• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Rita Herron

platinum-cowboy

My guest today is Rita Herron, who writes from Harlequin Intrigue as well as Grand Central Publishing. Rita, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Hi! I’m a born-and-bred southern girl who likes love stories of all kinds and have written romantic comedies, romantic suspense and paranormal.

Currently I write romantic suspense for Harlequin Intrigue and dark, gritty, sexy paranormal romantic suspense for Grand Central Publishing.

How long have you been writing?

Since I was 12! But seriously for the last 13-14 years. I started writing childrens’ books and wrote several books for the Sweet Valley Twins series, Then I started reading romance and fell in love with the  genre. Since then I’ve written over 50 books.

What is your writing process like?

Hmm. I’m one of those crazy writers who have ideas just popping into their heads in the shower, driving, when I’m out to dinner, and when I SHOULD be sleeping – LOL.

Now that I’ve sold several books, I sell on proposal – basically a synopsis. I usually am juggling several projects, but when I start to write/finish a book, I focus on one at a time.

I’m definitely a plotter, usually  have the idea/premise of the story first, then come the characters and conflict. I write a synopsis where I hammer out the basic conflict, plot and turning points, then I use it as a blueprint for writing the book. That said, sometimes things change and I definitely give myself creative license to add, delete or change things when I want or think it needs to be done.

I also treat writing as my job since it helps pay the bills and usually write daily, anywhere from four to eight to ten hours, especially when I’m on a deadline.

Can you tell us about your latest release Platinum Cowboy?

This book was actually one the editors asked me to write. They gave four Intrigue authors a basic premise (type of hero) and asked us to collaborate and write a four book series. Each book is a story (mystery and romance) in itself, but  there’s an overall mystery arc running over the four books. What a fun and challenging experience.

My story is about a billionaire cowboy/rancher, Flint McKade, who raises and breeds prized horses for racing. He has worked hard to get where he is though, but has earned enemies along the way, and now someone is sabotaging his business.

Flint has just hired a new veterinarian to take care of the Arabians he’s brought in, but little does he know that Lora Leigh blames him for her father’s death, and has come to work for him to get the dirt on him!

Sparks immediately fly, but the two are thrown together to save the horses and Flint’s ranch.

Flint is sexy, tough, a down-to-earth guy who is protective and knows how to ride a horse – and a woman!

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

Yes. From Harlequin Intrigue:

In May, look for Collective Evidence, part of a mini-series called Kenner County Crime Unit. September brings Peek-a-boo Protector, a story about abandoned twins and the search for their missing mother. In November, the 2nd book in my Guardian Angel Investigation series comes out, book three in the series in early 2010.  I’m also writing another Texas Ranger book with a sexy Native American hero which will be out in early 2010 as well!

On the single title side, the 2nd book in my DEMONBORN series, DARK HUNGER, debuts in August from Grand Central Publishing.

Can you tell us about your Demonborn series?

The Demonborn series features three sexy, tough, alpha males who are part demon and must constantly battle their inner dark side to protect the innocents from the demon world, and to protect the women they love.

insatiable_desire_l

INSATIABLE DESIRE, the first book in the series came out last September and told the story of the oldest brother, Vincent Valtrez, who leaned about his destiny – and his powers – as he worked to track down a demonic serial killer.

Book two, DARK HUNGER, picks up with the 2nd brother, Quinton Valtrez, who must race against time to stop the Death Angel from taking lives while keeping his dark secrets – and desires – from a sexy tenacious reporter who is determined to unravel the truth about him. But Quinton’s father, the leader of the underworld, will do anything to enlist his son to the dark side – including destroy Annabelle…

What are you currently working on?

At the moment, I’m working on revisions for book three in the Demonborn series.
After that, I move to the Guardian Angel book. And down the road, I have a YA paranormal proposal I want to revise as well as a screenplay I’d like to write. Not enough time in the day!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Ideas come from everywhere, from newspapers, TV news, movies, slices of life and people I meet. The Guardian Angel series came about because I wanted to write a Missing persons series, sort of like Without a Trace. But the editors and I discussed focusing all the cases on missing children. I also grew up in the South and a small town so I enjoy setting stories there.

For the Demonborn, years ago I fell in love with Cole Turner (Charmed) and was intrigued by his character. I loved the idea of a tortured hero battling his inner demons. So I created my own series of Cole Turners! But of course, since I write suspense, there had to be external demons and family issues as well.

For Platinum Cowboy, the editors wanted a cowboy. I chose a vet because my husband was a vet and it was the perfect occupation to give the heroine so she could help Flint with his business and show off her smarts!

Other ideas just come out of my warped imagination – and my own dark side! Some of those come from folk legends, interesting spooky settings, my husband’s work (medical research) and my sister who works in a psychiatric hospital. I love to write psychos!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Hmm, I love reading romantic suspense (Karen Rose, Lisa Jackson, Beverly Barton, Lisa Gardener, Tami Hoag).

