• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Dana Marton

desert-ice-daddy

Ms. Marton, Thank-you for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Thank you for having me. I’m so excited to be here!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I pretty much wanted to be a writer since I’ve learned how to write. And even before that, my mom tells me I went through a period in preschool when I only talked in rhyme. Being a writer is truly a dream come true.

How long have you been writing?

My first book was published in 2003, but I was writing for over 12 long years before that. I’m not the type to give up J. I have written 20 books in the past 5 years for Harlequin Intrigue. It’s the best job I ever had.

What is your writing process like?

By the seat of my pants. Here is a step by step outline on how to write a book in three months. (Since I usually have 4 books out a year, this is roughly my schedule.)

Week 1–Have an intriguing idea about a situation or person. Start writing immediately.

Week 2–Write until first rush of energy runs out.

Week 3–Panic. What if that’s all there is?

Week 4–Think of a good twist. Write some more.

Week 5–Panic. I really don’t have enough material for a whole book.

Week 6–Browse job ads.

Week 7-Can’t picture myself as a milkmaid. (Yes, there are ads for that in our local paper.) Decide to finish the book if it kills me.

Week 8–Think of another good twist. I’m really liking the characters by now. They are talking to me!

Week 9–Have a few good days of writing.

Week 10–Wake up to the stark realization that I have no idea how the plot will end, so I can’t possibly finish the book. Spend the day in full, hair-going-gray panic.

Week 11–Everything comes together. Book gets finished

Week 12–Smile at the computer. Let’s do this again!!!

Seriously, if anyone can at all plan a book out before beginning, I’d highly recommend that method over my own.

Can you tell us about your newest release Desert Ice Daddy?

Desert Ice Daddy is part of a fabulous mini-series by some of my favorite authors at Intrigue. The series is about four guys who’ve been best friends since college. They’ve all built empires since. Hot, hot men. Did I mention the setting was Texas? My book, Desert Ice Daddy, is the second book in the series.

His mother escaped the Middle East with nothing but her son and the clothes on her back. But in the past decades, Akeem Abdul amassed a fortune and is now nicknamed the Texas Sheik. He’s been in love with his best friend’s little sister forever, and watched helpless as she tumbled into a short-lived marriage with the wrong man. This time around, he’s determined to woo her and win her heart for himself. When her son is kidnapped, he’s the only one who can take her across the Western desert in pursuit of the kidnappers. Their lives and hearts on the line, together they will stand against any danger.

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

Saved by the Monarch will be out in May, and Royal Protocol is coming to stores in June. I’m starting my own mini-series about six brothers, princes of a small European kingdom. Ladies, get your ball gowns ready, you’re invited to the palace!

What are you currently working on?

Another royal hero. The crown prince is about to meet his match and get his comeuppance. 🙂

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

The news. Dreams. The twisted corridors of my mind. I can look at just about anything, distort it and exclaim, “Oh, that would make a great book!” The family is used to it. Nobody pays my outbursts much attention anymore.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Too many to list. I LOVE Susan Mallery. And all of the other Intrigue authors. I started to write for this line because of them.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Again, a lot of Susan Mallery books and a TON of Intrigues. Also, Nora Roberts, Suzanne Brockmann, Sandra Brown, etc.

Do you read books other than romance books?

I read pretty much everything except horror. But sci-fi, fantasy, historical, literary fiction, non-fiction, bring it on! I ‘m completely addicted to books. My husband says I never met a book I didn’t have to have.

What was the first romance book you read?

I can’t remember. Isn’t that terrible? (In my defense, it wasn’t exactly yesterday 🙂 But I know it was a Harlequin Presents.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I’d love to see my previous release, Tall, Dark and Lethal, made into a movie. Especially if Hugh Jackman could play the hero. That would definitely be a dream. And 72 Hours was written specifically for Bruce Willis. (Bruce darling, if you’re reading this, call me.)

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Wouldn’t switch with anyone for anything. I LOVE being a writer. My heroines enjoy their own lives and challenges (not to mention their hot heroes), but I’ll keep mine. Definitely.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Gardening. Flea markets. Rearranging the house. Going for long walks. In the winter, I knit. I also read a lot of commando manuals for my secret commando heroes. It’s kind of fun in a weird way. Survival handbooks, too. I know how long you have to cook a bucketful of ants before you can eat it.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

What can I do to entertain you, to transport you away for a mini-vacation in your mind? I truly appreciate my readers. Receiving letters is always the highlight of my day.

To find out more about Dana and her books you can visit her website at: http://www.danamarton.com/

3 Responses

  1. Nice interview.

  2. I’ve noticed many writers enjoy flea markets and long walks. Hmm. Inspiration may pop up in unusual places!

  3. I haven’t read too many Intrigues and I’m not too sure why. I love mystery intrigue books and romance. This is a perfect mix.

Leave a Reply

