• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Shayla Black/Shelley Bradley is visiting today

My guest today is Shelley Bradley who also writes as Shayla Black.

Shelley or Shayla, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Shayla Black (aka Shelley Bradley) is the author of 20+ sizzling contemporary, erotic, paranormal, and historical romances for multiple print and electronic publishers. She lives in Texas with her husband, munchkin, and one very spoiled cat. In her “free” time, she enjoys reality TV, reading and listening to an eclectic blend of music.

Shayla has won or placed in over a dozen writing contests, including Passionate Ink’s Passionate Plume, Colorado Romance Writers Award of Excellence, and the National Reader’s Choice Awards. Romantic Times has awarded her Top Picks, a KISS Hero Award and a nomination for Best Erotic Romance.

A writing risk-taker, Shayla enjoys tackling writing challenges with every book.

How long have you been writing?

I began seriously pursuing writing in 1992. I took some time off to have a baby and deal with some tough medical times for a few years after the birth, but sold my first book over a decade ago. I took another pause to reassess what I wanted to write and make a household move about 5 years ago, but I’ve writing non-stop since.

What is your writing process like?

I’m a structured writer. I plot first, so I know what I’m going to write before I write it. I plan each scene so that it feeds into the overall plot. That’s not to say I don’t encounter surprises along the way…but I always get back on target. I talk a lot to a few close friends during the writing, just to talk out potential plot holes or gage reader reaction to planned events. It’s probably a process that’s a bit different from a lot of other authors, but I’m both a planner and an extrovert, so this works for me.

Can you tell us about your latest release Bound and Determined?

bound-determined-0302091

Berkley HEAT

ISBN-10: 0425226905

ISBN-13: 978-0425226902

Genre: Sexy Contemporary Romance

Re-release Date: March 3, 2009

Pre-Order: Amazon |

Barnes & Noble | Borders

 

  Read an Excerpt

WANTED FOR KIDNAPPING: A bubbly blonde with a penchant for trouble. May be armed (with good intentions) and dangerously seductive…

Kerry Sullivan is running out of time-and patience. With her brother wrongfully accused of embezzling millions, she can’t face one more humiliating hang-up from the man she’s begging for help. Rafael Dawson may be one of the top electronic security experts in the country — and the only man who can prove her brother’s innocence — but his phone manners are appalling. Damn Yankee. Too bad kidnapping the man isn’t an option. Or is it?

There’s nothing Kerry wouldn’t do for her brother. There are lots of things she longs to do to Rafe Dawson when he’s lying tied-up and naked in her secret hideaway. Rafe is certainly something to look at, but Kerry’s brother’s life is riding on her pulling off the impossible: getting this man who’s always in control to lose it. But when the tables get turned, Kerry finds herself at Rafe’s mercy. And the only way to get her way is to let him have his way — with her…

***Top Pick***

“…Highly entertaining read. Falling in love should be so much fun!” Romantic Times Magazine

“BOUND AND DETERMINED is a flawless story that grips a reader from page one and doesn’t let up… Don’t miss it!” Road to Romance

“BOUND AND DETERMINED is steamier than a Florida night, with characters who will keep you laughing and have you panting for more!” New York Times Bestselling Author Susan Johnson

“Plenty of chick-lit wit… In BOUND AND DETERMINED, much sexy fun is had by all.” New York Times Bestselling Author Angela Knight

“A searing, frolicking adventure of suspense, love and passion…A must read!”New York Times Bestselling Author Lora Leigh

 Will you have any more books in this series?

The next book in this series, STRIP SEARCH, will release in trade on July 7! It’s got a gorgeous blue cover, so I’m thrilled.

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

It’s a busy 2009 for me!

Shayla Black books:

·        BOUND AND DETERMINED – Berkley Trade – 3/3

·        DANGEROUS BOYS AND THEIR TOY – Ellora’s Cave Trade – 3/6

·        STRIP SEARCH – Berkley Trade – 7/7

·        “Fated”, a Doomsday Brethren novella – More info coming soon!

·        SEDUCE ME IN SHADOW, Doomsday Brethren 2 – Pocket Books – 9/29

·        POSSESS ME AT MIDNIGHT, Doomsday Brethren 3 – Pocket Books – 10/27

Shelley Bradley books:

·        SNEAK PEEK – Samhain Trade – January 31

·        A PERFECT MATCH – Samhain Trade – March 31

What are you currently working on?

