• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

My guest today is Jennifer Lyon

blood-magic

Jennifer, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Thank you for having me! It’s a pleasure to be here!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I was obsessed with BEWITCHED when I was a kid, and very irritated when I had to eventually accept that I was not going to wake up one day with magical powers! Then I discovered books, and they have a magic all their own. For a woman who wanted to desperately to be a witch, I live a very traditional life. I met my husband at the dog pound, we married and have three terrific sons.  And now I have a “magical” life as an author…so see…sometimes dreams do come true!

How long have you been writing?

I always had a secret dream of writing, but it never seemed possible somehow.  Then one day while I was living my life as a wife and stay at home mom, I thought, if I don’t try to write now, then when? Boy did I have a lot to learn! But I fell in love with writing, so I kept at it.  Five manuscripts, several partials and eight years later, I finally published. Since then, it’s been a roller coaster ride of hard work and tremendous fun!

What is your writing process like?

My process is basically a battle of discipline. I always get to my computer bright and early, but I’m easily distracted by email and Google. Do you know the things you can find with Google? It’s incredible! On days when the writing is going well, I’m not terribly temped, and have, in fact, been known to growl when interrupted. But on a bad day? I search for interruptions! Seriously, my basic writing process is to plot as much as the synopsis requires, then write the book. I often go in the wrong direction, or I have to stop to do research or more plotting. I delete and rewrite as much as it takes to get the first draft done. That’s the hardest part, and takes the longest for me. After that, it’s mostly cleanup work.

Can you tell us about your new release Blood Magic?

I love this story! A quick blurb is: Darcy MacAlister doesn’t know she’s a witch until she’s drawn into a world of magic, danger and a powerful attraction to the very man who is cursed to kill her.

The cover copy for the book reads:

THE HUNTER AND THE HUNTED

In the days when powerful witches used their magic to shield humanity from demons, their allies and guardians were a group of men gifted with preternatural abilities of their own-the witch guardians. But when a band of witches traded their humanity for demonic power, the ancient bond was broken, and the guardians became the hunters.

Darcy MacAlister knows nothing of demons or magic. But this beautiful young woman is about to discover the truth about her past . . . and her future. For she is a witch-not just any witch, but the key to breaking the curse that has plagued witches and the men who hunt them. For if a hunter kills an innocent witch by mistake, the price is no less than a piece of his soul.

Axel Locke, gorgeous leader of the Wing Slayer Hunters, has sworn never to shed the blood of the earth witches who have resisted the temptation of demonic power. But when his sister is cursed by a demon witch, he discovers that Darcy MacAlister may hold the cure-if she can master her newfound powers in time. When the chase begins and Axel and Darcy come face-to-face, this hunter must weigh his soul against his honor-and against his heart.

From your website, it says this is a new series, how many books will be in the series?

As many as the readers and publisher want!

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

 Yes! The second book in the series, SOUL MAGIC is a December 2009 release, and will go on sale November 24th. The basic premise is: Psychologist and witch Dr. Carla Fisk discovers that her dead twin sister’s soul is trapped in the knife of the rogue who killed her.  Convinced she failed Keri in life, Carla is determined to free her sister’s soul before it dies off permanently.

What are you currently working on?

I’m ready to start the third book in the series, tentatively titled, BLIND MAGIC, and I’m very excited about it!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

From my crystal ball, of course!  For this series, I find that the kernel of an idea for next book comes to me while writing the current book.  Then I rely on my writer-friends to bounce the idea around between us until it develops into a full-fledged story.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I love to read! Right now, I love paranormal romance, contemporary romance, some mysteries and thrillers, and I’m getting the urge to sink my teeth into historical romances. I read most genres.  My auto-buy list is too big to list completely, but to name a few; JD Robb, Kresley Cole and  Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

This is a weird thing about me, but I don’t hang onto books much.  I grew up passing around books, and I still do that.  But some books I can remember loving and regretting not holding onto are NOBODY’S BABY BUT MINE by Susan Elizabeth Phillips; DARK LOVER by JR Ward; and OUTLANDER by Diana Gabaldon.

What was the first romance book you read?

SWEET SAVAGE LOVE by Rosemary Rogers. I don’t dare tell you how young I was! My sister gave it to me and I was hooked.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I’d love to see the series I’m writing now, The Wing Slayer Hunters, made into a movie or a TV series! For BLOOD MAGIC, I think Hugh Jackman could play Axel Locke and I’m not sure about the heroine, Darcy.

