• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

My guest today is Patricia Rosemoor

rescuing-the-virgin

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I’m a full time fiction writer and a part time teacher and volunteer.  I quit another career more than 20 years ago to write full time. I was supervisor of television production at a community college when I sold my first book, and remained a double career person for five years before sheer exhaustion made me choose. I’m a real people person, though, and so eventually I couldn’t just write-way too solitary. For years I wrote with a partner for various publishers in addition to writing my own novels for Harlequin Intrigue. She eventually chose a different path. So I began teaching, first adult ed classes, then in the Fiction Writing Department at Columbia College Chicago. I also started volunteering at Lincoln Park Zoo. Last year, I decided to volunteer at PAWS Chicago where I could play with the kitties to socialize them. Just recently I started the Master Gardner Program. And last summer I became started the Novelists, Inc. Blog. As BlogMistress, I make sure we have industry guests every Wednesday and I’m the one who posts their blogs.  So I keep myself pretty busy.

How long have you been writing?

I started in 1978, quit within the year, then started again within another year. I spent 1982-83 determined to do everything possible to get published-I basically started my second career then. I gave myself one year of insanity and sold my first book one week short of my goal in the summer of 1983, after winning The Golden Heart for Best YA. I just finished my 85th book.

What is your writing process like?

It’s changed over the years. I now have less time to write since I not only teach but volunteer and work with a personal trainer. It seems harder than it used to be to figure out where I want my story to go. For example, if an Intrigue takes me three months to write, I fight with myself for the first two months trying to find the story (that is, internal conflicts for H/h that deepen the story) and then write half the book in the final month.

Can you tell us about your new release Rescuing The Virgin?

RESCUING THE VIRGIN is the last book in the original The McKenna Legacy series. It’s about two people who were both human trafficked. The hero when he was working undercover (he’s an ICE agent—Immigrations and Customs Enforcement). The heroine when she was trying to find her half-brother, also human-trafficked. Despite the fact that she’s 28, she’s a virgin and will bring a high price in the bordello she’s brought to. The hero, working undercover again to bring down the leader of the human trafficking ring, goes to the bordello to get himself a virgin—he figures he can convince a young girl to be a witness for him.

 

I know you write romantic mysteries for Harlequin Intrigue, do you write in any other genre or sub-romance genre?

In the past, with my first writing partner, I wrote romantic comedy, paranormal, and historical thrillers. Since then, I’ve added a paranormal element to my Intrigues. The McKennas all have some form of psychic ability. I also had published one Bombshell and wrote another that didn’t get published because the line folded-they were urban fantasy with a romantic subplot.  So a couple of years ago, I decided to take a chance with another partnership. Marc Paoletti was a grad student who took my classes and then became a friend. He writes hard core suspense and horror. So we combined our similar yet different interests and wrote THE LAST VAMPIRE and THE VAMPIRE AGENT, which we sold to Del Rey.

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

In August, as part of Harlequin Intrigue’s 25th Anniversary, readers will be introduced to another branch of the McKennas in The McKenna Legacy: Family Secrets. STEALING THUNDER is the first story. The hero is Tiernan McKenna-he and his brother were introduced in IN NAME ONLY? last year. All the McKennas have psychic abilities and will run into some challenging paranormal situations.

What are you currently working on?

At the moment, I’m learning how to take a break from writing, something I’ve wanted to do for a while. Last year, I wrote 3 Intrigues, half a Del Rey, two short stories and rewrote a mainstream suspense proposal. That’s in addition to teaching two college level classes, being in charge of the Novelists Inc. Blog, plus volunteering at both the Zoo and PAWS. I needed to catch up with so many non-writing things, that I decided to finally take a couple months. That’s in addition to teaching a four hour class and starting the Master Gardner program-a six hour class per week. I figure I have another week or two before I write the proposal for my next McKenna book, which Declan’s story set in New Orleans. I’m also world-building for a new romantic urban fantasy series.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

I used to say from everywhere, but ideas don’t come as fast as they used to. I’m not sure why, but I suspect it’s because I’m more demanding of myself. I want any idea I develop to be really interesting with deep characterization, complex relationships and unusual plots. The stories I write now are more challenging than the ones I did a decade ago. As a tip, I always suggest new writers keep copies of every article they find interesting, no matter why. You never know when looking through those old articles will spark a story.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading?