I’m finishing up “Fated”, then diving into the edits for SEDUCE ME IN SHADOW and POSSESS ME AT MIDNIGHT. Next new book on my writing schedule is DELICIOUS, which is Luc’s book, currently scheduled for March 2010.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

All over the place. Could be a song or a dream or something someone says… I just never know what’s going to trigger my imagination.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I enjoy reading a number of different things. Erotic and paranormal romances are my favorites. I enjoy contemporary and historicals, as well. I’ve been huge Harry Potter fan. I’ve enjoyed Dan Brown and John Grisham. I read non-fiction when I have time. My reading time is really limited these days by deadlines. I have a huge TBR stack that I hope to catch up on someday, but for now, I buy a lot of eBooks and read them on writing breaks because most are short and I can load them up on my Sony reader to take to doctor appointments and the like.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Quite a few things. All of the Harry Potter books. Quite a few research/reference books. In terms of romance, I have everything from decades old Laura London, Elizabeth Lowell, Sandra Brown, to slightly older fan favorites like Dara Joy, Lisa Kleypas and Tami Hoag, to newer authors like Lora Leigh, Lara Adrian, Rhyannon Byrd.

What was the first romance book you read?

Woodiwiss’s SHANNA. Took me a while to get started, but once I did, I was hooked.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I don’t know, honestly. I’m not visual, so I don’t actually think about such things. Besides, they always condense books when they make them into movies, and I’d hate that. LOL.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would it be & why?

Tough question… I think I’d enjoy being Morgan O’Malley from WICKED TIES or Sabelle Rion from my upcoming POSSESS ME AT MIDNIGHT. I think both have great, if slightly flawed, Alpha males who love them desperately.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Spending time with my family, watching HGTV and playing Guitar Hero. I do also admit to liking to shop ever now and then.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

Gosh, I don’t know. Maybe…what’s the most overdone plot or storyline you’ve seen in erotic romance and what, if anything, could make you like it again?

Thanks for the opportunity to interview with you, Greta!

You can visit Shelley at: http://www.shelleybradley.com/

You can visit Shayla at: http://www.shaylablack.com/

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Bound and Determined. U.S. & Candian residents only. The winner will be announced tomorrow. Good Luck!***

28 Responses

  1. […] also completed an interview with the lovely Greta at her “I do not want to wait, I want the book now” blog. Stop by and read the interview…and stay for a chance to win a copy of BOUND AND DETERMINED […]

  2. You know what? I would love to see YOU do a new twist on the whole vampire thing. Because you’re awesome and come up with AMAZING stories

  3. GREAT interview Greta! I know you’re pretty new to this, but you sure can’t tell! I’m sure that you had Shelley/ Shayla helped a bunch too! I’m SO ready for a new book of Shayla’s!

  4. That was a wonderful interview and I am impressed with all the stories Shayla/Shelley is able to write.

  5. Great interview. I love your books.

  6. great interview.

    hugs,
    WendyK

  7. As of yet I can’t find a story line that is over done. If I get tired of a certain theme then I just move on to something else until I’m ready for to move. I tend to go in spurts; contemporary, vampire, western and what not.

  8. Very nice interview! I hope the edits go well, Shayla. I’m really looking forward to the releases of the next books, and the novella, in The Brethren series. It’s a fabulous series so far and I’m excited that there are 3 more stories coming out this year.

  9. Hi Shayla,
    I just have to say right off, I love The Doomsday Brethren. Can’t wait for the next. You write so many books in such a short period of time, amazing. And everyone that I have read was very enjoyable and well written. You are such a talented writer. Great interview. 🙂
    Carol L.

  10. Great interview! I’ve heard great things about Bound and Determined, and I can’t wait to read it!

  11. yay! I want to read this book so badly!

    xoxo

  12. Great interview! I enjoyed hearing about what you like to read yourself.

  13. Great interview. I really like reading the interviews almost as much as reading the book excerpts. I learn so much about new-to-me authors and their works.

  14. i love teh book . congratso nt e new relese great cover.

