• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Jaci Burton talks Harleys & Riding On Instinct

riding-on-instinct-033009

I get asked a lot about where I get ideas for books I write. And the Wild Riders series of bad biker boys on Harleys who work undercover for the government are no exception. They’re definitely a unique breed, so I do get asked about this series, and where I came up with the idea to write about them.

Well, here’s the thing-my husband is a Harley rider from way back. He’s owned and ridden Harleys pretty much his entire life. Me? Not so much. I always thought motorcycles were sexy as hell. But riding them? Only in my dreams. Oh I got on one or two in my younger days (we’re assuming I’m no longer in my younger days here, folks), took a quick ride with some guy I was dating. That was it.

So a few years ago my husband and I decided it was time to own a Harley again. And my first thought was-oooh, research! I was game, I was stoked, I was ready to hop on the back of the bike with metaphorical pen and notebook in hand and take to the road, jotting down anything and everything there was about the biker lifestyle, certain that we’d be running into biker bars where dudes in leather and long beards would be having brawls and knife fights.

Yeah, not so much. Though that does happen in some places, what I’ve discovered is that the biker culture is for just about anyone with a motorcycle, and that biker people can be anyone from lawyers to laborers. It’s a community of people who get together to share the true joy of riding on the open road. They’re people who have a fundamental understanding of what it’s like when the bike becomes a part of you. And those are the characters I wanted to create.

There’s a mentality about riding that just seeps into your head-you can be on a bike and just get lost in your thoughts-which is a great thing for a writer. So while I was out experiencing this new biker lifestyle, as well as getting used to being on a bike, I created these characters-the Wild Riders. And they were my rough-around-the-edges guys. The ones who lived a life of danger, whose Harleys were a natural part of their bodies. These guys had tough early years, who were all headed down the wrong road, but were rescued by one man who changed their lives and gave them a second chance to do something good. I love these guys (and women!) who work for the Wild Riders’ organization, because I think they embody the free spirit and love of riding that I’ve come to experience with all bikers.

I hope when you read my series you fall in love with them too.

So here’s my question for the day-where do you do your best thinking, the place where you can relax your mind and ideas just pop into your head? Obviously I’ve gotten some great ideas while riding on the back of the Harley, though I do have to say I also get great ideas while in the shower (sadly, since there’s no place to write anything down then. Heh) I’ll choose one winner to win an advance copy of RIDING ON INSTINCT, which releases April 7th from Berkley Heat.

You can find out more about Jaci and her books at her website: http://www.jaciburton.com/

51 Responses

  1. *Waving* at Jaci!

    Just wanted to come by and say Hi! Please don’t enter me in the contest because I’ve already read your great book. πŸ™‚

    I do my best thinking when I’m either walking one of my snouts with the iPod plugged into my ears, or when I’m in the shower (go figure). lol

    Have a great day!
    Warm Regards
    L

  2. My ideas tend to come to me when I’m soaking in the tub. (Probably because it’s one of the few times I have to myself and things are quiet.)

    LOL about the motorcycle culture – I’m gradually being introduced to it thanks to my eldest son getting his motorcycle license last year. He bought his helmet at the local Harley dealership and I found myself being inviting to the Harley Ladies’ night. Talk about a disparate group of people, but by evening’s end they almost had me convinced to get my own motorcycle’s license. And I may yet, though I doubt I could afford a Harley. But now I know how to spot one – their engine sounds are unique.

  3. Strangely enough, my best ideas usually come while I’m doing the dishes. The monotony of scrub, rinse, dry sends my mind elsewhere every time.

  4. Great story! My best ideas come to me when I’m in that fase when you aren’t asleep yet but not quite awake either. The only trick is to stay awake and think about it and then get up and write it down. Some of my best ideas came to me while I did my afternoon napping πŸ™‚

  5. LOL just letting you know I am putting this contest in my blog..working on the post right now.

    http://burtonreview.blogspot.com/

  6. Humm I probably relax, think the best while driving down the road or riding. We just got a bike, an Intruder last year and haven’t had a chance to really drive it like we want. So I’ll let you know if that’s where I get even more ideas.

    hugs,
    WendyK

  7. My best ideas come to me when I’m suffering from insomnia. If I had any desire to be a writer that one week a month where my insomnia is the worst would get my book written for me!

