• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Pat White

renegade-soldier1

Pat, Thank you so much for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Sure!  I grew up in the suburbs of Chicago and lived there for 43 years until, in 2003, we moved west to Seattle.  In high school I was in the jazz band where I played a wicked keyboard with greats like Louis Bellson and Woody Herman who were guests during Jazz Night.  I grew up in a figure skating family:  mom’s a national judge and dad was president of a skating club for years.  I got to hang out with famous skaters and see lot of good stuff from backstage.  I skated a little, but my love was always piano and dreaming up stories.  Little did I know I’d be spinning those stories for others and I’d become a novelist!  I earned a degree in Journalism and wrote for newspapers and magazines before writing fiction.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing fiction for 14 years.

What is your writing process like?

It depends on the book, but usually I get an idea from TV or news or even when I’m eavesdropping, and that idea bugs me until I have to chase the story.  I start with chapter one and write until I feel like I need some author input <G>.  In other words, I let the characters do most of the work at the beginning, then we negotiate where the story’s going, then I let them finish up.  Yes, they are real.  The more real they are to me, the more real they will be to you.

Can you tell us about your newest release Renegade Soldier?

Renegade Soldier is about a guy who wants back into the field after being sent away to recover from a mission gone bad.  But when his younger brother goes missing, Dalton Keen fears his brother’s involvement in Dalton’s last case is what put him in danger and may have gotten him killed.

I know Renegade Soldier is the second book in a “The Girl Next Door” series, will there be any other books in the series.

I hope so!  I’ve submitted a proposal for Nate’s book (younger brother) who wants revenge, plain and simple.  And he’s going after it by destroying the daughter of his enemy (if he doesn’t fall too far in love with her first <G>).

Do you have any other books coming out this year? 

Nope, just the two in The Girl Next Door series, UNDERCOVER STRANGER and RENEGADE SOLDIER.        

What are you currently working on?

Just finished up another Girl Next Door proposal about a guy who helps people disappear, but when a woman he turns away ends up dead, he’s the prime suspect and the enemy of her twin sister who’s desperate for answers. 

I know you primarily write romantic suspense, do you write in any other sub-genre’?

Oooohhh, yes!  J  I wrote four romantic comedies before I started writing suspense.  My Silhouette Romance, PRACTICE MAKES MR. PERFECT was a comedy about best friends falling in love.  Then I wrote a series of romantic comedies for Dorchester set in professional wrestling.  The second book in the series, RING AROUND MY HEART, was named Best Contemporary Romance 2004 by Romantic Times Magazine.  The series starts off with GOT A HOLD ON YOU and winds up with LOVE ON THE ROPES.  Oh, and also, in 2007 I published a paranormal called SAVING DESTINY for Nocturne.  Great fun!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Everywhere!  News, TV shows, stories my teenagers tell me, people-watching, the cat next door.  OMG, stories are so very abundant!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I LOVE reading good romances and thrillers.  Lately I’ve been into Harlan Coben – scary!  He’s amazing.  My auto buys would probably be Suz Brockmann, Michele Hauf (paranormal), Janet Evanovich, Charlaine Harris.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

SON OF THE MORNING by Linda Howard, GATHER THE STARS, by Kimberly Cates, MORNING GLORY by LaVyrle Spencer, SAVIING GRACE by Julie Garwood, PERFECT and ALMOST HEAVEN by Judith McNaught, SIMPLE JESS by Pamela Morsi, LORD OF SCOUNDRELS by Loretta Chase, and COMMANCHE MOON by Catherine Anderson.  Oh, and every title by Suz Brockmann J.

What was the first romance book you read or the first romance book that has stood the test of time?

PERFECT by Judith McNaught.  Changed my life.  Made me want to write romance like nobody’s business!

If one of your books’ was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

GOT A HOLD ON YOU.  I’m working on the screenplay now (I write screenplays in my spare time).  Lead male aka Black Jack Hudson:  Hugh Jackman; Heroine aka Tatianna the Tigress: Amy Adams.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Destiny Rue.  She’s a crystal healer.  I’d love to be able to help people like that.  And her demon lover, Kadenshar is sexy as… well, as sexy as Gerard Butler!  ::: sigh :: 🙂 

If you were not writing, what would you be doing?

Running a restaurant, a really cool restaurant!  Or… making movies.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Wandering the streets of Seattle.  But it’s 45 minutes away so when I can’t get down there, I spend time hiking, walking, biking, playing with the cats, going to the movies, coloring, gardening.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

What makes you buy a book at the store?

You can find out more about Pat and her books at her website http://www.patwhitebooks.com/

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a book from Pat***

17 Responses

  1. Nice interview. A good story is what makes me buy a book.

  2. Great interview. What makes me buy a book is if the book sounds good to me.

  3. I love your casting ideas for if GOT A HOLD ON YOU was made into a movie. Hugh Jackman and Amy Adams would be awesome in those roles.

    A few things that make me buy a book at the store are if the book is written by one of my favorite authors, if the story sounds interesting, or if the book was recommended to me by a friend.

  4. The cover/authors name makes me pick it up. If the blurb sounds good, I will usually grab it.

  5. Thanks for the feedback on what makes you buy a book! And thanks for inviting me to blog, Greta! Everyone enjoy a fantastic weekend.

    pat

  6. I usually read from the same genre and I’m always looking for new author and series to read!

  7. I’m more likely to buy a book if there is a blurb and a sample I can read to find out if I might want to read the book. I’d much rather have that than a photo or someone’s opinion of the book

  8. I enjoyed reading your interview. Your Girl Next Door series sounds very interesting. I’ll be checking them out. Good luck with the proposal!

  9. I’m usually looking for a specific author. But if a cover caught my eye it’d lead me to the blurb, and the blurb would make buy the book 🙂

  10. Wow–that is a hot cover! And covers definitely make me pick up the books at the store.

    Loved the interview!

  11. Great interview! I love the Intrigue line of books. I think what I go by when buying a book is word of mouth, sometimes the cover catches my and sometimes the story line. I have even went by reviews but you can’t go by that often.

  12. Hi Pat!!
    Oh, great question because I often see book as the whole ‘package’. I think that sells the book! I love hearing recommendations from other readers! I don’t use reviews to see what others think cuz we all have different preferences, but I do find info on what the book is about so that’s what I’ll want to know, and the genre too and love that they are romance!

  13. Hi Pat! Wonderful interview! I usually decide to buy a book by the author and the blurb on the back cover.

  14. Hi Pat,

    Great interview and your books sound like good reads. I buy a book because of the author. If I don’t know the author, then the backcover blurb and the little synopsis inside the front cover usually help me determine if it’s a book I will like.

  15. I’d love to win this one!!!

    Usually, it’s a book or an author that friends are talking about. I have a list in my purse of authors or titles.

  16. The first thing I look at when trying to decide on a book is the back cover. What is written there often has a huge influence on my buying habits.

  17. Enjoyed the interview! Usually what is wriiten on the back cover helps me determine if I buy a book or not.

Leave a Reply