I also think The Samantha Shaw Series (written under the name Jennifer Apodaca) would make a really fun TV series! Sam runs a dating service, is raising two sons, and has a habit of stumbling on dead bodies and lots of trouble!

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

One of my witches for sure! I always wanted to be a witch. I’d love to be a part of a select group who had the power to do something BIG in the world, to be able to make a difference.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Hang with my family and friends. 

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

You all know now that I was obsessed with BEWITCHED as a kid. What was your obsession? Do you find your reading related to that?

Thanks so much!

Jennifer also writes under the name Jennifer Apodoca.

For more information on Jennifer Lyon please visit her website at http://jenniferlyonbooks.com/. For more information on Jennifer please visit her website at http://www.jenniferapodaca.com/

***Leave a comment for a chance to win an autographed copy of Blood Magic. Good Luck!***

46 Responses

  1. Hi Jennifer!
    Blood Magic was so great, but I frustrated that the next one isn’t coming out until NOVEMBER! Can you give us a teaser of the next book?
    thanks!!

  2. Jennifer
    I love the new you I have read all of your other series and can’t wait for this
    thanks for the new jounery
    Sue

  3. Witches and Demons….sounds like my kind of book! Great interview!!

  4. Obsession, okay, okay, it was The Monkeys. Shhh! Don’t tell anyone. I sure hope that has nothing to do with what I read now.

    Great interview, Jen!

  5. I’ve been hearing alot about this one, sounds good!

  6. Great interview. It’s fun to know what other authors’ “processes” are like. Yours is a lot like mine, except instead of google and e-mail, it’s visiting blogs and checking e-mail that tempt me.

    I was a big reader as a kid, still am. Not exactly an obsession, though I do make myself stop writing every night by dinner time so I can read in the evening.

  7. Great interview. I love your books and am thrilled to hear that you’re under contract to write more!

  8. Hi Jen, congrats on your new release! This blog suits your book. I do not want to wait, I want the book now! Please enter me for a chance on your book!

  9. Hi Jennifer! What a fun interview. I’m halfway through your book and absolutely loving it. I hope you write lots more Wing Slayer Hunter books.

    I liked Bewitched, too! But I was obsessed with The Man From U.N.C.L.E. when I was a kid and always wanted to be a spy. I think I’d make a great spy. 🙂

  10. I can so relate to loving Bewitched when I was a little girl. Just like you, I remember watching Bewitched as a kid and being so jealous of their magical powers. I would try to twitch my nose and get objects to fly across the room to me. But, alas, I was just a mortal.

    Congrats on the release of Blood Magic! It sounds like a great story!

  11. Hi Jennifer. Great interview. Your book sounds good. 🙂

  12. I loved Bewitched as a child too! I still do and watch it whenever I have a chance. 🙂

    But my obsession was most definitely “Little House on the Prairie.” Jeez, I had to watch the reruns of that show ever single day, or else I was not a happy camper. LOL. I wanted to be “Laura” so badly. So, it’s little wonder that the first novels I’d ever written were Westerns…I still love them! And, of course, paranormals, historicals, contemporaries, mysteries… yeah, pretty much every genre.

    BLOOD MAGIC rocked!! Such a fantastic story!! Can’t wait for SOUL MAGIC!

  13. Greta, thank you again for having me as a guest on the blog!

  14. Munk, I’m a fan of witches and demons too! Well I guess that’s obvious from my book 🙂

  15. Teresa W, I love that you’ve been hearing about the book, I hope that’s a good sign.

  16. Jory, I procrastinate on blogs too, LOL! There are just too many temptations on the Internet. I hear you on stopping work to read–we don’t want to lose that love for reading!

  17. Lori Ann, thank you! So you were a BEWITCHED lover too? Cool. Now did you ever try to turn your brothers or sisters into frogs or was that just me?

  18. Crystal B, glad you enjoyed the interview!

  19. Laura2, thank you for asking about SOUL MAGIC! Here’s a short teaser:

    In SOUL MAGIC, Carla discovers that her dead twin sister’s soul is trapped in the knife of the rogue that murdered her. Carla must free Keri’s soul to go onto Summerland before Keri’s soul dies off forever. Carla believes Sutton can help her locate the knife.

    Sutton is living with the sure knowledge that Carla is the witch who will cause him to lose control of the curse and go rogue. (Rogue witch hunters lose their souls.)