    Sandi

  8. I think it’s the quiet times that always help to get the mind going. And Frana, I get great ideas when I’m just about the fall asleep. And I know I should get up and write them down, but I often don’t. Which is sad because the next morning? Poof…those thoughts are history. lol

    Leah – there are lots of lady bikers on the road. Bet you’d love it πŸ˜‰

    Sandi – Insomnia makes for great inspiration

  9. Hi Jaci!!

    (don’t enter me either…….I also have this amazing book already!)

    I do my best thinking late at night or first thing in the morning when the house is quiet and everyone is still in bed!

    Blanche πŸ™‚

  10. I seem to do my best thinking while putting on my make up in the morning. I think it’s gearing up for the day that gets the wheels turning. I keep a notepad and pen on the vanity so I can jot down thoughts or things that need to get done.

    My hub used to be a motorcycle man, but sold his Harley a few years ago – he misses it like crazy and wants another one, but with one daughter a freshman in college and the other eyeing grad schools, the motorcycle fund is sitting on empty.

    I can’t wait to read RIDING ON INSTINCT!

  11. In the early morning when I am the only one up and about. I like to sit outside and just take a little time for me.

  12. Hello. I probably do my best thinking while taking photos. I love photography, and it’s really relaxing to just go out and explore. I can brainstorm ideas for anything on my to do list, yet at the same time find something interesting to take a picture of.

  13. Best thinking? Probably when I’m out for a walk w/my IPOD strapped on listening to my fav music! Or in the shower! I really need to do some of that right now anyways as I discovered that I’m really unhappy with my career and need to find something else.

    Have a fab Friday!
    Julz =)

  14. You know! It seems like right before I go to bed I have the best ideas…you know that weird place right before sleep? Then! πŸ™‚

  15. Hey Jaci! πŸ™‚ My favorite and best place to get ideas is while I’m driving! You wouldn’t believe the number of times I’ve had inspiration or found something good to do that I’ve had to call my home answering machine and leave me my own message so I don’t forget!

    Super excited for Riding on Instinct!

  16. I really can’t wait to read this book! I love your Wild Rider’s series.

    I guess for me good ideas come when I’m trying to go to sleep. I lay in bed thinking up all kinds of things.

  17. Hi Jaci,
    I do my best thinking during a long hot bath or if it’s really on my mind I will wake up at 2 in the morning.

  18. I get ideas when I’m laying on the hammock in the sun. Sometimes I have to put down what I’m reading and just let my mind wonder. My husband would tell you I get ides when he’s interested in a TV show and i always interrupt and want him to talk to me!

  19. Most of my best ideas and even answers to questions come in my dreams. I’ve always been a dreamer and when I have problems I get the solutions often in my dreams.

  20. LOL
    Well, I get some really good ideas when I brainstorm with hubby, or when I surf the net….
    or, um…..when I am in the washroom, where it is nice and quiet….
    I am really looking forward to reading this book, thanks Jaci!

  21. Ohh..I want this book so so badly!
    I love being on a bike too. My dad used to own a bike, and I still remember riding on the back seat when I was younger. I’m just waiting for my boyfriend to buy a bike now (he just got his license a week ago =).
    I think I do my best thinking in the shower too, Jaci. I also try to think of what I need to do the next day before I go to bed, and write it down. I usually live off of my planner.

  22. Daughter of a biker here! My father had picked me up once from school when I was in grade school on his Harley. Then again when I graduated and working at Mikey D’s (it was funny to have nearly all the employees plastered the window to gawk!)

    But my best thinking? Okay, this is the honest to goddess truth, but the best ideas come when I’m either bathing or arm deep in soapy water. It never fails because I have to jump away, dry my hands to write down these ideas because they sound sooooo good

  23. I do my best thinking in the shower or walking to and fro from the tube.

  24. When i am out for my morning walk, just put one foot in front of the other- no brainer. So that’s when my mind just wanders and weird and sometimes wonderful things pop into my head.

