• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Review – A 21st Century Courtesan by Eden Bradley

As I have stated before I am not a professional or even an amateur reviewer. Any reviews on this blog are just my honest opinions. I consider myself extremely fortunate to have received an ARC of A 21st Century Courtesan by Eden Bradley, which will release next Tuesday, March 24, 2009.

 Without giving too much away, you can tell right off that this is not your typical Eden Bradley book. In my opinion, it is far better than a typical Eden Bradley book. I consider it her best book yet. I would love to see more books like this from her in the future.

The story is told through the heroines’ eyes, the eyes of Valentine Day. Valentine is a high-class call girl with an exclusive clientele. The hero is Joshua Spencer a real estate agent whom she meets at the opera one night. As the relationship, between Valentine & Joshua grew I found myself holding my breath. They had a fragile quality, about them, that I did not want to see broken.

Through Valentines’ eyes, I follow on an amazing journey as she questions herself including her past, present, and future. I cried as I felt Valentine’s pain when she told Joshua what she did for a living. I felt her inner struggle with accepting herself and Joshua’s love.

In my opinion, this story is so much more than a romance story, but a story of overcoming ones past, accepting ones faults, knowing what can and cannot be changed, having the strength to move forward, and realizing that you have to do some things on your own for yourself.

A 21st Century Courtesan is not what I expected at all and better than I ever imagined. I do not have the words to express how beautiful and emotional this story was.

21stcenturycourtesan

She lives in a world of silk sheets, imported champagne,
and endless erotic delight…
She fulfills the deepest fantasies of the most powerful men in the world. Sensual, seductive, and discreet, Valentine Day is a high class call girl, pampered and adored by her exclusive clientele. But Valentine has a secret. Always in control, she’s never experienced true pleasure outside of her work. But all that is about to change…Now, the woman who’s spent a decade pleasuring others is about to embark on an erotic journey of her own…

It happens one night at the opera. Seated next to her in the dark is a stranger. As the music swells, so does the sexual tension. Gorgeous, sophisticated Joshua Spencer invites her for a drink, and soon she’s fantasizing about taking him home. When they finally come together in a night of the wildest lovemaking Valentine has ever known, she’s hooked. But suddenly Valentine is questioning everything. Joshua has no idea what she does for a living. Can she risk everything—including her hard-earned freedom and one final, shattering secret—for one man? And would he still want her if he knew the truth?

for an excerpt

A 21st Century Courtesan

ISBN-13: 9780553385571

ISBN-10: 0553385577

March 24, 2009

can be pre-ordered at:

Amazon | Borders | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million

7 Responses

  1. Thanks for your great review! Your interviews and reviews have made my wishlist very long, thanks!! I’ll be looking for this book and author…

  2. Hi Greta!

    Thanks for the heads-up. I enjoy Eden Bradley’s work very much and somehow missed this publication by her. I will add it to my list right now.

    I also love first person POV.

    Regards
    L

  3. Your review sold me!

  4. You don’t need to be a professional (or amateur) reviewer to give an honest opinion. In fact, the every day reader probably gives a more unbiased perspective sometimes. That’s why I have your blog on my list of “to visit” each day.

  5. What a lovely review! I can’t wait to get this book…

    Congrats Eden! (You know I love everything you write!)

  6. I’ve read some of Eden’s books and love the writing voice that really gets me into the characters head and emotions too. Definitely want to read this one!

  7. Hi Greta, thanks for the review. I’ve enjoyed Eden’s stories in the past and this one sounds like not-to-be-missed.

Leave a Reply