    Carla and Sutton are bound by blood, passion and magic, but they dare not give into their deadly attraction for reasons revealed in the book. These two have a very different story from Darcy and Axel. It’s a twist on the adage, is love really enough?

  20. Sue, thanks! I’m have a lot of fun with the “new me” as Jennifer Lyon! And thank you so much for being a fan (and friend) since the first book DATING CAN BE MURDER!

  21. Marianne, ROTFL!!! The Monkeys? I never knew…and I won’t tell a soul!

  22. Erika, thank you! I’m excited too!

  23. Quilt Lady, thanks! Love hearing that you don’t want to wait 🙂

  24. Kate, you would make a Steller Spy! I think you should go for it! As long as you keep writing your mysteries while you spy, because HOMICIDE IN HARDCOVER left me wanting more!

  25. Michele, I liked Little House On The Prairie too, but I used to dream up ways to get back at Nelly. Remember her? And don’t judge me, but I seem to remember a crush on Laura’s dad…

    It makes my day that you liked BLOOD MAGIC! Hope SOUL MAGIC lives up to yoru expectations 🙂

  26. Jen, I LOVED Blood Magic! It was a great read with so many layers!

    I’m really impressed with how you integrated the Wing Slayers with the world of the witches. And having the ticking Death Mark clock was enough to make me VERY nervous for little Hannah!!

  27. Maureen, that means so much to me coming from you! It was a huge challenge to write, but I loved ALMOST every minute of it!

  28. Jen, you made me laugh on one page, and had me in tears a few pages later! I can’t wait to read Soul Magic! November? *whine* I want it now! Blood Magic is definitely on the Keep and Reread Often shelf!

  29. Aw, thank you Silver! Is it wrong to be happy that I made you laugh and cry? It’s an honor to be on your Keep and Reread Often shelf!

  30. This book sounds like its something I would really enjoy! Please enter me!

  31. Hi Jennifer! Blood Magic sounds awesome! I love your cover. It’s gorgeous! The only thing I remember being obsessed with when I was a kid was books! And I still am. 🙂 Thanks for the interview. I really enjoyed reading it!

  32. Hi Jennifer!

    Blood Magic sounds great! I remember loving I Dream of Jeannie and I later went on to read and love Sidney Sheldon. I, also, really loved Bewitched!

  33. sounds like a great.

  34. Hi, Jennifer! I’ve read some of your Jennifer Apodoca titles and enjoyed those–Blood Magic sounds intriguing! I don’t remember what intrigued me as a child–books, definitely, and reading. I loved crafts and ballet–I guess I still enjoy reading about those now, but those don’t really translate directly into romance thing that I’m obsessed with these days 😉

  35. Hello Jennifer and thank you so much for sharing your book and yourself with us today. I havent read any of your work (YET) I love finding new authors and your book sounds very interesting I look forward to reading it.

  36. I’ve always been obsessed with reading. I actually didn’t watch much TV as a child….my dad always had the remote, so it was always Star Trek, or Spagehti Westerns…..
    Congrats on your new release! 😀

  37. Andrea, thanks for stopping by!

  38. Margie, thanks on the cover, Ballantine did an excellent job on that. We need more kids obsessed with books!

  39. Lori T…oh! Good one! I watched I Dream of Jeannie then read Sindney Sheldon too!

  40. PamK 🙂

  41. Fedora, that’s so cool that you read some of my Apodaca work! It’s nice to be remembered 🙂

    Ballet is romantic…so maybe you had an early love of romance? Okay, yes, I’m stretching!

  42. Sarah Hurt, I’ve really enjoyed handing out here with all of you! Like you, I love finding new authors too.

  43. Natasha A, I remember Star Trek being on our TV a lot too, although I think it was my brothers watching it. And Bonanza!

  44. Bewitched was one of my favorites too! I’ve always been drawn to any books, TV shows or movies with a fantastical element. Blood Magic is definitely on my radar and I’ll be adding it to my TBR Mountain! 🙂 Keep ’em coming!

  45. I probably did–I’ve been an avid reader for years, and loved the romance even in the Little House books 😉 So… maybe not such a stretch after all? 😀

  46. Hi Jen! Great interview!! You have intrigued me with “Blood Magic”. Today is a rainy day so it sounds like a great excuse to stop by B&N and grab myself a copy 🙂

Leave a Reply