  25. Some of my best ideas come to me while relaxing in a hot soapy bath.

  26. I love reading your answers! I think a lot of us get great ideas just when we let our minds rest. Or whenever there’s no paper nearby πŸ˜‰

  27. Oh, and I also think of things I want to add to the grocery list whenever I’m nowhere near said grocery list. It never fails lol

  28. Hello Jaci,

    My ideas come to me when I’m in the shower or first drifting off to sleep. Needless to say, most of my ideas don’t get written down. That’s ok, I’m a reader not a writer. Please count me in for the contest.

    Have a great day.

  29. I do my best pondering while I’m taking a walk. And of course my favorite place to walk to is my neighborhood library.

  30. Hello Happy Friday all. My place to unwind and let loose is Borders Bookstore. Just walking in the door relaxes me 10 fold. I love the feeling of being in the store and just perusing shelves is great.

  31. Hmm… I think I tend to have ideas pop into mind just as I’m falling asleep–the downside is that I tend to have forgotten them by the next morning! πŸ˜‰ Alas!

  32. Ideas pop into my head when I get up earlier than everyone else and sit outside for a few minutes.

  33. I do my best thinking while I am excercising and right before I go to sleep at night.

  34. Hi Jaci! I think of plots and dialogue while going to sleep and if I want to keep it I have to get up and write it down! But I’m a reader not a writer so it is not so crucial for me.:) When I was younger I used to write poetry and one of my favorite places was while out on my Dad’s boat..especially sunsets and sunrises!

  35. My best ideas come to me when I’m in bed. πŸ™‚ I am most relaxed there.

  36. I do my best thinking in the shower or when I’m out walking the dog.

  37. Jaci….so true about the biker culture. And it’s funny, because people who I think would never even speak to each other become great friends bonding over their bikes. It’s a world unto itself.
    Anyway….I drive 67 miles one way to work, and this is my best thinking time. I will actually make mental lists of things I’ve got to consider and make decisions on, and focus on them while I’m driving, lol.

  38. My best time like a few of the others is my drive in to work. I have an hour commute and random thoughts will just pop in my head. Most of the time I will call my work phone and leave a message so I won’t forget the thought πŸ™‚

  39. I love this series! I get my best thinking done in bed or in the chair in my room.

  40. I love these books of Jaci’s!!! I still can’t wait for AJ’s book and more about who he is!

    My best thinking is in bed (I asked my hubby and he said in the bathroom, LOL). But mine is in bed where I can just relax. Its where I read in the evenings too. In the summer, my hubby has a screen in area and when its not overly hot I love to go in there and just think and feel everything around me.

  41. Hi, Jaci! I do my best thinking when I ‘m trying to fall asleep.

  42. I get my best ideas while I am driving. Sadly by the time I get to my destination I usually forget them.

  43. my best come to me when i am driving in the car thanks for the giveaway

  44. I do my best thinking in the morning riding the bus to work.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    Kimspam66(at)yahoo(dot)com

  45. I think all my good ideas come to me while I’m reading something whether it’s a newspaper, cereal box, magazine or a good book.
    Lorraine
    MOML1@COX.NET

  46. When it’s warm out I do my best thinking lounging on a raft in our pool. Otherwise when the house is quiet. I enjoy your books!

  47. I do my best thinking on the treadmill or in the car driving to and from work.

  48. any kind of repetitive, non-intelectual activity seems a pretty good time to get fresh ideas. like when i walk my dog, or when i’m gardening, in the shower, though long baths are actually the seeds for a brainstorm

  49. in my bed

  50. I do my best thinking on my way to and from work. The miles just fly by as I think about stuff.

    Thanks so much

  51. […] I get started, I’m guest blogging over at Greta’s blog today and giving away a copy of RIDING ON INSTINCT. So head on over there for a chance to […]

Leave a Reply

