• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please welcome Elle James

 baby-bling1

Elle, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Hi I’m Elle James. I write murder/mystery/romances for Harlequin Intrigue. Gee I feel like I’m at an AA meeting. LOL

How long have you been writing?

My sister, Delilah Devlin, and I began our writing journey at the turn of the century. Makes us sound old when you say it like that. Has it really been 9 years since then? Wow!

What is your writing process like?

I might begin with a great title and build a book around it or begin with the germ of an idea gleaned from a newspaper article. Or my editor might say write a book about a cowboy billionaire and his pregnant secretary. Then the fun begins!

Can you tell us about your latest release Baby Bling?

Actually, Baby Bling began just like that. My editor invited me to be a part of a four-book continuity called Diamonds and Daddies. The group of authors got to build the “bible” for the stories with very little details to go on. We each knew the very fundamentals of our hero and heroine and that the stories would take place in Texas. Mine was the billionaire cowboy shipping tycoon and the pregnant secretary. The authors got together online and dreamed up the Aggie-Four a group of four men who scraped their way to the top.

Here’s the blurb:

Shipping tycoon Jackson Champion hadn’t become a Texas billionaire by crumbling under pressure. So when his sexy assistant, Ysabel Sanchez, decided to walk away from him and his mega-successful corporation, he wasn’t taking no for an answer. After all, memories of their recent one-night stand had consumed him, and now Ysabel’s inability to meet his eye made him wonder what she wasn’t telling him. But exploring their feelings had to wait. An unknown enemy intended to bring down Champion Shipping, and Jackson was an expert at protecting what was his. But could he also lay claim to Ysabel and the secrets she had yet to reveal?

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

I have two more Harlequin Intrigues coming out this year:

  • An Unexpected Clue releases in Sep 09
  • Operation XOXO releases in Dec 09

What are you currently working on?

I’m working on my March 2010 book. It’s a bodyguard story. I don’t have a title for it yet and I’m just starting. Oh the fear of the blank page!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

I get ideas from just about everywhere! Newspaper articles, television news, brainstorming with my sister and writer friends, a great title, an overheard conversation. The imagination knows no limits.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I am an avid reader. I love anything by Jennifer Cruisie, Debra Webb, Jordan Dane, Allison Brennan, Lisa Jackson, Delilah Devlin, Brenda Novak and Michael Crichton.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Michael Crichton and research books. There are so many books out there to read, I don’t have time to reread!

Do you read books other than romance books?

Yes, I love reading YA, mainstream thrillers, some sci-fi.

What was the first romance book you read?

I can’t name a specific book. I remember curling up on a summer day reading Harlequin romances that my mother brought home from the library. I couldn’t read enough!

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Baby Bling (with a different title) would make a great action adventure movie, lots of explosions and danger! Eva Mendez would make a great Ysabel and Daniel Craig would make a great Jackson Champion.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Wow, I wouldn’t trade my life for any one of my characters. I love writing!

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I’m enjoying the last couple of years with my teenage daughter before she goes off to college. Okay, enjoy is relative. I live vicariously through her drama-queen life. It’s fun! Oh to be sixteen again! No way! I love spending time with my two muses-Chewy the Yorkie and Sweetpea, the Malti-poo. And when I’m not writing, I’m helping out at the machine shop my husband and I own.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

What would you like to see more of in a Harlequin Intrigue?

For more information on Elle James and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.ellejames.com/

9 Responses

  1. I don’t know that I’ve ever read an Intrigue but I love your cover. Something about a manly man holding a helpless baby just gets my heart.

  2. Another great interview! I really enjoy Harlequin Intrigues, so I’ll be sure to look for this one!

  3. I’m not sure what I’d like to see more of with Intrigue since I haven’t read one in a few years, LOL. Just last month I started reading Harlequin again, and I realized how much I really missed them. I’ll have to keep an eye out for this one. Great interview!

  4. Hi Elle! I’ve enjoyed those few Intrigues of yours I’ve been able to get since I discovered yours! My favorite being BENEATH A TEXAS MOON. I was so glad to be able to later find that one!

    I’d love to see more Gothic within the Intrigues, too maybe that included with historical or time travel? I know some other lines do it but with the great intensity of the romance and suspense! I so enjoy of course cowboys, bounty hunters, sheriffs, body guards, SEALs, PI’s!

  5. Great interview! Friends to lovers stories or second chance love stories.

  6. I’ve only read a few Intrigue books so I think I’d like to see more that pull me in when I read the backs. Not sure how that would work but I do know when I read the back of yours it went in my TBB book.

  7. Hi Lisa, Yeah, the cover is eye-catching isn’t it. Love a man who can hold a baby and look terrified!

    Thanks, Cynthia. Baby Bling is one of a 4-book series. We had fun pulling it together. I’m honored to be among some wonderful authors in the series.

    Lillie, We live such busy lives, I love reading a book captures my attention from page one and doesn’t let go until I finish.

    Hi Caffey!!! I loved writing Beneath the Texas Moon! It was a great paranormal with a wicked villain!

    Amy, I’m kind of partial to the friends to lover stories as well.

    Great Brandy! I hope you like Baby Bling. I was so action-packed, the words flew onto the computer!

  8. I like Intrigue as quick reads with good action! I like bodyguards… since you mentioned your WIP! Thanks for sharing today!

  9. Hi MarthaE, I like a quick read as well. And bodyguards are so hunky!

Leave a Reply

