you leave a comment and answer […]

  2. Well, I have only read Tequila Truth and Sugar and Spice. Both are great. I think I have to go with Tequila though πŸ™‚ It being my first! It was a fun read and I love menage.
    Thanks for the interview!

  3. OH! AND Thanks for helping break the stereotype!! I’m a college library clerk, but I am in school for my library technicians! (I think we are a bit different in Canada, with how it all works) I love that librarians are beginning to lose the type casting!! πŸ˜€

  4. I haven’t read any of your books… yet, so I don’t have have a favorite… yet. πŸ™‚

  5. You ask the impossible. How can you pick just ONE Mari Carr book! They ALL rock! πŸ™‚

    And your m/m/f…you need to write more. πŸ˜‰

    Great interview!

    *ps Please don’t enter me in the contest*

  6. Hi! Like the interview. Favourite book for me would be Kiss me Kate. Good luck with your coming soon books.

  7. I agree with Jambrea – all of Mari’s books ROCK!

    And a great big YAY!!!! on the shifters! I’ve had the priviledge of reading several pages of it and – oh my goodness – is it good! *swoon*

    Valerie
    πŸ˜€
    *don’t enter me in the contest either… I have all of Mari’s books.

  8. I have to say Sugar and Spice because it’s the only one I’ve read so far.

  9. I haven’t read her books yet. But I checked her website and found some interesting books (especially Erotic Research, Retreat, Sugar and Spice). I really have to give her books a try sometime!

  10. Loved your interview Mari, and I love your books. I hope you have more coming soon.

    My top 3 are Erotic Research, Kiss me Kate, and Tequilla Truth.

    If I have to choose just one it would be Erotic Research.

    Sandie

  11. Great interview, Mari. I’ve only read Erotic Research so far, and hope to get a couple of your EC titles this weekend.

  12. I can’t just pick one! I loved the idea behind Tequilla Truth (we all know that tequilla can cause us to speak our minds) but I liked the innocence in Erotic Research! Loved them both!!

  13. My favorite is Tequila Truth, because it’s the only one I’ve read so far πŸ™‚ I love a good menage story and this one was great! Now I’m going back to daydreaming about Gerard wearing nothing. Thanks for that visual!

  14. I haven’t read any of her books yet. But after looking at some of her books, I’m going to have to get me some now.

  15. Mari, I haven’t read any of your books, yet. I checked out your site and saw that Erotic Research was an Eppie Finalist and that it will be in print in August. Congrats. It sounds like a really great read. I’ve added Erotic Research and Sugar and Spice to my I-Want-That-Book list.

  16. Don’t put me in because I have all of Mari’s books but you’re in for a huge treat reading these! She’s one of an autobuy!

  17. Nice interview. I really enjoyed reading all of your answers, Mari, and learning more about your process and your new release. As I’ve only read Erotic Research so far, that would have to be my favorite book by you. However, I am looking forward to reading more of your books.

  18. I love all of your books that I’ve read so far. Still need to read Sugar and Spice, but I’m sure I will love it too. If I have to pick one it would be Erotic Research.

  19. I don’t think I’ve had the pleasure of reading any of Mari’s books yet–I admit I’m most curious to read Retreat and Covert Lessons, partly because they’re connected stories (love that!) and partly because I went to a Lowell High–I imagine I had a far different experience then πŸ˜‰

  20. I confess to not having read any of your books, but I’m always excited to meet a fellow librarian! πŸ™‚ After reading this interview, I plan to check out your work.

Leave a Reply