  15. Wonderful interview Greta and Shayla.

    Bound and Determined sounds like a great read!

    All the best…

  16. Hooray for Greta! Hooray for Shelley/Shayla! Hooray for the two of them together!!!

    Later,

    Lynn

  17. Bonnie, thanks for the compliment! I actually have a vamp idea that might see the light of day at some point…

    Yvonne, the interview was fun. And new books coming soon!

    Maureen, I keep busy. I’m always writing something…and plotting more!

    Crystal and WendyK, thanks so much!

    Brandy, I read that way too. It really just depends on my mood.

    Karin, I’m thrilled you’re enjoying the Doomsday Brethren series. I’ll be so eager to put the next 3 stories into readers’ hands. My readers have said that, so far, they’ve gotten better with each book, so I’m hoping you feel the same.

    Carol, another Doomsday Brethren fan? Yippee! Yes, I have a lot of deadlines this year, but I’m so excited about all these stories. Truly, I have a fun job. I worked for many years in a corporate environment where excellence was a must, and I think it rubbed off. I always try my hardest to deliver the best story I can.

    Lisa, Bound and Determined was one of those books of my heart. Rafe and Kerry both made me laughed and touched me in unexpected ways. I hope you enjoy them as well.

    Becky, since it’s release day, no reason not to dive in!

    LuAnn, I’m glad you found the interview interesting. I do love to read. Would do it more if I didn’t have so many stories in my head…

    Karen H, Yeah! Half the time when I answer questions, I’m wondering how I can answer intelligently…so that people won’t know I’m sitting here in my sweat pants and ponytail, rather than being a very professional author. LOL! If I’m new to you, I hope you’ll give me a try.

    Lea, best back to you. Thanks much!

  18. Happy Release Day Shelley – so exciting!!! July seems so far off for the next book – but I’ll wait patiently. 😉

  19. Congrats on the release. The book looks great would so love to win a copy.
    How do you come up with such wonderful characters and plots for your books?

  20. Congrats, Shelley! Thanks for the terrific interview! I’m not sure I’ve tired of any plots yet–as others have mentioned, if I’m not in the mood for something, I just need to pick up something different, and then I’ll likely be in the mood for it a little later! One plot I don’t see often in erotic romance (YAY!) is the secret baby thing–it takes an incredible writer to turn that into a great story for me! 😉

  21. ohh! That book looks great! Please enter me!

  22. I’m a huge fan of Shayls/Shelley’s books and I would LOVE to read this one!

    God Bless,
    Rhonda :0)

  23. sounds like a great read. Loved everything I’ve read by you so far. This one sounds like it won’t disappoint either.

  24. Happy Release Day! I don’t think that there really is an overdone plot or storyline. Just keep switching back and forth between books. That way you don’t get tired of the same genre. I love Shayla/Shelley’s books and can’t wait for more Doomsday Brethren. Also looking forward for Delicious!

  25. I loved Bound and Determined and while I think it’s a wonderful story, I must say that this new *hot* cover now matches the searing heat between the pages! Thanks Shelley for writing these fantastic books that are constantly being pulled down from my bookshelves as I re-read them!

    I’m SO looking forward to Luc’s story and I’m hoping to see glimpses of Deke and Kimber in Delicious. 🙂

  26. Laurie, July will be here before you know it!

    Sara, I’m a people person, so I always want to tell stories about people, not things or events. I want to incorporate those people with interesting events. At least I try…and hopefully come up with a book folks like.

    Fedora, Secret babies in erotic romance… You know, I don’t think I’ve really seen it done either. I might have to do it just for fun someday. LOL!

    Andrea, good luck!

    Rhonda, thanks so much! I’m glad you enjoy my books.

    Pamk, that’s a lovely compliment. Thanks! I hope you enjoy this book too.

    Lisa, Definitely more Doomsday Brethren coming this year. Can’t wait to share these stories with everyone. Especially can’t for everyone to REALLY meet Ice. And Luc is definitely on the way.

  27. Thanks, Sharon. I’m so thrilled that you enjoyed the book and that you re-read my books. I’m tickled pink! I, too, love the new cover and am thrilled with it.

  28. Great interview! I really cannot think of a storyline that I think is overdone. I would love to be entered.

Leave a Reply