At the moment, I’m reading for the Rita. Other than that, in the winter, I’m an avid wannabe reader. My eyes don’t hold up, so I can’t read at night anymore. I do most of my reading in the warmer months out on my patio in the shade. I’ve always loved unusual suspense stories, both with or without romance. Now I’ve gotten into urban fantasy. At the moment, I’m reading for the Rita. And I’m always looking for new novels for the college classes I teach.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Too many to number.  I have my favorite romantic suspense novels, of course, suspense and thrillers, urban fantasy. And tons of books bought for research–  however now I rely more on the Internet and less on books for research. What a fabulous tool. Google makes a writer’s reach so much greater.

What was the first romance book you read?

Double Date by Rosemary du Jardin. I was seven and in third grade, and I’d finished my work, so I was reading it in class. The nun confiscated it so she could check it out – it was after all, a “Senior” book (7th grade) and couldn’t believe I got it on my own. The first adult romance I read was Mistress of Mellyn, the first Victoria Holt gothic romance. I was 12, babysitting, and the book was broken up into several issues of a woman’s magazines. After that, I read every gothic I could get my hands on.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Actually Leo DeCaprio’s company was interested in THE LAST VAMPIRE. Marc and I had our hopes up. Leo would have made a great Scott.  Alas, it was but a dream.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Are you kidding? With the stuff I put my characters through-I would have to be a masochist.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Gardening. I have a fabulous retreat rather than a “back yard.” Playing with the abandoned kitties at PAWS. Luckily most of them aren’t there long-about three thousand cats and dogs were adopted out last year.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

When you read my books, what speaks to you? As an author, it’s always great to get validation, and it’s always interesting to know exactly what it is readers like about my books. We authors are an insecure lot. We’re always worried we’ve already written our best book and now the current book doesn’t measure up.

To find out more about Patricia Rosemoor and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.patriciarosemoor.com/

8 Responses

  1. 85 books?! Wow! That’s amazing 🙂

    I haven’t read any Harlequins for a while now, but Fake I.D Wife and VIP Protector are on my keepers shelf. I love, love, love them! I’m not sure what it was exactly that spoke to me with those but the characters and their stories stayed in my mind long after I read the last page

  2. Lillie —

    Glad you found a few you love. I’m always trying new things, but it’s still always hard to tell what will draw readers. I try to keep myself interested and amused and challenged and hope that readers appreciate that.

    Patricia

  3. Congratulations on your perserverance and success! Looked at your books at your site. Lots of them sound really good!! The Desparado and In Name Only especially like reads I would enjoy! I have started sending my own “review” to the author when I finish a book to give them reader feedback. I love action and humor in books… and of course good tension between the hero and heroine and a HEA.

  4. Hi Patricia. Nice meeting you!
    You say this is the last in the original The McKenna Legacy series. How many before this? In original do you mean you’ll now have an spin off series from these? Or these part of a multi- author series? Sorry on so many questions!! I would hate to miss some, these sound so good! I do recall reading of yours that you wrote with two other authors,BOYS IN BLUE, and too write a book here and there of yours that I was able to get. I see I missed LOTS! Its so great to meet you more and see all you have done!

    Oh neat on the Del Rey books. I didn’t know you got those out from the Bombshell series you started! I shall be looking for these! Are they romance?

  5. Martha and Caffey —

    Thanks for the interest in my novels.

    The McKenna Legacy was a series about 9 siblings/cousins. The covers are all on my website, a few in the “Books” section, the rest in Backlist (there’s a link from Books). Starting in August, I’ll be following a new branch of the family in The McKenna Legacy: Family Secrets.

    The Del Rey books and the Bombshell I wrote aren’t connected. But they all are Urban Fantasy. Both also have a romantic subplot. Be aware the Del Rey books are scary — or so one of my friends has told me (she said she had to keep the lights on….)

    Patricia

  6. […] Patricia Rosemoor, author of Rescuing the Virgin, by I Don’t Want to Wait, I Want the Book Now […]

  7. Thanks for filling me in Patricia! I usually don’t read books out of order but I probably will if can’t find the others. The McKenna Legacy sounds so good! I love Urban Fantasy! but not Horror. LOL. I’m a wimp but love my vamps and all.

  8. […] Patricia Rosemoor, author of Rescuing the Virgin, by I Don’t Want to Wait, I Want the Book Now […]

Leave a Reply