For paranormal authors – my autos are Jennifer St. Giles & Raven Hart.

Stephanie Bond’s Body Mover series is a must-have for my comedy/mystery read. For a sexy Blaze, a fave of mine is Jennifer LaBrecque.

And women’s fiction – Haywood Smith. She writes funny and touching stories that are southern and unique.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

The Body Mover Series by Stephanie Bond. Jennifer St. Giles’ werewolf series. The Red Hat Club books by Haywood Smith. And Raven Hart’s vampire series.

Do you read books other than romance books?

Oh, yeah! I like some non-fiction, research based, but paranormal related. I also like books about folk legends and interesting towns with unique settings.

What was the first romance book you read?

Hmm, Tami Hoag’s Cry Wolf – it was so wonderful that I thought  – I want to be HER!

The New Orleans setting really drew me in.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

 I’d love to see the Demonborn series made into a movie/series, starting with Insatiable Desire.  I really love this premise – the demon is Pan, the god of fear. With one touch, he knows a person’s greatest fear, then uses it to kill him.

For the actor: I’d love to see Alex O’Laughlin (who starred in the vampire show Moonlight), play Vincent. Others who would do: Hugh Jackson! YUM!

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Hmm, never thought about this! I actually wrote a comedy a while back called Marry Me, Maddie. She was an interior decorator in Savannah, Georgia, a fun-loving quirky but very lovable girl. I loved her personality and wish I had her spunk, so I guess I’d say her.

My other heroines and heroes  – I wouldn’t want to be them. I torture them too much!

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Spare Time? Define please. I don’t think I have that!

Okay, seriously, I’m boring. I like movies and books – no surprise. I also  like to spend time with my family and kids, and SHOP! But money limits that past time. And I’m from a long line of quilters. I used to sew a lot more and would like more time to do this.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

Who is your favorite character or what is your aspect of my work? And what would you like to see from me that you haven’t?

Okay, I know, that’s TWO, maybe THREE, but who’s counting. I’m a curious kind of girl…

Rita

You can visit Rita and find out more about her books on her website at: http://www.ritaherron.com/

7 Responses

  1. Hi, everyone,

    It’s great to be here. This beautiful day in Atlanta is making me not want to write.
    Would love to hear from you.

    Rita

  2. Hi Rita!!

    Great interview!! I’ve not read your work, not sure where I’ve been and why I’ve missed you. I will absolutely be looking for your books……I buy Harlequin’s all the time but I’ve never bought a Harlequin Intrigue book! Your DemonBorn series looks awesome!! 🙂

  3. Hi, Rita 🙂
    Wow, I enjoyed reading the interview 🙂
    My favorite character would have to be Gage McDermont *sigh* He’s dark but such a protector *sigh* Love him *bg*

  4. Hi Rita:

    Wonderful interview! I love the cover for “Platinum Cowboy”, nothing like a handsome guy riding a horse into the Sunset.

    I read “Insatiable Desire”, I love dark paranormal romance and Vincent Valtrez certainly was a dark conflicted character. I really liked Clarissa, her psychic abilities were awesome.

    I will be interested to see where you take the Demonborn series from here.

    Best Regards!

  5. Great interview, ladies! My favorite character has to be Jean-Paul from Say You Love Me. Rita, will you be at Dragon Con this year? I missed your signing last year because I was late, thanks to Atlanta traffic. Oh, and I can’t wait for the next Demonborn. Loved Insatiable Desire!

  6. Sweet Valley Twins!!!! I used to love those. I love the Demonborn series. Okay so only the first is out but I totally loved it and can’t wait to read more.

  7. Hi, everyone,

    Thanks for the response!

    I’m glad you liked Insatiable Desire – I know the story was dark with a dark hero, but I did LOVE him so! And I hope that you’ll enjoy Quinton’s story in Dark Hunger. He’s also tough and sexy (half demon and a hired assassin) and I like the heroine who really stands up to him although she has no powers- except that she’s a great counterpart to him, and threatens to expose who he really is!

    FYI – I’m working on book three now! So your feedback is great.
    Anything you’d like to see in the climax of the trilogy?

    Glad also to hear that you found Silent Night Sanctuary (Guardian
    Angel Investigations) with Gage McDermont as the hero – I loved him, too! A bit tortured (my favorite kind of hero)_ but I thought the story line was so relevant and emotional and full of romance with a great and deserved ending for this couple who needed each other to fulfill their lives. And I love kids so Ruby just came alive for me.

    I’m actually working on the 2nd book in that series now. I hope you’ll continue to follow the series as it goes on. There are more small town secrets to be revealed!

    And I’m also glad you liked the cowboy Flint McKade in Platinum Cowboy. How can a girl resist a sexy hunk on a horse?

    Thanks for everyone’s response. I hope to hear more from you.
    If you want to join my newsletter to hear about new releases, just go to my website and join my group – not a lot of emails I promise, just notes of my news.
    And it enters you into my contests.

    Please write me!

    Rita

Leave a Reply

